PDA

View Full Version : Hide forum description for forumdisplay only?


zkilzz
01-23-2011, 07:00 AM
How do i do this? I tried to do it in forumhome_forumbit_level* templates but thats only on forumhome. How do i do this for forumdisplay? Cant find the forum description in forumdisplay template either.

Thanks for helping out.

Marius

NTT
01-23-2011, 07:57 AM
Do not add description in Forum Manager!

Alfa1
01-23-2011, 08:39 AM
In admincp > vbulletin options > Forum listings Display options >
Show Forum Descriptions in Forum Listings
you can set this to NO.
The effect is that the description will not be visible on the forum index, but it will be visible within each forum on forumdisplay.

I think the optimal solution would be to add the forum description as an alt text to the forum title, so that hovering above it will show the description without taking up any space. This requires a template edit. title="$forum[description]" needs to be added. Im not sure to which Forum Home template.

zkilzz
01-23-2011, 10:11 AM
In admincp > vbulletin options > Forum listings Display options >
Show Forum Descriptions in Forum Listings
you can set this to NO.
The effect is that the description will not be visible on the forum index, but it will be visible within each forum on forumdisplay. .

This is actually the opposite of what i want. I want to display on forumhome and NOT forumdisplay.

wilford brimley
04-23-2012, 02:45 AM
I hid it and its better. still would like the threads numbers to be equal (same visible level) as the "new thread button"

to hide it go to FORUMDISPLAY on your MASTER STYLE (need debug mode on o edit master style)

find
<div id="pagetitle" class="pagetitle">
<h1>{vb:rawphrase forum}: <span class="forumtitle">{vb:raw foruminfo.title}</span></h1>
<vb:if condition="$foruminfo['description']"><p class="description">{vb:raw foruminfo.description}</p></vb:if>
</div>


change to
<div id="pagetitle" class="pagetitle" style="visibility:hidden">
<h1>{vb:rawphrase forum}: <span class="forumtitle">{vb:raw foruminfo.title}</span></h1>
<vb:if condition="$foruminfo['description']"><p class="description">{vb:raw foruminfo.description}</p></vb:if>
</div>


if you change it to style="display: none" it goes away the way you would like it. but it messes up the threadcount box now it flows over the threads. i need to figure how to move that up like 15 pixels and its alll good.