PDA

View Full Version : Administrative and Maintenance Tools - Edit User link in postbit UserName popup menu


Mobo
12-30-2010, 10:00 PM
This is a simple template modification that a couple of members over on vB.com and Lynne helped me sort out. Just thought I'd post it here to give back to the community a little.

This will add an icon and link in the popup menu in postbit when you click on the User's name. The link is only accessible by the user groups you choose and opens the Admin User Manager page for that user.

To install:

ACP> Styles & Templates> Search in Templates for "memberaction_dropdown"

In that template find:

<vb:if condition="$show['emaillink']">
<li class="right">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_siteicons}/email.png" alt="" />
<a href="sendmessage.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=mailmember&amp;u={vb:raw memberinfo.userid}" rel='nofollow'>
{vb:rawphrase send_email}
</a>
</li>
</vb:if>


Add below that:

<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, X, Y)">
<li class="left">
<a href="admincp/user.php?do=edit&u={vb:raw memberinfo.userid}" TARGET="_blank" class="siteicon_edit">Edit User
</a>
</li>
</vb:if>


In the popupmenu.css template find this code:

.memberaction_body.popupbody li .siteicon_email {
background:url({vb:stylevar imgdir_siteicons}/email.png) {vb:stylevar left} 2px no-repeat;
}

And add below that:

.memberaction_body.popupbody li .siteicon_edit {
background:url({vb:stylevar imgdir_siteicons}/edit.png) {vb:stylevar left} 2px no-repeat;
}


Change the X and Y in the above code to the Usergroup IDs that you want to allow access (those groups will have to have admin rights to edit users as well).

You will also need to upload the image I've attached to your images/site_icon directory.

A big thank you to wilford brimley (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/member.php?u=474442) for updating the code for v4.2.

sulasno
12-31-2010, 07:48 AM
tagged and thanks

save the icon as edit.png ?

Mobo
12-31-2010, 07:53 AM
Yes, save it as edit.png

BadgerDog
12-31-2010, 11:21 AM
Installed as a test on v4.04pl1 ... :)

After updating template and adding PNG file as described, this function doesn't appear anywhere in drop down menu, but thanks anyway ...

Regards,
Doug

Mobo
12-31-2010, 11:39 AM
Did you remember to enter in the Usergroup ID numbers?

Dr.osamA
12-31-2010, 11:51 AM
installed

5 stars

keep it up bro

happy new yaer

BadgerDog
12-31-2010, 12:56 PM
Did you remember to enter in the Usergroup ID numbers?

Yes ...

Example ..

"is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 5, 6, 7)">

Not sure why it just doesn't appear, but perhaps it's because of the earlier version of vb4 ...

Thanks any way ..

Regards,
Doug

Mobo
01-01-2011, 10:35 AM
Might be the older version of vB as you say.

NovoCiv
01-04-2011, 05:01 AM
This will save me a bunch of time. Thanks!

Mobo
01-05-2011, 04:48 AM
I have to edit every member that joins my site, so I need a quick way to get to that page. Glad it will save you some time as well.

Konsolenheld
01-10-2011, 10:31 AM
thx for mod.

How can i change the Background of userinfo (see your Screenshot)?

Mobo
01-10-2011, 10:58 AM
That is done with the "Postbit Legacy - Usergroup Backgrounds vb4" mod (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=229487).

wilford brimley
08-26-2012, 04:35 AM
it adds it on another line. how do i fix this? vb 4.2
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/08/32.png

Mobo
08-26-2012, 05:53 AM
I'm not sure why it puts the image and the text on different lines. I think it has to do with how they call that area now with the different classes in popupmenu.css.

I've not been able to figure out how to add a class for "edit user" and get it to display properly.

You can simply remove the image code in my edit and it will display the text "Edit User" aligned correctly though.

wilford brimley
08-26-2012, 06:15 AM
right on. ill try to fix it.

wilford brimley
08-26-2012, 06:37 AM
in popupmenu css find
.memberaction_body.popupbody li .siteicon_email {
background:url({vb:stylevar imgdir_siteicons}/email.png) {vb:stylevar left} 2px no-repeat;
}
after add
.memberaction_body.popupbody li .siteicon_edit {
background:url({vb:stylevar imgdir_siteicons}/edit.png) {vb:stylevar left} 2px no-repeat;
}

change original code on
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, X, Y)">
<li class="left">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_siteicons}/edit.png" alt="" />
<a href="admincp/user.php?do=edit&u={vb:raw memberinfo.userid}" TARGET="_blank">Edit User
</a>
</li>
</vb:if>

to

<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6)">
<li class="left">
<a href="admincp/user.php?do=edit&u={vb:raw memberinfo.userid}" TARGET="_blank" class="siteicon_edit">Edit User
</a>
</li>
</vb:if>

wilford brimley
08-26-2012, 06:45 AM
update this thread. it works on 4.2 now. if you dont want to ill just resubmit it and credit you.

Mobo
08-26-2012, 07:20 AM
Thanks Wilford, I just tried it in a new style on my site and it works fine. I'll update this thread and give you credit for the updated code.

It looks like I was really close to getting the code correct when I was trying to fix it my self. I had the same popupmenu code you do, but my tweaked memberaction_dropdown code was just slightly off and it was not displaying the whole image and text for the Edit link (it only showed the top portion of it).

Thanks again.

wilford brimley
08-26-2012, 06:16 PM
sure thing. i can usually figure stuff out if i have a headstart on were to do it. i just dont know how to do coding from scratch ha.

Mobo
08-26-2012, 09:20 PM
Yeah, I'm the same way. lol