View Full Version : How do I remove the frame from Widgets?
yospeck
06-30-2010, 12:27 PM
I'm not a big fan of widget content being sat in a frame with the title and would much sooner it float on the page. How would I go about editing the widgets to do this?
I'm pretty new to vb and haven't done that much modding to my suite yet, so have no idea if this is possible let alone simply difficult.
Cheers
YoSpeck
Attitude5ire
07-05-2010, 02:59 AM
You want remove the whole sidebar widgets or customizing widgets look?
yospeck
07-05-2010, 07:38 AM
Customize the look. They sit in a white frame with "<Title>" of the widget. I'd sooner it not be in a frame and just sitting on the page. Any idea where I need to be looking? I figure it would be as simple as editing the images that make the frame and saving them as a clear transparent .png or something so that they don't show.
Lynne
07-05-2010, 01:42 PM
You may create your own template for the widget (that has no frame, no title, etc) and enter the name of the custom template in the Configure Widget screen.
oxide11
03-05-2011, 08:42 AM
Is any info somewhere ho to do it? I want to remove frames in all widgets in CMS.
Lynne
03-05-2011, 03:54 PM
An image of what you are trying to achieve and a link to your site would help. Most likely, you just need to write some CSS for what you want, but we can't tell you want that is without an image and link.
I am interested too in doing that. An example for this http://www.maxconsole.net/content.php or http://www.minatica.be/content/
Lynne
03-08-2011, 03:55 PM
Do you have firebug? It will tell you exactly what classes have the borders and such so that you can then remove it. Like it says:
.cms_widget { -moz-border-radius: 5px 5px 5px 5px; -moz-box-shadow: -2px 2px 2px #C8C8C8; background-color: #F1F1F1; border: 1px solid #C1C1C1;
etc
So either go edit that, or add something like:
.cms_widget {
border: 0; }
Do that for all borders/backgrounds you want to remove.
i've instaled firebug and i saw that the class for the frame is div class = block but where i go to edit that, i tried what you said in the previous post but i didn't know where to put that or where to find it ( i tried in the additional.css template )
Lynne
03-11-2011, 04:07 PM
The information on the right in firebug is what you want to look at. It shows you the CSS setting the properties. Then you can do a Search in Templates for it or just use it to write your own stuff in additional.css to replace it.
Now i understood and fixed. Thank you verry much for your pacience
macara
07-03-2011, 12:33 PM
I tried the solution of Mrs Lynne and it works fine, the only thing that I need is the background of the header widget.
vbcms.css
.cms_widget {
background-color: 0;
border: 0;
macara
07-05-2011, 05:29 AM
Please,
Is it help?
setishock
07-05-2011, 08:29 AM
I've gone through the vbcms.css template and where I want to kill a part of the widget I just added this command >
display: none;
Make that the first item in the list. Or where there is a color just change it to transparent.
See attachment. I'm still dinking with it but that should get you going.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.