Log in

View Full Version : BB Code Enhancements - "select all" feature for BB Code : CODE/HTML/PHP


BCP Hung
06-09-2011, 10:00 PM
About this modification :
This mods template allows you added to the BB Code CODE / HTML / PHP function selects all the content in it with a simple button.
Install :

Insert javascript code into headinclude template
AdminCP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> Edit Templates -> headinclude
Copy and paste following js code to bottom of headinclude template :
<script type="text/javascript">
function selectAll(a)
{
var e = a.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('code ')[0];
if (window.getSelection)
{
var s = window.getSelection();
if (s.setBaseAndExtent)
{
s.setBaseAndExtent(e, 0, e, e.innerText.length - 1);
}
else
{
var r = document.createRange();
r.selectNodeContents(e);
s.removeAllRanges();
s.addRange(r);
}
}
else if (document.getSelection)
{
var s = document.getSelection();
var r = document.createRange();
r.selectNodeContents(e);
s.removeAllRanges();
s.addRange(r);
}
else if (document.selection)
{
var r = document.body.createTextRange();
r.moveToElementText(e);
r.select();
}
}
</script>
Insert new code to bbcode template
... -> Edit Templates -> BB Code Layout Templates -> bbcode_code
Find :
{vb:rawphrase code}:

...and...

{vb:raw code}
Change :
{vb:rawphrase code}:&nbsp;<input type="button" value="{vb:rawphrase select_code}" onclick="selectAll(this); return false;">

...and...

<code>{vb:raw code}</code>
Insert new code to bbcode_html template (same bbcode_code)
... -> Edit Templates -> BB Code Layout Templates -> bbcode_html
Find :
{vb:rawphrase html_code}:

...and...

{vb:raw code}
Change :
{vb:rawphrase html_code}:&nbsp;<input type="button" value="{vb:rawphrase select_code}" onclick="selectAll(this); return false;">

...and...

<code>{vb:raw code}</code>
Insert new code to bbcode_php template (same bbcode_code)
... -> Edit Templates -> BB Code Layout Templates -> bbcode_php
Find :
{vb:rawphrase php_code}:
Change :
{vb:rawphrase php_code}:&nbsp;<input type="button" value="{vb:rawphrase select_code}" onclick="selectAll(this); return false;">
(Optional) Add new phrase : If you don't want to do this step, please look at "Notes" !
AdminCP -> Languages & Phrases -> Phrase Manager -> [Add New Phrase]

Phrase Type : GLOBAL
Product : vBulletin
Varname : select_code
Text : select all


Notes :
If you don't want to create new phrase (step 5), you can search for : {vb:rawphrase select_code} and replace with select all
Next version : add new feature "copy to clipboard".

nitra1000
06-10-2011, 11:07 AM
Good job, tagged for later

BCP Hung
06-10-2011, 03:26 PM
New update : fix bug : same phrase with CKEditor phrase in vBulletin 4.1.4.

Thank you,
Getamped 1404.

nacaruncr
06-11-2011, 02:34 AM
working fine in 4.1.3 :D

Thanks men :D

tagged + installed + MOTM + 5 stars :D

BCP Hung
06-11-2011, 03:04 AM
working fine in 4.1.3 :D

Thanks men :D

tagged + installed + MOTM + 5 stars :D
Thanks for feedback !

You will be like next version with "copy to clipboard" feature. But, some bugs with flash file must be fix ! :confused:

nacaruncr
06-12-2011, 12:13 AM
Ok, I'll wait it .. thanks so much.

Twikitero
06-13-2011, 05:29 AM
Thank you very much, works perfectly 100%.
A major modification, pending the copy to clipboard very necessary for my forum

Thanks again

Marked as installed

BCP Hung
06-13-2011, 06:40 AM
A major modification, pending the copy to clipboard very necessary for my forum
Yes, I know that. I'm having a lot of project, I will way back with this modification soon !

Thanks for used,
Getamped 1404.

Twikitero
07-03-2011, 04:42 PM
Thank you.

Just please do not forget the copy to clipboard.

I love your modifications.

regards

BCP Hung
07-03-2011, 05:46 PM
Thank you.

Just please do not forget the copy to clipboard.

I love your modifications.

regards
Sorry, I really busy now, my free time very poor.

I need more time to update.

Thanks,
Getamped 1404.

nacaruncr
07-10-2011, 07:08 AM
Thanks men :D I wait for the upgrade :D

f4vn
11-21-2011, 01:01 PM
This mod doesn`t work with my site. Error is "Parameter is not an object [Break On This Error] r.selectNodeContents(e); " Can you tell me how to fix it ?

Thank you,

bigs15
01-27-2013, 05:36 AM
is this work with 3.8.7 thankx in advance...

bulwinkl
01-31-2014, 09:25 PM
Great job, I really appreciated this.

This really should be part of the default Vbulletin.

Worked perfectly in 4.2.2:up:

ahobilam
02-03-2014, 03:18 PM
I am using VB 4.2.2
The code found in my (custom template) bbcode_code and bbcode_html are different
than what you are instructed for find as below:

<div class="bbcode_container">
<div class="bbcode_description">{vb:rawphrase html_code}:</div>
<pre class="bbcode_code"<vb:if condition="$vboptions['codemaxlines']"> style="height:<vb:if condition="$blockheight<=$vboptions['codemaxlines']">{vb:math {vb:math {vb:raw blockheight}+2}}*{vb:stylevar mid_fontSize}}<vb:else />{vb:math {vb:math {vb:raw blockheight}+1}*{vb:stylevar mid_fontSize}}</vb:if>;"</vb:if>>{vb:raw code}</pre>
</div>

Can I replace it, I want to conform before making any changes.

What is the meaning for
....and.....
between the code.
Thanks in advance.

ramesh_umk3
02-05-2014, 01:14 PM
it will work as i am running vbulletin 4.2.2

leave ....and.....

replace only starting and ending code which he mentioned

Regards,

RedHacker
06-06-2016, 06:17 AM
Thanks it is work with 4.1.7

john7911
06-15-2016, 09:09 AM
Hi,
It does not work on my forum 4.2.3 :(
Can somme one tell me where is the problem?
Thank you :)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2016/06/5.jpg


-----------------------------------
It's ok I found the problem :cool: I forgot a < in the beginning of the code :erm:

Raptor
05-05-2017, 06:19 AM
This stopped working in Chrome just recently

Works fine in Edge and cellphone browser

Uncaught DOMException: Failed to execute 'setBaseAndExtent' on 'Selection': There is no child at offset 18125.
at selectAll (

Raptor
05-07-2017, 12:51 PM
Update:

Select All works in Chrome Version 57.0.2987.133 (64-bit)

Stopped working after update to Chrome Version 58.0.3029.96 (64-bit)

Problem: the last parameter to the "setBaseAndExtent" shouldn't be the text length, it should be the child node count.

https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/Selection/setBaseAndExtent

I'm not versed enough in Javascript enough to fix this properly. What does make this work is by removing the following:


if (s.setBaseAndExtent)
{
s.setBaseAndExtent(e, 0, e, e.innerText.length - 1);
}
else
{


and the } after the else

So the new Javascript in the headinclude is


<script type="text/javascript">
function selectAll(a)
{
var e = a.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('code ')[0];
if (window.getSelection)
{
var s = window.getSelection();

var r = document.createRange();
r.selectNodeContents(e);
s.removeAllRanges();
s.addRange(r);

}
else if (document.getSelection)
{
var s = document.getSelection();
var r = document.createRange();
r.selectNodeContents(e);
s.removeAllRanges();
s.addRange(r);
}
else if (document.selection)
{
var r = document.body.createTextRange();
r.moveToElementText(e);
r.select();
}
}
</script>


Hope this helps someone.

If there's anyone who can post the correct java solution without removing any code that would be great.

My vB is 4.2.4 btw

RedHacker
05-31-2020, 04:34 AM
Hello can be fix this to work ?

PinkMilk
05-31-2020, 09:55 AM
CSS4 solution:
.selectable{
-webkit-touch-callout: all; /* iOS Safari */
-webkit-user-select: all; /* Safari */
-khtml-user-select: all; /* Konqueror HTML */
-moz-user-select: all; /* Firefox */
-ms-user-select: all; /* Internet Explorer/Edge */
user-select: all; /* Chrome and Opera */
}

user-select is a CSS Module Level 4 specification, that is currently a draft and non-standard CSS property, but browsers support it well ? see #search=user-select (https://caniuse.com/#search=user-select).

Read more on user-select here on MDN (https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/user-select) and play with it here in w3scools (https://www.w3schools.com/cssref/playit.asp?filename=playcss_user-select&preval=all)

Source (https://stackoverflow.com/a/43783066/1359310)

RedHacker
08-31-2021, 06:43 AM
No work at 4.2.5