View Full Version : Show "About Me" tab in profile by default
way2xtreme
12-30-2010, 06:19 AM
Just a quick question, how can we show "About Me" tab in member profile by default?
For example, when we click on a member name and go to his profile, we see info about him instead of guest message..
Thanks
W
Boofo
12-30-2010, 06:38 AM
Either turn off visitor messages, which would make the About Me tab the default one or use a link like this:
<a href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw bbuserinfo}}&tab=aboutme">
Andreas
12-30-2010, 09:02 AM
Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
way2xtreme
12-30-2010, 06:50 PM
Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
This seems to work!
Thanks guys and happy new year!
Thanks, this one helped me out as well.
Stormlilly
01-11-2011, 03:30 AM
Thank you VERY much!
N00b question:
How do I edit this hook ?
Eq4bits
06-27-2011, 02:08 PM
Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
Where do I find this to edit it?
BirdOPrey5
06-27-2011, 02:22 PM
You would go to plugin manager in Admin CP, Add a new Plugin, and choose that hook from the drop down menu.
customstrength
08-08-2011, 05:26 PM
Thanks so much!
teach1st
08-12-2011, 11:14 AM
Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
For me, this plugin removes the text editing part of the visitor message box (pic below) in IE 9 using any style, including default. Resizing the message box restores it.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/08/53.png
Wordplay
08-13-2011, 10:28 AM
is it possible to make this work only for a specific usergroup?
Eq4bits
03-01-2012, 06:10 AM
maybe wrap it with the vb if member show tags?
BirdOPrey5
03-01-2012, 02:53 PM
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'] AND is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 2))
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
the above code will only work for usergroup 2. Change 2 to any usergroup id you want.
BirdOPrey5
05-27-2012, 12:32 PM
This still works n 4.2 by the way.
Anyone looking for a way to put Visitor Messages back as the default instead of the Activity Stream use this code:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}
On the same hook (member_build_blocks_start).
Boofo
05-27-2012, 12:46 PM
Yep, it still works. Andreas showed how to do this a while back.
DAMINK
05-27-2012, 11:38 PM
This still works n 4.2 by the way.
Anyone looking for a way to put Visitor Messages back as the default instead of the Activity Stream use this code:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}
On the same hook (member_build_blocks_start).
Thankyou BOP5.
Exactly what i needed.
Boofo
05-27-2012, 11:52 PM
Thankyou BOP5.
Exactly what i needed.
I've had that running on my site for ages. You should have noticed it there.
pnhltt
06-10-2012, 08:21 PM
Can you explain how to do this in 4.2.0 step by step for the most mentally challenged? Thank you.
BirdOPrey5
06-11-2012, 10:12 AM
Log into the Admin CP.
On the side menu expand "Products & Plugins"
Click on "Plugin Manager"
At the very bottom there is a link to "Add New Plugin"
On that page put in the following information-
Product: vBulletin (this should be default)
Title: Tab Fix
Hook: member_build_blocks_start (from a drop-down list)
Execution Order: 5 (default value)
To make Visitor Messaging the default past this into the PHP Code box:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}
Or to make About Me as the default paste in this instead:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
Save the plugin and you should be done- go to a profile page to test.
pnhltt
06-11-2012, 05:07 PM
.....
Save the plugin and you should be done- go to a profile page to test.
Thank you! Done and tested.
The best solution, though, would be able to switch the activity stream in the profile off, most of our users hate it, they don't want to be in a fish bowl with BB watching over their shoulder
Syxguns
06-11-2012, 11:18 PM
Thank you! Done and tested.
The best solution, though, would be able to switch the activity stream in the profile off, most of our users hate it, they don't want to be in a fish bowl with BB watching over their shoulder
I agree with this. Is there a way to remove the tab to activity stream in the user profile?
tenizmenu
06-28-2012, 06:29 AM
Works perfect, but if I have Visitor messaging off it shows me a empty page. Could it be a condition if Visitor messaging is off to redirect me to the About me tab?
I tried with options[vm_enable] but it's not working :(
Okay, I've had this little mod installed since before 4.2.0. I am wondering if it is causing some display issues with the user's Activity tab.
On my site, when I click on the user's Activity tab, the All sub-tab displays all the activity from all the members across the entire site. When I check this on the vB.com site, their All sub-tab only shows that user's activity.
Any thoughts on this?
BirdOPrey5
08-08-2012, 10:54 AM
Well disable the plugin and see if it helps. I doubt it is the cause but it is easy to test.
Thanks Joe. It's not this plugin. Further research as relieved that what I am seeing is "normal" behavior.
I do want to do something similar to what this mod does, would you mind taking a look at this thread (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=2355839) for me since you seem to know what you are about ;)
BirdOPrey5
08-09-2012, 07:26 PM
Sorry, I tried a few things but nothing worked.
Thanks for looking Joe. Someone pointed me to the memberinfo_block_activity template, so I'm going to do some surgery in there and see what I can come up with.
ilikeitlikethat
08-23-2012, 03:12 PM
Thanks! my members are glad that they don't have to stare at the Activity as default when they do to their profiles now. Much prefer VM as default.
Mr GRiM
08-26-2012, 02:07 PM
Thanks, why hasn't this been added in the acp as an option, new features like these need to have options, I mean I like the new feature but it seems like they made it the default page just to show it off lol
wildheart
08-29-2012, 12:20 PM
Log into the Admin CP.
On the side menu expand "Products & Plugins"
Click on "Plugin Manager"
At the very bottom there is a link to "Add New Plugin"
On that page put in the following information-
Product: vBulletin (this should be default)
Title: Tab Fix
Hook: member_build_blocks_start (from a drop-down list)
Execution Order: 5 (default value)
To make Visitor Messaging the default past this into the PHP Code box:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}
Or to make About Me as the default paste in this instead:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
Save the plugin and you should be done- go to a profile page to test.
Thank you very much! All my members are very grateful.;)
ThisBoss
01-09-2013, 12:17 AM
This still works n 4.2 by the way.
Anyone looking for a way to put Visitor Messages back as the default instead of the Activity Stream use this code:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}
On the same hook (member_build_blocks_start).
How do I add this?
Do I do it in the memberinfo template?
edgeless
03-04-2013, 07:19 PM
Log into the Admin CP.
On the side menu expand "Products & Plugins"
Click on "Plugin Manager"
At the very bottom there is a link to "Add New Plugin"
On that page put in the following information-
Product: vBulletin (this should be default)
Title: Tab Fix
Hook: member_build_blocks_start (from a drop-down list)
Execution Order: 5 (default value)
To make Visitor Messaging the default past this into the PHP Code box:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'visitor_messaging';
}
Or to make About Me as the default paste in this instead:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
Save the plugin and you should be done- go to a profile page to test.
For unknown reasons, this made no difference on my new installation of v4.2.0. Each user's activity tab is still acting as their default for the profile. Any thoughts as to why?
--------------- Added 1362428662 at 1362428662 ---------------
Never mind! I had to enable it... it works fine. One of those duhhhh moments on my part. Sorry.
TravisWPaquin
08-09-2013, 11:07 AM
Wonderful! Thank you for the tip on how to replace the activity stream with visitor messaging. It is not too bad having the my activity stream, it is just horribl to look at all the time when you click a users profile. Otherwise, it's good for latest posts/threads at a quicker rate.
Thanks again.
stoute
09-09-2013, 09:59 PM
I know this is reviving an old thread but... when i get the plugin created and make a custom tab the default, it makes both the "My Activity" AND custom tab default. so both of the are highlighted when loading the page.
http://immortalarg.com/forum/member.php?1-stoute
If I choose another tab, such as the "aboutme" tab to make default then it works perfect... I must be missing something. Any Ideas? I can post source if needed.
**EDIT** I figured it out.
The custom tab needs the hook of "member_complete" and the tab fix gets the aforementioned hook of "member_build_blocks_start".
karnevil
09-23-2013, 07:03 AM
Excellent - Thank you. Works perfectly on vb 4.2.1.
how do I remove the about me tab as default?
I am using vb 4.2.1 and after someone leaves a message it redirects to the about me page instead of staying on the visitor message page.
ForceHSS
09-25-2013, 01:10 PM
how do I remove the about me tab as default?
I am using vb 4.2.1 and after someone leaves a message it redirects to the about me page instead of staying on the visitor message page.
If you mean remove it so no one sees it even in there own profile there is no setting for that as far as I know but you could get it coded if there is none
oops sorry I meant so it wont be the default.
ozzy47
09-25-2013, 10:11 PM
Which tab did you want as the default tab?
--------------- Added 1380158305 at 1380158305 ---------------
Actually, it don't matter, here is a mod I just made that you can set a tab as default, [ozzy47] Default Profile Tab (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=302655)
clubkeeper
03-23-2014, 12:48 AM
Either turn off visitor messages, which would make the About Me tab the default one
Sorry to bump an old thread, but how is visitor messaging turned off for the whole forum?
And is there a way to not only set a different profile tab as default, but also completely delete the activity stream tab from user profiles? I don't even want the option there.
ozzy47
03-23-2014, 01:15 AM
To set a different tab as default, use this mod, [ozzy47] Default Profile Tab (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=302655)
To remove the Activity tab in the profiles, open the template MEMBERINFO, and find the following code:
<vb:if condition="$blocks[activitystream]"><dd<vb:if condition="$selected_tab == 'activitystream' OR $selected_tab == ''"> class="userprof_module" <vb:else /> class="userprof_moduleinactive" </vb:if>><a id="activitystream-tab" href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw userinfo}, "tab=activitystream"}#activitystream" onclick="return tabViewPicker(this);">{vb:raw activity_phrase}</a></dd></vb:if>
And change it to this:
<vb:comment><vb:if condition="$blocks[activitystream]"><dd<vb:if condition="$selected_tab == 'activitystream' OR $selected_tab == ''"> class="userprof_module" <vb:else /> class="userprof_moduleinactive" </vb:if>><a id="activitystream-tab" href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw userinfo}, "tab=activitystream"}#activitystream" onclick="return tabViewPicker(this);">{vb:raw activity_phrase}</a></dd></vb:if></vb:comment>
clubkeeper
03-23-2014, 04:41 PM
To set a different tab as default, use this mod, [ozzy47] Default Profile Tab (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=302655)
To remove the Activity tab in the profiles, open the template MEMBERINFO, and find the following code:
<vb:if condition="$blocks[activitystream]"><dd<vb:if condition="$selected_tab == 'activitystream' OR $selected_tab == ''"> class="userprof_module" <vb:else /> class="userprof_moduleinactive" </vb:if>><a id="activitystream-tab" href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw userinfo}, "tab=activitystream"}#activitystream" onclick="return tabViewPicker(this);">{vb:raw activity_phrase}</a></dd></vb:if>
And change it to this:
<vb:comment><vb:if condition="$blocks[activitystream]"><dd<vb:if condition="$selected_tab == 'activitystream' OR $selected_tab == ''"> class="userprof_module" <vb:else /> class="userprof_moduleinactive" </vb:if>><a id="activitystream-tab" href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw userinfo}, "tab=activitystream"}#activitystream" onclick="return tabViewPicker(this);">{vb:raw activity_phrase}</a></dd></vb:if></vb:comment>
Thank you ozzy47!! This code removed the activity stream from user profiles entirely and your plug-in allowed me to set the default tab to About Me. Perfect!
Thanks again,
clubkeeper
ozzy47
03-23-2014, 04:48 PM
Not a problem, glad to help. :)
Try the following Plug-in code on Hook member_build_blocks_start
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
{
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
}
i have more of 2 member_build_blocks_start...
BirdOPrey5
10-09-2014, 02:37 PM
i have more of 2 member_build_blocks_start...
Create a new plugin on that hook.
ozzy47
10-09-2014, 05:28 PM
Or use this mod, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=302655
thetechgenius
10-10-2014, 10:50 PM
There is a small mini mod for this. Search the Addons, its there somewhere, I installed it on my forum, and it works great. I just don't have the exact vb.org addon url. Sorry. But there is a mod for this exact purpose.
ozzy47
10-10-2014, 10:54 PM
There is a small mini mod for this. Search the Addons, its there somewhere, I installed it on my forum, and it works great. I just don't have the exact vb.org addon url. Sorry. But there is a mod for this exact purpose.
Yeah I posted the link above your post. :P
MarkFL
12-27-2014, 02:34 AM
I found this thread searching for a way to set the "About Me" tab as the default tab when visiting user profiles, and so I created the plugin and it worked well on my dev site (vB 4.2.1 ), but when I implemented it on the live site (vB 4.2.2 PL2), it did not work. I found though that if I removed the conditional, and just used as the Plugin PHP code:
$vbulletin->GPC['tab'] = 'aboutme';
then it works. However, I do not want to just remove the conditional:
if (!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab'])
without knowing what its purpose is or what problems this could cause. Could anyone shed some light on why we want the above conditional?
ozzy47
12-27-2014, 02:37 AM
Disable that plugin, and see if this mod works for you, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=302655
MarkFL
12-27-2014, 03:03 AM
Disable that plugin, and see if this mod works for you, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=302655
Hello Ozzy,
First, thank you for you quick and helpful response. :cool:
It works beautifully on my dev site, but not on my live site. I looked at your plugin code, and it uses the same conditional. I would rather use your product though if I can figure out why the conditional is causing a problem, so that we can change this in the future if we want via the AdminCP without having to hack a plugin. :D
ozzy47
12-27-2014, 03:07 AM
Have you tried disabling all other mods? Does the same thing happen on a unmodified default style?
MarkFL
12-27-2014, 03:28 AM
Have you tried disabling all other mods? Does the same thing happen on a unmodified default style?
Disabling all other mods would require the consent of the site owner, however, I have been planning to set up a dev site identical to the live site and at that time I can do what I like with it.
At your suggestion, I did just now try an unmodified default style and had the same result.
So, once I set up the new dev site, I will disable all mods, and then enable them one by one until I find the conflict. I will let you know what I find. :D
ozzy47
12-27-2014, 03:29 AM
Yeah let me know how it goes, and we can proceed from there. :)
BirdOPrey5
12-28-2014, 08:42 AM
Disabling all other mods would require the consent of the site owner, however, I have been planning to set up a dev site identical to the live site and at that time I can do what I like with it.
At your suggestion, I did just now try an unmodified default style and had the same result.
So, once I set up the new dev site, I will disable all mods, and then enable them one by one until I find the conflict. I will let you know what I find. :D
First look for any mods that might use the same hook before disabling them all. You might get lucky.
MarkFL
12-28-2014, 06:29 PM
Yeah let me know how it goes, and we can proceed from there. :)
I found the culprit was DB Tech's Post Thanks/Like product. Changing the execution order of your plugin in either direction seemed to have no effect.
So, I hacked your plugin code, and replaced the condition:
!$vbulletin->GPC_exists['tab']
with:
($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] != $userinfo['userid']) || ($vbulletin->GPC['tab'] != 'thanks')
This way if a user is visiting their own profile because of a thanks notification, the "Post Thanks/Like" tab is used, otherwise the "About Me" tab is used (or whatever tab I define in the AdminCP via your product). This gives me the desired result, but if any unforeseen problems arise because of the change I made, I will let you know.
ozzy47
12-28-2014, 06:32 PM
Then it is a bug in their mod, but glad you got it sorted. :)
MarkFL
12-28-2014, 06:40 PM
Then it is a bug in their mod, but glad you got it sorted. :)
I can't thank your posts now, but I did want to let you know your help and your product(s) are greatly appreciated. :up:
ozzy47
12-28-2014, 06:46 PM
Not a problem, glad to help. :)
thetechgenius
12-30-2014, 03:12 PM
There is an Addon for this. I have it installed on my vB forum.
ozzy47
12-30-2014, 03:24 PM
Yeah I mentioned that in post #48
Max Taxable
12-07-2015, 01:32 AM
Very handy, still works.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.