Log in

View Full Version : AdBlock Alert Module


Numenorean7
07-27-2010, 01:05 AM
Most people browsing the Internet are using AdBlockers all the time, making it pretty hard for smaller sites to earn revenues with Adsense and such, right ?

Let's say your site is made in such a way that your ads are well integrated, not anoying or flashing at all. The fact visitors see them doesn't affect their browsing experience at all, and gives you a chance to earn revenues in order to cover hosting fees.

There used to be a few mods on vB3 to do that:

A mod that displays a notice asking users to disable their adblockers. This notice is only displayed when an adblocker is detected. Once the adblocker is disabled, or the concerned site added to the visitor's white list, the notice is gone.

I already have a Javascript to detect adblockers, if that helps (It's tested and working on vB4):

<script type="text/javascript">
var ads = new Array('ad_global_below_navbar');
var msg = 'TEST';

onload=function() {
for(i in ads){
el = document.getElementById(ads[i]);
if(el){
if (el.offsetHeight == 0){
alert('AdBlocker Activated');
}
}
}
}
</script>

It'd be great to have this mod working on vB4. I definitely understand that ads can be annoying for visitors when they aren't well integrated, when they are flashing and $h!t. On the other hand, why can't I earn minimum revenues from my ads to cover hosting fees ?

Let me know what you think :)

Ghostt
09-19-2010, 09:06 PM
need this also! that one isnt working https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=229984

BirdOPrey5
09-20-2010, 04:42 AM
I found one online and put it on my site for unregistered users only... you guys want to visit and see how it works? I'm interested if there are any false positives or missed blockers that aren't detected...

http://www.juot.net/forums/

If it's working well I'll post up the code. No reason it wouldn't work on VB4 it's javascript- doesn't depend on VB really.

scottct1
11-30-2010, 02:58 AM
Any updates on this?

BirdOPrey5
11-30-2010, 04:50 AM
It was working fine for me for a while, then I personally uninstalled it but I put up the instructions here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=254450

It will work for VB4 as well as VB3.

angeljs
12-30-2017, 08:18 AM
So simple, yet it works! Thank you!