PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - Remove category link, in navbar, make more relevant adsense ads, better navigation


basketmen
08-09-2011, 10:00 PM
Original code from Lynne in this thread (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=2073957#post2073957), i just improved it a little and add optional Google adsense Section Targeting code, to make more relevant adsense ads in your forum, after doing this little "fix" my adsense ctr increase about 20% higher






Introduction
if your Category name is just general keywords in navbits-navbar, not contain relevant keywords for adsense, it can make your adsense ads less relevant, its mean less clicks, you leave your money on table

look at this example, i use vbulletinsetup.com (http://www.vbulletinsetup.com/) forum just for example

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/51.jpg (http://www.vbulletinsetup.com/459-forums-general/71274-few-issues-i-need-assistance.html) : you can see in red highlight, the Category name 'Front Desk', its not related at all to the thread and forum discussion (talking about vbulletin niche), it can make the adsense ads less relevant, so if we remove that text, our adsense ads will be more relevant ads, make sense right?

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/52.jpg (http://www.vbulletinsetup.com/443-botm-winners/66917-congratulations-wrestling-forums.html) : The text 'The Break Room' is not relevant with the thread and the forum discussion (talking about vbulletin niche)




'Front Desk' and 'The Break Room' text above are Category name. Category name page usually are not important, since we can see same thing in Category page and in Forumhome page

see it from the example, Forumhome page and Category page are just the same content and function right?
Forumhome page : http://www.vbulletinsetup.com/ , the first category
Category page : http://www.vbulletinsetup.com/458-front-desk/

so it is better if we remove Category name links, in forumdisplay and showthread pages navbar














How to do it, remove/hide the Category name, in navbits-navbar


go to admincp >> Plugins & Products >> Add New Plugin, with below settings
Product : vBulletin
Hook Location : navbits
Title : Hide category link in navbits-navbar
Execution Order : 5
Plugin PHP Code :

if (in_array($nav_title, array('Your Category Name 1', 'Your Category Name 2', 'Your Category Name 3', 'Your Category Name 4')))
{
$skip_nav_entry = true;
}


change 'Your Category Name 1' and others, with your real Category Name that you want to remove

from example vbulletinsetup.com above, the Category Name are 'Front Desk', and 'The Break Room'


save the plugin, thats it. From example above, it will be like this, navbits in navbar displaying more effective right?

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/53.jpg

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/54.jpg















Optional, add Google adsense Section Targeting in navbits
After we removed not relevant text above, now we emphasized the Forum name, that usually contain relevant keywords for adsense


open navbar_link template

find $nav_title (if you have two of that code, use the first one)

replace it with this

<!-- google_ad_section_start -->$nav_title<!-- google_ad_section_end -->


thats it, your forumdisplay pages and showthread pages are showing more relevant keywords for adsense ads now




TIPS : Open and view the source code, from your forumdisplay pages and showthread pages, and see the changes by your self. You can wrap other parts/text that you want adsense bot to emphasized, with Google adsense Section Targeting code, in this template, or in other template

<!-- google_ad_section_start -->
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->


and this code, to wrap other parts/text that you want adsense bot to ignore

<!-- google_ad_section_start(weight=ignore) -->
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->











this hack should work on previous vb too, like 3.8, 3.7, 3.6

maybe for vb 4 too, please confirm if its working for vb 4, since i dont use vb 4

i will help too as i can





Please click install for future updates

s.sami
08-10-2011, 09:17 AM
thank you its working..

basketmen
08-10-2011, 06:48 PM
great, please click install for future updates

i add tips

TIPS : Open and view the source code, from your forumdisplay pages and showthread pages, and see the change by your self. You can wrap other parts/text that you want adsense bot to emphasized, with Google adsense Section Targeting code, in this template, or in other template

<!-- google_ad_section_start -->
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

and this code, to wrap other parts/text that you want adsense bot to ignore

<!-- google_ad_section_start(weight=ignore) -->
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

s.sami
08-11-2011, 05:54 AM
here i should write my category name right ? for examlple;

<!-- google_ad_section_start -->
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

my category name1, my category name2

<!-- google_ad_section_start(weight=ignore) -->
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

Where should i add this code ? (forumdisplay and showthread's where?)

basketmen
08-11-2011, 06:30 AM
this TIPS step are just additional step, if you want to make the pages more relevant for adsense ads. If above mod is working without this step, then its enough for this mod


TIPS : Open and view the source code, from your forumdisplay pages and showthread pages, and see the changes by your self. You can wrap other parts/text that you want adsense bot to emphasized, with Google adsense Section Targeting code, in this template, or in other template

<!-- google_ad_section_start -->
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->


and this code, to wrap other parts/text that you want adsense bot to ignore

<!-- google_ad_section_start(weight=ignore) -->
<!-- google_ad_section_end -->




I recommend trying the tips few days/weeks after installing the mod, make sure first the mod are working well

Silencer Groans
08-11-2011, 03:41 PM
thank

s.sami
09-20-2011, 05:04 PM
hi bro i removed category names

i want to ask how can i redirect forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1 this link to forum/error.php this link ?

basketmen
09-20-2011, 06:23 PM
hi bro i removed category names

i want to ask how can i redirect forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1 this link to forum/error.php this link ?
maybe you can try redirect a forum link to a custom link, this is very basic in vbulletin, here is how :

go to admincp >> Forums & Moderators >> Forum Manager >> Choose the category or the forum that you want in the list >> in Forum Link, put http://www.yourdomain.com/forum/error.php

s.sami
09-21-2011, 03:59 AM
thank you so much.