Log in

View Full Version : Administrative and Maintenance Tools - Edit StyleVars page


Lynne
02-08-2011, 10:00 PM
This is just a new page for showing the .css template and having all the stylevars clickable and then editable in the bottom screen. This uses iframes, so if you browser doesn't support that, then it won't work and I cannot help you with this.

You will need to open up and edit the admincp/template.php file.

**edited for 4.1.11 below** Basically just add the code in red to the existing code.

Find (under $_REQUEST['do'] = 'add'):
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['template'] . '
<br /><br />
<span class="smallfont">' .
iif($vbulletin->GPC['title'], construct_link_code($vbphrase['show_default'], "template.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=view&amp;title=" . $vbulletin->GPC['title'], 1) . '<br /><br />', '') .
'<!--' . $vbphrase['wrap_text'] . '<input type="checkbox" unselectable="on" onclick="set_wordwrap(\'ta_template\', this.checked);" accesskey="w" checked="checked" />-->
</span>',
'template', $templateinfo['template_un'], 22, '5000" style="width:99%', true, true, 'ltr', 'code');Change to:
$isscss = strpos($vbulletin->GPC['title'],'.css');
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['template'] . '
<br /><br />
<span class="smallfont">' .
iif($vbulletin->GPC['title'], construct_link_code($vbphrase['show_default'], "template.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=view&amp;title=" . $vbulletin->GPC['title'], 1) . '<br /><br />', '') .
iif($isscss === false AND $vbulletin->GPC['dostyleid'] != -1, '', construct_link_code('Edit StyleVars', "template.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=editcss&amp;dostyleid=" .
$vbulletin->GPC['dostyleid'] . "&amp;title=". $vbulletin->GPC['title']."&amp;templateid=" .
$vbulletin->GPC['templateid'], 1) . '<br /><br />') .
'<!--' . $vbphrase['wrap_text'] . '<input type="checkbox" unselectable="on" onclick="set_wordwrap(\'ta_template\', this.checked);" accesskey="w" checked="checked" />-->
</span>',
'template', $templateinfo['template_un'], 22, '5000" style="width:99%', true, true, 'ltr', 'code');Then find (under $_REQUEST['do'] = 'edit'):
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['template'] . '
<br /><br />
<span class="smallfont">' .
iif($template['styleid'] != -1, construct_link_code($vbphrase['show_default'], "template.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=view&amp;title=$template[title]", 1) . '<br /><br />', '') .
'<!--' . $vbphrase['wrap_text'] . '<input type="checkbox" unselectable="on" onclick="set_wordwrap(\'ta_template\', this.checked);" accesskey="w" checked="checked" />-->
</span>',
'template', $text, 22, '5000" style="width:99%', true, true, 'ltr', 'code');Change to:
$isscss = strpos($template[title],'.css');
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['template'] . '
<br /><br />
<span class="smallfont">' .
iif($template['styleid'] != -1, construct_link_code($vbphrase['show_default'], "template.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=view&amp;title=$template[title]", 1) . '<br /><br />', '') .
iif($isscss === false AND $template['styleid'] != -1, '', construct_link_code('Edit StyleVars', "template.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=editcss&amp;dostyleid=" .
$template['styleid'] . "&amp;templateid=$template[templateid]", 1) . '<br /><br />') .
'<!--' . $vbphrase['wrap_text'] . '<input type="checkbox" unselectable="on" onclick="set_wordwrap(\'ta_template\', this.checked);" accesskey="w" checked="checked" />-->
</span>',
'template', $text, 22, '5000" style="width:99%', true, true, 'ltr', 'code'); Then find (at the bottom of the page):
print_cp_footer();Add above:
// ################################################## ###########################
// add a new page to edit stylevars
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'editcss')
{
require_once(DIR . '/includes/adminfunctions_stylevar.php');

$vbulletin->input->clean_array_gpc('r', array(
'title' => TYPE_STR,
'group' => TYPE_STR,
'searchstring' => TYPE_STR,
'expandset' => TYPE_STR,
));

if ($vbulletin->GPC['dostyleid'] == -1)
{
$style['title'] = $vbphrase['global_templates'];
}
else
{
$style = $db->query_first("SELECT title FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "style WHERE styleid = " . $vbulletin->GPC['dostyleid']);
}

if ($vbulletin->GPC['title'])
{
$templateinfo = $db->query_first("
SELECT * FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "template
WHERE styleid IN (-1,0) AND title = '" . $db->escape_string($vbulletin->GPC['title']) . "'
");
}
else if ($vbulletin->GPC['templateid'])
{
$templateinfo = $db->query_first("SELECT * FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "template WHERE templateid = " . $vbulletin->GPC['templateid']);
$vbulletin->GPC['title'] = $templateinfo['title'];
}


$prepend = '<style type="text/css">
.edit_scroller {
width:100%;
min-height:300px;
max-height: 350px;
max-width: 800px;
overflow: auto;
border: 1px solid black;
}
</style>';

echo $prepend;

print_table_start();
print_table_header('Edit StyleVars');

construct_hidden_code('group', $vbulletin->GPC['group']);

$products = fetch_product_list();

if ($vbulletin->GPC['title'])
{
construct_hidden_code('product', $templateinfo['product']);
print_label_row($vbphrase['product'], $products["$templateinfo[product]"]);
}
else if ($vbulletin->debug)
{
print_select_row($vbphrase['product'], 'product', $products, $templateinfo['product']);
}
else
{ // use the default as we dictate in inserttemplate, if they dont have debug mode on they can't add templates to -1 anyway
construct_hidden_code('product', 'vbulletin');
}

construct_hidden_code('templateid', $templateinfo['templateid']);
construct_hidden_code('expandset', $vbulletin->GPC['expandset']);
construct_hidden_code('searchset', $vbulletin->GPC['expandset']);
construct_hidden_code('searchstring', $vbulletin->GPC['searchstring']);
print_style_chooser_row('dostyleid', $vbulletin->GPC['dostyleid'], $vbphrase['master_style'], $vbphrase['style'], iif($vbulletin->debug == 1, 1, 0));

$stylevars = fetch_stylevars_array();

$templateinfo['template_new'] = $templateinfo['template_un'];

$groups = array_keys($stylevars);
foreach($groups AS $group)
{
$stylevarids = array_keys($stylevars[$group]);
foreach ($stylevarids AS $stylevarid)
{
if ($stylevarid)
{
$find = array('/\{vb:stylevar '.$stylevarid.'\}/','/\{vb:stylevar '.$stylevarid.'(\\.([^}]*))\}/');
$replace = "<a href=\"stylevar.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=fetchstylevareditor&amp;stylevarid[]=" . $stylevarid . "&amp;dostyleid=" . $vbulletin->GPC['dostyleid'] . "\" target=\"see_stylevar\">{vb:stylevar ".$stylevarid."$1}</a>";

$templateinfo['template_new'] = preg_replace($find, $replace, $templateinfo['template_new']);
}
}
}

print_input_row(
$vbphrase['title'],
'title',
$vbulletin->GPC['title']);
print_label_row($vbphrase['template'],
'<div class="alt1 edit_scroller"><pre>' . $templateinfo['template_new'] . '</pre></div>');

print_label_row($vbphrase['stylevar'], '<iframe name="see_stylevar" id="edit_scroller" class="alt2 edit_scroller"></iframe>');

print_table_footer();

}Now when you go to Style Manager > find Style > Edit Templates and click on a .css template to edit (it will ONLY work in .css templates!), you will have the new option on the left to "Edit StyleVars".

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=126555&stc=1&d=1297286569

If you click that, you get a new tab with the .css template in the top box (not editable on this page) and it has all the *editable* stylevars clickable (for example, in userprofile.css, they use variables, not stylevars, so you won't have clickable stylevars there). If you click on a stylevar, it will open in the bottom of the window and you may edit.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=126556&stc=1&d=1297286569

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=126581&stc=1&d=1297354009

Tested in Firefox, Safari, Chrome, and Opera on my Mac.

And thank you to ForumsMods (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/member.php?u=215438) for sharing a diff file - patch.zip (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=126565&d=1297297462) (for version 1.1, which works, but doesn't have css changes)

1.2 - 2011-02-11 - changed some CSS for the divs and fixed a phrase.
1.3 - 2012-03-10 - added a file with the changes needed for 4.1.11

ForumsMods
02-09-2011, 09:44 PM
Great idea.
Installed and Nominated.

Can you make a diff file?

Lynne
02-09-2011, 09:54 PM
Can you make a diff file?
It's basically two quick edits to find/replace and then just add a bunch of stuff at the end. And, besides that, I don't have an application to make diff files.

ForumsMods
02-09-2011, 10:25 PM
It's basically two quick edits to find/replace and then just add a bunch of stuff at the end. And, besides that, I don't have an application to make diff files.
Yes, but is easier for me to apply using diff files.
Also for next vB releases.

I made a diff file for vBulletin 4.1.1 (40651).

Take a note that with default vB Style does not display correctly. Would be better to use style classes and change 'Phrase' to '$vbphrase['stylevar']'.

mfnforex
02-09-2011, 10:30 PM
Thank you

Lynne
02-09-2011, 10:58 PM
Yes, but is easier for me to apply using diff files.
Also for next vB releases.

I made a diff file for vBulletin 4.1.1 (40651).

Take a note that with default vB Style does not display correctly. Would be better to use style classes and change 'Phrase' to '$vbphrase['stylevar']'.
thank you. I'll link to this in my first post.

I'm not sure what you mean about the default vB style not displaying correctly. It's showing just fine on my site.

I'm using the default admincp functions to build the page (print_table_start, print_table_header, etc) instead of redoing the whole thing. And yes, I should have used a phrase. I wrote this as a quick project for myself and then decided to share it and I thought I had cleaned it up, but I did forget to look at phrases. I'll catch that if I have another release.

ForumsMods
02-09-2011, 11:28 PM
thank you. I'll link to this in my first post.

I'm not sure what you mean about the default vB style not displaying correctly. It's showing just fine on my site.

I'm using the default admincp functions to build the page (print_table_start, print_table_header, etc) instead of redoing the whole thing. And yes, I should have used a phrase. I wrote this as a quick project for myself and then decided to share it and I thought I had cleaned it up, but I did forget to look at phrases. I'll catch that if I have another release.
See attachments.
You are using hard-coded background and color.
<div class="alt2" style="border: 1px solid black; background-color: white; height: 350px; width: 99%; max-width: 800px; overflow: scroll">
I would change alt2 to bginput, delete border and background-color.

Also delete border and background for iframe and add bginput class to it.

TheLastSuperman
02-10-2011, 03:53 AM
Great idea.
Installed and Nominated.

AGREED!

benstillman
02-10-2011, 05:47 PM
Why the hell wasn't this standard!? This is awesome!

jparks46
02-15-2011, 05:22 PM
This is an amazing idea. Thank you so much Lynne! Installed + nominated as soon as I get home!

Rafa-el
03-04-2011, 11:09 AM
Very good idea!

BlackThorn
03-04-2011, 06:32 PM
Thanks Lynne, that's awesome...

ifitsmedia
03-04-2011, 11:33 PM
Thanks for this! Also don't understand why this isn't included as a standard feature.

CRDeveloper
03-06-2011, 06:13 AM
Make this an Add-on pleeeeease!!!

Boofo
03-06-2011, 06:42 AM
Make this an Add-on pleeeeease!!!

As you have to manually do file edits, it can NOT be done any other way.

fxwoody
04-27-2011, 11:34 AM
That's the best one i seen so far for the new version....at least for some of us who like to play in the styles and codes!

Great share Lynne and friends ;)

Maybe it should be added as a designer series???? I also added the [vb4] Adding a stylevar from carnage and it as all the potential to write anything you want now!

Cheers

FReeSTER
09-17-2011, 06:20 PM
let me be stupit for so many times already. lol How do you load the diff file?

I want to try that as I get a blue box but nothing else on the stylevar box below without any options. All I did was edit the template.php file

thanks this is great and much easier then hardcoding

Lynne
09-17-2011, 08:52 PM
If you don't know what a diff file is for, then you should just do the edits in the first post.

Make sure you put the last bit of code *before* the line I tell you to look for, not after or you will just get a blank page.

FReeSTER
09-17-2011, 11:48 PM
Yes that was how I did it by your directions

I use DreamWeaver to edit my files since it have the option to look and replace. lol

and for the last code i added the code all the way in the bottom above these lines

print_cp_footer();

/*================================================= =====================*\
|| ################################################## ##################
|| # Downloaded: 21:15, Fri Jun 3rd 2011
|| # CVS: $RCSfile$ - $Revision: 40651 $
|| ################################################## ##################
\*================================================ ======================*/

Lynne
09-18-2011, 03:58 AM
I just went and followed the instructions to add this to my default 4.1.6 site and this works just fine on there. I would suggest double-checking what you did by starting over if it is not working correctly.

HMBeaty
09-18-2011, 04:06 AM
Very cool! Not sure why I haven't seen this one before :) Installed. Thanks Lynne :D

Andreas
09-18-2011, 06:59 AM
As you have to manually do file edits, it can NOT be done any other way.
It can ;)

I've done this for TMS 1.2.0 which should be ready for production soon.

Boofo
09-18-2011, 02:07 PM
It can ;)

I've done this for TMS 1.2.0 which should be ready for production soon.

TMS does file edits now???

FReeSTER
09-18-2011, 04:50 PM
OMGosh, man the more I try the more is the same. lol

Lynned there is my file can you take a look at it please if your time allow you to.
Is just I think I have done everything like the book and I keep getting the same results :o

Andreas
09-18-2011, 06:22 PM
TMS does file edits now???
No, FMS (File Modificationm System) does do that :D

What I meant is that TMS 1.2.0 has a function that does allow editing of stylevars from the modify template from without requiring file edits.


Sorry for hijacking you thread Lynne :(

Lynne
09-18-2011, 08:48 PM
OMGosh, man the more I try the more is the same. lol

Lynned there is my file can you take a look at it please if your time allow you to.
Is just I think I have done everything like the book and I keep getting the same results :o
Each line of php that ends in a ; must then have a line feed. You have merged the lines together in your file edits such as this line (2215):
'template', $templateinfo['template_un'], 22, '5000" style="width:99%', true, true, 'ltr', 'code'); print_template_javascript();
That needs to be:
'template', $templateinfo['template_un'], 22, '5000" style="width:99%', true, true, 'ltr', 'code');
print_template_javascript();
You did similarly at least three times.

Successfulsteps
09-19-2011, 01:01 AM
Awesome mod, I will tag to install! Thank you!

FReeSTER
09-19-2011, 02:49 PM
thank you Lynned, another thing I have learn from PHP. great for you to share me the tip.

well I did just that and and still the same mate.

Lynne
09-19-2011, 03:34 PM
thank you Lynned, another thing I have learn from PHP. great for you to share me the tip.

well I did just that and and still the same mate.
Did you only fix that one line? Because I saw several like that.

FReeSTER
09-19-2011, 05:12 PM
Did you only fix that one line? Because I saw several like that.

lol :o :D yes just one that line. lol
I will check on the file correctly and fix it each one of them

FReeSTER
09-19-2011, 05:42 PM
Ok reporting back. I double checked all of my edits and I found 4 of them were merged so I fixed but results still the same

Lynne
09-19-2011, 08:42 PM
I would suggest starting with a totally new file and redoing the file edits. Only this time, make sure you put the code on their own lines and not merge lines at all.

Hippy
10-10-2011, 07:28 PM
I pulled the changes out from the code it self and added it in it's correct line since a couple things changed since then..this worked up till 4.1.6 then 4.1.7 it will no longer work..
the edits where perfect.. did it 2 times to make sure , used compareit..
when you click on the style manager in the admincp you just get a blank screen :(

code used ..
$isscss = strpos($vbulletin->GPC['title'],'.css');


iif($isscss === false AND $vbulletin->GPC['dostyleid'] != -1, '', construct_link_code('Edit StyleVars', "template.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=editcss&amp;dostyleid=" .



iif($isscss === false AND $template['styleid'] != -1, '', construct_link_code('Edit StyleVars', "template.php?" . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . "do=editcss&amp;dostyleid=" .

and the large chunk of code above print_cp_footer();


any help with this would be great
thanks for sharing this great mod lynne

Lynne
10-10-2011, 07:48 PM
I just went through and modified my template.php file for 4.1.7 using the instructions in post 1 and it is working just fine on my site. I am getting no blank screens. I'd suggest you check your error_logs.

Hippy
10-10-2011, 08:31 PM
yep I should of though of that ..
this is the error
PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ';' in /public_html/testvb/admincp/template.php on line 2224,
line 2224 is
'template', $templateinfo['template_un'], 22, '5000" style="width:99%', true, true, 'ltr', 'code');

this is under 3 lines under the first edit..
this line was not even touched

Hippy
10-10-2011, 08:35 PM
my bad I see where I went wrong...

Lynne
10-10-2011, 09:14 PM
Glad you got it figured out. :)

Hippy
10-10-2011, 09:27 PM
thanks you for providing this for everyone..
should be default with vb..

I don't know what I was thinking when I was editing that file..
I been fixing so much broken stuff these past few days.. I need a break to get back on track..

once again
your efforts and support are very much appreciated..

voglermc
10-15-2011, 02:30 PM
Sweet!

Hippy
01-08-2012, 03:27 PM
Hi Lynne
this was driving me crazy today

after checking over and over my edits .. I realized this was not a edit issue it was a IE9 issue..
I checked in ff and worked like it should..

whats happening is everytime you mouse over a style var in the template the space between the 2 boxes grow

I attached a couple screen shots so you can see what I mean..

thanks

Lynne
01-08-2012, 05:17 PM
Unfortunately, I can't look into the issue since I do not have IE.

Omega5000
03-10-2012, 12:50 AM
Hi Lynne,

The modification is awesome, it would really come in handy with skinning but I was wondering if you are planning on releasing an update for it for vBulletin 4.1.10 seeing as the files are different.

Thanks in advance.

Lynne
03-10-2012, 04:18 PM
The files really aren't that much different. But I will post the corrected replacement code in the first post.

Hippy
03-11-2012, 09:38 PM
The files really aren't that much different. But I will post the corrected replacement code in the first post.

thanks...
your code stayed the same correct?
It was just vb's code that changed..
I didn't know this was a mod( well I forgot ) I though it was a article..
I compared all and figured it out before I seen this..
let me know thanks
thanks again for this great addition to vb:up:

Lynne
03-11-2012, 10:29 PM
Yes, the code that I added into the middle of the vb code stayed the same. It is the vb code that surrounds my code addition that changed slightly.

Hippy
03-12-2012, 03:07 AM
thanks Lynne ♥♥♥♥

ged
02-21-2014, 09:51 AM
Does this still work?