PDA

View Full Version : Custom Coding Help - This is a strange one...


Welshy2008
06-16-2010, 10:01 AM
... Hi All,

I am using Bananalive's "Easy Forms" (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=234385) for two listing threads, displayed on the forum. I have and still continue to use this on 3.8 and it works perfectly on there.

The problem is with 4.0.3 PL1. (Currently a test board duplicate of my 3.8 board). But I am waiting to upgrade my live 3.8 to 4.0.3 PL1.

I have, changed the codes to the vb4 style. I have even had BA help as much as he can.

On one forum/thread, it worked, but not 100%, the problem I have is with a custom search facility that I have done. I could use whole or partially keywords to search anywhere in the posts a member has made and would only bring up the one post. (Ie full or partial post/zip code business name etc).

On the vb4 it brings up all the posts listed and the one that I searched for (even with the full name used) is one of the last to be displayed.

The second forum, at first, didn't work at all, not even when I rebuilt the search index, all of a sudden it worked the same as the one mentioned above. Again 100% as it should.

I have been in my admin and checked that all new posts are listed etc. I have even done a test post and the same thing happens to that with regard to search.

All of the above will work (Not correctly) if I do a search on the Full Name but nothing on a partial name etc. (Does on vb3.8).

Has anyone got any ideas on why this is like this? And better still, on how I can correct this so that it works as it should like it does on vB3.8, please? If you need to view it through a URL, please PM and I will supply it.


I have copied the codes below from the 3.8 version (First, below) and the codes that I have in my 4.0.3 PL1 Version. (Second, Below)


Many Thanks for any valuable help and input...

--------------- Added 1276686256 at 1276686256 ---------------

SHOWTHREAD 3.8 Code:

<tr>
<if condition="$threadinfo['threadid'] == '1000'">
<td align="$stylevar[left]" valign="top" width="50%">
<fieldset class="fieldset" style="margin:0px">
<legend><b><font size="3">Search For a X</font> <font size="2"></b></legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">
<tr>
<form action="search.php?do=process&searchthreadid=1000" method="post">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class=""><b><font size="2">Please enter a search word, <font color="blue">Ie:</font> Name, Post Code etc (full or partial):</font></b><a name="goto_threadsearch"></a></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="left">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="searchthreadid" value="$threadinfo[threadid] == '1000'" />
<font size="3"><font color="green"><b>Find:</b></font></font> <input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="25" />&nbsp<input type="image" src="http://www.myforumaddress.com/images/search.png" alt="Click - to search."><br/>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</select></label>
</tr>
</fieldset></if>
<br />

<tr>
<if condition="$threadinfo['threadid'] == '1001'">
<td align="$stylevar[left]" valign="top" width="50%">
<fieldset class="fieldset" style="margin:0px">
<legend><b><font size="3">Search For a X2 </font> <font size="2"></b></legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">
<tr>
<form action="search.php?do=process&searchthreadid=1001" method="post">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class=""><b><font size="2">Enter a search word, <font color="blue">Ie:</font> Name, Post Code etc (full or partial):</font></b><a name="goto_threadsearch"></a></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="left">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="searchthreadid" value="$threadinfo[threadid] == '1001'" />
<font size="3"><font color="green"><b>Find:</b></font></font> <input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="25" /> <input type="image" src="http://www.myforumaddress.com/images/searchX2.png" alt="Click to search for X2."><br/>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</select></label>
</tr>
</fieldset></if>
<br />


3.8 Code:

Plugin: (Easy Forms)

Product: Easy Forms
Hook Location: newreply_form_start
Title: Easy Forms Reply Button.
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code: if (in_array($threadinfo[threadid], array(1000)))
{
header('Location: http://www.my forumaddress.com /misc.php?do=form&fid=9') ;
}
if (in_array($threadinfo[threadid], array(1001)))
{
header('Location: http://www.myforumaddress.com/misc.php?do=form&fid=10') ;
}
Plugin is Active: Yes



Plugin: (Easy Forms)

Product: Easy Forms
Hook Location: showthread_complete
Title: Enter a name
Execution Order: 1000
Plugin PHP Code: if ($threadinfo[threadid] == 1000)
{
eval('$SHOWTHREAD = "' . fetch_template('SHOWTHREAD') . '";');
$SHOWTHREAD = str_replace("reply.gif","addname.gif", $SHOWTHREAD);
print_output($SHOWTHREAD);
}

Plugin is Active: Yes





Plugin: (Easy Forms)

Product: Easy Forms
Hook Location: showthread_complete
Title: List a X
Execution Order: 999
Plugin PHP Code: if ($threadinfo[threadid] == 1001)
{
eval('$SHOWTHREAD = "' . fetch_template('SHOWTHREAD') . '";');
$SHOWTHREAD = str_replace("reply.gif","listX.gif", $SHOWTHREAD);
print_output($SHOWTHREAD);
}
Plugin is Active: Yes

--------------- Added 1276686420 at 1276686420 ---------------

SHOWTHREAD 4.0 Code:

<vb:if condition="$threadinfo['threadid'] == 1000">
<fieldset class="fieldset" style="margin:0px">
<legend><b><font size="2">Search</font></b></legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="{vb:raw stylevar.formspacer}" border="0">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">
<tr>
<form action="search.php?search_type=1&amp;searchthreadid={vb:raw thread.threadid}&amp;contenttype=vBForum_Post" method="post">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class=""><b><font size="2">Search word, <font color="blue">Ie:</font> Name, Post Code etc (full or partial):</font></b><a name="goto_threadsearch"></a></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="left">
<input type="hidden" value="1" name="showposts" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="{vb:raw session.sessionhash}" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="{vb:raw bbuserinfo.securitytoken}" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="searchthreadid" value="{vb:raw threadinfo.threadid}" />
<font size="3"><font color="green"><b>Find:</b></font></font> <input type="text" class="textbox" name="query" size="25" />&nbsp<input type="image" src="http://www.myforumaddress.com/images/search.png" alt="Click to search." /><br/>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</fieldset></vb:if>
<br />

<vb:if condition="$threadinfo['threadid'] == 1001">
<fieldset class="fieldset" style="margin:0px">
<legend><b><font size="3">Search</font> <font size="2"></b></legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="{vb:raw stylevar.formspacer}" border="0">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">
<tr>
<form action="search.php?search_type=1&amp;searchthreadid={vb:raw thread.threadid}&amp;contenttype=vBForum_Post" method="post">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class=""><b><font size="2">Search word, <font color="blue">Ie:</font> Name, Post Code etc (Full or partial):</font></b><a name="goto_threadsearch"></a></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="left">
<input type="hidden" value="1" name="showposts" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="{vb:raw session.sessionhash}" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="{vb:raw bbuserinfo.securitytoken}" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="searchthreadid" value="{vb:raw threadinfo.threadid}" />
<font size="3"><font color="green"><b>Find:</b></font></font> <input type="text" class="textbox" name="query" size="25" />&nbsp<input type="image" src="http://www.myforumaddress.com/images/searchX2.png" alt="Search." /><br/>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</fieldset></vb:if>
<br />



4.0 Code:

Plugin: (Easy Forms)

Product: Easy Forms
Hook Location: newreply_form_start
Title: Easy Forms Reply Button.
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code: if (in_array($threadinfo['threadid'], array(1000)))
{
header('Location: http://www.myforumaddress.com/misc.php?do=form&fid=9') ;
}
if (in_array($threadinfo['threadid'], array(1001)))
{
header('Location: http://www.myforumaddress.com/misc.php?do=form&fid=10') ;
}
Plugin is Active: Yes






Plugin: (Easy Forms)

Product: Easy Forms
Hook Location: showthread_complete
Title: Enter a name
Execution Order: 1000
Plugin PHP Code: if ($threadinfo[threadid] == 1000)
{
$show['quickreply'] = false;
$vbphrase['reply_to_thread'] = "Add a TITLE HERE";
}

Plugin is Active: Yes



Plugin: (Easy Forms)

Product: Easy Forms
Hook Location: showthread_complete
Title: List a X
Execution Order: 999
Plugin PHP Code: if ($threadinfo[threadid] == 1001)
{
$show['quickreply'] = false;
$vbphrase['reply_to_thread'] = "Add a “TITLE 2 HERE";
}

Plugin is Active: Yes

ChopSuey
06-16-2010, 11:01 AM
Questions regarding modifications should be asked in the modification thread ;)

Welshy2008
06-16-2010, 12:11 PM
Funnily enough, I have been reading some of your reply posts to some threads. ;)

I am sure a Mod will move it, if it is in the wrong place. :)

--------------- Added 1276693985 at 1276693985 ---------------

Forgot to add that as it no longer comes as standard in vB4.0.3 PL1, I have added this mod too:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=232538

Lynne
06-16-2010, 01:36 PM
Do you have permission from BA to post his code here? If you don't, I've got to remove it.

Welshy2008
06-16-2010, 01:40 PM
That Is my code Lynne. Of which BA cast his eye over for me.

BA, suggested that I start a thread on .com - they, in turn sent me here.

But Yes, That is my code. (there maybe some from BA in there too - I can't remember) :) I will ask BA if he can pop on here to confirm that though, Lynne - I know is a busy Gent, so please allow me a little time.


** I have Just PM'd BA **

bananalive
06-16-2010, 02:07 PM
Do you have permission from BA to post his code here? If you don't, I've got to remove it.

It's fine; I have no objections to the code being here.

Welshy2008
06-16-2010, 05:31 PM
Thank You BA.

Welshy2008
06-20-2010, 10:32 AM
Anyone, Please?

Lynne
06-20-2010, 02:17 PM
You realize that the search queries have changed between 3 and 4. My guess would be that is your problem there. Try including the old search query to use and see if that is the problem.

Welshy2008
06-20-2010, 04:23 PM
Hi Lynne,

I have modified the code for the vB4 - that I know of, and BA has helped me too.

When I upgraded (test forum) it showed up errors of "Security token etc".

Today, I removed the code for the "box" because that didn't work in v4.

Is there anything that you can see that would cause this please Lynne?

Welshy2008
07-27-2010, 11:27 AM
Is anyone able to help with this Please?

Perhaps able to do a complete re-write of the code for the search box?

As I mentioned in previous post... I need this search box to appear on two Seperate Threads and Only search and Display the POSTS of that Particular thread, Please.

Any help would be appreciated.

Many Thanks,
Welshy2008.

Welshy2008
08-01-2010, 11:48 AM
Another thing that I have noticed is that on vB3.8.X, when you click on the post number (ie #1) a New page would open with just that post in it.

This does not happen with the vB4.0.4. And the search is dependent on that. (I have just tried with vB's Advanced Search too, and the same thing again. This has to be a 'Bug' Yes?