PDA

View Full Version : Change HOME link in navbar


discontained
02-09-2010, 07:06 AM
I have searched for a good 2 hours on how to change this. I have found many posts that have no information except telling me to look elsewhere.

All I want to do, is change the HOME (where it says HOME | FORUMS | BLOG | WHATS NEW ) tab link, its currently pointed to content.php but I want it to point to the portal instead.

I have no luck. Please help me.

borbole
02-09-2010, 03:45 PM
I have searched for a good 2 hours on how to change this. I have found many posts that have no information except telling me to look elsewhere.

All I want to do, is change the HOME (where it says HOME | FORUMS | BLOG | WHATS NEW ) tab link, its currently pointed to content.php but I want it to point to the portal instead.

I have no luck. Please help me.

Hello. The template you need is navbar and the specific code is:

<li class="selected"><a class="navtab" href="{vb:raw vboptions.forumhome}.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase forum}</a>

And enter the url to your portal inside the href attribute. Hope it helps.

discontained
02-09-2010, 06:03 PM
Hello. The template you need is navbar and the specific code is:

<li class="selected"><a class="navtab" href="{vb:raw vboptions.forumhome}.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase forum}</a>

And enter the url to your portal inside the href attribute. Hope it helps.

Hi if i change that in the NAVBAR template it changes my FORUM link to whatever i put in there.

I have uploaded what im talking about.

Somehow the HOME tab is pointing towards "content.php"

borbole
02-09-2010, 06:31 PM
Sorry about that, I thought that you wanted to change the Forum link. Anyway, follow the example with the home link and you should be all set.

P.s. Can you open the index.php fiel in the root folder of your forum and check if you have this:

require('content.php');

Cos that is why it is pointing to the content.php.

discontained
02-09-2010, 06:45 PM
Open the index.php f ile in my root folder, it doesnt have anything with content.php in it.

Also, I can not find where the HOME link is. It looks like it starts with forum link, in the code sequence.

borbole
02-09-2010, 07:19 PM
From what is that home link added? A portal or from the CMS?

DivineMessenger
02-09-2010, 08:02 PM
what if you just want it to say "forums" instead of "forum"?

borbole
02-09-2010, 08:08 PM
what if you just want it to say "forums" instead of "forum"?

Do you mean to change the name of the Forum tab at the nav bar from Forum to Forums? if so, you can do it at the Languages and Phrases in the Acp. The phrase you need is forum.

discontained
02-09-2010, 09:56 PM
From what is that home link added? A portal or from the CMS?

Its linked right now to CMS however we dont use CMS and use the vB CMPS portal. I want to link the HOME to the portal page

here is my site the home button is annoying me!
www.aepautomotive.com

DivineMessenger
02-09-2010, 11:16 PM
Then yeah just change the href to the url of the page you'd like rather than all that code that makes no sense to me lol

borbole
02-09-2010, 11:43 PM
Its linked right now to CMS however we dont use CMS and use the vB CMPS portal. I want to link the HOME to the portal page

here is my site the home button is annoying me!
www.aepautomotive.com

The things is that from the screenshot of the navbar template you posted above I didn''t see any link for the Home tab. And I am not familiar with vb''s cms as I don''t use it. Let's'hope that someone who knows vb''s cms will see this thread and help you out further.

discontained
02-15-2010, 01:41 AM
BUMP...

still cant figure it out.. damn thing is so frustrating.

Just so we are clear. When on the forum main page ( http://www.aepautomotive.com/forums/forum.php ) and you desire to go back to the portal, you click on the home tab... which takes you here ( http://www.aepautomotive.com/forums/content.php ) and all I would love to do is change that to http://www.aepautomotive.com/ thats it.. :( why is that so hard ???? SO im lost, im debating on even downgrading the forums.. back to 3.8 if i cant fix this issue..

--------------- Added 1266255138 at 1266255138 ---------------

I figured it out.

Jay Lee
07-18-2010, 05:26 AM
I'm trying to figure this out right now too. Anyone have a solution?

--------------- Added 1279440191 at 1279440191 ---------------

I just figured it out after digging around a bit more, and I must say wow! The answer was hidden in a place I would've never guessed:

Admincp -> Settings -> Options -> Content Management -> "Site Tab URL"

Just change it to http://www.mysite.com/ and it's done! :D

downloadsuk
07-27-2010, 02:33 PM
Still want help with this my friend? PM Me

--------------- Added 1280246798 at 1280246798 ---------------

Hello. The template you need is navbar and the specific code is:

<li class="selected"><a class="navtab" href="{vb:raw vboptions.forumhome}.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase forum}</a>

And enter the url to your portal inside the href attribute. Hope it helps.

This NOT the code you need

This is code specifically refers generating the tab code for the Forums tab.

I have had a breakthrough with this and no one else seems willing to help you out. I found out that any link to the CMS home page would need to be like this

href="{vb:raw vboptions.site_tab_url}{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}"

and more importantly that the code that is run somewhere before the navbar is generated for all the other tabs is found in the template vbcms_navbar_link!

For the life of me I cannot work out why!!

but here is the code

<vb:if condition="$vboptions['selectednavtab'] == 'vbcms'">
<li class="selected">
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['vbcms_url']">
<a class="navtab" href="{vb:raw vboptions.vbcms_url}{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase site}</a>
<vb:else />
<a class="navtab" href="{vb:raw vboptions.site_tab_url}{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase site}</a>
</vb:if>
<ul class="floatcontainer">
{vb:raw template_hook.vbcms_navbar_start}
<vb:if condition="$links">
<vb:each from="links" value="link">
<li><a href="{vb:raw link.url}">{vb:raw link.title}</a></li>
</vb:each>
<vb:else />
<li class="hidden">&nbsp;</li>
</vb:if>
{vb:raw template_hook.vbcms_navbar_end}
</ul>
</li>
<vb:else />
<li>
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['vbcms_url']">
<a class="navtab" href="{vb:raw vboptions.vbcms_url}{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase site}</a>
<vb:else />
<a class="navtab" href="{vb:raw vboptions.site_tab_url}{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase site}</a>
</vb:if>
</li>
</vb:if>

Look at the VB code in bold. That is where the words for HOME is being pulled from. You can search in phrases to edit that, or you can simply add your own phrase and replace the "site" phrase variable with that! Hope this helps!

I have tested with making my own phrase and it works! Good luck!

DNN
04-08-2011, 05:12 PM
I'm trying to figure this out right now too. Anyone have a solution?

--------------- Added 1279440191 at 1279440191 ---------------

I just figured it out after digging around a bit more, and I must say wow! The answer was hidden in a place I would've never guessed:

Admincp -> Settings -> Options -> Content Management -> "Site Tab URL"

Just change it to http://www.mysite.com/ and it's done! :D

I just fixed mine. Thanks so much for the help!