View Full Version : Changed servers and updated, many bugs
MagicPID
01-17-2012, 10:22 PM
Hello,
We had our old server attacked and have consequently moved to a new one. I did a dump of the old database via MySQL Workbench and used BigDump to import that into our new MySQL server. That's the short of a very long story, so anyway ...
We moved from vB 4.1.5 in the process to 4.1.9 as we figured it would be a good time to do that. I cannot say whether it was due to the update or the server/database change, but we have several small non-critical errors that all users are reporting:
Problem 1) The recipient for private messages in the inbox are all "Array." See screenshot:
http://screensnapr.com/e/oXa14u.png
I've also just noticed that this occurs in other areas of the site ...
http://screensnapr.com/e/Hbsepx.png
Problem 2) Instead of seeing their usernames upon logging on, users see this:
http://screensnapr.com/e/vG5Euq.png
We used this template before switching to 4.1.9 and doing the server change and didn't have this issue, so I'm fairly certain that isn't the issue.
Though none of these errors are critical, they are starting to wear on me and our users. After going through a tough time with our servers, I just want to get these ironed out. I appreciate all the help you can give.
Thanks in advance.
Lynne
01-17-2012, 10:35 PM
Problem 1) Update your templates.
Problem 2) Update your phrases.
:)
MagicPID
01-17-2012, 11:55 PM
Problem 1) Update your templates.
Problem 2) Update your phrases.
:)
I'm still working on fixing problem 1 as we speak. As for problem 2, I checked for updated phrases through Admin CP and no updates could be found. I don't have a great understanding for this type of issue, so any further explanation you could give for both problems 1 and 2 would be appreciated.
Lynne
01-18-2012, 06:42 PM
Search for the phrase and you will find it. Or, it could be since your template isn't updated, the phrase is parsing wrong. So, fix your templates first.
jfxcube
01-19-2012, 02:56 PM
for 2) look in Languages and phrases, find login (Front-End Redirect Messages) ,
variable $vbphrase[login], change thank you for loggin in, $bbuserinfo [username] with
Thank you for logging in, {1}.
MagicPID
01-19-2012, 09:51 PM
I've managed to fix the login issue, by changing the phrase to "Thank you for logging in, {1}." as jfxcube suggested.
I'm still at a loss to figure out the "Array" issue that affects users sitewide. I know you have suggested fixing my templates, but I have no idea how to do that, or where to begin. Any further assistance you can provide is appreciated.
Lynne
01-19-2012, 10:10 PM
You need to take a look at the template and compare it to the default template and then upgrade it.
To find the template to modify, do this - vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code. (Sometimes the template is the one mentioned at the very top of the page source.)
MagicPID
01-20-2012, 09:06 PM
Lynne,
Thanks for your continued help. I enabled template name in HTML comments, went to one of the troublesome pages (in this case, the inbox) and learned that where it said "Array" over and over again is in "pm_messagelistbit." Though I have found that template in the editor within AdminCP, I am unsure of how to proceed...
<li class="blockrow pmbit" id="pm_{vb:raw pm.pmid}">
<div class="datetime">
<label for="pm_imod_checkbox_{vb:raw pmid}">{vb:raw pm.senddate} <span class="time">{vb:raw pm.sendtime}</span> <vb:if condition="$show['pmcheckbox']"><input type="checkbox" name="pm[{vb:raw pmid}]" id="pm_imod_checkbox_{vb:raw pmid}" value="{vb:raw groupid}" /></vb:if></label>
</div>
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/pm_{vb:raw pm.statusicon}.png" class="threadicon" alt="" />
<vb:if condition="$show['pmicon']">
<img src="{vb:raw pm.iconpath}" class="posticon" alt="{vb:raw pm.icontitle}" />
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="!$show['unread']">
<a href="private.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=showpm&pmid={vb:raw pm.pmid}" class="title">{vb:raw pm.title}</a>
<ol class="commalist">{vb:raw userbit}</ol>
<vb:else />
<span class="unread">
<a href="private.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=showpm&pmid={vb:raw pm.pmid}" class="title">{vb:raw pm.title}</a>
</span>
<ol class="commalist">{vb:raw userbit}</ol>
</vb:if>
<hr class="none" />
</li>
Edit 1: figured it out. I replaced "vb:raw userbit}" with the following code. Let's hope the same strategy works on other areas of the site that are affected. I'll keep you updated.
<ol class="commalist">
<vb:each from="userbit" value="row">
<li><a href="{vb:link member|js, {vb:raw row}}" class="username understate">{vb:raw row.username}</a>{vb:raw row.comma}</li>
</vb:each>
</ol>
Edit 2: To be honest, I'm not sure how to go about fixing this next one. As I've mentioned before, my vBulletin knowledge is low when it comes to templates. The following is on a profile page where it says "The last 10 visitors to this page were ..." but it only says "Array."
<div class="visitors">
<h5 class="blocksubhead userprof_blocksubhead smaller">{vb:rawphrase recent_visitors}</h5>
<div class="blockbody userprof_content userprof_content_border">
<div class="blockrow member_blockrow">
<vb:if condition="$block_data['visitorcount'] > 0">
<div class="meta">
{vb:rawphrase last_x_visitors, {vb:raw block_data.visitorcount}}
</div>
<ol class="commalist">
{vb:raw block_data.visitorbits}
</ol>
</vb:if>
<span class="totalvisits">{vb:rawphrase this_page_has_x_visits, {vb:raw prepared.profilevisits}}</span>
</div>
</div>
</div>
Lynne
01-20-2012, 10:36 PM
Your code shows this:
<vb:if condition="$block_data['visitorcount'] > 0">
<div class="meta">
{vb:rawphrase last_x_visitors, {vb:raw block_data.visitorcount}}
</div>
<ol class="commalist">
{vb:raw block_data.visitorbits}
</ol>
</vb:if>Whereas the default template shows this:
<vb:if condition="$block_data['visitorcount'] > 0">
<div class="meta">
{vb:rawphrase last_x_visitors, {vb:raw block_data.visitorcount}}
</div>
<ol class="commalist">
<vb:each from="block_data['visitorbits']" value="row">
<li><a class="username" href="{vb:link member,{vb:raw row}}">{vb:raw row.musername}</a>{vb:raw row.invisiblemark}{vb:raw row.buddymark}{vb:raw row.comma}</li>
</vb:each>
</ol>
</vb:if>You need to compare your template to the default template and then fix the code.
MagicPID
01-20-2012, 11:59 PM
Lynne,
Thanks for the explanation of how to solve the issue. It worked like a charm! :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.