PDA

View Full Version : End-User Options - Mark as Sold


venom2124
10-09-2011, 10:00 PM
What is this?
This modification will allow you & your members (based on usergroup permissions) to mark a thread as "Sold". It will add the prefix "SOLD" to the thread title, and if set in the admincp - it will also close the thread. If you run a classified forum for your members this will give you a way to let users add a Sold prefix when the item is gone. Admins and mods can using to make items sold as well.
.

Current Version
1.1.0



Sounds cool. How do I install?

1. Extract the zip, you should have the following directories/files:


/
|_ sold.php

/images/
/buttons/
|_ marksold.gif

/includes/
/xml/
|_ bitfield_soldthread.xml

2. Upload: (in the below instructions 'yourforum' would be where you have vBulletin installed)
/upload/sold.php to /yourforum/sold.php
/upload/images/buttons/marksold.gif to /yourforum/images/buttons/marksold.gif (upload to each style folder, if you have more than one style)
/upload/includes/xml/bitfield_soldthread.xml to /yourforum/includes/xml/bitfield_soldthread.xml3. Import the product, product-soldthreads.xml by going to: AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> [Add/Import Product]

4. Make the following template edits to all of your installed styles:

SHOWTHREAD

Find:

<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" vspace="1" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></div>
</if>
</div>
<!-- / thread tools -->

Replace with:

<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" vspace="1" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></div>
</if>
<if condition="$show['soldthread']">
<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksold.gif" alt="$vbphrase[soldthread_marksold]" vspace="1" /> <a href="sold.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksold&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[soldthread_marksold]</a></div>
<else />
<if condition="$show['soldthread_unsold']">
<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksold.gif" alt="$vbphrase[soldthread_markunsold]" vspace="1" /> <a href="sold.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markunsold&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[soldthread_markunsold]</a></div>
</if>
</if>
</div>
<!-- / thread tools -->
Find:

<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$show['adminoptions']">

Replace with:

<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$show['soldthread']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksold.gif" alt="$vbphrase[soldthread_marksold]" /> <a href="sold.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksold&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[soldthread_marksold]</a></td>
</tr>
<else />
<if condition="$show['soldthread_unsold']">
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksold.gif" alt="$vbphrase[soldthread_markunsold]" /> <a href="sold.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markunsold&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[soldthread_markunsold]</a></td>
</tr>
</if>
</if>
<if condition="$show['adminoptions']">
5. Set options in AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Sold Threads

6. Edit Sold Threads Permissions > Can Mark Threads as Sold for each usergroup.

7. Go the the Thread Prefix Manager and Edit the Sold Threads Prefix Set to select the forums this can be used in.

8. To set up the forums this will work in follow these instructions:

After installing, go to: Thread Prefixes >> Thread Prefix Manager
You'll see: Sold Thread on the left, [Add Prefix] [Edit] [Delete] on the right. Choose Edit.
Then you'll see: Use Prefix Set in These Forums, select the forums you want this used in. (Hold the CTRL button to select more than one) That's it! Enjoy! :)

Donations are greatly appreciated.

venom2124
10-10-2011, 04:35 AM
As requested coded my vB4 mod to work with vB3.8. So enjoy and if you like it please nominate.

abdobasha2004
10-10-2011, 10:16 AM
nice mod, would like to develop it to a larger scale to make certain forums suitable for trade

Black Tiger
10-10-2011, 10:20 AM
Nice, but you forget to make a little change at line 8:
•You'll see: Solved Thread on the left, [Add Prefix] [Edit] [Delete] on the right. Choose Edit.
Should be "Sold Thread".:D
I changed the solved thread mod to a "sold" setting some time ago, works fine.:)

bada_bing
10-10-2011, 07:55 PM
I have just installed this and I have a couple issue. One is that the mark thread as sold is showing up twice (images attached) and second is the thread prefix should only show up after the thread is posted not during the posting of a new thread image attached also

bada_bing
10-10-2011, 08:22 PM
OK I was able to get 1/2 my issue resolved which was the mark thread as sold is showing up twice this was because the style I am using has the images folder located somewhere else so I fixed that but I need to be able to not show the thread prefix option when starting a new thread? Should should not show because the user would not be marking the sales thread SOLD if he is just now posting it, just confusing my members

venom2124
10-11-2011, 12:03 AM
OK I was able to get 1/2 my issue resolved which was the mark thread as sold is showing up twice this was because the style I am using has the images folder located somewhere else so I fixed that but I need to be able to not show the thread prefix option when starting a new thread? Should should not show because the user would not be marking the sales thread SOLD if he is just now posting it, just confusing my members

In order for the mod to work properly it has to show the prefix during posting. If it didn't show during posting it would not be able to add it after the fact. It may suck to see it initially during posting, but it's just an option that a member wouldn't select if they are trying to sell their items. I've been using this mod for a while on my forum and have never had a member say anything since I also have for sale, WTT, WTB prefixes and they just make the selection they need.

I can look in to it, but I just don't think there is a way around it.

bada_bing
10-11-2011, 02:18 AM
In order for the mod to work properly it has to show the prefix during posting. If it didn't show during posting it would not be able to add it after the fact. It may suck to see it initially during posting, but it's just an option that a member wouldn't select if they are trying to sell their items. I've been using this mod for a while on my forum and have never had a member say anything since I also have for sale, WTT, WTB prefixes and they just make the selection they need.

I can look in to it, but I just don't think there is a way around it.

Yea I can see this causing some confusion if this option is available during posting, also I have a selling forum which this mod fits in great but the word SOLD does not fit correctly in the Want to Trade and Want to Buy forums? curious how you are using this mod in the other two forums if the wordage is SOLD ?
Example is I post something in the want to buy forum, something like this ... Looking for this product xxxx.. How would SOLD fit in that thread?

venom2124
10-11-2011, 02:52 AM
Yea I can see this causing some confusion if this option is available during posting, also I have a selling forum which this mod fits in great but the word SOLD does not fit correctly in the Want to Trade and Want to Buy forums? curious how you are using this mod in the other two forums if the wordage is SOLD ?
Example is I post something in the want to buy forum, something like this ... Looking for this product xxxx.. How would SOLD fit in that thread?

I only use this for items that are sold. If someone is looking to buy and they find it they usually just post they got it and then I can manual close it if I so choose. I think I have tried to run this mod or multiples of this add to give different options, but it didn't seem to work out well. Of course that was on vB4 not sure with vB3.8. I can try, but the question would be what other prefix would you be looking for?

v123shine
10-11-2011, 03:10 PM
Good mod :)

This mod can work in vb.3.8.4 ???

venom2124
10-11-2011, 09:20 PM
Should work will all the vB3.8 versions, but if someone runs into an issue with a version let me know.

patracy
11-16-2011, 12:12 AM
Any possibility this could be implemented and allowed to let users operate the "sold" marker, but automatically send the buyer a PM with the buyer's contact info?

venom2124
01-12-2012, 02:04 AM
Yeah don't think I have enough knowledge to try and modify the mod that much to make it into more of a buy it now type feature.

clarkstoncracke
01-16-2012, 11:34 AM
Does anybody have any ideas on how to make a thread that is marked "sold" to be automatically moved to another forum?

My marketplace has 6 forums. Let's call them 1,2,3,4,5,6. When any item is sold from any of those forums, I'd like it to automatically move to forum #7 which is my "completed sales" forum.

If anybody is willing to help me out, I can compensate for your time.

Ov3rrun
02-24-2012, 07:45 AM
Hi, the script is not wrroking on 3.8.7, i have edited the template showthread but nothing happens, i dont see any item Mark this thread as sold or Mark this thread as unsold.

I check a lot of things, nothing happens.

venom2124
03-03-2012, 04:54 AM
Hi, the script is not wrroking on 3.8.7, i have edited the template showthread but nothing happens, i dont see any item Mark this thread as sold or Mark this thread as unsold.

I check a lot of things, nothing happens.

Make sure that you have the permissions set correctly and also make sure that you have the prefix enabled for the forums you are trying to use the mod in. This was tested on 3.8.7 and was working fine.

Does anybody have any ideas on how to make a thread that is marked "sold" to be automatically moved to another forum?

My marketplace has 6 forums. Let's call them 1,2,3,4,5,6. When any item is sold from any of those forums, I'd like it to automatically move to forum #7 which is my "completed sales" forum.

If anybody is willing to help me out, I can compensate for your time.

I personally don't have the coding knowledge to be able to figure out how to make an auto prune feature. I don't personnally use vB3 I use vB4, but I do a search of the forums that I have this enabled on selecting the prefix sold and this will bring up all my sold items. I then select them and move them to the sold forums so that I can clean up the for sale sections of my forum and it seems to work pretty well that way. I'll do this like once a week and it keeps everything as clean as possible. If I could figure out an auto prune I would to incorporate it myself. So if anyone out there is willing to help let me know.