View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - Old Thread Notices by BOP5
BirdOPrey5
01-21-2011, 10:00 PM
Latest Version 1.2.
This mod will display a notice at the top of any thread that is over X number of days old. You can choose whether you want to start counting from the date of the first post or the date of the last post. You can also choose to disable it on sticky threads (good if you use stickies for official forum business), disable it in closed threads, disable it in specific forums, disable it for specific threads, or disable it for guests (New in Version 1.1).
The purpose is obviously to stop bumping of old threads unless the user has a good reason. It's also a good way to notify whoever is reading a thread that it is old so they don't think a bumped thread is recent and reply to it without checking.
There are two phrases and one template to give you total control on how the notice looks and what it says.
Full instructions are included in the .zip file.
This was tested on 4.0.8 and 4.1.4 and should work with all 4.0.x/4.1.x versions. It will NOT work in vB 3.x. There is a separate version for 3.x here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=257613).
Live Demo: http://www.juot.net/forums/showthread.php?t=47981 (VB 3.8 version)
Note: The rounded borders shown in the screenshots will not work in Internet Explorer, they will show as normal square borders in IE.
English: Download .zip file
Arabic: Download .xml file (Translated by Dr. osamA :up:)
Turkish Translation: Post #26 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=2423877#post2423877) by eTiKeT?
------------------------------------------------------
Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this. :)
Donations always appreciated. :up:
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it! ;)
BirdOPrey5
01-22-2011, 08:52 PM
Reserved.
OldSchoolDSL
01-22-2011, 09:48 PM
Installed & Confirmed working
4.1.1
Thank you BirdOPrey5
elwachiman
01-22-2011, 11:20 PM
works perfect in vb 4.0.8pl2 installed,Thank you BirdOPrey5
BirdOPrey5
01-22-2011, 11:46 PM
Thanks all. I made one quick update because I forgot a feature I wanted for myself. Version 1.1 now lets you disable the notice for guests (since usually they can't reply anyway.)
OldSchoolDSL
01-23-2011, 12:01 AM
Thanks all. I made one quick update because I forgot a feature I wanted for myself. Version 1.1 now lets you disable the notice for guests (since usually they can't reply anyway.)
Updated (allow over write, yes)
Installed & working
4.1.1
Thanks for joining my community. Should you ever think about updating yours to vB 4, let me know. :)
Dr.osamA
01-23-2011, 12:16 AM
good job
5 stars + installed + translated to Arabic for v 1.1
plzz be nice and add the translated XML file to 1st post
thank you in advance
BirdOPrey5
01-23-2011, 12:22 AM
good job
5 stars + installed + translated to Arabic
plzz be nice and add the translated XML file to 1st post
thank you in advance
I don't see the XML file. :confused:
Updated (allow over write, yes)
Installed & working
4.1.1
Thanks for joining my community. Should you ever think about updating yours to vB 4, let me know. :)
Thanks.
redtailboas
01-23-2011, 12:26 AM
Installed. Very nice feature.. Should be a default Vbulletin option.
Future mod request. Allow option to "prevent" posting in a thread that meets the criteria. Sort of like a "virtual thread closed" feature.
Dr.osamA
01-23-2011, 12:28 AM
I don't see the XML file.
sorry sir i uplod it ferst but you did upgrade to v 1.1
i reuplouded it now
plzz how we can add the massege above qwik reply box ???
Fastbird
01-23-2011, 12:53 AM
Awesome, this is a great mod!
BirdOPrey5
01-23-2011, 03:09 AM
Future mod request. Allow option to "prevent" posting in a thread that meets the criteria. Sort of like a "virtual thread closed" feature.
This mod auto closes old threads (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=130738) and has been reported working on VB 4.0.x.
sorry sir i uplod it ferst but you did upgrade to v 1.1
i reuplouded it now
plzz how we can add the massege above qwik reply box ???
I will make an update to version 1.2 but for now you can go to Admin CP -> Plugin Manager and edit the Old Thread Notice Template plugin.
Replace it all with: [edited January 24, 2011 with fixed code]
if ($vbulletin->options['bop5oldt_en'])
{
$templater = vB_Template::create('showthread_oldthreadnotice');
$templater->register('showoldfp', $showoldfp);
$templater->register('showoldlp', $showoldlp);
$templater->register('bop5daysold', $bop5daysold);
$template_hook[showthread_above_posts] .= $templater->render();
$templatevalues['showthread_oldthreadnotice'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('SHOWTHREAD', $templatevalues);
}
Click SAVE.
Now edit your SHOWTHREAD template... put the following line:
{vb:raw showthread_oldthreadnotice}
Anywhere you want... For Quick Reply I suggest right above:
<div class="wysiwyg_block">
Anywhere you put the code in SHOWTHREAD will show the old thread notice.
If you want to remove the built in notice at the top of the thread, back in the plugin, comment out the applicable line, make it:
//$template_hook[showthread_above_posts] .= $templater->render();
Awesome, this is a great mod!
Thanks. :)
Taurus1
01-23-2011, 04:36 AM
Great stuff!! Waiting for 1.2
Thanks.
Theo-zzzz
01-23-2011, 12:50 PM
Thanks, I really like the warning notice on top of these old threads.
Dr.osamA
01-24-2011, 09:17 AM
This mod auto closes old threads (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=130738) and has been reported working on VB 4.0.x.
I will make an update to version 1.2 but for now you can go to Admin CP -> Plugin Manager and edit the Old Thread Notice Template plugin.
Replace it all with:
if ($vbulletin->options['bop5oldt_en'])
{
$templater = vB_Template::create('showthread_oldthreadnotice');
$templater->register('showoldfp', $showoldfp);
$templater->register('showoldlp', $showoldlp);
$template_hook[showthread_above_posts] .= $templater->render();
$templatevalues['showthread_oldthreadnotice'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('SHOWTHREAD', $templatevalues);
}
Click SAVE.
Now edit your SHOWTHREAD template... put the following line:
{vb:raw showthread_oldthreadnotice}
Anywhere you want... For Quick Reply I suggest right above:
<div class="wysiwyg_block">
Anywhere you put the code in SHOWTHREAD will show the old thread notice.
If you want to remove the built in notice at the top of the thread, back in the plugin, comment out the applicable line, make it:
//$template_hook[showthread_above_posts] .= $templater->render();
Thanks. :)
thank you bro
but by this way not working i try befor you reply not working
and i do it by this instructoin what you repled here and not working
the count dyes not show wehen i replace plugin
i attached image
BirdOPrey5
01-24-2011, 12:47 PM
Sorry Dr... I forgot a line in the plugin.
The correct code for the plugin is:
if ($vbulletin->options['bop5oldt_en'])
{
$templater = vB_Template::create('showthread_oldthreadnotice');
$templater->register('showoldfp', $showoldfp);
$templater->register('showoldlp', $showoldlp);
$templater->register('bop5daysold', $bop5daysold);
$template_hook[showthread_above_posts] .= $templater->render();
$templatevalues['showthread_oldthreadnotice'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('SHOWTHREAD', $templatevalues);
}
(the line I forgot is in red.)
Dr.osamA
01-25-2011, 12:08 PM
Now it is good
thank you sir
Pvtiste
01-28-2011, 10:53 PM
Excellent work man! Thanks for sharing ;)
Trangalleiro
07-10-2011, 08:46 PM
Thank you for the product. Installed and working in VB404.
How could you not show the notice on topics that are already closed.
Sorry for my English, am Spanish and I am using a translator.
Greetings.
BirdOPrey5
07-10-2011, 11:24 PM
Thank you for the product. Installed and working in VB404.
How could you not show the notice on topics that are already closed.
Sorry for my English, am Spanish and I am using a translator.
Greetings.
I have just updated it to version 1.2. It now allows you to disable on closed threads if you choose.
Seductor
09-14-2011, 06:57 PM
Is there any way to change the notice color? (It is a bit... odd)
BirdOPrey5
09-14-2011, 08:26 PM
Yes, you can edit the template: showthread_oldthreadnotice
You can change the colors, borders, font size, anything you want. You will need to know some basic HTML of course to customize.
Seductor
09-14-2011, 09:41 PM
I love you, really. I have 4 or 5 mods made by you. Congratulations and thanks for all.
BirdOPrey5
09-15-2011, 07:00 AM
Thanks :up:
datoneer
05-22-2013, 04:45 PM
Thanks cool mod installed and nominated!
eTiKeT?
05-24-2013, 09:18 AM
Thank you, that helped me.
Turkish patch prepared.
~İnstalled ~
Bubble #5
08-16-2013, 04:38 PM
I was looking everywhere for this. It took me several hours to hunt this hack down but it was worth it. As usual BOP your hacks are first class! Thank you so much for another great hack. Greatly appreciated :up:
Tim Wheatley
09-13-2013, 04:55 PM
Works great on 421, thanks.
BirdOPrey5
09-13-2013, 09:32 PM
Thanks, please "Mark as Installed"
http://juotpics.com/pics/images/545mark_as_installed_vb.jpg
ramesh_umk3
03-08-2014, 07:08 PM
Really great work brother BirdOPrey5 i need a help here (i am using vbulletin 4.2.2)
I have added {vb:raw showthread_oldthreadnotice} in showthread template its working great but i want to show this at one location only
were as now i can see two messages on page near TITLE and LASTPOST (ShowThread Template)
As i am using custom template FIRSTPOST OR LASTPOST are showing me same location ({vb:raw showthread_oldthreadnotice})
Kind Regards,
BirdOPrey5
03-09-2014, 12:18 AM
If you've manually put the code in SHOWTHREAD than go to the Plugin Manager and edit the plugin: Old Thread Notice Template
Edit the line-
$template_hook[showthread_above_posts] .= $templater->render();
Change it to-
// $template_hook[showthread_above_posts] .= $templater->render();
And save changes.
That will stop it from showing in the original location.
ramesh_umk3
03-09-2014, 11:23 AM
Bravo! Thanks brother its working fine now :)
ramesh_umk3
03-09-2014, 11:51 AM
Need your help again brother
can i add checkbox ? were it allows user reply only if he checked or it won't below is my blueprint style
This thread is more than {1} days old. It is very likely that it does not need any further discussion and thus bumping it serves no purpose. If you still feel it is necessary to make a new reply, you can do so by ticking the box below. Alternatively, you can search for newer threads that contain the same topic, or start a new thread (preferred).<br><br>
<label for="cb_????????"><input name="forcepost" value="1" id="cb_??????" type="checkbox">I am aware that this thread is rather old, but I still want to make a reply.</label>
Thanks for support bro
BirdOPrey5
03-09-2014, 12:20 PM
Hello,
No this mod has no way to enforce a checkbox before allowing someone to post. You could add a checkbox but I don't see anyway to make it prevent someone from submitting a new reply.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.