View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - SXLM - ibPro Arcade - Anywhere Image Link
syrus.xl
05-15-2010, 10:00 PM
about:
This modification simply adds an image link to your arcade, which is fixed to the
bottom of your browser. Allowing you to have less clutter in your navbar.
DEMO: http://www.digitalport.co.uk
Brought to you by Digital Port UK
www.digitalport.co.uk (http://www.digitalport.co.uk)
Please click Install if you use this mod! Thanks..
What's in the Download?
In the package you will find the content to upload, documentation and the PSD file
used to create the image.
Installation:
Time to install: 1-2 minutes
Upload the contents of the UPLOAD folder to your forum root.
1 Template edit:
Go to your AdminCP
Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> Edit Templates (of your default style)
Edit footer template
Add this code at the bottom of this template.
<div style="position: fixed; bottom: 0px; left: 0px; width: 150px; height: 150px;">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/arcade_link.png" width="150" height="150" border="0" usemap="#arcadelink" alt="Click for Access" />
<map name="arcadelink">
<area shape="poly" coords="0,0,0,150,150,150" href="{vb:raw vboptions.homeurl}/arcade.php" target="_self" />
</map>
</div>Click 'Save' and you're done!
Align Image Right
If you want to align the image on the right then use the following code, and not the above.
Right-Aligned Image (requires a new PNG image) code:
<div style="position: fixed; bottom: 0px; right: 0px; width: 150px; height: 150px;">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/arcade_link.png" width="150" height="150" border="0" usemap="#arcadelink" alt="Arcade" />
<map name="arcadelink">
<area shape="poly" coords="150,0,150,150,0,150,150,0" href="{vb:raw vboptions.homeurl}/arcade.php" target="_self" />
</map>
</div> Coding:
We grant you permission to re-use the code from this modification for creation
of other modifications. It is very simple code, and does not take much to change
it to suit different size images, obviously changing the mapping to suit.
You can view other examples of this code used on our website, for right alignment
of bottom images. Feel free to use this code in other products.
sKippah
05-16-2010, 07:09 PM
Nice one. Tagged
RedDevil
05-16-2010, 08:48 PM
very nice
ellinofatsa
05-16-2010, 10:42 PM
thanks
nikosb
05-17-2010, 05:08 PM
very nice...thanks
Ocean-Wonders
05-17-2010, 05:27 PM
Looks brilliant, tagged. Will install later :)
syrus.xl
05-18-2010, 09:06 AM
You're welcome! It's only a very simple mod, and the coding could be easily changed for something else.
I thought of this because our navbar was becoming too full, and we have a lot of visitors from gaming websites (long story) - so this just makes it easier for them to find our arcade.
:)
goxy63
05-18-2010, 06:50 PM
Nominated, rated, installed
Simple but just Great
Thank you
syrus.xl
05-18-2010, 09:39 PM
If anyone wants the coding for a right-aligned version, just ask - it only requires a few minor code changes.
'keeping things simple' is better than having loads of code where errors can occur' ;)
ShawneyJ
05-18-2010, 10:21 PM
tagged, this is amazing thanks. i guess we could use for v3arcade to?
syrus.xl
05-18-2010, 10:35 PM
tagged, this is amazing thanks. i guess we could use for v3arcade to?
Yes, you could. Just change the url that currently points to the arcade.php file. I'm not sure of the file name for use on the v3Arcade.
blue6995
05-19-2010, 02:20 PM
How can I change the link. My link is: http://www.rwf-forum.co.uk/vBulletin/arcade.php
and not: http://rwf-forum.co.uk/vBulletin/index.php/arcade.php
syrus.xl
05-19-2010, 03:07 PM
How can I cahnge the link. My link is: http://www.rwf-forum.co.uk/vBulletin/arcade.php
and not: http://rwf-forum.co.uk/vBulletin/index.php/arcade.php
Hi blue6995,
Here you go.. just a hard coded link instead of using vb tags. Just copy and paste this code in your footer!
Regards,
<div style="position: fixed; bottom: 0px; left: 0px; width: 150px; height: 150px;">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/arcade_link.png" width="150" height="150" border="0" usemap="#arcadelink" alt="Click for Access" />
<map name="arcadelink">
<area shape="poly" coords="0,0,0,150,150,150" href="http://www.rwf-forum.co.uk/vBulletin/arcade.php" target="_self" />
</map>
</div>
GamerPerfection
05-21-2010, 10:34 AM
If I was to put something like this down the left hand side of my page how would I do it? So instead of having it in the header corner or footer corner, it is down the middle of the left hand side?
syrus.xl
05-21-2010, 12:20 PM
If I was to put something like this down the left hand side of my page how would I do it? So instead of having it in the header corner or footer corner, it is down the middle of the left hand side?
This would need more coding done to achieve. Basically, you would need to define a div and place the code directly after the <body> tag, then setup your additional CSS for the div itself.
I will put a simple example together so you can see how it's done.
GamerPerfection
05-21-2010, 01:27 PM
This would need more coding done to achieve. Basically, you would need to define a div and place the code directly after the <body> tag, then setup your additional CSS for the div itself.
I will put a simple example together so you can see how it's done.
Hey thanks for the offer, but i found some coding elsewhere and now i have it working on my test site. Thanks dude. :)
sticky
05-26-2010, 02:09 PM
Is it possible to just add this to the forum home page and not every page?
x626xblack
05-26-2010, 02:33 PM
Thinking outside of the box..
Arcade widget for CMS? Less clutter and no templates to revert at upgrade time.
patrick91
06-08-2010, 03:33 PM
Nice idea this! maybe is it possible to make a sort of slider of it for different links/images on clicking base.
I will install this very soon rated 5 stars!
patrick91
06-09-2010, 09:50 AM
Nice idea this! maybe is it possible to make a sort of slider of it for different links/images on clicking base.
I will install this very soon rated 5 stars!
For the right i tried to fix one. but i only need now the cordinates? doe you have them..
Gr,
Patrick
patrick91
06-09-2010, 10:09 AM
Nice idea this! maybe is it possible to make a sort of slider of it for different links/images on clicking base.
I will install this very soon rated 5 stars!
For the right i tried to fix one. but i only need now the cordinates? doe you have them..
Gr,
Patrick
syrus.xl
06-09-2010, 10:23 AM
For the right i tried to fix one. but i only need now the cordinates? doe you have them..
Gr,
Patrick
Hi,
Simple to do... Here's the code you would need, obviously you would need to change the image, so it looks okay on the right.
<div style="position: fixed; bottom: 0px; right: 0px; width: 150px; height: 150px;">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_misc}/arcade_link.png" width="150" height="150" border="0" usemap="#arcadelink" alt="Arcade" />
<map name="arcadelink">
<area shape="poly" coords="150,0,150,150,0,150,150,0" href="{vb:raw vboptions.homeurl}/arcade.php" target="_self" />
</map>
</div>
I will update the main post to allow for a right aligned image. :)
Regards,
patrick91
06-09-2010, 10:43 AM
Thanks it works! Here demo of your products on my forum:D
http://www.yamahaforumbenelux.com/forum.php?styleid=9
syrus.xl
06-09-2010, 11:11 AM
Thanks it works! Here demo of your products on my forum:D
http://www.yamahaforumbenelux.com/forum.php?styleid=9
That looks pretty cool... nice combination! :)
syrus.xl
06-20-2010, 11:29 AM
Is it possible to just add this to the forum home page and not every page?
Yes, just edit the FORUMHOME template and place the code after the following line:
{vb:raw footer}
RobbieZ
07-23-2010, 04:12 PM
Thanks *installed*
Thx m8...very nice indeed
KW802
09-13-2010, 04:39 PM
tagged, this is amazing thanks. i guess we could use for v3arcade to?
Yes, you could. Just change the url that currently points to the arcade.php file. I'm not sure of the file name for use on the v3Arcade.
Both systems use "arcade.php" for their main page so it'll work just fine with either one. :)
goxy63
09-18-2010, 08:23 PM
Is it just me or.....
Right-Aligned Image, when code is placed in same style as left one right image is not clickable on whole areabut just half of it.
Anyone have idea why and howto resolve that?
syrus.xl
09-18-2010, 08:57 PM
Is it just me or.....
Right-Aligned Image, when code is placed in same style as left one right image is not clickable on whole areabut just half of it.
Anyone have idea why and howto resolve that?
Hi goxy63,
You need to change the code slightly of you are using left and right aligned images, check out this post for the code I redone.
http://www.digitalport.co.uk/f144/sxlm-ibpro-arcade-anywhere-image-link-75506.html#post199006
goxy63
09-18-2010, 09:26 PM
Works great now, thank you
Cheers
Krusty1231
09-18-2010, 10:33 PM
I love this. Thank you.
goxy63
09-19-2010, 08:09 PM
Just one small question, if image is squared shape on right side how to set it to be clickable on whole area?
<area shape="????" coords="?????????????????????????" href="{vb:raw vboptions.homeurl}/arcade.php" target="_self" />
TY
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.