Log in

View Full Version : vBulletin CMS Widgets - Countdown to Calendar Event


JohnKF
10-14-2010, 10:00 PM
This widget picks up the next 2 events from a calendar of your choice.

It displays a countdown to the first event then once the first event has arrived it begins a countdown to the second event. The only reason for picking up two events is that someone may visit the page close to the end of the first event then see the no event message. By picking up two events such a visitor will see the countdown to the second event start.

To install...

From the ZIP file, extract eventcountdown.js and copy it to your site.

Navigate to AdminCP -> Style & Templates -> Style Manager -> Edit Template
Double click the headinclude template to edit it and add the following just above the first <script tag you find...
<script src="scripts/eventcountdown.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

...the above assumes you have copied eventcountdown.js file in to a folder called scripts. Adjust the src path to wherever you have placed the .js file.

Navigate to AdminCP -> CMS -> Widgets.
Create a PHP Type Widget and paste the below code.


ob_start();
global $db,$vbulletin;
$event_calendarid="1";
$no_events_message="<div style='width: 100%; text-align: center; font-weight: bold'>There are no events.</div>";
$today_date = mktime(0, 0, 0, date(date("m")), date(date("d")), date(date("y")));
$and=" and dateline_from > '".$today_date."'";

$getevents=$db->query_read("SELECT eventid, title, dateline_from from " . TABLE_PREFIX . "event WHERE calendarid='".$event_calendarid."' $and order by dateline_from ASC LIMIT 2");
$count=1;
if(!$db->num_rows($getevents))
{
echo $no_events_message;
}
else
{
echo "<script type='text/javascript'>\n";
WHILE ($events=$db->fetch_array($getevents))
{
$event_title=$events['title'];
$event_date = vbdate('U',$events['dateline_from'], false,true,false,true)-vbdate('U');
if($count==1)
{
echo "var CountDownTimer=new CountDown('CountDownToChange',1,'".$event_title."<br />','".$event_date."','ywdhms',1)\n";
}
else
{
echo "CountDownTimer.AddNewEvent('".$event_title."<br />','".$event_date."','ywdhms',".$count.")\n";
}
$count++;
}
}
echo "CountDownTimer.DisplayTime(FormatResults)\n";
echo "</script>\n";
$db->free_result($getevents);
unset($events);
$output=ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();


To create a forum block...

Navigate to AdminCP -> Forums & Moderators -> Forum Blocks Manager
Click the Add Block button
From the drop down list select Custom HTML/PHP
Click the Continue button
Give the block a title (e.g. Event Countdown) and a short description
Set the cache time to 1 minute
In Content Type select PHP
In Content paste the PHP code above in to the text box
Click the Save button


You can set the value for $event_calendarid to the calendar that you want countdown events to come from. Change $no_events_message to the HTML you want to have appear when there are no events left in the selected calendar.

This is the first widget I've written so if you spot any errors or improvements that can be made then please let me know.

If you have an all day event in the calendar the countdown is to the begining of that day. Add a ranged event to the calendar for an exact time. Also, allow for any changes that may occur if a change to or from DST occurs.

Added ob_start(); to beginning of script (17th Oct, 2010)

To have a picture make the Title of the event in the calendar the HTML to display the picture. For example...
Your Event<br /><img src="images/picture.gif" width="140" height="130" alt="">
...which shows as the text above in the calendar title, but displays as text and a picture in the countdown.

betts02
10-15-2010, 08:24 PM
REQUESTS :

Allow upto 5 events
Forum Block

Cheers

JohnKF
10-15-2010, 08:30 PM
I'll do that but in the meantime just change the number 2 at the end of this line...

("SELECT eventid, title, dateline_from from " . TABLE_PREFIX . "event WHERE calendarid='".$event_calendarid."' $and order by dateline_from ASC LIMIT 2");

...to the number of events you want picking up.

The JavaScript can handle many events.

What's Forum Block? I only started using vBulletin a week or so ago and I'm not completely familiar with it yet.

betts02
10-15-2010, 09:39 PM
Forum block is the side bar if you wish

Check my site in the link below to see the side blocks i have

paarmis.queen
10-15-2010, 09:48 PM
tnx installed

JohnKF
10-16-2010, 06:28 AM
Thank betts02. I assume then that you wanted multiple countdowns to be displayed. The script only shows a single countdown to the next event. Once that has been reached it starts the countdown to the second event. If the visitor arrives at a page with the countdown running a few seconds before zero then once zero arrives the second countdown will start. This is the reason for picking up 2 events. I'll look at allowing for multiple countdows to be show, say the first one from each calendar.

ProFifaLeagues
10-16-2010, 06:50 AM
Be great in the forum block if you can do mate

betts02
10-16-2010, 06:50 AM
What i wanted if possible is for this in a forum block

Shows events 1-5

Event 1 shall be on countdown
Event 2-5 shall be shown

As soon as event 1 has been and gone, It removes the event and places event 2 on countdown

Then event 6 shall become event 5 and be shown

JohnKF
10-16-2010, 07:02 AM
Noted. Suggest you have a quick try of it as it stands so that you can see how an event countdown is show regarding width for an event that's a few weeks off.

Also I forgot to mention another slight change you can make...
In the widget PHP code find 'ywdhms' which appears twice. This sets which units appear in the countdown. The default is to show a countdown in Years, Weeks, Days, Hours, Minutes and Seconds.

You can pick which units are shown, so for a seconds only countdown you should just need 's' and for Days, and Minutes it would be 'dm'.

betts02
10-16-2010, 07:29 AM
Tried it in a forumblock and it just messes all my forums up

sadiq6210
10-16-2010, 09:57 AM
Thanks ..

betts02
10-16-2010, 07:58 PM
Hey buddy,

You're missing an ob_start at the front of this script. Recommend you add it in, otherwise the block will break the script that started before it as well as itself.

ahmedipa
10-16-2010, 08:50 PM
nice one thank you very much

trophyrider
10-17-2010, 01:12 AM
The script works fine in the forum block area if you add:

ob_start();

at the beginning of the php script.

trophyrider
10-17-2010, 01:13 AM
The script works fine in the forum block area if you add:

ob_start();

at the beginning of the php script.

See example at http://www.sporttouring.us

CharlieDelta
10-17-2010, 02:42 AM
See example at http://www.sporttouring.us

I can confirm this works as well.
Thank you.

betts02
10-17-2010, 06:58 AM
Hey buddy,

You're missing an ob_start at the front of this script. Recommend you add it in, otherwise the block will break the script that started before it as well as itself.

The script works fine in the forum block area if you add:

ob_start();

at the beginning of the php script.

See example at http://www.sporttouring.us

As i stated then ?

Also looking more into this

If you post and event it shows up
But if you then post an event before the first event it does not display

Will get it working myself anyway mate cheers

JohnKF
10-17-2010, 11:32 AM
Thanks for that advice about ob_start();
It's my first script you know :o

JohnKF
10-17-2010, 11:35 AM
As i stated then ?

Also looking more into this

If you post and event it shows up
But if you then post an event before the first event it does not display

Will get it working myself anyway mate cheers

I think it may be because it's cached the first event. I usually clear the CMS cache whenever I change anything just to be sure. If you find another cause though please let me know; thanks.

betts02
10-18-2010, 05:49 PM
Something is not correct here

I have an event in 2 days time, Yet its showing the event is due NOW

Will look into this myself but if you manage to figure it out post up dude

JohnKF
10-20-2010, 07:56 AM
Something is not correct here

I have an event in 2 days time, Yet its showing the event is due NOW

Will look into this myself but if you manage to figure it out post up dude

Is the event a full day event or a ranged event? Also, what time zone are you in as a client and what time zone is the server in?

MadtownHDJunkie
10-24-2010, 02:07 PM
not sure how to add the calendar id to get it to pull from forums calendar...any help appreciated.

JohnKF
10-24-2010, 05:34 PM
If you look near the start of the PHP code you will see...
$event_calendarid="1";
...just change the number to the id of the calendar you want to use.

MadtownHDJunkie
10-24-2010, 09:10 PM
yah...it should be 1 , the default. it just shows today's date.

MadtownHDJunkie
10-24-2010, 09:12 PM
got it .....ty

red-dna
10-25-2010, 02:09 PM
A way to display a picture for the event and not the title?

starman?
10-25-2010, 03:47 PM
Installed and working just fine as far as I can tell. Thank you very much indeed.
Would it be possible to include the ability to add a picture or format the event title with a different colour?

DjEddie
10-25-2010, 09:57 PM
Hi,

I've tried to get this to work on the forum block without any luck .. the block shows up but no countdown of the no event text shows ..

any suggestions? ..

ive created forum block .. selected custom html/php .. fillout out the fields with templete block-html ..
aswell as the script code for the js file is in headerinclude templete..

Thanks :)

starman?
10-26-2010, 03:07 AM
Is the URL in the script code for the js file pointing to the right place?

cindy helmond
10-26-2010, 08:59 AM
Hi,

I've tried to get this to work on the forum block without any luck .. the block shows up but no countdown of the no event text shows ..

any suggestions? ..

ive created forum block .. selected custom html/php .. fillout out the fields with templete block-html ..
aswell as the script code for the js file is in headerinclude templete..

Thanks :)

me to not working here

cindy helmond
10-26-2010, 09:01 AM
Is the URL in the script code for the js file pointing to the right place?

Basic url: www.yoursite.com/forum

working url ? www.yoursite.com/forum/scripts/js ???? ore without www.

DjEddie
10-26-2010, 11:51 AM
Is the URL in the script code for the js file pointing to the right place?

hi .. yes its pointing to the right place, it has been double checked ..

also when trying this on the widget cms side .. it only shows todays date in the countdown area .. so forum block and widget aren't working for me atm :S

thanks for the help :)

Cooleyvol
10-27-2010, 12:59 AM
I need some help on creating a side block. I paste the code in when creating a block and have already added a calendar event.

When I go to the forum, all it shows is the code.

What are the selections I need to choose when creating a side block using this code?

JohnKF
10-28-2010, 11:09 AM
When you create a Forum Block you need to select PHP in the Content Type section.

JohnKF
10-28-2010, 11:24 AM
The code uses the title of the event in the calender to display above the countdown.

I suggest you create a calendar specific to Countdown Events and set it for Admin view only; as long as you set the correct calender ID in the code it will still be picked up.

To have a picture make the Title of the event in the calendar the HTML to display the picture. For example in the forum I look after I have the following as an event title...

Halloween Evening<br /><img src="files/bv/images/halloween/pumpkin.gif" width="140" height="130" alt="">

...which shows as the text above in the calendar title but displays as text and a picture in the countdown.

You can see this at http://www.buckshawvillage.com/forum.php

You can use whatever HTML you like in the event title.

The code on that site is set up a little different to that posted here. Seconds are not shown until less than 24 hours. At zero there is a firework display over the page which lasts for 1 minute. Other than that it functions the same and the HTML title will work fine.

Cooleyvol
10-28-2010, 05:10 PM
When you create a Forum Block you need to select PHP in the Content Type section.


I did select php and then pasted the code in. As I said, once I create an event in the calendar, the side block shows the code I input from here instead of the event countdown.

I'm sure its something simple, but I don't know how else to paste code and choose 'php' as the content type.

Cooleyvol
10-29-2010, 09:06 PM
It was something simple. I'm a doofus.

JohnKF
10-30-2010, 07:11 AM
It was something simple. I'm a doofus.

Share it with us please; it may help others who make a similar mistake.

Cooleyvol
10-30-2010, 11:32 AM
I didn't put the line of code in the template as instructed. haha.

I did input my first event and the countdown was off by an hour, so I deleted the event and put it up again an hour different, but the countdown remained the same.

Any way to clear that? Is it cached?

JohnKF
10-30-2010, 12:32 PM
You need to set the cache time to 1 minute.

For a widget this is done via the Configure link.
For a forum block this is done via the Edit link.

If the cache time is set too high, say 60 minutes, then a visitor may get a countdown that could be up to an hour out of date.

Even at 1 minute it will take up to 1 minute before a change in an edited event is replicated in the countdown.

If you're in a time zone that's currently using DST you should check your event as soon as DST ends as it may be an hour out in the countdown.

Cooleyvol
10-30-2010, 03:21 PM
Thanks, bro! That took care of it!

OldSchoolDSL
11-04-2010, 02:23 AM
I'm having a hard time getting it to work on my site. It should be counting down to New Years, but rather it keeps counting down to the end of Day Light Savings time. I'm very sure the event is ID 1 is for new years on my calendar

JohnKF
11-04-2010, 07:27 AM
I'm having a hard time getting it to work on my site. It should be counting down to New Years, but rather it keeps counting down to the end of Day Light Savings time. I'm very sure the event is ID 1 is for new years on my calendar

The only ID you can change is the $event_calendarid which should be set to the calendar id that you want countdown events to come from. Calendar ID 1 is most likely your default calendar. I would recommend creating a new calendar for admin view only which can contain only events that should appear in the countdown. Doing this allows you to include HTML in the title for pictures, formatting, etc. and prevents anyone else seeing what events you have set for a countdown.

When you select a calendar you will see the ID in the address bar of your browser...
/calendar.php?calendarid=1

Also, try to always have another event ready for countdown after the first event has reached zero. The code picks up the first two events and counts down to the first one, then starts the second event countdown.

OldSchoolDSL
11-04-2010, 12:43 PM
The only count down I'd like it to do is from my default calender & from my Holiday Manager. It's pointing to a revolving event (new years, 1x each year, every year).

Do you plan on release a new version to which can be easily configured via The Admin Control Panel or would I always need to edit script code?

JohnKF
11-05-2010, 09:54 AM
It's unlikely that I'll create a version that's edited via the control panel as creating a special calendar for events, with permissions set to admin view only, provides all the control you need without the need to visit the control panel.

Dreadan
11-05-2010, 02:23 PM
Is there any way to have it show reoccurring events?

JohnKF
11-05-2010, 07:07 PM
I don't think you can stop it showing recurring events. That's wrong it seems. Must be the way recurring events are stored using the first one as a seed; once the first one has passed there are no further entries in the database.

denman75
11-05-2010, 09:19 PM
the calender only goes to 2010 ,u cant select 2011 yay we need bug killer here.

psypher
11-06-2010, 04:21 AM
works good

JohnKF
11-06-2010, 08:31 AM
the calender only goes to 2010 ,u cant select 2011 yay we need bug killer here.

You set the range of the calendar in AdminCP

OldSchoolDSL
11-06-2010, 09:41 PM
Uninstalled

You currently have this modification tagged.

(I'll keep an eye on this and see if either the developer or another user developed this further. I like the idea, but not the requirements of having to make a "private calendar", always having to edit code, & it also does not fit my current simple needs)

dcuellar
11-15-2010, 04:14 PM
I am not seeing anything in the forumblock. Do I have to put anything in the template to use?

It's just giving me a blank block. Any help would be appreciated!

dcuellar
11-15-2010, 04:19 PM
Could it be that I'm using vBulletin 4.0.2?

eddl
11-17-2010, 07:46 AM
As i stated then ?

Also looking more into this

If you post and event it shows up
But if you then post an event before the first event it does not display

Will get it working myself anyway mate cheers

How did you fix this? Ant time you post an event dew befour the one already counting done the cownt down id just blank.

wampforum
12-23-2010, 01:56 PM
cant get this this to work either - the widget box is showing but nothing within it. checked all the codes,templates and everything several times now no joy.
Shame would have been a useful mod

Kyojii
12-27-2010, 01:02 AM
I think vB has just raped the code that this modification uses sadly.

OldSchoolDSL
12-28-2010, 01:01 AM
cant get this this to work either - the widget box is showing but nothing within it. checked all the codes,templates and everything several times now no joy.
Shame would have been a useful mod

Same issue

It was working, but no longer.

4.1 PL2

Merlok
04-15-2011, 07:57 AM
Works great for me. How can I change the showed time in a format like this:
dd:hh:mm:ss (dd:hh:mm:ss)

Example:
18:8:24:35 (dd:hh:mm:ss)

Thanks in advance.

maineGuy72
05-08-2011, 01:27 AM
anyone figure out why it showing just a blank box?
i am running 4.1.3
thanks

TheChief
05-08-2011, 10:10 AM
Have you changed the file path, when you amend the code:

<script src="scripts/eventcountdown.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

i had to change "scripts/eventcountdown.js" to

"clientscript/eventcountdown.js" as that was where i placed the .js

TheChief
05-08-2011, 10:12 AM
Also, has anyone figured out how to display more than one event as mine still only shows one eventhough i've amended the:

("SELECT eventid, title, dateline_from from " . TABLE_PREFIX . "event WHERE calendarid='".$event_calendarid."' $and order by dateline_from ASC LIMIT 2"); to ASC LIMIT 5

kylek
07-31-2011, 07:48 AM
Anyone having any luck with this.

kylek
12-29-2011, 09:31 PM
Dam, was hoping someone took a look and got it working for the latest versions of vb.

mgurain
04-29-2012, 10:30 AM
The idea of this mod is perfect, any body can upgrade it ?

Regards,,

DocZaius
09-18-2012, 01:42 PM
Hm. Forum block works perfectly, but the widget is just blank.

edytwinky
09-19-2012, 03:40 PM
ANybody using this on vb 4.2?

fxdigi-cash
05-07-2013, 03:04 AM
ok, this is what I was looking for, but seems have some issue with multiple events...!!

I wish I know how to fix it... :(

Vick98
08-20-2013, 10:16 PM
Can anyone rework this mod?

tbworld
08-20-2013, 10:22 PM
The code is marked reusable. So if someone wants to tell me in detail what is not working and under what circumstances, I will take a look at it when I have the time. I can't promise anything because I haven't looked at the calendar code in awhile. Some code isn't fixable and I do not have the time to rewrite the whole modification.

I will try to fix the known issues, I will not be taking on support of the mod.

VanFenix
09-19-2013, 12:43 PM
I cannot get this to function on my VB 4.2.1
The headinclude on my template is edited - path is correct to the .js file.

I've got the widget created
Widget Name = Event Countdown
Widget Type = PHP Direct Execution
Within the Configure area I have pasted the wall of code.

Forum Block Manager.
Name : Event Countdown
cache time - 1 minute
active : yes
type : php
content - ( I have the wall of source in there )

The problem is that the block on the forums page has no content in it.
Calendar ID is : 1

Glenn379
11-18-2013, 04:42 AM
This would be very helpful but the mod doesn't work for me. If this gets reworked, I'd be very interested.

Yetist0rm
02-19-2014, 04:24 PM
Does anyone have this working as a widget on 4.2.2? I would really love to use this but I can't seem to get it to work!

poita
03-02-2014, 12:39 PM
Keen to see this updated for 4.2.2

Hopefully someone can get it working

fxwoody
01-25-2015, 12:33 PM
It works for me in 4.2.2 pl4. Setup the HTML "on" in the calendar option to help out ;)
Is there a way to translate the "weeks, days, hours" in french ??
Stuck on this one and as for the image with the heading, i can't get this to work :(

htscpl
07-02-2015, 07:06 PM
Just Installed and seems to be working on VB 4.2.2 PL4. Would like multiple events but for right now I will take what I can get.

HM666
07-27-2017, 02:31 AM
This also is working on vBulletin 4.2.5. I would love to be able to display a countdown list of events as my site has more than one event on any given day.

myke2008
01-11-2018, 12:37 AM
Got this working myself in 4.2.5 Thanks!

However the only issue I have left to figure out is the time offset is wrong. I have my board and everything I can find set to CST -6 but the countdown is 6 hours off.

The work around I found is to set the time zone to GMT -0 in the calendar event, then the time is synced correctly.

Any idea's?