View Full Version : Adding a custom field under the avatar
j1mmy
10-27-2011, 09:14 PM
How can I add a custom field detail for viewing under the avatar next to join date, and post count?
Thanks
Are you talking about a custom profile field? You just need to add the field in the adminCP, then edit the postbit or postbit_legacy template and add $post[fieldX] where you want it to appear (of course you'd change X to the actual id number of your custom field).
j1mmy
10-28-2011, 04:35 PM
Yes a custom profile field.
Do I edit both templates or just any of those two?
You would edit the one you're using. (There's a "Use Legacy (Vertical) Postbit Template" setting in the adminCP options, under "Help Style & Language Settings"). Basically, if you have all the poster's info on the left side then you're using postbit_legacy. If it's across the top (like this site) then it's postbit.
BTW, in my previous post I orignially had vb4 syntax for adding the variable to the template, but I just fixed it. Sorry if that caused you any problems.
j1mmy
10-29-2011, 08:56 PM
OK, so I've found the template, and I guess this is what I need to focus on?
<div class="smallfont">
<br />
<if condition="$post['joindate']"><div>$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['field8']"><div>$vbphrase[location_perm]: $post[field8]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>
<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>
Also do you know I can get rid of age showing up without deleting that line in the code? Is there an option?
Yes, that's the place, you should just be able to copy one of those lines and make your changes (you don't even have to make a phrase if you don't want to, you can just put your text in there).
I think a user can choose whether or not to have their age displayed, but I don't think there's a global setting. If you dont' want to take it out because you're concerned about figuring out how to replace it, you could do this:
<if condition="0">
<if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>
</if>
j1mmy
10-30-2011, 12:05 PM
Thanks. This is how I am putting the code in, but the Occupation starts on the same line as the Education:
<strong>Education & Occupation</strong><br />
Education: $post[field11]
Occupation: $post[field14]
Do I need to wrap them in div tags as is done with the vB default ones?
--------------- Added 1319977871 at 1319977871 ---------------
Also, I've noticed that as I allow unregistered users to post on my board, their post count comes up as n/a. How can I do the same with the custom fields? How can I get them to also show n/a when a guest posts? At the moment its blank.
Thanks. This is how I am putting the code in, but the Occupation starts on the same line as the Education:
<strong>Education & Occupation</strong><br />
Education: $post[field11]
Occupation: $post[field14]
Do I need to wrap them in div tags as is done with the vB default ones?
You need to use <BR /> to make a new line in html. A div would do it too I think.
--------------- Added 1319977871 at 1319977871 ---------------
Also, I've noticed that as I allow unregistered users to post on my board, their post count comes up as n/a. How can I do the same with the custom fields? How can I get them to also show n/a when a guest posts? At the moment its blank.
You can do this:
<if condition="$show['member']">code for member<else />code for guest</if>
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.