PDA

View Full Version : How can I change footer width?


Divvy
08-15-2011, 11:26 PM
Hello guys,

I have my forum with a fixed width (980px)
And recently I have enabled the sidebar at my forum, but didnt like the result...
The problem is that my footer, what's going on box, etc, is compressed to the width of the forum tables themselves.

Actually this is how my forumhome looks like:

------------navbar-------------
----forums ----- sidebar -----
----footer ----------------------



And I need to looks like that:

------------navbar-------------
----forums ----- sidebar -----
------------footer --------------


Can please someone help me? :)
Im using default theme...

Divvy
08-16-2011, 11:07 AM
Please, anyone?

BirdOPrey5
08-17-2011, 11:36 AM
A screenshot or a link to your forum would better help explain the situation.

The footer width is set to be the same as the header and everything else, it's probably not a simple change to make the edit you are requesting. (Nor a good idea)

If you really wanted to change the footer width you would edit the footer template.

Find the line:
<div id="footer" class="floatcontainer footer">

And add a custom width, it should override the value specified in the class:

<div id="footer" class="floatcontainer footer" style="width:1000px;">

Where 1000 is the width in pixels- change it to whatever you want.

But again I caution you this is probably going to make things worse, not better.

(You can of course always undo it.)

Divvy
08-17-2011, 01:54 PM
Thank you for your reply BirdOPrey5 :)

I did your trick but didn't worked...
Btw, I changed my board width by changing doc_maxWidth (980px) and doc_margin (left and right auto) Stylevars.

Heres an example of what I need:

Current:
http://screensnapr.com/e/5XL2QW.jpg

Needed:
http://screensnapr.com/e/n2KEux.jpg

I sent you my board link via PM.

BirdOPrey5
08-17-2011, 05:08 PM
I see, that's called the "What's Going On Box" not the footer.

I tested this on 4.0.8 and it should work the same on most 4.x versions.

Edit your FORUMHOME template.

Near the bottom find all the sidebar code, for me it looks like this, your version might be slightly different:


<vb:if condition="$show['sidebar']">
</div>
</div>

<div id="sidebar_container"<vb:if condition="$show['sidebarposition'] == 'left'"> class="sidebarleft"</vb:if>>
<a id="sidebar_button_link" href="#">
<vb:if condition="$show['sidebarposition'] == 'left'">
<img id="sidebar_button" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/tab-collapsed-left.png" alt="" />
<vb:else />
<img id="sidebar_button" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/tab-collapsed.png" alt="" />
</vb:if>
</a>
<ul id="sidebar">
{vb:raw sidebar}
</ul>
</div>
</vb:if>


Now cut all that code and paste it directly above the line:

<!-- what's going on box -->


It should work as you want.

Divvy
08-17-2011, 10:06 PM
Perfect, thank you :D