Log in

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Facebook-like tooltip for forum descriptions


Jeff Ledger
07-10-2011, 10:00 PM
Hello guys,

Someone asked me to write this small mod for him and I decided to release it free for everybody here at vb.org.


If you are running a big board with a lot of forums. Especially someone who are using 2 column for display box in forumhome, you must meet the problems with display forum descriptions. Your layout will be look cleaner and nicer if all the box looks equal together.

This mod remove the default descriptions and only dislay it on mouse-over (similiar to xenforo).


I only use very small jquery and css to display it, then it won't do any effect to your site load.


Live demo: http://vitrastudio.com
http://www.thevbexperts.com
Screenshot: attachments
Brought to you by vitrastudio.com


Installation:

I. Add the following css in your additional.css

.tip {
background: none repeat scroll 0 0 #1D1D1D;
color: #FFFFFF;
display: none;
font-size: 11px;
font-weight: normal;
margin-left: 10px;
padding: 3px 7px;
position: absolute;
width: 300px;
z-index: 1000;
-webkit-border-radius: 3px;
-moz-border-radius: 3px;
border-radius: 3px;
-ms-filter: "progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.Alpha(Opacity=80 )";
filter: alpha(opacity=80);
-moz-opacity: 0.8;
-khtml-opacity: 0.8;
opacity: 0.8;
}



II. Add the following code at the bottom of your headinclude template

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
$(document).ready(function() {
//Tooltips
$(".tip_trigger").hover(function(){
tip = $(this).find('.tip');
tip.show(); //Show tooltip
}, function() {
tip.hide(); //Hide tooltip
}).mousemove(function(e) {
var tipWidth = tip.width(); //Find width of tooltip
var tipHeight = tip.height(); //Find height of tooltip

//Distance of element from the right edge of viewport
var tipVisX = $(window).width() - (mousex + tipWidth);
//Distance of element from the bottom of viewport
var tipVisY = $(window).height() - (mousey + tipHeight);

if ( tipVisX < 20 ) { //If tooltip exceeds the X coordinate of viewport
mousex = e.pageX - tipWidth - 20;
} if ( tipVisY < 20 ) { //If tooltip exceeds the Y coordinate of viewport
mousey = e.pageY - tipHeight - 20;
}
//Absolute position the tooltip according to mouse position
tip.css({ top: mousey, left: mousex });
});
});
</script>

I'm using google api for jquery but of course, you can download it and reupload it to your site.

III. Open template forumhome_forumbit_level2_post


Find the following code

<h2 class="forumtitle"><a href="{vb:link forum, {vb:raw forum}}">{vb:raw forum.title}</a></h2>

Change to

<h2 class="forumtitle"><a title="" class="tip_trigger" style="" href="{vb:link forum, {vb:raw forum}}">{vb:raw forum.title}<span class="tip"><vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p></vb:if></span></a></h2>

Find the following code

<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p></vb:if>


Remove it

Pretty simple huh ?

If you using it on your site, please mark as installed (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=266608) to show your support.

More will come, I promised.

Regards,
Jeff Ledger

nacaruncr
07-11-2011, 04:03 AM
awesome men, thanks. I'll put it in my web, looks awesome :D thankyou :)

xuanhuy238
07-11-2011, 05:29 AM
I've done the installation but it's not exactly in you demo, I got a green underline in tooltips.

How to remove it?

Jeff Ledger
07-11-2011, 08:16 AM
Stylevers / linkhover_linkDecoration

text-underline set to no

Phil K?vin
07-11-2011, 08:07 PM
Cool!!

Dr.osamA
07-11-2011, 10:41 PM
installed thank you bro

5 stars

Alfa1
07-11-2011, 11:25 PM
I guess that with a few small changes this can be used for vb3.8.6?

FReeSTER
07-12-2011, 04:50 AM
wow mate, Im loving this

Jeff Ledger
07-12-2011, 09:57 AM
wow mate, Im loving this

You are welcome!

installed thank you bro

5 stars

Thank you so much

Cool!!

Thanks

I guess that with a few small changes this can be used for vb3.8.6?

Yup, it can be done in any version of vbulletin, but sadly, I don't have any running 3.8.x board on my PC.

Jeff

Wayne Luke
07-12-2011, 04:49 PM
As of 4.1.0 (maybe earlier), jquery is included in the vBulletin download in clientscript/jquery.

as7apcool
07-12-2011, 05:18 PM
Thanks 4 your good work

Jeff Ledger
07-12-2011, 05:21 PM
As of 4.1.0 (maybe earlier), jquery is included in the vBulletin download in clientscript/jquery.

Hi Luke, as I mentioned

"I'm using google api for jquery".

anw, thank you for your information.

Thanks 4 your good work

Thanks, please mark as installed if you are using it :)

Jeff

sivaganeshk
07-13-2011, 02:36 PM
for threads, does it display thread description than only thread title ??

Jeff Ledger
07-13-2011, 03:11 PM
for threads, does it display thread description than only thread title ??


It works on forumhome only, I may update it with forumdisplay later.

sivaganeshk
07-13-2011, 03:22 PM
Waiting for it ... :)

Nimaveli
08-22-2011, 10:05 AM
Can someone PLEASE convert this for use on the forumdisplay? :)

Nimaveli
08-22-2011, 06:34 PM
Noone can convert it for use on the thread display? It should not be a difficult modification to the code.

:(

Nimaveli
08-24-2011, 07:14 PM
Noone? :( :(

Nimaveli
08-27-2011, 01:58 PM
:( Is there really noone who could make this for the thread display?

Nimaveli
09-02-2011, 04:35 PM
Really?

lol

Dr.osamA
01-19-2012, 11:01 PM
Can someone PLEASE convert this for use on the forumdisplay? :)

try this one bro

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=256440

sixdemons
02-08-2012, 07:42 AM
I dont know why, but after everything I just see a opacity line with no round corners and no text..

I even tried to change the jquery version from google that is on the script from the 1.4.2 to 1.7.1 and still no luck, same problem...