Log in

View Full Version : Forum Display Enhancements - Awesome News Ticker under Navbar @xitclub


XiTCLUB
06-04-2011, 10:00 PM
Hello,

here i am sharing another cool template modification that i have used on my forum.


Demo : http://www.xitclub.com/
Steps:

1: Goto Styele Manager >Edit Template >CSS Templates >aditional.css (Double Click to Edit

Add at bottom of all content in aditional.css
.news-container
{
width:100%;
min-width:990px;
height:30px;
background-color:black;
}
#news-container-box
{
width:990px;
height:30px;
margin-left:auto;
margin-right:auto;
}
#news-heading
{
width:150px;
height:30px;
background-image:url(news-bg.png);
background-repeat:no-repeat;
float:left;
}
#news-content
{
width:990px;
height:30px;
background-color:#f6f6f6;
-moz-border-radius:5px;

}
#news-news
{
width:840px;
height:30px;
float:right;
font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size:20px;
color:#060;
text-align:center;
}
#news-news a
{
text-decoration:none;
color:#F00
}
2: Now goto Style Manager > Edit Template > Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates > navbar (Double click to Edit)

Find <!-- closing div for above_body -->Add Before
<div class="news-container">
<div id="news-container-box">
<div id="news-heading"></div>
<div id="news-content">
<div id="news-news">
<marquee behavior="scroll" scrollamount="7" OnMouseOver="this.stop()" OnMouseOut="this.start()"> Your News Goes Here </marquee>

</div>
</div>
</div>
</div>



3: Upload news-bg.png to your forum root




Don't forget To say Thanks If You LIKE This Modification

hoangduchuu
06-05-2011, 06:45 AM
Sorry. The administrator has banned your IP address. To contact the administrator click here


Read More: XiT Club | IT Learning and Entertainment FORUM | online Entertainment
please show a sreenshot :)

Krusty1231
06-05-2011, 12:38 PM
Looks like this:

See below!

leclownos
06-05-2011, 07:15 PM
Merci pour ce petit module

denman75
06-05-2011, 08:22 PM
thank you ,

Special Pages
06-05-2011, 09:07 PM
This is not bad... Thanks!

XiTCLUB
06-06-2011, 02:49 PM
you Are welcome

FReeSTER
06-07-2011, 05:01 PM
This is just what I need it but i have a problem with the image, is trying to go double

Da-Vinci
06-07-2011, 07:34 PM
For some reason the CSS doesn't seem to be loading for me on 2 of my templates, but shows on the default skin.

On the Default template, I have the same problem as FReeSTER.

http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/1980/ticker.png

On my 2 other templates I only get the marquee effect but no image or backgrounds.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

Edit: Fixed the image mutiplying.

Change this part of the CSS.

#news-heading
{
width:150px;
height:30px;
background-image:url(images/misc/news-bg.png);
float:left;
}

To

#news-heading
{
width:125px;
height:25px;
background-image:url(images/misc/news-bg.png);
float:left;
}

Still can't work out why the CSS isn't loading from my other 2 templates though.

XiTCLUB
06-07-2011, 07:37 PM
This is just what I need it but i have a problem with the image, is trying to go double

just goto aditional.css and look for

#news-heading
{
width:150px;
height:30px;
background-image:url(news-bg.png);
float:left;
}

and add this line right after the red text
background-repeat:none;

XiTCLUB
06-07-2011, 07:40 PM
For some reason the CSS doesn't seem to be loading for me, I've added the first edit to the bottom of the additional.css template as described then made the edit to the navbar, the Marquee part works but I don't get the backgrounds or the image.

Any ideas?

have you added the css code in aditional.css on template that is your current default style??

FReeSTER
06-07-2011, 07:43 PM
just goto aditional.css and look for

#news-heading
{
width:150px;
height:30px;
background-image:url(news-bg.png);
float:left;
}

and add this line right after the red text
background-repeat:none;

Thank for the reply mate, but didnt do anything. :(

Da-Vinci
06-07-2011, 09:29 PM
FReeSTER change this part of the CSS, the image is 125px wide and 25px high, so it is multiplying to fill the div which is 150px wide and 30px high.

#news-heading
{
width:150px;
height:30px;
background-image:url(news-bg.png);
float:left;
}

To

#news-heading
{
width:125px;
height:25px;
background-image:url(news-bg.png);
float:left;
}


have you added the css code in aditional.css on template that is your current default style??

Yes I've added it to the additional.css templates for all 3 styles but it only shows correctly on my default skin. Also to mention the Black background doesn't display on my Default skin, but I'm happy with how it looks as I've widened it and changed the image to suit my needs.

Still can't figure why my 2 custom styles aren't loading the CSS for this though.

My Default skin looks like this. (All I've edited is the image and the height and width of some of the Divs)

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/1980/ticker.png

But on my other styles it looks like this.

http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/1980/ticker.png

FReeSTER
06-07-2011, 10:32 PM
Thanki you so much mate that really did the job

XiTCLUB
06-08-2011, 11:50 AM
Thank for the reply mate, but didnt do anything. :(

sorry...spell mistake :D

add this after red text
background-repeat:no-repeat;

shoppingtelly
06-09-2011, 10:12 AM
Loving this, thank you.

XiTCLUB
06-12-2011, 12:10 PM
Loving this, thank you.

Welcome..

vBNinja
06-17-2011, 04:09 AM
This is a great mod. 2 questions though

The news bar is extending my page to the left and right, i tried changing the margins from "auto" to "15px" but it didnt do anything

Also how can i change the scroll speed of the anouncements

Thank you

Izza
06-17-2011, 03:53 PM
Thanks for this :)

Scroll speed is altered by changing the "7" to higher for faster and lower for slower in the Navbar template
<marquee behavior="scroll" scrollamount="7" OnMouseOver="this.stop()" OnMouseOut="this.start()">

vBNinja
06-17-2011, 04:18 PM
Okay thanks. What about the margin problem, i see that the demo site has it too.

raulin
06-17-2011, 09:06 PM
I miss you friend a letter is additional.css, oh good contribution thanks.

mikem164
06-17-2011, 09:31 PM
sorry...spell mistake :D

add this after red text
background-repeat:no-repeat;

Nice work, but you should fix the Mis information in post 10. I would have stopped there if I had the issue and tried your fix, although it's wrong.

Then, you should edit your Mod to include the No repeat, this is a bug and depending on size of monitor and res of user, this will happen to all which is no good for forum.

Lastly, you need to float it to center at 100%, so it doesn't change forum width.

You'll save some people aggravation if you correct it . Just my opinion :)

Nice job all around tho..

vBNinja
06-18-2011, 07:25 PM
the arrows in this screenshot is what i need i fixed

XiTCLUB
06-18-2011, 07:39 PM
the arrows in this screenshot is what i need i fixed

You have to change the width from 100% to same as your forum width
.news-container
{
width:100%;
min-width:990px;
height:30px;
background-color:black;
}

XiTCLUB
06-18-2011, 07:46 PM
Nice work, but you should fix the Mis information in post 10. I would have stopped there if I had the issue and tried your fix, although it's wrong.

Then, you should edit your Mod to include the No repeat, this is a bug and depending on size of monitor and res of user, this will happen to all which is no good for forum.

Lastly, you need to float it to center at 100%, so it doesn't change forum width.

You'll save some people aggravation if you correct it . Just my opinion :)

Nice job all around tho..

added to mod.. thanks for openion
background-repeat:no-repeat;

appsfinder
10-17-2011, 01:20 PM
how do move start from center to say bit more to the left

eg http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/3622/doncasteronlineauctions.jpg

appsfinder
10-17-2011, 01:42 PM
also how do i add links to the news scroll

XiTCLUB
10-19-2011, 07:24 PM
just use href tag, <a href="www.example.com">Link text</a>

Noerenberg
10-20-2011, 05:45 AM
Hi,

is it possible to show automatically the link from a forum when it create a new thread or post?

Angle4cor
11-11-2011, 12:47 PM
Thanks!

victorvu
11-11-2011, 03:10 PM
Hello xXxpert:

I installed this mod, but it only worked vB Suite, not nonvB mods. How can I take care of this, so that it also works on non-vB mods?

Thanx,

Victor:up:

Cromags21
11-14-2011, 05:17 PM
My ticker is lower then the news.png

News.png is here
----------------------While down here is where the ticker is -------------

Where can I fix this issue?

Other then that,I am pretty happy with your mod,great job.

HHelp1
11-14-2011, 11:51 PM
Hi every one, i just saw this thread :CLICK HERE (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=264742) HIS demo site had ticker very organize and clean, but when i add it the box around it over size and the font is is kinda big, here is imageof his site : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/



but when i add it, it really not like that and the box round itkind tha ova size and tha fonts is big. So any idea ?

XiTCLUB
01-16-2012, 12:01 AM
Hi every one, i just saw this thread :CLICK HERE (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=264742) HIS demo site had ticker very organize and clean, but when i add it the box around it over size and the font is is kinda big, here is imageof his site : http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/1159/cleank.png



but when i add it, it really not like that and the box round itkind tha ova size and tha fonts is big. So any idea ?

because i have changed the style at my site.
This mod is not be supported anymore

EBZ2010
01-20-2012, 04:07 PM
Works great, thank you.

www.elitebattlezone.com

skido
04-03-2012, 01:10 PM
Thank you, great mod! Installed .. works perfect. I was wondering since I use a dark style is there a way to make the background black instead of the white?

Yes i see now, got it .. in additional.css simply change the color code

Have a look here if you like http://unitedextremegamers.net/forum.php

Thanks again :D

HHelp1
04-03-2012, 01:14 PM
Thank you, great mod! Installed .. works perfect. I was wondering since I use a dark style is there a way to make the background black instead of the white?

Change the codes color as you want.

vBNinja
04-03-2012, 01:28 PM
Change the codes color as you want.

Edit the css file, the background color is somewhere in the top

HHelp1
04-03-2012, 01:35 PM
Edit the css file, the background color is somewhere in the top

There you go lol THANKS!

tele955848
11-30-2012, 08:48 PM
ask the button (hotnews) stabdard in style but is not displayed in the styles that have been uploaded in addition although everything (navbar and css) in manual?

Mr von
12-08-2013, 12:46 PM
marquee is not good. bucking the Tickers. :)

franzes80
12-23-2013, 01:03 PM
No work on vb 4.2.2.Please update this mod thank you