Log in

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Status Icons - Different Images for each Forum with opacity!


Gamempire
02-06-2010, 10:00 PM
If you want to have different images for each forum that you have created inside your vbulletin board as you can see in this two picture:


Before (pay attention: there are some category with opacity 0.5: this are the category with old threads)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/ (http://img695.imageshack.us/i/status0.png/)


After (firefox icon is changed)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/ (http://img695.imageshack.us/i/status1.png/)


For doing this you have to install before this Add-on: Forum Icons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=229529) (I put as attachment the product that you need)
BUT
1. Install only the product
2. Go Into Admincp --> Forum and Moderators; Modify each forum putting the path of each image where it says "Add the path to the icon image here."
3. Go Into Admincp --> Styles and Templates --> Manage Templates;
Edit forumhome_forumbit_level2_post

Find:
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />

Replace With:

<vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']">
<img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" class="forumicon" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="opacity: <vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">0.5<vb:else />1</vb:if>;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
</vb:if>



If you want, you can change the opacity searching "0.5" in my code.
Enjoy it and don't forget to Mark as Installed (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=235240)!

Ps: sorry for my bad english, i'm Italian :)

mabersoft
02-07-2010, 03:10 PM
Great. Will have to lookinto this. as this may come in use.

kall
02-07-2010, 03:21 PM
That other user didn't mark his code as reusable. Did you obtain permission before releasing this?

ndut
02-07-2010, 04:05 PM
nice.. :)

Gamempire
02-07-2010, 04:12 PM
That other user didn't mark his code as reusable. Did you obtain permission before releasing this?

i think that it wouldn't be such a great problem, because i'm linking to his mod and i didn't make any change to his product...it's not a very big thing, just 5 rows of template modification...

thanks for the thanks :P
this is one of my first mod that I share with the community

Spiritvn
02-07-2010, 05:00 PM
i think that it wouldn't be such a great problem, because i'm linking to his mod and i didn't make any change to his product...it's not a very big thing, just 5 rows of template modification...

thanks for the thanks :P
this is one of my first mod that I share with the community

I dont think it's ur mod, the old xml from elmer and the new replace code for vb4 make it become ur mod?

Gamempire
02-07-2010, 07:55 PM
my mod is the replacing of some rows of a templates...
i specified that the product is of another person..

well guys, i'm a coder, and i spent time for doing this mod for me, and i decided to share my work with the community spending other time...
so, I do not care to spend time to be criticized by you, then tell me, and i remove this mod...

You are a community of ungrateful

thanks a lot!

Gamempire
02-07-2010, 08:00 PM
i edited the mod, read at the top..

cindy helmond
02-07-2010, 09:41 PM
not working uninstalled on 4.01

New Joe
02-08-2010, 12:09 AM
It worked and I like it but can we add some more things to this.
1) the pictures need to be bigger for each of the Forums, how to make them show bigger?
2) i don't like the way the picture is so faded when it is a case that the Forum contain old posts only. I'd like the picture to be bright and clear always the same as when there are new posts.

New Joe
02-08-2010, 12:12 AM
Ok cool, number 2 above is fixed, I just changed the "old" in the code for the template to "new" and it shows the clearer picture.
Now just for number one above, how to make the pictures show bigger?

New Joe
02-08-2010, 03:22 AM
Something seems to over-writing the size. my pictures are 75x75 but this is the result: Image Dimensions 75px × 75px (scaled to 48px × 48px

Any help would be great.

ahmedipa
02-08-2010, 04:09 AM
good thank you so much

nextslit
02-08-2010, 08:11 AM
Something seems to over-writing the size. my pictures are 75x75 but this is the result: Image Dimensions 75px ? 75px (scaled to 48px ? 48px

Any help would be great.

Hello

Go to Style Variable Editor > forums > forumiconsize > size

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=111867&stc=1&d=1265623845

MrD
02-15-2010, 05:44 PM
Hi,
Works in FF but not in IE :(

New Joe
02-16-2010, 02:49 AM
Hi,
Works in FF but not in IE :(
I installed it, did the template changes and it works and shows in FF, IE, Google Chrome and Opera.

Gamempire
02-16-2010, 09:49 AM
maybe ie6 doesn't support css opacity...maybe, but don't worry about that..

MrD
02-16-2010, 12:54 PM
Hi,
@NewJoe: it runs not in IE8.
The Icon are not transparency if only old Thread are in the Board.

Maybe a wrong opacity Param.?

movslow
02-16-2010, 05:30 PM
my mod is the replacing of some rows of a templates...
i specified that the product is of another person..

well guys, i'm a coder, and i spent time for doing this mod for me, and i decided to share my work with the community spending other time...
so, I do not care to spend time to be criticized by you, then tell me, and i remove this mod...

You are a community of ungrateful

thanks a lot!

lol, made me laugh this did.
:up:

New Joe
02-17-2010, 12:20 AM
Hi,
@NewJoe: it runs not in IE8.
The Icon are not transparency if only old Thread are in the Board.

Maybe a wrong opacity Param.?
I forgot to say, I didn't like the "transparency" part so when I added the code to the template I changed "old" to "new" so it always shows as a solid normal picture.

MrD
02-17-2010, 07:21 PM
Hi,
why you don´t use the original VB Options?
The only Thing is you must make 2 Icons for each forum.
1 New
1 Old

You can set the Icon Prefix in the Forumoptions.

princeedward
02-20-2010, 05:46 AM
well let me see if this will work...thanks ;)

Verionia
02-22-2010, 12:19 AM
this didnt work for 4.02 :(

It shows BOTH the forum image and icon to the side. So two of the same image!

jeryp
02-22-2010, 07:05 AM
this didnt work for 4.02 :(

It shows BOTH the forum image and icon to the side. So two of the same image!

Yes I have the same thing so have uninstalled for now.

Shows the Forum icon in transparent when read fine.
But still shows the original Category icon to the right.

Is this correct?

New Joe
02-22-2010, 07:57 AM
Did you delete this in the Template?: <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />

MichelangeloITA
02-23-2010, 11:07 AM
Grazieee, la cercavo da una vita una mod simile (ti ho aggiunto su msn) :D

Thank's a lot man!

Verionia
02-26-2010, 03:04 AM
Did you delete this in the Template?:

Yes I did - but look at this code

<vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']">
<img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" class="forumicon" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="opacity: <vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">0.5<vb:else />1</vb:if>;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
</vb:if>

It repeats what you're suppose to delete at the end...So that code is still there

nextslit
02-26-2010, 08:53 AM
this didnt work for 4.02 :(

It shows BOTH the forum image and icon to the side. So two of the same image!


Working fine for 4.0.2

Demo
(http://www.persianect.com/forum.php)

ndut
02-26-2010, 11:57 PM
thank you

Verionia
02-28-2010, 03:17 AM
please help me it doesnt work!

combs
03-01-2010, 09:57 PM
Why doesn't it work in sub forums? Or is it just me? Thanks very much tho!

combs
03-03-2010, 06:45 PM
Why doesn't it work in sub forums? Or is it just me? Thanks very much tho!

Anybody?

Noli
03-04-2010, 07:20 PM
just installed it on the latest version of vbulletin.

i have the product installed, changed the template and added images to every forum but nothing is displayed, any ideas?

zeroality
03-05-2010, 03:01 AM
Pretty cool, but if this doesn't work for you then go look for 'Forum Icons' in mods. Works on 4.0.2 and adds sub icons next to the new/old post icons.

Medina
03-07-2010, 02:35 PM
If you want this modification to work also with the sub-forums.
Please, follow the next instructions.

Go Into Admincp --> Styles and Templates --> Manage Templates;
Edit forumhome_forumbit_level1_post

FIND:

{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />


REPLACE WITH:

<vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']">
<img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" class="forumicon" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="opacity: <vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">0.5<vb:else />1</vb:if>;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
</vb:if>

mallick
03-08-2010, 12:57 AM
thanks medina.. thats really helpful..\
i have a question though.. how can we increase or decrease the statusicon size?? i think by default its 48x48

New Joe
03-08-2010, 01:58 AM
thanks medina.. thats really helpful..\
i have a question though.. how can we increase or decrease the statusicon size?? i think by default its 48x48

Read post #14
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1977271&postcount=14

mallick
03-08-2010, 03:16 AM
thanks man ..

New Joe
03-08-2010, 03:25 AM
If you want this modification to work also with the sub-forums.
Please, follow the next instructions.

Go Into Admincp --> Styles and Templates --> Manage Templates;
Edit forumhome_forumbit_level1_post

FIND:

{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />


REPLACE WITH:

<vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']">
<img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" class="forumicon" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="opacity: <vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">0.5<vb:else />1</vb:if>;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
</vb:if>
Didn't work for me.
Do you have a screen shot showing it working?

mallick
03-13-2010, 03:39 PM
Didn't work for me.
Do you have a screen shot showing it working?

it doesnt work for me either.. it hides that default image but the new image is not showing up even though i have put the img address in forum manager :confused:

combs
03-14-2010, 09:07 PM
Yeah didn't work for me either :(. Anybody else have an idea????

Extra PC
03-15-2010, 12:36 AM
done but with different way


www.extra-pc.com/vb

badawidollah
03-15-2010, 11:29 AM
very good
thanks

combs
03-16-2010, 08:29 PM
This doesn't seem very supported.

yessenia1974
03-21-2010, 05:04 AM
Hi, i tried to install it, and i followed all the instructions, but seems is not working for me can be your code or the xml file from Elmer i do not know but still i can see my default icons. I use version 4.0.2 can be this te problem ?

I saw the mod of Elmer is for vbulletin 4.0.0 ....

I am newbie please can you help me out? :(

Thank you

DannyC55
03-22-2010, 02:30 AM
If you want this modification to work also with the sub-forums.
Please, follow the next instructions.

Go Into Admincp --> Styles and Templates --> Manage Templates;
Edit forumhome_forumbit_level1_post

FIND:

{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />


REPLACE WITH:

<vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']">
<img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" class="forumicon" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="opacity: <vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">0.5<vb:else />1</vb:if>;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
</vb:if>


Should be:

FIND:

<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />


REPLACE WITH:

<vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']">
<img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" class="forumicon" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="opacity: <vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">0.5<vb:else />1</vb:if>;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
</vb:if>

New Joe
03-22-2010, 05:04 AM
<img src="Not found within the Template.
I tried the above.
Anyway, I still can't get pictures to show on sub-forums.

munsonfan15
03-27-2010, 06:05 PM
Everything works great but is there a way to keep the Forum Icon from 'fading' if there are no new posts? I like the look and the color it brings to the site to keep them from fading.

I noticed this when I check in FF and they fade. Is there a setting for this?

Kaleem
04-10-2010, 02:23 PM
Does it work in 4.0.3?

Gamempire
04-10-2010, 03:01 PM
yes, no problem with no version :) it's only an opacity

Kaleem
04-10-2010, 08:01 PM
yes, no problem with no version :) it's only an opacity
Didnt work for me I dont know why I cant get the icons to work.

Hall of Famer
04-18-2010, 12:46 PM
looks nice.

trackpads
04-28-2010, 04:50 AM
Works, thanks!

Medina
05-16-2010, 06:52 PM
Is it also possible to get something like this;

http://forums.hababam.nl/index.php

(for each different forum category)

Thanks!

Gamempire
05-16-2010, 10:36 PM
Is it also possible to get something like this;

http://forums.hababam.nl/index.php

(for each different forum category)

Thanks!

yes, it's quite easy, but i have not a lot of time now..i'm sorry, the university calls..

if i'll have time in future, i'll do it

Medina
05-17-2010, 09:48 AM
yes, it's quite easy, but i have not a lot of time now..i'm sorry, the university calls..

if i'll have time in future, i'll do it

Please let me know if you got any time by this week?

Thank you very much.

Ansaar Media
06-01-2010, 07:40 PM
You must script it:) Its not a mod.

Good luck.

FReeSTER
01-31-2011, 08:00 PM
Great I have this working with vb4.0.8 pl2:p

deverill2010
02-03-2011, 07:05 PM
Is there anyway to make the individual icons link to a website?

I want to use it for sponsorship of showing people logos but I need it when the icon is clicked to redirect them to their website.

mikem164
03-27-2011, 05:52 PM
Fantastic mod, really nice. NOw, the million dollar question... How can I increase the size of the icons? Thanks.

mikem164
03-29-2011, 05:42 PM
looks like gameempire abondoned support for this.............??

oldfan
04-24-2011, 03:58 PM
Should be:

FIND:

<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />


REPLACE WITH:

<vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']">
<img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" class="forumicon" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="opacity: <vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">0.5<vb:else />1</vb:if>;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" />
<vb:else />
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
</vb:if>

thanks works great !!

The Rocketeer
05-09-2011, 09:45 PM
Is it also possible to get something like this;

http://forums.hababam.nl/index.php

(for each different forum category)

Thanks!


I would like to have this too!!

TITAN-UZ
05-31-2011, 01:19 PM
How to use this mod with the help of mod Forum Category Icons!

setishock
06-30-2011, 05:46 AM
This mod would be ok if it only affected one theme. It's global meaning this mod will park the icons in ALL of your themes. I have several themes but would like to have just one I play around with affected. Pity...

nezr
07-08-2011, 03:46 AM
can someone please tell me why I have 2 icons?

Ravallojr
08-14-2011, 07:30 AM
I can't seem to get it on 4.1.5. Can anyone help?

Clement7
09-06-2011, 04:13 PM
This is what I'm getting along with the pic.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/11/58.png

Any help?

Noli
10-19-2011, 04:49 PM
I just tried to do this on subforums, its the same as in the original post but you will need to edit forumhome_forumbit_level1_post instead. Works good for me.

hanhdn
10-19-2011, 07:45 PM
nice mod. mark as installed
Demo:http://srsc.com.vn/forum/

HHelp1
11-12-2011, 08:25 PM
I got same as him https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/11/58.png

ANY HELP ??? PLEASE?

Fready
11-13-2011, 02:24 AM
Why are people still using this Mod when;
a) It's not supported
b) Developer Last Online: Nov 2010

There is a very easy Supported mod which is a simple xml import with not template edits:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=244351&highlight=icons+for+forums

HHelp1
11-14-2011, 11:58 PM
Well i just did it and it's work great! IM USING 4.1.7, all you need to do is upload that plug in (CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD THAT PLUGIN) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=229529) to Plugin Manage > Add/Import Product and then you just need to add your images path. THAT's ALL! ^^ HOPE you guys make it work.

HHelp1
03-18-2012, 09:19 PM
Please update this bc i had upgrade 4.1.11 but the icons i had is 48x48 but is that big..... http://screensnapr.com/e/3C5CHo.png

PLEASE HELP ME!

reversedesigns
03-20-2012, 01:56 AM
not working on vb 4.1.10 uninstalled

DanHamilton
03-20-2012, 07:17 PM
So how can I change the sub-board Icons :)
Thanks,
Marked as Installed

Please PM me as I will then get an email notification :P

oldfan
04-03-2014, 02:15 AM
anyone get this working with 4.2.2?

oldfan
04-24-2014, 08:57 PM
anyone?

fxdigi-cash
08-09-2014, 08:11 AM
I have this code working instead since the original post code didn't work...

<vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] == old"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}category_forum_link.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}"/> <vb:else />

<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}category_forum_link.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}"/></vb:if>

you can replace the statusicon category_forum_link.png with anything you like.

it is tested and works fine on my vb4.2

fxdigi-cash
08-09-2014, 08:14 AM
<font color="Blue">p.s,</font> if you need images for each forum, then the code needs to be edited per forum. in this case you need to add a condition per forum per icon...

oldfan
10-03-2014, 03:10 PM
What code would I have to replace fxdigi-cash?
Thanks

oldfan
03-29-2023, 12:52 PM
Works with 4.2.5. thanks