PDA

View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - User Links in Navbar for vB 4


Boofo
03-11-2011, 10:00 PM
User Links in Navbar for vB 4
Version 1.0.1
(By Boofo)

What does this product do?
This product will add a drop-down menu with user links in the forum navbar. You can add up to 5 additional links, as well as link names and mouseover text, via the settings. It will check to see if you have Reputation enabled. If you do not, it will not show the reputation in the menu. It will also check to see if you have the "Threads Started by User in Postbit and Profile for vB 4" product installed on your site. If you do not, the thread count will not show in the menu.

Version Information:
Version 1.0.0 --Initial release for vB 4
Version 1.0.1 --Fixed issue with Friends link not working with vBSEO installed.

Installation Overview:
---------------------------
1 Product XML (2 Plugins, 58 Phrases, 1 Template, 17 Settings and 1 Style Variable)

Installation Instructions:
---------------------------
1. Add the following code to the additional.css template:

li.menuname {
padding: 0.2em 0.5em;
text-decoration: none;
text-align: {vb:stylevar left};
color: {vb:stylevar blockhead_link_color};
}


2. Go to your Admin CP
Scroll down to 'Plugin System'
Click 'Manage Products'
Click 'Add/Import Product'
Click the 'Browse' button, and locate the product-boofo_user_links.xml file on your computer

3. Go to your Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> 'User Links in Navbar' and set the following options:
User Links Forum Menu Display Order: Choose the location you want the User Links menu to show up in the Forum Tab. (Default is 3, Navbar after Private Messages)
User Links Blogs Menu Display Order: Choose the location you want the User Links menu to show up in the Blogs Tab. (Default is 2, Blogs after My Blog)
Additional Link (1-5) URL: Enter the URL of the link you want set as Additional Link (1-5).
Additional Link (1-5) Name: Enter the name of the Additional Link (1-5) that you want to show up in the menu.
Additional Link (1-5) Title Text: Enter the title text of Additional Link (1-5) you want to show on mouseover.

4. Go to your Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> StyleVars (In the All Style Options drop-down) -> Boofo -> boofo_userlinks_color
Enter the color code of the font color that you want the User Links menu title to show up in.

NOTE: You will need to do this for all styles.
------------------------------------------------------

Done!
Enjoy!

NOTE: There is also an Advanced Version (paid) available that allows each user to add up to 5 links of their choosing (instead of the Admin having to do it for everyone), as well as a Search menu that allows you to add settings for how many days you want to search for (2 days, 7, days, 12 days, 180 days, etc.) that is only available through my site. If anyone is interested, contact me via PM for details.

if ($mark_as_installed != 'clicked')
{
$you_get = 'squat';
}
else
{
$you_get = 'support';
}

Hippy
03-12-2011, 05:37 PM
I'll be the first to test it out
thanks boofo

need to fix this as well no ?;)

if ($mark_as_installed != 'clicked')
{
$you_get = 'support';
}
else
{
$you_get = squat'';
}

Boofo
03-12-2011, 05:39 PM
Thanks! Let me know if you find any problems. It was pretty well tested out already, but you never know what can slip by.

Boofo
03-12-2011, 05:42 PM
I'll be the first to test it out
thanks boofo

need to fix this as well no ?;)

if ($mark_as_installed != 'clicked')
{
$you_get = 'support';
}
else
{
$you_get = squat'';
}

I had to take a double-look at my code. It seems you switched them. Nice try. ;)

McAtze
03-12-2011, 05:54 PM
Thx for this great Mod ..

.. but one little bug:

I use vBSEO and now the "Friends"-Link doesnt work .. what can i do ??

Boofo
03-12-2011, 06:11 PM
I have no idea as I don't use vBSEO. If you find a fix, let me know and I will update the mod, if the fix doesn't mess up anything for those that don't have vBSEO installed.

Gemma
03-12-2011, 06:29 PM
The code in the product for the friends link should be

Change this:
<li><a href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/member.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}{vb:raw bbuserinfo.userid}-{vb:raw bbuserinfo.username}&amp;tab=friends">{vb:rawphrase boofo_friends}: {vb:raw bbuserinfo.friendcount}</a></li>

To this:
<li><a href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/member.php?u={vb:raw bbuserinfo.userid}&amp;tab=friends">{vb:rawphrase boofo_friends}: {vb:raw bbuserinfo.friendcount}</a></li>

Boofo
03-12-2011, 06:33 PM
Do you have vBSEO installed Gemma? The reason I am asking is because I took that link off of the Friends Tab itself in the profile, so I know it is correct.

Mr_Running
03-12-2011, 06:40 PM
Thanks Boofo

I notice a difference from the screen shot and what I have.
Some of the User Links go above the navbar

Boofo
03-12-2011, 06:45 PM
What is your screen size? Remember, the longer menu has to adapt to the page size and where you are scrolled at. Plus you need to add the code to the additional.css.

Gemma
03-12-2011, 06:49 PM
Do you have vBSEO installed Gemma? The reason I am asking is because I took that link off of the Friends Tab itself in the profile, so I know it is correct.

Yes I do but I used the default link with vBSEO disabled.

Boofo
03-12-2011, 06:56 PM
Can you give me the product name of the vBSEO mod? I will do a conditional that will change the link if vBSEO is installed and enabled. Even disabled, aren't there some link changes in the htaccess file?

McAtze
03-12-2011, 07:02 PM
@Boofo: u have pm .. ;)

i use vbseo with this rewrite ..

domain.de/members/username.html

--------------

€dit: Stop your searching Boofo .. the link from Gemma works .. ;)

<li><a href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/member.php?u={vb:raw bbuserinfo.userid}&amp;tab=friends">{vb:rawphrase boofo_friends}: {vb:raw bbuserinfo.friendcount}</a></li>

Mr_Running
03-12-2011, 07:11 PM
What is your screen size? Remember, the longer menu has to adapt to the page size and where you are scrolled at. Plus you need to add the code to the additional.css.

Screen size is 14 inch and additional.css is added :)

I guess I need a screen for the longer meau :up: I will let the wife know :D

Boofo
03-12-2011, 07:26 PM
Screen size is 14 inch and additional.css is added :)

I guess I need a screen for the longer meau :up: I will let the wife know :D

There should be some spacing on the left of the the menu subtitles if the code is installed in the additional.css..

Boofo
03-12-2011, 07:27 PM
@Boofo: u have pm .. ;)

i use vbseo with this rewrite ..

domain.de/members/username.html

--------------

?dit: Stop your searching Boofo .. the link from Gemma works .. ;)

<li><a href="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/member.php?u={vb:raw bbuserinfo.userid}&amp;tab=friends">{vb:rawphrase boofo_friends}: {vb:raw bbuserinfo.friendcount}</a></li>

We know it works for those with vBSEO installed. That wasn't the problem. But it is fixed now so you can download the update.

McAtze
03-12-2011, 07:32 PM
thx for the fast help ...

Hippy
03-12-2011, 07:42 PM
Thanks Boofo

I notice a difference from the screen shot and what I have.
Some of the User Links go above the navbar

Just tested this and your correct.. but the defaul style is good .
it's a custom style i see this one..

downloaded here @ vb.org called blackend
using vb4.1.2 and the style is also for vb4.1.2

other wise Seems this will be a mch used mod

Boofo
03-12-2011, 07:47 PM
Just edit the additonal.css code you added and change the color: {vb:stylevar blockhead_link_color}, if you want something other than white. As far as it being above the navbar, the custom skin must be causing that. Since I only use the default skin, that is what I coded it in. It looks like they use a lot of padding in that skin, which would account for it, I suppose.

Mikevet1984
03-12-2011, 08:39 PM
Boofo's Miracle one more time....

hahahah

Thanks bro!

sulasno
03-12-2011, 11:36 PM
tagged and thanks

does this mod allow users to select their own links ?

gamerzhut
03-13-2011, 02:09 AM
Thanks, works like a charm.

Mark as installed & rated *****

Mr_Running
03-13-2011, 11:56 AM
Just tested this and your correct.. but the defaul style is good .
it's a custom style i see this one..

downloaded here @ vb.org called blackend
using vb4.1.2 and the style is also for vb4.1.2

other wise Seems this will be a mch used mod

It looks like they use a lot of padding in that skin, which would account for it, I suppose.

Yes it may be the padding on mine as I did increase the size of the navbar and sub navbar slightly.

When I remove the additional links it does stay below. :)

Sulasno
does this mod allow users to select their own links ?

No not as of 1.0.1 but...Additional links can be set.
vB --> Settings --> Options --> User Links in Navbar

Thanks again Boofo rated 5 stars

Cheers,
Mr_Running

Boofo
03-13-2011, 12:05 PM
Allowing users to add their own links would requite setting up profile fields. That could be done fairly easily, I suppose. If I get enough calls for it, then maybe I will look into it. It would have to be worth the time to mess with it.

Mr_Running
03-13-2011, 12:41 PM
There should be some spacing on the left of the the menu subtitles if the code is installed in the additional.css..

Menu subtitles (Statistics, Post, etc) do seem a little close on mine as seen in post #9
The additional.css is added ???


Cheers,
Mr_Running

Boofo
03-13-2011, 12:49 PM
Check and make SURE you added the code to the additional.css exactly as it is supposed to be. Are you using a custom skin of any kind? What browser were you in when you took that pic?

Mr_Running
03-13-2011, 01:10 PM
Checked additional.css --> seems good.
The only custom skin I am using is a change in some vB default colors. :)

The Browser was FireFox for the pic and I have now checked EI and Google. = Same
I have cleared the cache and cookies too.
Did not change.

Cheers,
Mr_Running

Boofo
03-13-2011, 01:24 PM
Yes it may be the padding on mine as I did increase the size of the navbar and sub navbar slightly.

Sulasno

You messed with the padding on the navbar. That is why it looks like it does now. If you check it with a default skin that has not been tampered with, it will show correctly. There is no way to account for all changes someone can make. I suggest either setting the padding and whatever else you did back to the default, or you will need to go into the additional.css and adjust the settings in the code you added there.

UncoderMom
03-13-2011, 01:32 PM
Was waiting for you to release this! Its about time! LOL

Boofo
03-13-2011, 01:52 PM
All you had to do was ask. You knew I was working on it. ;)

UncoderMom
03-13-2011, 03:06 PM
Oooh did I tell you already to add subscribed threads to it?

PLEASE add subscribed threads!

UncoderMom
03-13-2011, 03:08 PM
Under the posts section would be nice.

Mikevet1984
03-13-2011, 03:15 PM
Boofo I need help to change the font color and backround color of the categories of (statistics,miscellaneous,posts) so as to suit better the colors of each of my installed skins. I would also like to make these three phrases bold so as to make the difference from the link where the font is normal. How could I do that? Is it possible?

Am I also wondering if (in future updates of course) you could add the possibility to admins after widing a little the space of each link, to add html script of a tiny image ie 10 px to make the mod look more impressive to users eyes.

Boofo
03-13-2011, 10:53 PM
Oooh did I tell you already to add subscribed threads to it?

PLEASE add subscribed threads!

I had that added at one time but decided to take it out since Subscribed Threads is already there under the Quick Links menu.

Boofo
03-13-2011, 11:05 PM
Boofo I need help to change the font color and backround color of the categories of (statistics,miscellaneous,posts) so as to suit better the colors of each of my installed skins. I would also like to make these three phrases bold so as to make the difference from the link where the font is normal. How could I do that? Is it possible?

Am I also wondering if (in future updates of course) you could add the possibility to admins after widing a little the space of each link, to add html script of a tiny image ie 10 px to make the mod look more impressive to users eyes.

The code you added to the additonal.css is what you need to edit for what you want. That handles the sub-head lines.

As far as adding an image, I had thought about that, but as you can see from a few users in this thread, they are already having issues with spacing in the menu due to screen size on their end. I will look into it further and see what I can figure out with, though.

Boofo
03-13-2011, 11:46 PM
Mike, is the pic below something like what you were looking to do?

Mikevet1984
03-14-2011, 12:39 AM
Yup, plus the images before the text of the url. In the admin defined url it's easy as the only thing you have to do is paste html script of the image before the title. But in the other links of your mod needs template edit but I am not such an expert to do it.

The answer in your question in yes...

Boofo
03-14-2011, 12:45 AM
As far as the images go, that is a slippery slope. How do you know what image to have for what link? Also, all you would need is one admin trying to like to an over-sized image to blow it all apart.

As for as the background color of the sub-head line, try replacing the additional.css code with this:

li.menuname {
font-size: {vb:stylevar small_fontSize};
font-weight: bold;
padding: 2px 0px 2px {vb:math {vb:stylevar padding}/2};
border: 0;
background: {vb:stylevar navbar_background};
text-decoration: none;
text-align: {vb:stylevar left};
color: {vb:stylevar boofo_userlinks_color};
}

Boofo
03-14-2011, 12:55 AM
Actually, Mike, now that I have looked into it, it wouldn't be that hard to make another setting for the icon images. BUT... unless they used icons for ALL of the additional links, it would look really out of place with links staggered. Do you have an idea for a standard image that could be added before all of the additional links?

Mikevet1984
03-14-2011, 01:20 AM
As far as the images go, that is a slippery slope. How do you know what image to have for what link? Also, all you would need is one admin trying to like to an over-sized image to blow it all apart.

You do not know....you choose. Icons are millions found through websearching.

An image of avout 15-px worked perfect to me. It suits the mod, taking into account the current dimensions of the links backround.

Boofo
03-14-2011, 01:28 AM
You do not know....you choose. Icons are millions found through websearching.

An image of avout 15-px worked perfect to me. It suits the mod, taking into account the current dimensions of the links backround.

Did the new additional.css code work better for you?

Mikevet1984
03-14-2011, 01:37 AM
Yes....just installed it!

Perfect! I think you should change the first post and renew the existing code with this one.

Boofo
03-14-2011, 02:06 AM
I am working on your #$!*$@ icons now. ;)

Mikevet1984
03-14-2011, 02:30 AM
Ahahahaha Am I your motivation really?

I think Boofo you do reserve a DONATION REWARD for all your efforts and conribution in the vb community.

I really hope members who use you valuable modification will show their thankfulness to everyhing you have done so far for us.

Regards, Mr Boofo!

Take care....

''Michael''

Boofo
03-14-2011, 02:38 AM
Don't you mean "deserve" and not "reserve"? ;)

It is not going to be real easy to do, but I will get it figured out. I have the settings made, now I need to get the icons to show up in the right place.

bitbender
03-14-2011, 02:42 AM
"Boofo Rocks" - Installed early ;)

Sorry for being MIA today, boofo, Nig music weekend - I'm back at my desk now, preparing for the whips and chains of corporate ;)

Cheers

Last_Zero
03-14-2011, 05:49 PM
Thanks Bofo :)

goxy63
03-14-2011, 08:28 PM
?did anyone try to use with "Tabs Add System for vBulletin 4"?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233629&page=65

Kat-2
04-23-2011, 08:22 PM
Just installed this. I haven't done anything extra with it but I ♥ it!

docvader
04-26-2011, 07:24 AM
I'm using it with the tabs add system without any issues. works very well. Very professional!

Scalemotorcars
07-31-2011, 08:55 PM
Can we get this for CMS also? Thanks...

One thing I messed with the link color and no matter what it refused to change.

I tried standard css and moding the color line to color: {vb:stylevar navbar_link_color};

To be clear I want to change the color in the navbar itself. Im not worried about links in the drop down.

Boofo
07-31-2011, 09:01 PM
You need to look in the block of code that you were supposed to add to the additional.css from the first post for the color change you are wanting.

As far as working with the CMS, I don't use that on my site yet so I haven't had a chance to play around with it. One of these days I will get around to that. ;)

Scalemotorcars
07-31-2011, 09:08 PM
Got it I had the wrong css. I was using the one from the zip. Changed bofoo sylevar and all good now. Thanks...

teach1st
07-31-2011, 10:42 PM
Excellent! Thanks so much for the great addition to my 4.1.5 board.

Breixo
10-28-2011, 01:03 PM
Nice mod, working perfectly on 4.1.7. Thanks!

OldSchoolDSL
12-04-2011, 04:19 AM
Installed and of course working (It's Boofo's it's supposed to work :p )

4.1.8 :D

docvader
12-26-2011, 07:02 AM
Still working on 4.19. Of course....

RSNF
12-26-2011, 01:42 PM
Another great Mod sir appreciated as always!!

Boofo
12-26-2011, 01:54 PM
NOTE: There is also a version that allows each user to add up to 5 links of their choosing instead of the Admin having to do it for everyone, that is only available through donations. If anyone is interested, contact me via PM for details. (added to first post)

TombstoneWarrior
01-25-2012, 04:31 AM
installed and nomiated for MOTM even though my bar is going above the navbar like the other member. any fix for this yet???

TombstoneWarrior
01-25-2012, 04:34 AM
Just tested this and your correct.. but the defaul style is good .
it's a custom style i see this one..

downloaded here @ vb.org called blackend
using vb4.1.2 and the style is also for vb4.1.2

other wise Seems this will be a mch used mod hippy how did you get the black backround with the yellow tabs i have a black script and most everything is dark and hard to see check out my site you will see what i mean. its closed for mods right now but if your going to look ill open it for you just pm me...

Boofo
01-25-2012, 05:07 AM
installed and nomiated for MOTM even though my bar is going above the navbar like the other member. any fix for this yet???

That has more to do with the your custom style spacing/padding than anything else.

Hippy
01-25-2012, 10:44 AM
TombstoneWarrior like boofo said it's a padding issue ..
go to your style > stylevar and click show only edited or "padding:
and search for a missing "px" as far as the color it's stylevars

try this as well

search your style for .navtabs li.selected .popupbody li a

and see what stylevar is used for background: and color: this will change the font color and the background

if you still have issues pm me..

enjoy

*hey boofo how has your new year been brotha ? I hope good

Nirjonadda
04-30-2012, 10:44 PM
Installed Advanced Edition Excellent working on 4.1.10 ! Thanks Boofo for your great work !!!

Boofo
04-30-2012, 10:47 PM
Installed Advanced Edition Excellent working on 4.1.10 ! Thanks Boofo for your great work !!!

You are very welcome, my friend. ;)

babyv0x
05-01-2012, 04:14 PM
Thanks Boofo

This mod working fine on default Style, but with my custom style then Reputation row is too high .

please help me how can i fix it ??

Boofo
05-01-2012, 06:24 PM
You will need to check with whoever made your custom style to fix it for that style.

Hippy
05-02-2012, 12:19 AM
Thanks Boofo

This mod working fine on default Style, but with my custom style then Reputation row is too high .

please help me how can i fix it ??

search your styles stylevars for padding check each on for a missing px

babyv0x
05-02-2012, 10:37 AM
You will need to check with whoever made your custom style to fix it for that style.

search your styles stylevars for padding check each on for a missing px

popupmenu_height stylevar missing px :D .

Thanks .

Hippy
05-02-2012, 11:29 AM
Welcome glad I could be of service enjoy

Boofo
05-02-2012, 11:50 AM
Hippy bees the man! ;)

Hippy
05-02-2012, 12:25 PM
Not ready boofo but thanks

Boofo
05-02-2012, 12:37 PM
ready == really? LOL

Gemma
05-02-2012, 03:05 PM
I've re-worked this for my own needs, incorporated parts of Quick Links, Community and Forum Action links and done away with those dropdowns. Works pretty well.

Thanks Mr Boofo ;)

Boofo
05-02-2012, 03:20 PM
I've re-worked this for my own needs, incorporated parts of Quick Links, Community and Forum Action links and done away with those dropdowns. Works pretty well.

Thanks Mr Boofo ;)

I'd like to see that. ;)

blind-eddie
05-03-2012, 02:10 AM
Yep, it can be done, I just moved the Miscellaneous links to the quick links dropdown on my test site, I am sure the rest could get moved around, but its fine the way it is. I did get rid of username in dropdown name & renamed it to My links...To me, it looks better then a long name.

I am interested in the Advanced Edition to see the addon to this.

Thanks Rob

Boofo
05-03-2012, 06:09 AM
Well, the only problem with that is that not everyone would do it the same way. So there is really no way to do it generically to satisfy everyone.

blind-eddie
05-03-2012, 08:34 PM
Well, the only problem with that is that not everyone would do it the same way. So there is really no way to do it generically to satisfy everyone.

I hear ya on that one.
I was just messing around with it.... changing this..... changing that.. I do it to everything I install from here. Its how I learn or break things.

Boofo
05-03-2012, 08:46 PM
I have some plans for the advanced version that might make something like that a littler easier.

docvader
06-19-2012, 06:10 AM
Hey Boofo, hope you are well. Long time no speak.

Is there a reason why I can't get this to work on my upgraded 4.2 VB install?? (Have been using this since it first came out...) I even followed the directions!

New Joe
06-19-2012, 06:25 AM
Hey Boofo, hope you are well. Long time no speak.

Is there a reason why I can't get this to work on my upgraded 4.2 VB install?? (Have been using this since it first came out...) I even followed the directions!
Due to changes with vb4.2 in the nav bar this version won't work.

Boofo is getting the newest version for vb4.2 ready and it should be out soon.

docvader
06-19-2012, 06:31 AM
Thanks NJ. I thought so. But then again, it's not beyond me to do something incredibly stupid and miss something...

BadBoy316
08-05-2012, 04:43 PM
will not work in vbulletin 4.2 i have Version 1.0.1