Log in

View Full Version : Making postbit_legacy same width despite username


BigJohnny
09-26-2010, 11:46 PM
A user just signed up on my board and made a post and I notice that their postbit is wider than mine since my name is shorter.

What/where do I need to change to make that section of the postbit a constant size but in some way that will look good on any size monitor.

BigJohnny
10-03-2010, 09:55 PM
I'm sure someone has had this problem before. See how the two columns are the same width. I want to set their width so they are always the same no matter what the username.

kh99
10-03-2010, 10:50 PM
It's like that in our forum and no one ever thought it was a problem. But I guess you could reduce the user name font size if the name is over a certain number of characters, or rearrange things like on this forum.

BigJohnny
10-04-2010, 02:39 PM
I have the user names limited, but I can't seem to find where that table is created. Ive checked all through the postbit_legacy and can't find which one that specifically is.

it just needs some kind of size adjustment somewhere.

kh99
10-04-2010, 02:46 PM
I think it's the table row that starts like this:

<tr valign="top">
<td class="alt2" width="175" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px">

<div id="postmenu_$post[postid]">
<if condition="$show['profile']">
<a class="bigusername" href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$post[userid]">$post[musername]</a>
<script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("postmenu_$post[postid]", true); </script>
<else />
$post[musername]
</if>
</div>

but I'm not an HTML expert, I don't know why the width=175 doesn't limit it (I guess that's why you're asking so I should let someone who knows answer).

BigJohnny
10-06-2010, 11:18 AM
ya that was it I guess. I was darn sure I tried that.

Setting it to a percentage value has corrected it for now.

BirdOPrey5
10-08-2010, 02:35 AM
I increased my width there to "200" to accommodate most long usernames. No one complained.

You might want to try adding style="max-width:200px; overflow:hidden;" to the <td> tag, not sure if it will work but if it does it will force the max width of the cell to 200 pixels.