View Full Version : Forum Display Enhancements - Google Adsense (or other) in a Block like a Thread on FORUMDISPLAY
Leo Brazil
03-03-2010, 10:00 PM
This is a simple code to be added into your FORUMDISPLAY Template that will deliver your adsense or images just like Thread Table and it'll fit the same design you have on your forums.
Khalled had this idea from a vb3 Code and asked me some help because of my other mod: Google Adsense (or other) in a Block like an Individual Post (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=236313)
And this was from where his original idea came from https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=237136
<ol>
<div id="forumbits" class="forumbits">
<div class="forumhead">
<h2><span class="forumtitle">Sponsored Links</span>
</h2>
</div>
<div class="forumbit_post L2 table">
<div class="forumrow">
<center>-----ADD YOUR ADSENSE CODE GOES HERE----</center>
</div>
</div>
</ol>
Note: Just don't forget to add your adsense code where is indicated.
If you want it below your thread list considering a respective Forumdisplay that plays like a forum and not a category you have to:
On FORUMDISPLAY Template
Find:
<vb:if condition="$show['threads']">
<ol id="threads" class="threads">
{vb:raw threadbits}
</ol>
<ol>
Just place the code below it.
If you want it above your subforum list as well as Threadlist you have to:
Find:
{vb:raw template_hook.forumdisplay_above_subforums}
Just place the code below it.
If you want it below your subforum list as well as Threadlist you have to:
Find:
{vb:raw template_hook.forumdisplay_below_subforums}
If you want it below your sticky threads you have to:
Find:
{vb:raw threadbits_sticky}
</ol>
Just place the code below it.
Update!!
If you'd like to have your adsense looking just like a thread (see 4th screen shot) use the code below:
<li class="threadbit dot hot">
<div class="rating0 sticky">
<div class="threadinfo">
<a class="threadstatus" rel="vB::AJAX" title="Sponsored Links"></a>
<div class="inner">
<span class="prefix understate">-----YOUR ADSENSE GOES HERE------</span>
</div>
</div>
<ul class="threadstats td">
<li>-</li>
</ul>
<dl class="threadlastpost td">
<dd><div class="popupmenu memberaction">-</div>
</dd>
</dl>
</div>
</li>
Just don't forget to replace on the code above with your own adesense.
Note: The code above will look good only if placed as suggested below and will appear like a sticky thread after the sticky ones you already have.
Find:
{vb:raw threadbits_sticky}
</ol>
Just place the code below it.
If you have other ideas how to use and don't mind to share with us, make your self comfortable for it. :up:
Edit: Screen Shots Added:
1- Above Sub Forums
2- Below Sub Forums
3- After Sticky Threads
If you like it, don't forget to mark as INSTALLED !!!
zeroality
03-05-2010, 02:25 AM
Any demo to show what it looks like? Thanks.
Hornstar
03-05-2010, 04:39 AM
or screen shot will be fine too.
Leo Brazil
03-05-2010, 06:13 PM
My bad, screen shots added.
khalled
03-05-2010, 08:11 PM
dear Leo Brazil very very thanks for your quick cooperation and help
but please there is minor different between what i want and the code you give although your code is very useful
What i want that Google Adsense appear as it is threads
like the below pictures in vb 3.8 the Google Adsense appear as threads in thredlist
can we do the same thing with vb 4
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=68069&d=1186315438
like this mod do in vb 3.8
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=154361
i wait for your help if it's possible
khalled
03-05-2010, 08:36 PM
also the attached pictures can clear more what i main
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=113614&d=1267828523
baghdad4ever
03-07-2010, 02:35 PM
is that against google policy or not??
please can you tell me
khalled
03-07-2010, 08:19 PM
is that against google policy or not??
please can you tell me
NO it'snot , google answer by that
if any one can catch required code
khalled
03-08-2010, 10:17 AM
Dear ,Leo Brazil i wait you
baghdad4ever
03-08-2010, 02:58 PM
thanks khaled to confirm that
so can i install the other mod of Leo Brazil (post inside thread ) with this mod?????
see this if you want it i will pm you
http://www.baghdad4ever.net/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=175
khalled
03-09-2010, 07:26 AM
thanks khaled to confirm that
so can i install the other mod of Leo Brazil (post inside thread ) with this mod?????
see this if you want it i will pm you
http://www.baghdad4ever.net/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=175
yes you can
and good site
Leo Brazil
03-09-2010, 10:25 AM
is that against google policy or not??
please can you tell me
No, that's for sure. If the ads are clearly visible and you don't change Google's script, you'll be 100% clear with that.
so can i install the other mod of Leo Brazil (post inside thread ) with this mod?????
see this if you want it i will pm you
http://www.baghdad4ever.net/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=175
You can use both of my mods without any problems, I've tested them together.
Great site by the way, good to see my mod installed and work good on RTL language.
dear Leo Brazil very very thanks for your quick cooperation and help
but please there is minor different between what i want and the code you give although your code is very useful
What i want that Google Adsense appear as it is threads
like the below pictures in vb 3.8 the Google Adsense appear as threads in thredlist
can we do the same thing with vb 4
i wait for your help if it's possible
Khalled, I've got your idea and will see what I can do, OK ? Just give me some time, this week I'm terrible busy with a lot of things but I'll do it OK. :up:
khalled
03-09-2010, 11:33 PM
Khalled, I've got your idea and will see what I can do, OK ? Just give me some time, this week I'm terrible busy with a lot of things but I'll do it OK. :up:
Very thanks Leo Brazil , i think you forget me , take your time and thanks again for your cooperation
YankForum
03-12-2010, 05:34 PM
if u need it to be just like threads , u need to copy ALL contents of threadbit and paste it in forumdisplay in appropriate area as mentioned above by leobrazil , and just replacing title by adsense coe and inset some random values for replies and vies and last post
Leo Brazil
03-12-2010, 06:34 PM
Khalled,
Updated this one just for you. Now you'll have the option to have your adsense to be showed just like this:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/03/56.jpg
khalled
03-12-2010, 08:29 PM
Khalled,
Updated this one just for you. Now you'll have the option to have your adsense to be showed just like this:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/03/56.jpg
Dear Leo Brazil
very very thanks for your help your are very marvelous man
khalled
03-12-2010, 08:41 PM
Khalled,
Updated this one just for you. Now you'll have the option to have your adsense to be showed just like this:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=113984&d=1268425889
Dear Leo Brazil
very very thanks for your help your are very marvelous man
javivi0
03-12-2010, 11:14 PM
thankssssss work fine !!!!!!!
khalled
03-15-2010, 07:38 PM
Dear Leo Brazil
i use your code after the following in search_resultlist to add the block at the end of search result
- after the following add the adsense code
<vb:if condition="$show['results']">
<ol id="searchbits" start="1" class="searchbits">
{vb:raw searchbits}
</ol>
but where i can add it to appear in the beginning of search result
B?rger_von_Rado
03-16-2010, 04:26 PM
Thanks, worked and installed/modified.
Leo Brazil
03-22-2010, 01:05 PM
Dear Leo Brazil
i use your code after the following in search_resultlist to add the block at the end of search result
- after the following add the adsense code
<vb:if condition="$show['results']">
<ol id="searchbits" start="1" class="searchbits">
{vb:raw searchbits}
</ol>
but where i can add it to appear in the beginning of search result
Sorry Khalled, I've been too busy.
If you want it to appear on top of the search list, add the code right after:
<vb:if condition="$show['results']">
If you like the way it shows at the end on search results, it'll be the same like I'm telling but it's going to show up at the beginning.
Try it and let people know here if it works.
khalled
03-23-2010, 07:44 PM
Sorry Khalled, I've been too busy.
If you want it to appear on top of the search list, add the code right after:
<vb:if condition="$show['results']">
If you like the way it shows at the end on search results, it'll be the same like I'm telling but it's going to show up at the beginning.
Try it and let people know here if it works.
very thanks Leo Brazil for your help you are very professional programmer
it's work good
Winter Sonata
04-24-2010, 06:45 AM
Installed, Thanks
medicalforums
06-14-2010, 08:48 PM
Is there anyway I can use this modification on my 3.8 VB?
asus78
08-22-2010, 11:07 PM
it would be awesome to put adsense within cms articles or blog post. Is that possible at all?
thanks
I guess so.
You could edit the template to add this as it doesn't currently have an ad location.
Try looking through the 'vbcms_content_article_page' template.
Only don't know where to insert the code.
onehost
09-13-2010, 04:00 AM
I tried this on my forum as an inpost ad...
It looked horrible...It looked some spammy ad, did not match nothing.
let me know when you come up with something like this:
DEMO: Look at this if you want to see how an AD really matches....
http://www.patientenfragen.net/en/vorstellungen/to-all-the-new-welcome-t1810.html
lubbie
09-14-2010, 01:43 PM
onehost
Warnung: filemtime() [function.filemtime]: stat failed for [path]/vbet_guestcache/en/_showthread_php_t_181012.zip in [path]/includes/vbenterprisetranslator_functions_guestcache.php (Zeile 53)
Oo
Von daher.Ich finds auch ehrlich gesagt nicht ok sowas zu schreiben und dann noch auf seinen eigenen Mod zu verweisen.
Man k?nnte meinen... Du musst es ja n?tig haben.
Wenn Du schon Kritik ?ben willst dann doch konstruktiv!
edit. Abgesehen davon ist Deine Variante durchaus ansprechend.
Sry everybody, but i could not find any Words for what i wanted to "say", in english ;)
synseal
10-21-2010, 10:28 PM
Really like this for sticky adds, thank you!.
Dr Longhorn
11-16-2010, 04:09 PM
Hi Leo Brazil,
This works fine with the forumdisplay template, and it looks great.
Can you help with editing the postbit or showthread template in order to place an adsense ad in a block, right above the first post of each thread.
I got this to work with just an adsense ad, but can't seem to get it to work with a block like in your example images.
Can you help with the correct code and position for this? Am I editing the correct templates?
Also I would like to have the ad block on the category pages as well as forums, i.e. forums that are set-up as categories.
Can you please help with this too?
Longhorn.
Markos
11-19-2010, 01:05 PM
can anyone help me I'm trying to get this to have 6 images in it like this one
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v306/markos1977/ffsfdfd.jpg
here is the code I'm trying to do it with
<ol>
<div id="forumbits" class="forumbits">
<div class="forumhead">
<h2><span class="forumtitle">Sponsored Links</span>
</h2>
</div>
<div class="forumbit_post L2 table">
<div class="forumrow">
<center><!-- Ad Block ONE -->
<td width="17%" bgcolor="#76EE00" align="center" valign="top"><a rel="nofollow" href='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/images/ads/ad1.gif' border='0' alt='' style="border-color:#000000" /></a><br>
<font face="verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif" size="1"> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php" target="_blank">SERF AD BLOCKS</a></font></td>
<!-- Ad Block TWO -->
<td width="17%" bgcolor="#76EE00" align="center" valign="top"><a rel="nofollow" href='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/images/ads/ad1.gif' border='0' alt='' style="border-color:#000000" /></a><br>
<font face="verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif" size="1"> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php" target="_blank">SERF AD BLOCKS</a></font></td>
<!-- Ad Block THREE -->
<td width="17%" bgcolor="#76EE00" align="center" valign="top"><a rel="nofollow" href='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/images/ads/ad1.gif' border='0' alt='' style="border-color:#000000" /></a><br>
<font face="verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif" size="1"> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php" target="_blank">SERF AD BLOCKS</a></font></td>
<!-- Ad Block FOUR -->
<td width="17%" bgcolor="#76EE00" align="center" valign="top"><a rel="nofollow" href='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/images/ads/ad1.gif' border='0' alt='' style="border-color:#000000" /></a><br>
<font face="verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif" size="1"> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php" target="_blank">SERF AD BLOCKS</a></font> </td>
<!-- Ad Block FIVE -->
<td width="17%" bgcolor="#76EE00" align="center" valign="top"><a rel="nofollow" href='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/images/ads/ad1.gif' border='0' alt='' style="border-color:#000000" /></a><br>
<font face="verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif" size="1"> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php" target="_blank">SERF AD BLOCKS</a></font></td>
<!-- Ad Block SIX -->
<td width="17%" bgcolor="#76EE00" align="center" valign="top"><a rel="nofollow" href='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/images/ads/ad1.gif' border='0' alt='' style="border-color:#000000" /></a><br>
<font face="verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif" size="1"> <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.scottishexoticreptilesforum.co.uk/payments.php" target="_blank">SERF AD BLOCKS</a></font></td>
</center>
</div>
</div>
</ol>
it doesn't turn out right instead of going along the way it goes up and down the way
Leo Brazil
01-05-2011, 09:14 AM
Sorry, I've been pretty busy for awhile. Just trying to get back.
When I decided to do this mod, I had in mind to migrate my forum from vB3 to vB4 in a couple of months tops. Point is I was so disapointed with 4.0.X versions that simply couldn't waste my time. You know, bugs everywhere....
Now with 4.1 seems to be better (not perfect for sure) makes me think about getting back into it.
Is there anyway I can use this modification on my 3.8 VB?
Not this one, as this code is for vB4 and vB3.X code is quite different.
it would be awesome to put adsense within cms articles or blog post. Is that possible at all?
It's possible for sure, but would need some time to work on it. I don't have full package of CMS and Blogs but If I decided to move my forums to vB4 I'll probably work on something., but not for now.
I tried this on my forum as an inpost ad...
It looked horrible...It looked some spammy ad, did not match nothing.
let me know when you come up with something like this:
DEMO: Look at this if you want to see how an AD really matches....
http://www.patientenfragen.net/en/vorstellungen/to-all-the-new-welcome-t1810.html
Tried to see what happened but couldn't.
The point is, the idea for this code is to use exactly the same design as original vB template. If have a custom design or something, it'll probably look really off.
If you have a custom design but still want to use this concep, you'll need to search the code of your won templates.
onehost
Warnung: filemtime() [function.filemtime]: stat failed for [path]/vbet_guestcache/en/_showthread_php_t_181012.zip in [path]/includes/vbenterprisetranslator_functions_guestcache.php (Zeile 53)
Oo
Von daher.Ich finds auch ehrlich gesagt nicht ok sowas zu schreiben und dann noch auf seinen eigenen Mod zu verweisen.
Man k?nnte meinen... Du musst es ja n?tig haben.
Wenn Du schon Kritik ?ben willst dann doch konstruktiv!
edit. Abgesehen davon ist Deine Variante durchaus ansprechend.
Sry everybody, but i could not find any Words for what i wanted to "say", in english ;)
I can tell you this is not related to this mod at all.
By the way, any mistakes you made all you have to do is revert edited templates.
Just a tip for you guys that are not familiar in editing templates.
Created a new Style and called "Test Style" but don't give access to it for users, just for you. Make any changes you want only on this style, test it, if goes OK all you have to do is copying the whole template and paste on wroking style.
This is safer and kind bullet proof.
Hi Leo Brazil,
This works fine with the forumdisplay template, and it looks great.
Can you help with editing the postbit or showthread template in order to place an adsense ad in a block, right above the first post of each thread.
I got this to work with just an adsense ad, but can't seem to get it to work with a block like in your example images.
Can you help with the correct code and position for this? Am I editing the correct templates?
Also I would like to have the ad block on the category pages as well as forums, i.e. forums that are set-up as categories.
Can you please help with this too?
Longhorn.
Have you checked this one ?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=236313
wraggster
03-14-2011, 10:46 AM
hi this seems a great mod, is there a way to have this showing to guests only with the option
just like a thread (see 4th screen shot)
khalled
08-12-2011, 12:07 PM
If you have other ideas how to use and don't mind to share with us, make your self comfortable for it.
Dear Leo Brazil
very thanks for your help to us and for your fantastic and High ability to convert ideas to reality
Your above sentence Encouraged me to ask you if it possible to make this ad show in different or random position between others threads in the formdispaly instead to be showed in fixed position.
thanks for your effort
victorvu
08-12-2011, 01:31 PM
Hi:
I have been looking for this simple way for ads and here it is! Thanks.
Installed, voted and nominated.
Victor:up:
BrightStar
09-02-2011, 02:31 PM
Hiya
Thanks for the mod. It seems to word with my forum. Just a quick question.....what should be the ad type and size? Letter board or text links only?
Also I am trying to put a letter board of size 728x90 and it's not centred but aligned to left.
How can I fix that? Thanks
BrightStar
09-09-2011, 08:05 PM
Anyone know the answer why am I getting this error when this mod is enabled?
Warning: fetch_template() calls should be replaced by the vB_Template class. Template name: gaip_code1 in [path]/includes/functions.php on line 4161
byalik
09-24-2011, 03:48 AM
I tried adding all the different types of code but nothing happens on my forum - legalhelp(dot)org - anyone have any suggestions
ptceuro
04-01-2012, 09:18 PM
Excelent!! Thanks!
dany_danay
09-12-2013, 05:53 PM
Not showing in VB 4.2
datoneer
09-15-2013, 09:40 PM
Thanks it works in 4.2.1. But how to remove this? https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2013/09/38.png
Edgespeeder06
09-25-2013, 01:40 PM
Hi, awesome plugin but I need support with Firefox, it's creating a height for the box that is double the size the height of the ad.
http://www.njstangers.org/forum/mustang-fast-fords-performance-parts-sponsors-223/
Please help
Edgespeeder06
09-25-2013, 03:16 PM
anyway to added it before a thread starts at the top of the thread to just thread pages?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.