PDA

View Full Version : 1st time trying out SSH (putty) and a little stuck


HMBeaty
05-07-2011, 03:04 AM
Ok, as the title says, this is my 1st time playing around with using SSH (obviously trying this out on my test site) and I'm a bit confused about restoring my live database to my test site.

After logging is per the vB Manual using:
mysqldump --opt -Q -u XXXXXXXXXXX -p YYYYYYYYYY

I try to restore using this command (again from the vB Manual):
mysql -u 111111111111 -p 22222222222222

But after typing that command, I get:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is XXXXXXXXX
Server version: 5.0.77 Source distribution

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.

mysql>
So, i tried:
\h
and got this:
List of all MySQL commands:
Note that all text commands must be first on line and end with ';'
? (\?) Synonym for `help'.
clear (\c) Clear command.
connect (\r) Reconnect to the server. Optional arguments are db and host.
delimiter (\d) Set statement delimiter. NOTE: Takes the rest of the line as new delimiter.
edit (\e) Edit command with $EDITOR.
ego (\G) Send command to mysql server, display result vertically.
exit (\q) Exit mysql. Same as quit.
go (\g) Send command to mysql server.
help (\h) Display this help.
nopager (\n) Disable pager, print to stdout.
notee (\t) Don't write into outfile.
pager (\P) Set PAGER [to_pager]. Print the query results via PAGER.
print (\p) Print current command.
prompt (\R) Change your mysql prompt.
quit (\q) Quit mysql.
rehash (\#) Rebuild completion hash.
source (\.) Execute an SQL script file. Takes a file name as an argument.
status (\s) Get status information from the server.
system (\!) Execute a system shell command.
tee (\T) Set outfile [to_outfile]. Append everything into given outfile.
use (\u) Use another database. Takes database name as argument.
charset (\C) Switch to another charset. Might be needed for processing binlog with multi-byte charsets.
warnings (\W) Show warnings after every statement.
nowarning (\w) Don't show warnings after every statement.
So, back to my original question, how do I get my database to import to my test site? Because obviously this doesn't work per the manual as there are additional steps that AREN'T in the manual
You can either change directoties to wherever the backup is located and type in the following:

mysql -u dbusername -p databasename < backupname.sql

Blaine0002
05-07-2011, 04:57 AM
first thing id do is install phpmyadmin :) its much more intuitive than mysql command line.

Bradley_Wint
05-07-2011, 05:07 AM
first thing id do is install phpmyadmin :) its much more intuitive than mysql command line.

Actually phpmyadmin is not recommended for large databases because the backups could break during transfer, especially during uploads with a limited upload file size. Backing up to the server via SSH is the best and safest.

HMBeaty
05-07-2011, 05:17 AM
first thing id do is install phpmyadmin :) its much more intuitive than mysql command line.
Hmm....no

Blaine0002
05-07-2011, 05:54 AM
Actually phpmyadmin is not recommended for large databases because the backups could break during transfer, especially during uploads with a limited upload file size. Backing up to the server via SSH is the best and safest.

definately, all depends on what your php variables are set at and how big your board is. anything under 50 mb is pretty safe.


Hmm....no

just trying to help bro.

HMBeaty
05-07-2011, 06:17 AM
Ok, I think I got it figured out. The database got imported, but all I get is a white screen. (probably from one/some of the modifications) so re-imported the files (ALL of them lol) from my live site to my test site and see if that changes anything