View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - To-the-top button in postbit footer.
trilOByte
02-09-2010, 10:00 PM
This simple mod does what is says on the tin, it adds a Top button in the postbit footer using the vBulletin 4.0.2 css convention for mouseover buttons.
Note: This mod is NOT compatible with vBulletin 4.0.1 or earlier.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/02/39.jpg
This is a mod I've always used because, as simple as it may be, a Top button in the bottom right of each postbit, can dramatically speed up the navigation of your site. No more spinning that mouse wheel trying to get back to the menus.
There are...
1x addition to the postbit.css template
1x addition to the posbit (and/or postbit_legacy) template
2x images to upload
INSTRUCTIONS:
1x additions to he posbit.css template
Go to..
Styles & Templates>Stlye Manager>your skin>edit templates>CSS templates>postbit.css
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Find (search for "multiquote"):
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/multiquote-back_40b.png) no-repeat transparent {vb:stylevar left};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: 20px;
}
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote:hover, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote:hover {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/multiquote_40b-hover.png) no-repeat transparent {vb:stylevar left};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: 20px;
}
Under that, put:
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/tothetop_40b.png) no-repeat transparent {vb:stylevar left};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: 20px;
}
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop:hover, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop:hover {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/tothetop_40b-hover.png) no-repeat transparent {vb:stylevar left};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: 20px;
}
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Click "save".
1x addition to the posbit (and/or postbit_legacy) template:
Now navigate to..
Styles & Templates>Stlye Manager>your skin>edit templates>postbit templates>postbit
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Find (search for "multiquote"):
<vb:if condition="$show['multiquote_post']">
<a class='multiquote' href="{vb:raw post.replylink}" rel="nofollow" onclick="return false;"
id="mq_{vb:raw post.postid}"><img id="mq_image_{vb:raw post.postid}" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/trans_40b.png"
alt="{vb:rawphrase multi_quote_this_message}" /> </a>
</vb:if>
Under that, put:
<!-- ////////start To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
<span class="seperator"> </span><a class='tothetop' href="{vb:raw relpath}#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;"><img src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="...to the top" />{vb:rawphrase top}</a>
<!-- ////////end To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Click "save".
2x images to upload:
FTP into your forum/images/buttons dir and upload these two attached images:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
tothetop_40b.png
tothetop_40b-hover.png
----------------------------------------------------------------------
That's it.
trilOByte
02-10-2010, 07:06 PM
Arrow Images:
You can use whatever arrow images you like, but make sure they have transparent backgrounds and save them as transparent .png files and ....be very careful about changing the image file names (see below).
Some things about css function:
In vB 4.0.1, all the rollover images in the postbit footer pointed to "/trans_40b.png". The upgrade to 4.0.2 has seen some changes to the css and now all the buttons point to..
src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}"
The clear.gif acts as a hook or transparent "wrapper" usually in the root dir - do not edit, move or delete it or you will break all of the rollover images. The actual image names are defined in the postbit.css template ONLY. Also, whatever images you use, they should follow the naming convention...
*********_40_b.png (the image displayed under normal circumstances)
*********_40b-hover.png (the image displayed on mouseover)
If you use different image names than those I've supplied, or are using this as the basis for other button mods, then make sure your choice of image names is reflected in the postbit.css template. In the postbit itself, all the buttons should point to src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}".
This can be used as the basis for any css button mod in the postbit foot and follows the vB4* css conventions. It should make things like adding a "Send PM" button (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=236167) pretty straightforward.
KEKforce
02-10-2010, 07:12 PM
Top ;)
cbiweb
02-10-2010, 07:55 PM
Ginormous kudos to you for this mod! I tried adding some custom buttons to the postbit myself, and decided to come back to it when I had time to sort it out. Thank the code gods you did all the work for me! :p
trilOByte
02-10-2010, 08:11 PM
Ginormous kudos to you for this mod! I tried adding some custom buttons to the postbit myself, and decided to come back to it when I had time to sort it out. Thank the code gods you did all the work for me! :p
Lynne did most of the work in the end, but you're welcome. Half the battle is getting your head round the logic. Once that is known and understood, it's pretty simple.
Front Range 4x4
02-13-2010, 06:40 PM
Thanks you, excellent & installed!
OturanBoğa
02-14-2010, 09:53 AM
Thank you
trilOByte
02-14-2010, 05:16 PM
Welcome fellas. :)
Jabong82
02-17-2010, 05:06 AM
Installed!
I have a question though.
Is this "Top" only supposed to appear next to the multi-quote icon on the lower right hand side of the post?
I'm asking because I only have the word "Top" there with no arrow. Is there supposed to be another symbol in the actual Postbit_Legacy itself?
Thanks in advance.
trilOByte
02-17-2010, 11:05 AM
Yes, there is a rollover "arrow" that turns pale blue on mouseover. Did you upload the images from the zip file to your /images/buttons/ directory?
KEKforce
02-17-2010, 05:13 PM
in 4.02 postbit.css is different...
Can you make an update?
trilOByte
02-17-2010, 05:40 PM
ahhhaaa....
Just seen the 4.0.2 update is available. I'll install, check the .css and update the mod.
trilOByte
02-17-2010, 07:48 PM
Sorted, it's no biggie. For those wanting a quick fix, just replace the image src= in ther postbit with...
src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}"
That's it.
trilOByte
02-17-2010, 07:56 PM
Mod instructions updated for 4.0.2
RedHacker
02-19-2010, 10:36 AM
Thanks install in 4.0.2
Popa Andrei
02-23-2010, 04:41 PM
nice modification.
thx
Popa Andrei
03-16-2010, 11:59 PM
After replying to a thread with quikrepli if y pres the top button of the fresh post the page become white.
Please fix it.It`s very annoing.
Front Range 4x4
03-17-2010, 12:47 AM
I occasionally also get a white page instead of the top of the page. I'm not sure why but it's intermittent at best.
Popa Andrei
03-17-2010, 01:11 AM
I occasionally also get a white page instead of the top of the page. I'm not sure why but it's intermittent at best.
you get it for shure when you do wath y have told in mi upper post
markwein
03-17-2010, 01:40 AM
After replying to a thread with quikrepli if y pres the top button of the fresh post the page become white.
Please fix it.It`s very annoing.
I occasionally also get a white page instead of the top of the page. I'm not sure why but it's intermittent at best.
I'm getting the same issue....
doopz
03-18-2010, 01:05 PM
nice, thanks :)
LifesGreatestGift
03-19-2010, 05:58 AM
<!-- ////////start To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
<span class="seperator"> </span><a class='tothetop' href="{vb:raw relpath}#top" onclick="document.location.hash='top'; return false;"><img src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="...to the top" />{vb:rawphrase top}</a>
<!-- ////////end To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
May I make a suggestion? :)
Change:
onclick="document.location.hash='top'; return false;"
To:
onclick="window.scrollTo(0,0); return false;"
Works a lot better :)
doopz
03-19-2010, 01:32 PM
I'm getting the same issue....
May I make a suggestion? :)
Change:
onclick="document.location.hash='top'; return false;"
To:
onclick="window.scrollTo(0,0); return false;"
Works a lot better :)
Would that by any change fix this problem? :)
Popa Andrei
03-19-2010, 02:43 PM
May I make a suggestion? :)
Change:
onclick="document.location.hash='top'; return false;"
To:
onclick="window.scrollTo(0,0); return false;"
Works a lot better :)
wath does this exactluy do?
markwein
03-19-2010, 09:38 PM
May I make a suggestion? :)
Change:
onclick="document.location.hash='top'; return false;"
To:
onclick="window.scrollTo(0,0); return false;"
Works a lot better :)
Thanks! it seems to work really well now!
Popa Andrei
03-20-2010, 12:37 AM
works great.No more white pages :D
Front Range 4x4
03-20-2010, 12:48 AM
Installing this mod eliminates the white pages too: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=180330
trilOByte
05-13-2010, 09:50 PM
May I make a suggestion? :)
Change:
onclick="document.location.hash='top'; return false;"
To:
onclick="window.scrollTo(0,0); return false;"
Works a lot better :)
Thanks for that.
Untested as yet, but vBulletin seem to be using...
onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;"
Minor difference, I'll update the mod. :)
steeler7
05-14-2010, 04:09 PM
Both The windows7site and trilobytes suggestions are yielding the white screen for me..
basically it happens right after you make a Quick Reply post. If you go and click the "to the top" button with that Quick Reply Post you make, it gives you a white screen
Alec W
05-20-2010, 06:47 PM
Both The windows7site and trilobytes suggestions are yielding the white screen for me..
basically it happens right after you make a Quick Reply post. If you go and click the "to the top" button with that Quick Reply Post you make, it gives you a white screen
onclick="window.scrollTo(0,0); return false;" fixed it on our forum.
steeler7
06-02-2010, 03:39 PM
onclick="window.scrollTo(0,0); return false;" fixed it on our forum.
Doesn't work for me. I get the same results. .. not sure if I'm doing something wrong or not..
Here's a snippet of code, if anyone can look at it and tell me where I've meesed up if I have :D
<vb:if condition="$show['multiquote_post']">
<a class='multiquote' href="{vb:raw post.replylink}" rel="nofollow" onclick="return false;" id="mq_{vb:raw post.postid}"><img id="mq_image_{vb:raw post.postid}" src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="{vb:rawphrase multi_quote_this_message}" /> </a>
</vb:if>
<!-- ////////start To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
<span class="seperator"> </span><a class='tothetop' href="{vb:raw relpath}#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;"><img src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="...to the top" />{vb:rawphrase top}</a>
<!-- ////////end To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
</span>
<span class="postlinking">
Hippy
06-03-2010, 12:45 AM
looks correct steeler7
thanks for the mod 2 thumbs up
trilOByte
06-03-2010, 12:35 PM
Both The windows7site and trilobytes suggestions are yielding the white screen for me..
basically it happens right after you make a Quick Reply post. If you go and click the "to the top" button with that Quick Reply Post you make, it gives you a white screen
Does that also happen when you do the same thing using the vbulletin "top" button just above the footer?
Hippy
06-03-2010, 11:27 PM
How do I get this mod to not display in private messages
Gero50
07-07-2010, 03:18 AM
Tagged thanks for the cool mod.
steeler7
08-04-2010, 08:02 PM
Does that also happen when you do the same thing using the vbulletin "top" button just above the footer?
The vbulletin "top" button works fine. It'as pretty inconsistent and it only happens clicking the Top button attached to my own posts. I've been trying to see if I can pin point it and get others to try as well and no luck.
I'm thinking that maybe I'll just try a fresh install of this add-on and give it a whirl!
kabir
08-09-2010, 04:22 AM
Not Work to Version 4.0.5
EmAnh
08-12-2010, 03:32 AM
Not Work to Version 4.0.5
In Version 4.0.5 the code changed
All others of the author instruction are still valid and you need only change the code in "step one"
1x additions to he posbit.css template
Go to..
Styles & Templates>Stlye Manager>your skin>edit templates>CSS templates>postbit.css
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Find (search for "multiquote"):
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/multiquote-back_40b.png) no-repeat {vb:stylevar postbit_control_background} {vb:stylevar left};
padding: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: {vb:math {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding}+20};
border: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_border};
}
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote:hover, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote:hover {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/multiquote_40b-hover.png) no-repeat {vb:stylevar postbit_control_hover_background} {vb:stylevar left};
padding: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: {vb:math {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding}+20};
border: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_hover_border};
}
Under that, put:
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/tothetop_40b.png) no-repeat {vb:stylevar postbit_control_background} {vb:stylevar left};
padding: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: {vb:math {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding}+20};
border: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_border};
}
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop:hover, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop:hover {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/tothetop_40b-hover.png) no-repeat {vb:stylevar postbit_control_hover_background} {vb:stylevar left};
padding: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: {vb:math {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding}+20};
border: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_hover_border};
}
Click "save" .
------------------------------------------------------------------
The rest of instructions are same as the author instructed (first post)
COL NIL SATIS
09-01-2010, 02:30 PM
tagged
COL NIL SATIS
09-01-2010, 04:50 PM
rated 5 ...great stuff!!!! works a1
Popa Andrei
09-13-2010, 05:09 PM
can someone make this to work with 4.0.6?
xinnek
10-08-2010, 06:57 PM
I'd really like to use this, PLEASE UPDATE! This should be standard with Vbulletin.
kingmotox
10-16-2010, 07:39 AM
any chance to get this to work on 4.0.7?
markwein
10-16-2010, 02:16 PM
any chance to get this to work on 4.0.7?
Actually it still works on my forum...I'll see if I can copy the code today..
markwein
10-16-2010, 02:25 PM
any chance to get this to work on 4.0.7?
Actually it still works on my forum...I'll see if I can copy the code today..
ook...from post_bit (i use legacy)
<!-- ////////start To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
<span class="seperator"> </span><a class='tothetop' href="{vb:raw relpath}#top" onclick="window.scrollTo(0,0); return false;"><img src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="...to the top" />{vb:rawphrase top}</a>
<!-- ////////end To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
and the postbit.css:
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/tothetop_40b.png) no-repeat transparent {vb:stylevar left};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: 20px;
}
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop:hover, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop:hover {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/tothetop_40b-hover.png) no-repeat transparent {vb:stylevar left};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: 20px;
}
You can see it work on my forum: http://markweinguitarlessons.com/forums/forum.php
white demon
12-07-2010, 11:31 AM
...4.1.0...dont work... :(
Fastbird
12-09-2010, 10:39 PM
+1 would love to see this working iin 4.1
Sforums
12-22-2010, 05:18 PM
I assumed it does and ruined my site. Look what happened at the footer, can anyone help me fix this? I tried to revert templates to old settings but something happened and looks like sh1t now....
whitedd
03-16-2011, 09:28 PM
...hi..i find solution...
...if you need this button more then multiquote button,dont put this codes under...overwrite them...its work on 4.1.2. ... ;)
RedHacker
04-27-2011, 08:31 AM
I cant show anything in 4.1.3 Version....
whitedd
04-27-2011, 09:58 AM
..in Styles & Templates>Stlye Manager>your skin>edit templates>postbit templates>postbit search for "multiquote" ...then replace
<vb:if condition="$show['multiquote_post']">
<a class='multiquote' href="{vb:raw post.replylink}" rel="nofollow" onclick="return false;"
id="mq_{vb:raw post.postid}"><img id="mq_image_{vb:raw post.postid}" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/trans_40b.png"
alt="{vb:rawphrase multi_quote_this_message}" /> </a>
</vb:if>
with this
<!-- ////////start To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
<span class="seperator"> </span><a class='tothetop' href="{vb:raw relpath}#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;"><img src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="...to the top" />{vb:rawphrase top}</a>
<!-- ////////end To-The-Top button in postbit////// -->
...works fine with 4.1.3 ;)
RedHacker
04-27-2011, 01:04 PM
Must be Replace...? No put under this
<vb:if condition="$show['multiquote_post']">
<a class='multiquote' href="{vb:raw post.replylink}" rel="nofollow" onclick="return false;"
id="mq_{vb:raw post.postid}"><img id="mq_image_{vb:raw post.postid}" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/trans_40b.png"
alt="{vb:rawphrase multi_quote_this_message}" /> </a>
</vb:if>
whitedd
04-28-2011, 02:24 PM
must be replace...if you put under dont work...
KEKforce
04-29-2011, 03:59 PM
It works but I lose another function (multiquote)...
Don't want that....
steeler7
06-15-2011, 08:54 PM
got this working with vB4.1.4
Here's what I did. to be honest I didn't even try this hack first since everyone was saying it didn't work. I came here to get code since I recently updated and forgot to store it in a text document. Anyways, all I did was just matched a little code with some of the existing buttons like "multiquote" and "reply" etc..
In postbit.css
Find :
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/multiquote-back_40b.png) no-repeat {vb:stylevar postbit_control_background} {vb:stylevar left};
padding: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: {vb:math {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding}+20};
padding-bottom:1px;
border: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_border};
}
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote:hover, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.multiquote:hover {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/multiquote_40b-hover.png) no-repeat {vb:stylevar postbit_control_hover_background} {vb:stylevar left};
}
Add After :
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/tothetop_40b.png) no-repeat {vb:stylevar postbit_control_background} {vb:stylevar left};
padding: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding};
padding-{vb:stylevar left}: {vb:math {vb:stylevar postbit_control_padding}+20};
padding-bottom:1px;
border: {vb:stylevar postbit_control_border};
}
.postbitlegacy .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop:hover, .postbit .postfoot .textcontrols a.tothetop:hover {
background: url({vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/tothetop_40b-hover.png) no-repeat transparent {vb:stylevar left};
}
In postbit_legacy
Find:
<vb:if condition="$show['multiquote_post']"><span class="seperator"> </span></vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['multiquote_post']">
<a class="multiquote" href="{vb:raw post.replylink}" rel="nofollow" onclick="return false;" id="mq_{vb:raw post.postid}"><img id="mq_image_{vb:raw post.postid}" src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="{vb:rawphrase multi_quote_this_message}" /> </a>
</vb:if>
Alter and Add:
<vb:if condition="$show['multiquote_post']"><span class="seperator"> </span></vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['multiquote_post']">
<a class="multiquote" href="{vb:raw post.replylink}" rel="nofollow" onclick="return false;" id="mq_{vb:raw post.postid}"><img id="mq_image_{vb:raw post.postid}" src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="{vb:rawphrase multi_quote_this_message}" /> </a>
<span class="seperator"> </span></vb:if>
Add After :
<a class='tothetop' href="{vb:raw relpath}#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;"><img src="{vb:raw vboptions.cleargifurl}" alt="...to the top" />{vb:rawphrase top}</a>
spillage
11-26-2011, 07:00 PM
I just used steeler7's code (above) on 4.1.8.
It didn't show for me until edits to both postbit_legacy and postbit where complete.
The button shows and works fine, but the hover image does not show, only a blank space.
There isn't any text message on hover either.
Any thoughts?
This mod is marked as supported, but trilOByte hasn't posted here for close to a year, despite him having been onsite as recent as Oct... have we been abandoned?
spillage
11-26-2011, 08:13 PM
Hover image not showing issue solved;
I had edited the image to add some colour to it... when I saved it, the file extension was changed to uppercase (.PNG)... on changing it back to lowercase (.png) it worked.
Still no hover text... shouldn't it show "...to the top"?
BANDiT600
03-29-2012, 08:00 AM
It's nice looking modification, but who can made changes to work it on 4.1.11?
TrIp0d
03-29-2012, 04:26 PM
works fine on 4.1.11 PL 1
zascok
07-29-2012, 12:46 PM
nice one , thank you. Works 4.2 pl2. If only it could have a little smooth animation instead of jumping ..... :o
datoneer
07-29-2012, 11:49 PM
Awesome, installed and rated
tommyxv
11-17-2014, 12:22 AM
...,,,
ozzy47
11-17-2014, 11:27 PM
Tommy, did you get the issue sorted with the button you were trying to add?
harismoghal
12-06-2014, 11:30 PM
I am not sure but I did every thing rite and I can't see the top button
using VB 4.2.2
ozzy47
12-06-2014, 11:40 PM
I am not sure but I did every thing rite and I can't see the top button
using VB 4.2.2
Try this mod, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=314174
harismoghal
12-07-2014, 12:09 AM
Try this mod, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=314174
All right Thanks
RedHacker
05-24-2016, 09:48 AM
Install in vBulletin 4.1.7 and work fine with instroductions in here : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2208237&postcount=55
But not show the vertical line before the image of top. Anyone to know how to add this line ?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.