PDA

View Full Version : Forums with the same name but different categories


pran
08-23-2001, 05:28 PM
I've got a problem moving forums having the same name but different categories. In the Admin CP, the Source Forum drop-down list will only give you the forum name and no clue to which category it is attached to. On the other hand, one can clearly see the affinity of a forum to a category when moving a thread to another forum.

Is there a hack somewhere that solves this problem? All I can think of right now is to rename the forum into something more descriptive :rolleyes: unless there's a quick hack that I can put in.

Admin
08-23-2001, 05:44 PM
In the drop down box, the forums are ordered by their category, then by the order you set. So you should be able to get which forum is which.
I'm trying to write a little code that will add a "-" before every subforum, so you can see what's what. I'll tell you if I succeed.

pran
08-23-2001, 05:50 PM
Thanks! I'll wait for the results.

Admin
08-23-2001, 06:33 PM
In adminfunctions.php replace
$result=$DB_site->query("SELECT title,forumid FROM forum WHERE forumid<>-1 ORDER BY title");
while ($currow=$DB_site->fetch_array($result)) {

if ($selvalue==$currow[$tableid]) {
echo "<option value=\"$currow[forumid]\" SELECTED>$currow[title]</option>\n";
} else {
echo "<option value=\"$currow[forumid]\">$currow[title]</option>\n";
}
} // for
with
$result=$DB_site->query("SELECT title,forumid,parentid FROM forum WHERE forumid<>-1 ORDER BY title");
while ($currow=$DB_site->fetch_array($result)) {

if ($selvalue==$currow[$tableid]) {
if ($currow[parentid] == "-1") {
echo "<option value=\"$currow[forumid]\" SELECTED>$currow[title]</option>\n";
} else {
echo "<option value=\"$currow[forumid]\" SELECTED>- $currow[title]</option>\n";
}
} else {
if ($currow[parentid] == "-1") {
echo "<option value=\"$currow[forumid]\">$currow[title]</option>\n";
} else {
echo "<option value=\"$currow[forumid]\">- $currow[title]</option>\n";
}
}
} // for

Currently it's just for one level forums, more than that will take a lot more hacking.