PDA

View Full Version : Reputation Divided by Post Count Displayed as %


LuDawgs
08-01-2011, 11:12 PM
I'm looking for someone who can help me with something. I want to be able to divide my users reputation by their post count, derive a % from it, and display it in each users postbit. I'd like to call it "Tip Ratio". This is necessary for our forum, but I can't quite figure out how to do it. Example to derive the "Tip Ratio":

Reputation: 206
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,064
Tip Ratio: 19.4% (where 206/1064)

Anyone interested in taking this on?

LuDawgs
08-02-2011, 02:57 AM
A great coder took care of me. I appreciate it!

The Mailman
01-04-2013, 06:14 PM
someone else want to post how this was done?

kh99
01-04-2013, 10:07 PM
Maybe something like this: create a plugin using hook location postbit_display_complete and code like:
if ($post['posts'] > 0)
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = vb_number_format($post['reputation'] / $post['posts'], 1);
}
else
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = '--'; // shouldn't ever happen, but protect against divide by 0.
}



Then use {vb:raw post.tip_ratio} in your postbit or postbit_legacy template.

The Mailman
01-09-2014, 12:09 AM
Maybe something like this: create a plugin using hook location postbit_display_complete and code like:
if ($post['posts'] > 0)
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = vb_number_format($post['reputation'] / $post['posts'], 1);
}
else
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = '--'; // shouldn't ever happen, but protect against divide by 0.
}



Then use {vb:raw post.tip_ratio} in your postbit or postbit_legacy template.

thanks, but I tried it out and the # it was producing was weird

ie, a user with 109 posts and 7 rep got a "0.1"

how would i get the number to display as "6.4%"?

kh99
01-09-2014, 02:03 AM
Yeah, that happens a lot when I post code I didn't test. I think maybe it needs a "* 100" before the comma in the vb_number_format line (sorry, I would post the code but i'm using my pad and it's too hard to enter all that).

The Mailman
01-09-2014, 02:32 AM
nah, that just multiplied the weird number by 100

ie, user with 170 rep and 1,739 posts gets "17,000.0"

rep/posts should be 0.097, or if multiplied by 100 to get that % figure, 9.7%

i tried for testing purposes:
$post['tip_ratio'] = vb_number_format($post['posts'], 1);

and the output was going to be just the post count, but instead it was however many thousands of posts, ie. a user with 2,230 posts would get "2", however, a user with less than 1000 posts would get their correct post count

$post['tip_ratio'] = vb_number_format($post['reputation'], 1);
on the other hand would display the correct reputation # no matter what, so the issue is just calculating the correct post count variable...

kh99
01-09-2014, 10:57 AM
Try this:

if ($post['posts'] > 0)
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = vb_number_format($post['reputation'] / $post['posts'] * 100, 1);
}
else
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = '--'; // shouldn't ever happen, but protect against divide by 0.
}

CAG CheechDogg
01-09-2014, 12:42 PM
This is the code kh99 gave me to get the Tip Ratio for times thanked divided by their post count and it works perfect.

I figure you just replace post_thanks_thanked_times with reputation here right?

Hope this works, as I was getting the same type of output as you were until kh99 figured it out.

if ($post['posts'] > 0)
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = vb_number_format($post['post_thanks_thanked_times'] / $post['posts'], 2);
}
else
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = '--'; // shouldn't ever happen, but protect against divide by 0.
}

--------------- Added 1389276057 at 1389276057 ---------------

So yes, the code I posted worked for me so it should be working for you too The Mailman ...

The Mailman
01-09-2014, 01:08 PM
Try this:

if ($post['posts'] > 0)
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = vb_number_format($post['reputation'] / $post['posts'] * 100, 1);
}
else
{
$post['tip_ratio'] = '--'; // shouldn't ever happen, but protect against divide by 0.
}

I did already. $post['posts'] is still not generating the actual post count, take a look at my above response explaining what's being output :confused:

kh99
01-09-2014, 02:01 PM
You're right. Sorry, I did read your post, but I was thinking the problem was somewhere else. But now I remember that is the problem because I went through this same issue with someone who was trying to display posts per day. Anyway, try changing the hook location to postbit_display_start.

The Mailman
01-09-2014, 02:22 PM
beautiful, that did it

thanks so much man!