View Full Version : $vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] always returns 0
codeit
06-27-2011, 08:36 PM
I'm trying to integrate a vb login form on my homepage but couldn't find no help so far.. even posted a question here last week but getting no answer. so I'm doing some experiments to find the way on my own...
For now, I'm having a test.php page which located at an upper directory of my forums, and include the forums' global.php file, just to be able to access the $vbulletin->userinfo data. However, $vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] always returns 0 as an Unregistered user even when I logged in.
I took the code to my local pc (running IIS) and it works just fine (of course I had to change the path due to Windows v.s Unix, but can't figure out why it doesn't work on my Unix host..
Here's a sort of my experiment code:
$curdir = getcwd();
chdir($curdir.'/forums');
require_once('./global.php');
//Use $bbuserinfo.
echo('userid: ' . $vbulletin->userinfo['userid']);
echo('userid: ' . $vbulletin->userinfo['username']);
chdir($curdir);
Also, everytime I access this test.php page, it kicks out my login status on vbulletin.
Please help
Thanks
Boofo
06-27-2011, 08:46 PM
Did you try $bbuserinfo['userid']?
codeit
06-27-2011, 08:50 PM
yeah I did.. in fact, you can see my note there to use $bbuserinfo at first.. then I gave up with it and try $vbulletin ->userinfo...
$bbuserinfo['userid'] returns nothing, not even 0
borbole
06-27-2011, 09:00 PM
Can you post the whole code of your test.php page?
Adrian Schneider
06-27-2011, 09:02 PM
Same cookie domain + path?
codeit
06-27-2011, 09:07 PM
Borbole: it's pretty much the whole code.. except the <?php tags.. here it is everything again (just a very simple code):
<?php //test.php
$curdir = getcwd();
chdir($curdir.'/forums');
require_once('./global.php');
//Use $bbuserinfo.
echo('userid: ' . $vbulletin->userinfo['userid']);
echo('userid: ' . $vbulletin->userinfo['username']);
chdir($curdir);
?>
Adrian:
Your comment kindda made me think.. but I believe it is, cuz this test.php is on the same host and everything, just on an upper dir of the forums, and I'm accessing both (the forums and the test.php) on the same browser...
FWIW I tried this on a linux host and it worked. Dumb question, but are you testing it with the same browser that you're logging in to vb with? (Sometimes I have IE and FF going at the same time).
codeit
06-27-2011, 09:14 PM
Yes, I basically have 2 tabs on my browser, one with vb, and the other with the test page.. login to the vb, then refresh the test page and it shows 0 for userid and Unregistered for username. Then go back to vb, it.. logged me out.
Also tried with IE since I have both IE and FF. same thing
Boofo
06-27-2011, 09:20 PM
Try changing this:
chdir($curdir.'/forums');
to this:
chdir($curdir'./forums');
codeit
06-27-2011, 09:26 PM
Boofo:
that gives a syntax error
syntax error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING
and
chdir($curdir.'./forums');
gives a "no such file or directory" error
Boofo
06-27-2011, 09:36 PM
Look closer at my change. I didn't add the first dot.
codeit
06-27-2011, 09:42 PM
Boofo:
I knew that.. the first part of my previous reply about the syntax error was for the exact change you gave, then I just tried a little more than what you suggested.. sorry didn't make it clear enough.
It's for sure a directory issue, I just tried to move test.php into the forums directory and removed the chdir stuffs and it works, so must be the chdir stuffs...
In the ACP under "Cookies and HTTP Header Options", what do you have "Path to Save Cookies" set to? According to the help for that option, unless you have it set to '/', the cookies won't work in other directories. (I guess that's what Adrian meant by "path").
codeit
06-27-2011, 09:57 PM
YES! I just got it.. damn it
kh99: you're just right on, I actually just found out by comparing the settings on the two hosts, then got it to work.. then came back here and see your post exactly the same as what I found.
I recently moved my boards to vB so I'm still new to it, these little things will kill me more :)
Thank you all for your helps.
Adrian Schneider
06-27-2011, 10:00 PM
Glad to hear you figured it out. :)
You got it in one, it just took us a bit to catch up with you. ;)
Boofo
06-27-2011, 11:13 PM
I was way off.
codeit
06-28-2011, 04:33 AM
Although replies don't answer the question directly sometimes, they contribute to the brainstorming :)
So.. they're all appreciated.
LT Mote
06-28-2011, 07:59 AM
Did you try $bbuserinfo['userid']?
" $bbuserinfo['userid'] " doesn't work on 4.x
socialteenz
06-28-2011, 12:36 PM
Did you try?
{vb:raw userinfo.fieldx}
HMBeaty
06-28-2011, 12:43 PM
Did you try?
{vb:raw userinfo.fieldx}
What does that have to do with anything? :confused:
BirdOPrey5
06-28-2011, 12:44 PM
Did you try?
{vb:raw userinfo.fieldx}
That code only works in a template. This is raw php code.
$vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] is the correct variable to use... why it's not working is the issue... probably a cookie thing, the user is being logged out/has no session on the custom page.
Did you declare $vulletin to be global?
HMBeaty
06-28-2011, 12:48 PM
That code only works in a template. This is raw php code.
$vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] is the correct variable to use... why it's not working is the issue... probably a cookie thing, the user is being logged out/has no session on the custom page.
Did you declare $vulletin to be global?
And the code posted by socialteenz
{vb:raw userinfo.fieldx}
pulls the info from a user profile field for a template lol
In case anyone cares, the OP solved the problem 10 posts ago, it was the cookie path (and there was nothing wrong with the original code) :)
HMBeaty
06-28-2011, 12:59 PM
In case anyone cares, the OP solved the problem 10 posts ago, it was the cookie path (and there was nothing wrong with the original code) :)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/06/9.jpg
socialteenz
06-28-2011, 01:01 PM
And the code posted by socialteenz
{vb:raw userinfo.fieldx}
pulls the info from a user profile field for a template lol
My bad, it was supposed to be
{vb:raw userinfo.userid}
HMBeaty
06-28-2011, 01:02 PM
My bad, it was supposed to be
Ah, that makes a little more sense, but still for a template :D
socialteenz
06-28-2011, 01:10 PM
Ah, that makes a little more sense, but still for a template :D
yeah, i didn't read the thread properly though.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.