Log in

View Full Version : Mini Mods - Full Screen Button in Youtube embedded Videos


Sadikb
03-13-2010, 10:00 PM
Updated to work with 4.0.6

Hi, a member posted a video on my site and complained to me that there is no Full Screen Button in the embedded video. The fix to this is really simple:

You need to go to Styles & Templates ?> Style Manager ?> ?> BBCode Layout Templates ?> bbcode_video:

Find:


<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube'" />
<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<!--[if IE 6]>
<embed width="640" height="385" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<![endif]--></object>
Replace with:

<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube'" />
<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}&fs=1">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}&fs=1" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" />
<!--[if IE 6]>
<embed width="640" height="385" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<![endif]--></object>


I also blogged about it here (http://www.splendidpoint.com/youtube-full-screen-button-missing/).

For Vimeo, the process is the same,

Find:

<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'vimeo'" />
<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="360" data="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id={vb:raw code}">
<param name="movie" value="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id={vb:raw code}" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<!--[if IE 6]>
<embed width="640" height="360" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id={vb:raw code}" />
<![endif]--></object>

Replace with:

<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'vimeo'" />
<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="360" data="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id={vb:raw code}&amp;fullscreen=1">
<param name="movie" value="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id={vb:raw code}" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" />
<!--[if IE 6]>
<embed width="420" height="339" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.dailymotion.com/swf/{vb:raw code}" />
<![endif]--></object>

Hope this helps...

arena
03-14-2010, 10:11 PM
Thank you installed

Jabong82
03-14-2010, 10:43 PM
Thank you very much. Great Mod Installed.

I have a question though. Is there a way to get this code to work so youtube videos can be displayed in an iphone?

I had a code which your mod replaced that allowed youtube videos to show in an iphone, however it was weird because it would show only some videos and some would be left with the little flash icon.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you again for this mod though.

archet1337
03-14-2010, 11:49 PM
This is awesome. Thanks for sharing.

Sadikb
03-15-2010, 06:32 AM
Thank you installed

This is awesome. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks guys for your appreciation. It's motivated me to share some of my other customizations too... :)

Sadikb
03-15-2010, 06:37 AM
Thank you very much. Great Mod Installed.

I have a question though. Is there a way to get this code to work so youtube videos can be displayed in an iphone?

I had a code which your mod replaced that allowed youtube videos to show in an iphone, however it was weird because it would show only some videos and some would be left with the little flash icon.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you again for this mod though.

I am not sure if this will work, but I think the Iphone plays youtube videos if you have the embed tag in. So Try this:

Find:

<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube'" />
<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
</object>

Replace with:

<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube'" />
<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}&fs=1">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}&fs=1" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" />
<embed
src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}&fs=1"
type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
allowscriptaccess="always"
allowfullscreen="true"
width="640"
height="385">
</embed>
</object>

You can reduce the embed width if it causes a problem with iphone screen. Once again, I am not sure it will work, give it a try, (I don't have an iphone) if it doesn't, remove the <embed></embed> tags.

COL NIL SATIS
03-15-2010, 06:15 PM
ive added that code mate but im still not getting the full screen option ???? do we also have to edit the bb code replacement??? any ideas

Sadikb
03-15-2010, 07:12 PM
ive added that code mate but im still not getting the full screen option ???? do we also have to edit the bb code replacement??? any ideas

It should come... Could you share the url with the video?

Videx
03-16-2010, 11:11 AM
This really shouldn't be classified as a mod of any type, it should be entered in the bug tracker.

But until it's fixed in the default code, thanks!

B?rger_von_Rado
03-16-2010, 03:48 PM
THX! Worked for me and is installed, or better modified.:D

COL NIL SATIS
03-16-2010, 04:37 PM
It should come... Could you share the url with the video?

No problem mate ....its working A1 now....cheers :D

Sadikb
03-16-2010, 05:01 PM
This really shouldn't be classified as a mod of any type, it should be entered in the bug tracker.

But until it's fixed in the default code, thanks!

Well maybe.. maybe not. It's not really a BUG, more of a desirable feature.

THX! Worked for me and is installed, or better modified.:D

You are welcome.

No problem mate ....its working A1 now....cheers :D

Great... :)

Jabong82
03-16-2010, 09:22 PM
Hey man thanks for the embed code. Unfortunately it didn't work for me :) Thank you again though I appreciate your effort.

Sadikb
03-17-2010, 12:31 PM
Hey man thanks for the embed code. Unfortunately it didn't work for me :) Thank you again though I appreciate your effort.

Sorry to hear that mate.

XLCR GODFATHER
03-25-2010, 10:13 PM
Perfect
Easy
Thank You
As with any template mod ALWAYS save a copy of the orig. template!!!!

Sadikb
03-26-2010, 03:04 AM
Perfect
Easy
Thank You
As with any template mod ALWAYS save a copy of the orig. template!!!!

Thanks. You can always, click on revert to get back the original template.

thecelticway
03-26-2010, 01:27 PM
works great

thank you

abdulbasitsaeed
04-03-2010, 04:27 AM
Thank you very much for this simple modification, Sadikb. :)

Sadikb
04-07-2010, 08:30 AM
works great

thank you

Thank you very much for this simple modification, Sadikb. :)

You are welcome.

MartinMS
04-14-2010, 09:27 AM
Lovely mod, thanks

NashChristian
04-18-2010, 11:09 PM
ANOTHER mod that SHOULD be core vB! Thanks!

Videx
04-19-2010, 02:07 AM
ANOTHER mod that SHOULD be core vB! Thanks!Yes, but has anyone actually entered it in the bug tracker yet?

NashChristian
04-19-2010, 09:18 AM
Am I the only person having problems getting the Facebook Full Screen button to work? My button is there, it looks active, but it doesn't do anything... is this a bug, or do we need to incorporate that into this mod or a similar mod, or am I just having issues? ;)

NashChristian
04-19-2010, 09:18 AM
Yes, but has anyone actually entered it in the bug tracker yet?

Is it a "bug" or something vB just overlooked or didn't care to include?

Sadikb
04-19-2010, 10:03 AM
Am I the only person having problems getting the Facebook Full Screen button to work? My button is there, it looks active, but it doesn't do anything... is this a bug, or do we need to incorporate that into this mod or a similar mod, or am I just having issues? ;)

Facebook? You mean Youtube, right?

NashChristian
04-19-2010, 10:47 AM
Facebook? You mean Youtube, right?

No, Youtube is working fine with this mod... I mean Facebook.

I know that this isn't a Facebook mod, so I may be posting this in the wrong place, but if others are also having problems with their Facebook video integration, then a mod exactly like this, but made for Facebook, would be the perfect solution. Anyone else having problems with the maximize video on FB? Thanks.

Sadikb
04-19-2010, 11:31 AM
No, Youtube is working fine with this mod... I mean Facebook.

I know that this isn't a Facebook mod, so I may be posting this in the wrong place, but if others are also having problems with their Facebook video integration, then a mod exactly like this, but made for Facebook, would be the perfect solution. Anyone else having problems with the maximize video on FB? Thanks.

Ya, the code in this MOD is for Youtube only. I can make one for facebook though... I'll look into it tonight.

Gamertype
04-20-2010, 12:37 AM
Is there a way to auto start a video in HD if possible?

marshal_ramdev
04-21-2010, 04:53 AM
thanks ..

forumsonsuz
04-23-2010, 08:01 PM
Thank You

fluidswork
04-27-2010, 02:44 AM
Great..........

COL NIL SATIS
04-29-2010, 06:45 PM
Can you do this for vimeo too mate???

Sadikb
04-29-2010, 07:11 PM
Can you do this for vimeo too mate???

Just did... :)

It's actually almost the same... Would be same for other providers too.

COL NIL SATIS
05-01-2010, 04:26 PM
Just did... :)

It's actually almost the same... Would be same for other providers too.


fantastic!!! thanks a lot mate

NashChristian
05-01-2010, 08:25 PM
Just did... :)

It's actually almost the same... Would be same for other providers too.

Cool! How about Facebook next? ;)

ArminTECH
05-18-2010, 04:17 AM
tagged

Santori
06-20-2010, 05:02 PM
Hello ,thank you for the mod.
But It don´t work in 4.0.4 version.

iceytdot
06-26-2010, 03:14 PM
thanks!

Videx
07-07-2010, 02:40 AM
Since the code in vb404 has changed slightly, this really needs to be updated. I understand it's really just a matter of adding "&fs=1" in two places.

Edit: Nope, it doesn't seem to be working in 404 even if you add that. Odd.

abdulbasitsaeed
07-07-2010, 02:57 AM
It actually does work with 4.0.4 too. The new and old templates don't match, and hence you need to revert to the default template. If you have already done that during the upgrade to 4.0.4,

Go to Styles & Templates ?> Style Manager ?> ?> BBCode Layout Templates ?> bbcode_video:

Find:

<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<!--[if IE 6]>
<embed width="640" height="385" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<![endif]--></object>

and replace it with:

<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}&fs=1">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" />
<!--[if IE 6]>
<embed width="640" height="385" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<![endif]--></object>

Hope this works for you. :)

Videx
07-07-2010, 12:36 PM
Yes, that seems to work in vb404. Thanks. You should specifically tell the OP that it's okay to update the first post, because if he doesn't we're going to get several pages here of people asking how to get it to work.

I wonder if there's still a bug tracker for this we could go vote on?

Sadikb
07-07-2010, 03:45 PM
Yes, that seems to work in vb404. Thanks. You should specifically tell the OP that it's okay to update the first post, because if he doesn't we're going to get several pages here of people asking how to get it to work.

I wonder if there's still a bug tracker for this we could go vote on?

Hi... sorry guys haven't updated this. That's because I haven't upgraded to 4.0.4. Am planning to give that version a miss. Will update this mod when 4.0.5 comes out.

fxwoody
07-10-2010, 09:33 AM
Tks guys for the update on this! Was annoying not to be able to have it work!
Now if i can just add a comment for all of those who still can't make it work.
Simply unchecked this "Automatically parse links in text" in the additional option when you make your post! As it will add the [URL] tags and disable the YouTube BBcode function ;)
Have fun ;)

Fungsten
07-15-2010, 07:52 PM
It actually does work with 4.0.4 too. The new and old templates don't match, and hence you need to revert to the default template. If you have already done that during the upgrade to 4.0.4,

Go to Styles & Templates –> Style Manager –> –> BBCode Layout Templates –> bbcode_video:

Find:

<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<!--[if IE 6]>
<embed width="640" height="385" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<![endif]--></object>

and replace it with:

<object class="restrain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="385" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}&fs=1">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<param name="wmode" value="transparent" />
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" />
<!--[if IE 6]>
<embed width="640" height="385" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}" />
<![endif]--></object>

Hope this works for you. :)

I'm on 4.0.5. It doesn't work.

XLCR GODFATHER
07-18-2010, 02:24 AM
Me Also on 4.0.5 and does not work.

CvP
07-18-2010, 04:41 AM
working for me in 4.0.5.

@not working guys: revert your video bb code template in vB's default skin.
then add &fs=1 and <param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" />
in proper places (as shown in here).

Fungsten
07-18-2010, 07:32 PM
working for me in 4.0.5.

@not working guys: revert your video bb code template in vB's default skin.
then add &fs=1 and <param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" />
in proper places (as shown in here).

Nevermind I found it.

On Edit:
Still doesn't work.

Videx
07-18-2010, 07:55 PM
Working here in 405 after the edit in post 40. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2065644&postcount=40

Maybe you're trying it with a video that doesn't have fullscreen? I don't know if any youtubes actually don't have fullscreen, just guessing.

XLCR GODFATHER
07-22-2010, 01:35 AM
Working here in 405 after the edit in post 40. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2065644&postcount=40

Maybe you're trying it with a video that doesn't have fullscreen? I don't know if any youtubes actually don't have fullscreen, just guessing.

This worked thank you.

Sorry I missed it, all the posts in all the mods I have can get overwhelming sometimes.
I am surprised that the coder didn't update the mod to reflect this...

But either way installed and rated 5stars.

PRadden
08-05-2010, 12:10 PM
I am using 3.5.4, and under: Styles & Templates –> Style Manager –> –> BBCode Layout Templates –>

I dont't have bbcode_video.... Is there another place to put this code for the full screen button?

PRadden
08-05-2010, 01:33 PM
I was able to create a new template called bbcode_video, then inserted the code for the full screen button.

It doesn't seem to have any effect....

abdulbasitsaeed
08-06-2010, 12:48 AM
Styles & Templates –> Style Manager –> –> BBCode Layout Templates –> bbcode_video

Under the style you are editing, you shall find BBCode Layout Templates. Double click on it and you shall find the bbcode_video template under it as a "sub-template". There is no need to create a new one.

Sadikb
08-22-2010, 10:37 PM
Updated and should work now with 4.0.6.

Hippy
08-22-2010, 11:09 PM
what was updated because all seems to work with 4.0.6

ComoEstaEso-com
09-08-2010, 04:33 AM
Just installed on 4.0.6
All working perfectly so far! :)

Thanks!!

Sadikb
09-13-2010, 04:23 PM
what was updated because all seems to work with 4.0.6

Since 4.0.5 (or 4.0.4 not sure) the default bbcode_video code had changed. SO just modified the original post to reflect the new code as present in 4.0.6.

Videx
09-13-2010, 07:05 PM
Thanks for the update. Let's hope it hasn't changed again in 407.

trilogy33
09-16-2010, 02:45 PM
Thanks for the update. Let's hope it hasn't changed again in 407.

My 4.0.7 testboard install managed a successful template merge.
So all should be well. :)

rouvio
09-23-2010, 09:04 AM
Thank you for a simple, yet brilliant mod :)

jacobsen1
09-24-2010, 01:06 PM
installed, thanks!

ravencr
09-24-2010, 05:12 PM
Can this be done for Facebook videos, and if so, how?

Chris

Raeven
10-12-2010, 10:50 AM
Very nice, thank you (works with 4.0.7)

shahin531
10-12-2010, 05:15 PM
question:

For example, links for vimeo :
1 - http:\/\/(?:www\.)?vimeo\.com\/([0-9]+)
2 - http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id={vb:raw code}

For example, links for youtube
1 - http:\/\/www\.youtube\.com\/watch\?.*v=([a-z0-9-_]+)
2 - http://www.youtube.com/v/{vb:raw code}

IMDB What are the links?

Gn_Snake
01-09-2011, 08:29 PM
I have the 4.1.0 Pl2 version of Vbulletin.
I made the change but it duplicates the youtube video?

Any idea?

Videx
01-09-2011, 08:35 PM
I have the 4.1.0 Pl2 version of Vbulletin.
I made the change but it duplicates the youtube video?I believe I read in one of the change logs that this functionality is now included in vb.?

Sadikb
01-10-2011, 02:09 AM
Sorry guys but I haven't upgraded to 4.1. So I have not yet been able to test.

shcchief
03-05-2011, 08:40 AM
how would one get this to work for youtube videos posted in the vB CMS?

Sadikb
03-05-2011, 10:53 AM
how would one get this to work for youtube videos posted in the vB CMS?

As of VB 4.1.2 this is incorporated in VBulletin Core. So this MOD is no longer necessary.

shcchief
03-05-2011, 12:19 PM
As of VB 4.1.2 this is incorporated in VBulletin Core. So this MOD is no longer necessary.

Fair enough, and thanks for replying, however would it possible for me to do it manually so I don't have to update etc

Thanks mate :)

edit: I'm on 4.0.2

Sadikb
03-05-2011, 12:32 PM
Yes sure. This Mod however has HTML which was changed in 4.0.6. So you may not Find the code as given here. However the html which you are supposed to add will still work. Tell you what I am free right now so if you drop me a PM in the next 10 mins, with your board's login details I can add the code for you. But that's just for now.

If not, what you need to do is find the HTML code for object element for Youtube and replace it with the one provided here.

Sadikb
03-08-2011, 11:54 AM
Hi schchief,

Got your PM. Could you post the code of your bbcode_video template here. If you do I can give you instructions on what to change.

doobiefillin
03-22-2011, 02:21 PM
an update would be nice

Sadikb
03-22-2011, 03:03 PM
an update would be nice

This is included in core in VB 4.1.2 so updating is no longer necessary.

david fernandez
05-01-2011, 04:08 AM
simple easy and great THANK YOU VERY MUCH

goxy63
11-29-2011, 04:38 PM
how about google?

did try few things but its not working for me :(

Videx
11-29-2011, 04:50 PM
how about google?

did try few things but its not working for me :(Huh? Google is Youtube now.

goxy63
11-29-2011, 05:11 PM
Whatever whats this than :D ?
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5776010942610525872

I fixed it anyways

Videx
11-29-2011, 06:42 PM
Whatever whats this than :D ?
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5776010942610525872

I fixed it anywaysThey're giving everyone more time to move videos to youtube, but it's impossible to say how long that might last - they already announced closure once, only to reverse themselves a week later. Still, they haven't accepted a new video since 2009.

goxy63
02-23-2014, 12:48 AM
How to change new default VB code in order to have full screen, did try several things but nothing, this is new code, now its iframe:

<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube'" />
<iframe class="restrain" title="YouTube video player" width="512" height="308" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/{vb:raw code}?wmode={vb:raw wmode}" frameborder="0" ></iframe>
<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube_share'" />
<iframe class="restrain" title="YouTube video player" width="512" height="308" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/{vb:raw code}?wmode={vb:raw wmode}" frameborder="0" ></iframe>

Thank you

Videx
02-23-2014, 01:29 AM
Wow a two year old resurrection! I had actually long ago forgotten about this mod. But I just tracked down a recent embed on our forum and it's got full screen. Either the change I made long ago is still working, or Youtube finally fixed the issue.

goxy63
02-23-2014, 08:56 AM
I reverted template and now its not working, default code as mentioned above is not same so.... for me is not working now and I am not sure how to fix that

using following code which removes option for full screen:
<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube'" />
<iframe class="restrain" title="YouTube video player" width="512" height="308" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/{vb:raw code}?wmode={vb:raw wmode} &amp;fs=0&amp;iv_load_policy=3" frameborder="0"></iframe>
<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube_share'" />
<iframe class="restrain" title="YouTube video player" width="512" height="308" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/{vb:raw code}?wmode={vb:raw wmode} &amp;fs=0&amp;iv_load_policy=3" frameborder="0"></iframe>

note part in red, added to remove annotations + full screen option...

wondering why default code is not working well with full screen ?

hivitro
08-26-2016, 02:24 AM
Its work great, i can use full screen,but youtube dont like anymore x-shockwave-flash @2016 and i go back.

Ty.

attilio
08-29-2016, 07:17 AM
Full screen button not active in my vb 4.2.4.

Has anyone got the up-to-date template code for this version?

scott1822
07-30-2017, 02:37 AM
Full screen button not active in my vb 4.2.4.

Has anyone got the up-to-date template code for this version?

<vb:elseif condition="$provider == 'youtube' OR $provider == 'youtube_share'" />
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/{vb:raw code}?wmode={vb:raw wmode}" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

ramesh_umk3
03-16-2018, 05:19 AM
Replace the youtube SRC with below code

//www.youtube.com/embed/{vb:raw code}?modestbranding=1&amp;version=3&amp;showinfo=0&amp;FS=0&amp;r el=0

Thanks

tbellik
12-19-2018, 10:29 AM
Hey I have 4.2.3 but want to make youtube videos full screen.

I didnt get thi code in my vbulletin, how can I make this ?