PDA

View Full Version : Add-On Releases - Hall of Fame - Top vBExperience Members - Widget, Forum Block and VBA CMPS Module


Sadikb
09-17-2010, 10:00 PM
On my site running vBExperience 4, I needed to have a CMS Widget and Forum Block showing Top Members, aptly named as Hall of Fame. So I wrote this one. This is not a standalone widget and it is only tested with vBExperience 4 and vBulletin 4.0.6. I will try and help if you have any issues but I can't guarantee support.

What this does:

Not much... :) This is totally based on the need of my site where I wanted to show member's avatar's besides their names, titles and Experience Points. So that's all this will show. If you need anything more you will have to change the Query.


INSTALL INSTRUCTIONS

1) Add the CSS which we will use

Styles & Templates > select style > Edit Template > CSS Templates > additional.css

Add the below CSS

Before you add the CSS, a very important point to note is that I use a 300px sidebar column on CMS and 300px sidebar on Forums. If your CMS/Forum sidebar column is of less width, you should change the CSS values accordingly. I highly recommend playing with Firebug to arrive at optimum Display.



.clearfix {
background:none repeat scroll 0 0 #FFFFFF;
display:block;
float:left;
margin:0 5px 5px;
width:95%;
}

.connections_grid .grid_item {
border-bottom:1px solid #AAAAAA;
float:left;
margin-bottom:10px;
overflow:hidden;
padding-bottom:10px;
padding-top:10px;
width:130px;
}

.connections_grid .grid_item .name {
float:left;
font-size:10px;
overflow:hidden;
padding-left:10px;
padding-top:5px;
text-align:center;
white-space:nowrap;
}

.tpimg {
float:left;
height:45px;
padding-left:5px;
width:45px;
}

.allrankings {
font-size:11px;
text-align:center;
}



2) Create a new Templates

For Widget:

Styles & Templates > select style > Add Template
Title - vbcms_widget_execphp_hof
Template code -


<div class="cms_widget">
<div class="block">
<div class="cms_widget_header">
<h3>{vb:raw widget_title}</h3>
</div>
<div class="cms_widget_content" style="float:left">
{vb:raw show_top}
</div>
</div>
</div>


For Forum Block:

Styles & Templates > select style > Add Template
Title - block_hof
Template code -


<li>
<div class="block smaller">
<div class="blocksubhead">
<a class="collapse" id="collapse_block_html_{vb:raw blockinfo.blockid}" href="{vb:raw relpath}#top"><img alt="" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/collapse_40b.png" id="collapseimg_html_{vb:raw blockinfo.blockid}"/></a>
<span class="blocktitle">{vb:raw blockinfo.title}</span>
</div>
<div id="block_html_{vb:raw blockinfo.blockid}" class="blockbody floatcontainer restore">
{vb:raw content}
</div>
</div>
<div class="underblock"></div>
</li>

I usually remove the atrocious PHP/HTML icons that appear beside widget and block headings.

3) Cache Templates

Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin > leave everything default except:
Hook Location - cache_templates
Title - Cache templates for Hall of Fame
Plugin PHP code -
PHP Code:
$cache = array_merge((array)$cache,array(
'block_hof',
'vbcms_widget_execphp_hof'
));
Plugin is Active - Yes

4) Create a new Widget

vBulletin CMS > Widgets > Create New Widget
Widget Type - PHP Direct Execution
Title - Hall of Fame
SAVE

5) Configure the Widget

Now go to vBulletin CMS > Widgets > Hall of Fame > Configure
Change the Template Name to -
vbcms_widget_execphp_hof
Add the following code

$member_count = 8;

ob_start();
require_once('./includes/functions_user.php');
require_once('./includes/functions_bigthree.php');

$ignore_condition = '1=1';

if (strlen($vbulletin->options['xperience_ignore_users']) > 0)
{
$ignore_condition .= " AND u.userid NOT IN(".$vbulletin->options['xperience_ignore_users'].") ";
}

// Get Top Members
$topusers_get = vB::$db->query_read("SELECT u.userid AS userid,
u.username AS username,
u.usertitle AS title,
x.points_xperience AS points
FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."user AS u
LEFT JOIN ".TABLE_PREFIX."xperience_stats AS x
ON x.userid=u.userid
WHERE ".$ignore_condition."
ORDER BY x.points_xperience DESC
LIMIT $member_count"
);

$show_top='<div class="connections_grid clearfix">';

while($topusers = vB::$db->fetch_array($topusers_get))
{
$URL = fetch_avatar_url($topusers[userid]);
$a_url = @$URL[0];

if (empty($a_url))
{
$a_url = 'images/misc/unknown.gif';
}


$show_top.='<div class="grid_item"><a href="member.php?u='.$topusers[userid].'"><img class="tpimg" src="'.$a_url.'" alt="'.$newuser[username].'"/><div class="name">'.$topusers[username].'<br />'.$topusers[title].'<br /><b>Points </b><span style="color:green;font-weight:bold">'.$topusers[points].'</span></div></a></div>';

}

$show_top.='<div class="allrankings"><a rel="nofollow" href="xperience.php?go=ranking">Complete Hall of Fame Rankings</a></div></div>';

vB_Template::preRegister('vbcms_widget_execphp_hof ', array('show_top' => $show_top));

ob_end_clean();


You can change $member_count to as many members as you want to display.

Save

6) Add the widget to a proper layout.

7) Create New Forum Block

Forums & Moderators > Forum Blocks Manager > Add Block
Block Type - Custom Html/PHP
Title - Hall of Fame
Content Type - PHP
Content - Add this PHP Code


$member_count = 8;

ob_start();
require_once('./includes/functions_user.php');
require_once('./includes/functions_bigthree.php');

$ignore_condition = '1=1';

if (strlen($vbulletin->options['xperience_ignore_users']) > 0)
{
$ignore_condition .= " AND u.userid NOT IN(".$vbulletin->options['xperience_ignore_users'].") ";
}

// Get Top Members
$topusers_get = vB::$db->query_read("SELECT u.userid AS userid,
u.username AS username,
u.usertitle AS title,
x.points_xperience AS points
FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."user AS u
LEFT JOIN ".TABLE_PREFIX."xperience_stats AS x
ON x.userid=u.userid
WHERE ".$ignore_condition."
ORDER BY x.points_xperience DESC
LIMIT $member_count"
);

$show_top='<div class="connections_grid clearfix">';

while($topusers = vB::$db->fetch_array($topusers_get))
{
$URL = fetch_avatar_url($topusers[userid]);
$a_url = @$URL[0];

if (empty($a_url))
{
$a_url = 'images/misc/unknown.gif';
}

$show_top.='<div class="grid_item"><a href="member.php?u='.$topusers[userid].'"><img class="tpimg" src="'.$a_url.'" alt="'.$newuser[username].'"/><div class="name">'.$topusers[username].'<br />'.$topusers[title].'<br /><b>Points </b><span style="color:green;font-weight:bold">'.$topusers[points].'</span></div></a></div>';

}

$show_top.='<div class="allrankings"><a href="xperience.php?go=ranking">Complete Hall of Fame Rankings</a></div></div>';

$output = $show_top;

ob_end_clean();

Again, You can change $member_count to as many members as you want to display.

Change template to use block_hof
Save
Save a proper Display Order

Of course, I use both CMS Widget and Forum block, you may use either only one. :)

VBAdvanced CMPS Module is attached. Thanks to DS MrSinister who provided this. (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2103696&postcount=19)

Working Demo can be seen on my site : Oracle Forums Community (http://www.club-oracle.com). Screen shots not attached as don't want to show my member's avatar's here.

Hope someone uses this... lol... :)

DS MrSinister
09-18-2010, 06:50 PM
any luck making this to work with vBadvanced CMPS? i am sure there are people will be asking for it also. thanks for sharing.

Sadikb
09-18-2010, 06:53 PM
any luck making this to work with vBadvanced CMPS? i am sure there are people will be asking for it also. thanks for sharing.

Ah... sorry mate, haven't got vbAdvanced installed. Shouldn't be difficult to make though, given that the php code is already there. By the way I have marked the code re-usable so anyone who has vBA can go ahead and make one.

Aramist
09-18-2010, 08:05 PM
Hi...All my avatars are showing like unknown avatars.

Any idea?

Sadikb
09-18-2010, 08:37 PM
Hi...All my avatars are showing like unknown avatars.

Any idea?

Yes... Should have seen this coming... My avatar's are in the database. The avatar url through image.php is probably not working for you. Will check in the morning... It's 3 am here... :(

Aramist
09-18-2010, 08:44 PM
Np...i wait :D

Ty a lot in advance :D

betts02
09-18-2010, 10:20 PM
Nice 1 cheers

Just changed the avatar for users with none selected but will await the image.php you say

Sadikb
09-19-2010, 03:35 AM
Hi...All my avatars are showing like unknown avatars.

Any idea?

Np...i wait :D

Ty a lot in advance :D

Nice 1 cheers

Just changed the avatar for users with none selected but will await the image.php you say

Avatar Issue Fixed. Please change the PHP Code in Widget/Forum Block.

Thanks

DS MrSinister
09-19-2010, 03:45 AM
wow thanks. thought you would not posted a fixed until much later. i am still trying to figure out how to get this to work with vbadvanced. still not luck yet. my skills are still not that good yet.

Sadikb
09-19-2010, 04:17 AM
wow thanks. thought you would not posted a fixed until much later. i am still trying to figure out how to get this to work with vbadvanced. still not luck yet. my skills are still not that good yet.

I haven't used vbA in a long time. How does vbA create a new php module? Does it allow you to? If yes, what you need to do is first put in the php code from the widget into vbA php module. Once you have the php running (check by echoing), it's a question of displaying the variable in html.

gwerzal
09-19-2010, 10:49 AM
Thanksd mate

Looking good

Aramist
09-19-2010, 02:09 PM
Ty u for the update Sadikb.

warrior uw
09-20-2010, 06:15 AM
installed thanks

Sadikb
09-21-2010, 08:36 AM
Thanksd mate

Looking good

Ty u for the update Sadikb.

installed thanks

You are welcome! :)

Phalynx
09-21-2010, 09:05 AM
I have referenced this widget in my readme. Thank you for sharing.

Gn_Snake
09-21-2010, 04:32 PM
Thanks man!! Good job

//edit
Not working widget cms. I see a small square
Any idea?

CoZmicShReddeR
09-21-2010, 09:47 PM
Thanks man!! Good job


//edit
Not working widget cms. I see a small square
Any idea?

Yeah me too @ www.cozworld.com :(

Sadikb
09-22-2010, 12:40 AM
I have referenced this widget in my readme. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks Phalynx! :)


Not working widget cms. I see a small square
Any idea?

Yeah me too @ www.cozworld.com :(

I couldn't find the widget or forum block on cozworld.com. If you guys could share the link where it's not working i could figure out the reason.

Edit: Sorry I just noticed. Have fixed the Widget Php code. Please again copy-paste the widget php code. It should be working now.

Thanks

DS MrSinister
09-27-2010, 01:49 PM
OK this is the best i can do with my limited knowledge of php and vba.

Hall Of Fame for vBadvanced CMPS. also attach screen shot so you can see what it looks like.
enjoy. if anyone wants to clean it up some feel free.

Sadikb. feel free to added it to the main post or what ever you would like to do..

Sadikb
09-29-2010, 05:54 AM
OK this is the best i can do with my limited knowledge of php and vba.

Hall Of Fame for vBadvanced CMPS. also attach screen shot so you can see what it looks like.
enjoy. if anyone wants to clean it up some feel free.

Sadikb. feel free to added it to the main post or what ever you would like to do..

Added VBA Module to OP. Thanks! :)

DS MrSinister
09-30-2010, 01:18 AM
very welcome sir.. thanks for adding it.

betts02
11-12-2010, 11:17 PM
Is it possible to only allow a set number of usergroups ?

pedroenf
11-14-2010, 02:19 PM
This is an interesting MOD, in deed. But has to many MySQL DB querys - unninstalled :(

lycheepassion
06-02-2011, 04:38 PM
I dont use the cms of vb4 can i do this just for the forum block?

Sadikb
06-02-2011, 04:45 PM
I dont use the cms of vb4 can i do this just for the forum block?

Yes, there is no dependency.

lycheepassion
06-02-2011, 04:58 PM
Awesome thanks!

glen290
06-03-2011, 10:12 PM
installed and workin great, quick question though, is there any way to reduce the size of the avatars ?

Sadikb
06-04-2011, 03:14 AM
installed and workin great, quick question though, is there any way to reduce the size of the avatars ?

I looked at your site. Your CSS isn't loading. Did you add the css in additional.css?

glen290
06-05-2011, 12:36 PM
I looked at your site. Your CSS isn't loading. Did you add the css in additional.css?

Sorted, i had done the css for the default style, but not for the others...cheers :up: