View Full Version : Post icons in own column?
Schoelle
02-16-2011, 01:47 PM
Is it possibly to change the forumdisplay to show the post icons in a seperate column?
See picture on the left.
I have tried to put an empty posticon as standard icon. This works but also does not look nice.
See picture on the right.
This would help so much. Miss this feature that wbb2 has!
Thanks for any idea how to do this!
regards,
Matthias
Lynne
02-16-2011, 04:40 PM
You are going to have to modify the threadbit template and move the image out of the class "inner" div and then apply some CSS to it. You'll also have to insert a blank image/space for when there is no icon.
Schoelle
02-16-2011, 08:50 PM
I'm not really sure how to do that, but as a first try i did the following.
- set up an empty post icon image as default post icon.
- changed threadbit template:
before
<vb:if condition="!$show['detailedtime']">
I have placed
<img src="images/icons/iconempty.png" alt="" border="0" />
This did the trick but is maybe not the best way to achieve this. :)
Con: Because in showthread also the post icon is used, i now have an empty space there if there is no real post icon set. So i'll need to change showthread to not show the post icon.
Maybe someone can enlighten me on how to do this better!
thanks,
Matthias
Lynne
02-16-2011, 10:33 PM
What do you want to show if there is no post icon? If you had a separate column, then it would be empty also.
Schoelle
02-17-2011, 03:57 PM
What do you want to show if there is no post icon? If you had a separate column, then it would be empty also.
Sorry, i mean when you look at a post. On 'showthread' not on 'forumdisplay'
There you also have the post icon in front of the threadtitle.
As i have created
This is caused by the standard post icon (the transparent icon i've created)
If there would be a real separate column to show these icon this would be better!
Then there would be no need for a transparent standard post icon!
The solution i have now is 'ok' and works. I'll see if i just remove the post icon from the showthread template. No need for it there anyways :)
Lynne
02-17-2011, 04:54 PM
Why don't you just use a condition in your postbit templates to show nothing instead of the default icon then?
Schoelle
02-18-2011, 02:59 PM
Lynne: Because i've bought vb 1 week ago and i only know very little how things work :)
Why does the webmaster of this site don't tell us how he did it, because we have it now here! :D
Lynne
02-18-2011, 03:35 PM
This site is running vB3 and everything uses tables. vB4 uses divs so that you may control the look of your site via CSS.
You could try something like this in your postbit/postbit_legacy template:
<h2 class="posttitle icon">
<vb:if condition="$show['messageicon'] AND $post['icontitle'] != 'Default' "><img src="{vb:raw post.iconpath}" alt="{vb:raw post.icontitle}" /> </vb:if>{vb:raw post.title}
</h2>
See if that works.
Schoelle
02-20-2011, 11:46 AM
Lynne, that worked! Thank you very much. Now it looks like it should :)
Slowly learning about the conditionals and how to use them....
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.