Log in

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Replace Help with Forgotten Password


thetgc
02-12-2010, 10:00 PM
This will replace the 'Help' button next to your login boxes with a 'Forgotten Password?' button, making it easier for your members to reset their password.

To do this, all you have to do, is edit your 'header' template.

Go to: Admincp > Styles & Templates > Style manager > Edit templates > Show Thread templates > header

In the header template, Find:

<li><a rel="help" href="faq.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase help}</a></li>

Replace with:

<li><a href="login.php?do=lostpw{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase forgotten_your_password}</a></li>

Voila! That easy!

It will go from:

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/888/oldhb.png

To this:

http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/1991/newht.png

The only difference to the image above when using the vb phrase is that it says 'Forgotten Your Password?' rather than ' Forgotten Password?' which would make more sense really :P
Although its totally your choic depending on how much space you want to use. Is so just remove the following line and replace with what you want between the arrows:

{vb:rawphrase forgotten_your_password}

If you wish to keep your 'Help' button just add this code above or beneath to suit your needs.

To get the little user icon and padlock images for your login area, use this mod (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=231916).

thetgc
02-12-2010, 11:21 PM
***Reserved***

Update 12/10/2010

- After a request i have changed the replacement text to the vb phrase for multi-lingual support.

TrailRecon
02-13-2010, 06:48 PM
shoulda been this way outa the box! thank you

zeroality
03-05-2010, 02:36 AM
Thanks, this gives me the idea to add a 'forgot password' link. I don't want to replace Help though.

worldwidereefer
03-10-2010, 04:13 PM
or you just add the above link to the header, this way you can have both help and forgot password.

Great mod

mavigul
03-11-2010, 10:19 AM
thanks

viganothing
03-11-2010, 11:15 AM
thanks installed

wayne.richards@
03-23-2010, 11:36 AM
Top Banana Mate, This Will Save So Much Time With Members Emailing Saying "Can You Reset My Password?

FazerPaint
03-23-2010, 12:26 PM
Thanks for this, i'm tired of getting emails asking to reset passwords, this is great !! Cheers

sKippah
03-25-2010, 01:51 PM
Well u also could change the phrase. Better for Multilanguage boards

mfowler70
03-26-2010, 05:58 PM
Good idea. I'm gonna put a Facebook Connect button in that spot though. Thanks.

AliceHoward
03-31-2010, 08:56 PM
Very useful idea, thank you very much for sharing this. :)

Martinoo
05-16-2010, 06:53 PM
Great!!
Thx
Danke

joomla
05-16-2010, 09:49 PM
Thank the good work

BlueCheri
05-21-2010, 11:25 AM
Installed, thanx :)

ndut
05-25-2010, 11:53 PM
installed. thank you

JasonReynolds
06-28-2010, 09:41 AM
work for vb 4.0.4?

is_it_me
06-29-2010, 08:55 AM
Thanks for this.

work for vb 4.0.4?

Yes it does - just installed on 4.04

Bram H
08-16-2010, 08:35 PM
Now this comes in handy on my 4.0.6 board. Thanks thetgc!

Bankfodder
09-05-2010, 08:13 AM
This is very useful but I agree, why get rid of the help option?
Just add this mod immediately above the line of code to be replaced - so that it is there as well, and you have both lost password AND help.

nkumaran
10-11-2010, 10:37 AM
Thank you.

thetgc
10-11-2010, 10:29 PM
Keep on eye on the vbulletin updates though as some updates won't merge the templates so you may need to re-apply the code.

thetgc
10-11-2010, 10:55 PM
Well u also could change the phrase. Better for Multilanguage boards

Sorry for the late reply, been away for a long time.

I have changed the mod to suit this ;) It would make more sense to have it this way.

thetgc
10-11-2010, 10:56 PM
This is very useful but I agree, why get rid of the help option?
Just add this mod immediately above the line of code to be replaced - so that it is there as well, and you have both lost password AND help.

Depends on how much space of the header you are willing to give up without it looking too cramped ;)

sebaxtian
10-26-2010, 06:50 PM
Great!! Thank!! installed 4.0.8..

barcena
10-27-2010, 12:35 PM
It didn't worked for me, it started showing the whole {raw forgotten etc etc etc } in the button, I ended up taking it out and replaced with the old Help but now the button shrunk and the word Help cannot be seen.

Help!.

sweetpotato
11-13-2010, 12:39 AM
Thank you, This Mod is very helpul for my site

ProFifaLeagues
11-16-2010, 05:14 AM
Handy little edit thanks!

thetgc
11-17-2010, 07:17 PM
It didn't worked for me, it started showing the whole {raw forgotten etc etc etc } in the button, I ended up taking it out and replaced with the old Help but now the button shrunk and the word Help cannot be seen.

Help!.

Then you are not doing this properly, or you are using a comletely custom style on your forums.
I have tested this mod in a range of different enviroments and has worked every time.

lodos0677
11-20-2010, 07:13 PM
İnstalled.thanks.

Fergal C
12-07-2010, 10:04 AM
Installed, useful Mod thanks.

albrens
12-08-2010, 08:11 AM
Thanks!

ndut
01-27-2011, 04:21 PM
how to change "forgotten password" ??

Cybeth
01-27-2011, 05:04 PM
Thanks :up:

thetgc
01-30-2011, 03:28 AM
how to change "forgotten password" ??

Just change it to the text below:

<li><a href="login.php?do=lostpw{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">
PUT YOUR TEXT HERE</a></li>

Just edit the PUT YOUR TEXT HERE and it will display whatever you want ;)

ndut
01-30-2011, 07:14 PM
thetgc, thank you :)

OurCouponHome
03-05-2011, 11:35 AM
Thanks!!

bajrice
07-24-2011, 02:39 PM
Installed,.... ;) Thanks ;)

victorvu
07-26-2011, 02:26 PM
Thank you for this info.

I tagged this for this evening work. I have a question: if I want to move the "login" location outside the header and to be on top of the page, how can I move that? What code should I copy and paste? Thanks again.

Victor

93Corvette
08-22-2011, 02:19 AM
I'm following the steps, but I don't see "header"
Go to: Admincp > Styles & Templates > Style manager > Edit templates > Show Thread templates > header

In my "Show Thread templates" it's not there.... Why?

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/09/42.jpg

misericorde
09-01-2011, 04:47 AM
Merci Beaucoup

Thank you ... Very Nice !!!

Mark installed and NOMINATION https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/09/19.gif

GamersChallenge
09-16-2011, 12:04 AM
I'm following the steps, but I don't see "header"
Go to: Admincp > Styles & Templates > Style manager > Edit templates > Show Thread templates > header

In my "Show Thread templates" it's not there.... Why?

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/09/42.jpg

Go to: Admincp > Styles & Templates > Style manager > Edit templates >header

that how I did it.

Trevor Matthews
10-12-2011, 08:19 PM
Excellent. Just installed on my 4.1.7 forum and it works great.

pantani
10-14-2011, 04:49 PM
Thanks Installed :)

ar15dcm
09-30-2012, 10:11 PM
I see where it tried to display but there is only a small blank space between the remember password check box and help.

Any ideas?

nezr
10-01-2012, 04:05 AM
I would like to place the "Register" link before the "forgot your password" link. Can you please show how to do that?

gingerol
10-07-2012, 06:28 PM
Thank you for this.
Installed.
Regards.

gariksher
01-11-2013, 09:29 AM
Thank you!

Grimes
02-13-2013, 03:08 PM
I see where it tried to display but there is only a small blank space between the remember password check box and help.

Any ideas?

Same thing happens for me. Forgotten_Your_Password and Forgot_Your_Password work fine, but if I try shorter phrases such as Lost_Password or Recover_Password etc, they don't appear at all, just a small box like what ar15dcm has pictured. The only difference is that I am replacing the help button. Any suggestions?

WorldCraft
02-14-2013, 01:03 AM
lost_password or recover_password are not valid phrases if that's what you were trying to use. You can either create a custom phrase with the text you want, or don't use a phrase at all and put the text directly into the template (though it is better practice to use a phrase).

Mr_Running
02-14-2013, 02:00 AM
Same thing happens for me. Forgotten_Your_Password and Forgot_Your_Password work fine, but if I try shorter phrases such as Lost_Password or Recover_Password etc, they don't appear at all, just a small box like what ar15dcm has pictured. The only difference is that I am replacing the help button. Any suggestions?

Perhaps...
Once it's added:
vBAdmin --> Language & Phrases --> Search in Phrases --> Forgotten Your Password?

Translation then Save. :)

Grimes
02-14-2013, 03:20 AM
lost_password or recover_password are not valid phrases if that's what you were trying to use. You can either create a custom phrase with the text you want, or don't use a phrase at all and put the text directly into the template (though it is better practice to use a phrase).

Thank you so much. So, I just add the phrase I want to use in the phrase manager (lost_password?), and then I can use it in the header edit?

Mr_Running
02-14-2013, 01:38 PM
I find it easier to just edit the header template.
This will hide the Help and Add the Forgotten Your Password?

<vb:comment><li><a rel="help" href="faq.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase help}</a></li></vb:comment><li><a href="login.php?do=lostpw{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase forgotten_your_password}</a></li>

Then change the language by:
vBAdmin --> Language & Phrases --> Search in Phrases --> Search for Text--> Forgotten Your Password

Enter your Words/Text in the Translation then Save

Grimes
02-14-2013, 07:26 PM
I find it easier to just edit the header template.
This will hide the Help and Add the Forgotten Your Password?

<vb:comment><li><a rel="help" href="faq.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase help}</a></li></vb:comment><li><a href="login.php?do=lostpw{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase forgotten_your_password}</a></li>

Then change the language by:
vBAdmin --> Language & Phrases --> Search in Phrases --> Search for Text--> Forgotten Your Password

Enter your Words/Text in the Translation then Save

Thanks! That did the trick!:up:

WorldCraft
02-15-2013, 07:42 PM
Thank you so much. So, I just add the phrase I want to use in the phrase manager (lost_password?), and then I can use it in the header edit?

You can title the phrase however you want. Just when you call it in the template you use this syntax: {vb:rawphrase phrase_name}

neya
02-18-2013, 01:37 PM
Thank you so much, installed. :)

TravisWPaquin
08-09-2013, 11:33 PM
Why is it when I try to change the phrase it does not work? Anyone? It can't be hard to change so I'm unsure what I am doing wrong.

oldfan
04-08-2023, 10:49 PM
work on 4.2.6 php 7.2