Log in

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Hide navbits from index only


Allan
05-28-2010, 10:00 PM
Hello, with this mod, you can hide the navbits (which is useless on index) from index only.

You gain a little height ^^
In the "Navbar" template, find:<div class="body_wrapper">
<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>

{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>

Replace with:<div class="body_wrapper">
<vb:if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array(index))">
<vb:else />
<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>

{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>
</vb:if>

For CMS: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2045345&postcount=6

AURFSCAN
05-29-2010, 06:41 AM
thankyou Allan

Juggernaut
05-29-2010, 07:15 AM
using it, thank you :D

RedPoint
05-29-2010, 07:21 PM
thanks, i search for this long time ;)

whitedd
05-29-2010, 11:10 PM
...great...but what is with CMS???...

AURFSCAN
05-30-2010, 01:54 AM
use this for removal from cms




<div class="body_wrapper">
<vb:if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array('index', 'vbcms'))">
<vb:else />
<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>

{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>
</vb:if>

Allan
05-30-2010, 06:43 AM
use this for removal from cms




<div class="body_wrapper">
<vb:if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array('index', 'vbcms'))">
<vb:else />
<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>

{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>
</vb:if>


Yes, good idea, thx ;)

Skyrider
09-28-2010, 10:40 AM
Gracias for this, installed.

BadgerDog
10-07-2010, 09:52 AM
Installed ... thanks ... :)

Works well on 4.04pl1 ... :up:

Regards,
Badger

BioWaffen
10-08-2010, 11:32 AM
Works on 4.0.7 , but if I put the CMS in, it doesn?t show it at all, so not from index only ;)

compact123
10-31-2010, 05:39 PM
thank you :O

Fergal C
12-04-2010, 09:57 AM
installed, thank you.

cloferba
12-04-2010, 12:44 PM
thanks!

lgnd
12-18-2010, 01:14 PM
Thanks! working on 4.1.0 pl2

ndut
12-19-2010, 03:36 AM
installed, on 4.1.0 pl2

egyedu
01-22-2011, 06:31 AM
installed, thank you.

Boofo
01-22-2011, 07:33 AM
This is a cleaner way to do it and avoids having to have the empty <vb:else /> line in it. Notice the ! marked in red.

<div class="body_wrapper">
<vb:if condition="!in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array('index', 'vbcms'))">
<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>

{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>
</vb:if>

TheTrust
07-10-2011, 03:45 AM
This is a cleaner way to do it and avoids having to have the empty <vb:else /> line in it. Notice the ! marked in red.

<div class="body_wrapper">
<vb:if condition="!in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array('index', 'vbcms'))">
<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>

{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>
</vb:if>

Thank you both of you Allan and Boofo

Front Range 4x4
06-16-2012, 10:02 PM
It still shows up in Search when I did it so added this:


<div class="body_wrapper">
<vb:if condition="!in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array('index', 'search'))">
<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb">
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>

{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</ul>
<hr />
</div>
</vb:if>

GameOverViper
06-17-2012, 01:34 AM
Just installed, thanks!

Keysailor
06-26-2012, 05:52 PM
Installed in vB 4.2.0pl2 and it works fine, even with my custom navbar, thanks!

Action-N
01-29-2013, 03:24 AM
I tried this for the CMS, but it hid from everything else not so much the front page which is what I believe is the point. Since all the sections, categories, an other pages use vbms script it needed an extra variable that only the top "Front Page" has. I found a post https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=289747 that found such a variable an was able to redesign the code given here. Thanks to brandondrury for discovering the variable.

Pretty much what I think should be standard, but hiding the breadcrumb only on the index/front page as it's not needed if your already there. Since not all other pages are gonna have parentnode variable the breadcrumb was hidden on them to so had to add another condition so it only hides if it's the CMS otherwise use the original code.

I didn't wrap the style tags to help with keeping the page from tweeking out. Did notice a loss of space so there could be a height filler added to the style code:

<div id="breadcrumb" class="breadcrumb" style="height:8px;">

Basically just go to navbar template an wrap condition statement around the whole breadcrumb code as shown.

REPLACE:

<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>
{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}

WITH:

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'vbcms'">
<vb:if condition="$vbulletin->parentnode != 0">
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>
{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</vb:if>
<vb:else />
<li class="navbithome"><a href="index.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}" accesskey="1"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/navbit-home.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase home}" /></a></li>
{vb:raw navbits.breadcrumb}
{vb:raw navbits.lastelement}
</vb:if>

goxy63
02-19-2013, 06:55 PM
If you have lots of articles this is bad decision, by me your users in some cases will have trouble...with breadcrumbs it is easy to navigate.

If can be removed ONLY on main CMS page it is ok, but removing breadcrumbs everywhere in articles its a mess

Did install, and I just found myself lost in my articles lol

Would like to see it only for main page, uninstalled, tagged

Action-N
02-22-2013, 04:17 AM
Goxy63, that's what my other post was about, with the code for it even. If your getting lost in your articles dependent on the breadcrumbs might want to add a "Home" tab on your navigation.

caltek
08-13-2013, 06:48 PM
Thanks for that - appreciate it.