View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Donation Goal Thermometer Forum Block addon for Donation Manager
SemperFideles
01-25-2010, 10:00 PM
**This is an addon for the Donation Manager (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233669) addon if installed as below.**
I've been waiting for something that will be an all-in-one donation system such as the Cyb Paypal Donate for vBulletin 4 but can't wait any longer. I really needed a donation goal monitor as it encourages people to donate who otherwise do not.
I like the features of the Donation Manager (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233669) addon and decided I would search for some sort of script that would enable me to display donation progress. I found this free script: http://www.arkie.net/~scripts/thermometer/
I have implemented a basic method to display donation progress through both of these scripts. It is a manual process to update donation progress but the Cyb Donate plugin was as well.
DEMO: You can see my implementation in action at http://www.puritanboard.com/forum.php
Instructions
1. Download thermometer.php and upload that into your forum root.
2. Create a new Forum Block
a. AdminCP -> Forums & Moderators -> Forum Blocks Manager
b. Click Add Block
c. Block Title: Donate (or Support Us)
d. Active: Yes
e. Content Type: HTML
f. Content
<img hspace="10" align="left" border="0" src="thermometer.php?Current=0&Goal=250&Width=100&Height=100&Font=2">
<br><br>
<form action="donate.php" method="post">
<input type="submit" value="Donate" class="newcontent_textcontrol"> <br /> <br>
</form>
g. BEFORE YOU SAVE, you must configure the thermometer in the Content block. All the settings are within the img attributes and you don't need to touch the thermometer.php file. Notice that img has the following src value:
thermometer.php?Current=0&Goal=100&Width=50&Height=100&Font=2
(1) Current=current donations received
(2) Goal=donation goal
(3) Width=width of the thermometer
(4) Height=height of thermometer
(5) Font=size of font from 1...whatever
(You can experiment with these settings but I found a width of 50 and Height of 100 with a font size of 2 makes my thermometer about right)
Once you save the Forum Block you can position it in your Block order. When you receive donations you simply edit the forum block and update the Current= value. It's not perfect but it's better than having no goal meter. When the user clicks on the Support Us link he is taken to the Donation System which allows him to donate.
ALTERNATIVE IMPLEMENTATION
You can set up the forum block to allow the user to select pulldown dollar amounts. I don't know how to pass the variables that the donation system uses or I would use them in my block. This block requires a bit more editing to get it working for your site.
Follow the same instructions as above but in the Content Block replace all with:
<img hspace="10" align="left" border="0" src="thermometer.php?Current=6&Goal=400&Width=50&Height=100&Font=2">
<br>
<form action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="business" value="email@doman.com">
<input type="hidden" name="currency_code" value="USD">
<select name="amount">
<option value="10">$10</option>
<option value="20">$20</option>
<option value="50">$50</option>
<option value="100">$100</option>
<option value="500">$500</option>
</select>
<input type="hidden" name="no_shipping" value="1">
<input type="hidden" name="no_note" value="1">
<input type="hidden" name="lc" value="US">
<input type="hidden" name="bn" value="PP-BuyNowBF">
<input type="hidden" name="item_name" value="Forum Donation">
<input type="hidden" name="cancel_return" value="http://www.forumdomain.com/donate.php?do=fail">
<input type="hidden" name="return" value="http://www.forumdomain.com/donate.php?do=success">
<input type="hidden" name="rm" value="2"> <br /><br />
<input type="submit" value="Donate" class="newcontent_textcontrol"> <br /> <br>
</form>
Set:
- Thermometer values as before
- email@domain.com to your paypal e-mail address
- value="USD" to a different currency if you want to accept by another currency
- option values to the amounts you want to donate and set the values between the option tags to the currency you want
- value="US" to your country
- value="Forum Donation" to what you want displayed in the paypal cart when the user donates
- forumdomain.com to your forum domain (there are two and they are the success and fail pages of the Donation System plugin)
SemperFideles
01-26-2010, 08:21 PM
By the way, within 30 minutes of installation last night I had 2 donations.
VonDoom
01-26-2010, 09:07 PM
This looks pretty interesting, i also couldn't wait for my premium donations module to be updated so had to find alternatives of my own. Fortunately since i found a great alternative i don't need this but wanted to comment and give you props for putting this together. *Rated*
Bouncer222
01-26-2010, 09:48 PM
Any chance of a nicer image instead of that red ugly themometer?
Thanks.
I hope that the donation system coder will implement a donate meter in his addon because it should do it automatically and its a great need for a site because it motivates donations.
SemperFideles
01-26-2010, 09:56 PM
Any chance of a nicer image instead of that red ugly themometer?
Thanks.
I hope that the donation system coder will implement a donate meter in his addon because it should do it automatically and its a great need for a site because it motivates donations.
If you can find a "prettier" thermometer then I'm willing to update the code. It's the only one I could find that allowed me to update the status easily. It might not be the prettiest thing but it auto-generates the image and is free for use.
Bouncer222
01-26-2010, 10:01 PM
Well can the themometer be made on photoshop? Or does it have to be specifically made with the code or something?
SemperFideles
01-27-2010, 01:10 AM
Well can the themometer be made on photoshop? Or does it have to be specifically made with the code or something?
It depends on the amount of work a person wants to put into a donation bar and how much fidelity you want for it. The short answer is "Yes" I could have chosen to make a killer Photoshop Thermomether and made 100 images for each percentage of the thermostat's rise. I could have made 1000 images if I wanted to show it in .1% degrees. I could have then made several variants for the various heights and widths that people might want to choose.
Then people could have taken out their calculators to figure out how much of their goal is achieved when the user contributes $15 and their goal is $400 for the month and selected the correct image to display.
BUT
I'm a Marine with four kids and a lot of other work to do. I wanted a simple solution that got the job done and was sharing how I implemented.
So, if you think it's "ugly" then you're welcome to put the work into figuring out a way to make it pretty but it works for me given the time I was willing to devote to the task.
Bouncer222
01-27-2010, 02:38 AM
oh I didn't mean any disrespect by that, sorry if it came out that way, I was just curious that if you create a new image, does the code somehow have to be modified to suit that image. that is all. And thanks again for the release of this :)
lazydesis
01-27-2010, 03:36 AM
thanks for the nice mod :)
An unrelated question. Would you be kind enough to tell us how you were able to put the sidebar on forumdisplay in your site, please?
SemperFideles
01-27-2010, 08:30 AM
oh I didn't mean any disrespect by that, sorry if it came out that way, I was just curious that if you create a new image, does the code somehow have to be modified to suit that image. that is all. And thanks again for the release of this :)
No problem. You weren't insulting me by the fact you thought it ugly but the person who wrote the code. The thermometer.php script generates the image and it would require a pretty complicated script, I imagine, to generate a more sophisticated looking image. I think it might be possible to use a script in conjunction with a nicer image and I've seen some nicer status indicators online but all the independently hosted script ones I've found are not free and this one is. That's why I mentioned you might be able to find something nicer.
thanks for the nice mod :)
An unrelated question. Would you be kind enough to tell us how you were able to put the sidebar on forumdisplay in your site, please?
Everywhere Sidebar addon: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233871
meissenation
01-27-2010, 12:34 PM
So every time someone donates we have to update the "Current" value, correct?
SemperFideles
01-27-2010, 12:55 PM
So every time someone donates we have to update the "Current" value, correct?
That is correct. If the current donations is $5 and you receive a $10 donation then you edit the block and change the Current from 5 to 15.
I'm not a sophisticated programmer. I would love to be able to have the ability to have the value automatically updated but this is better than nothing and it's really not that hard to update.
Edrondol
01-27-2010, 01:01 PM
Semper Fi, young man. That's all I came to say.
I'll definitely try this out during my annual fund drive.
steve1966
01-27-2010, 02:41 PM
thanks
Corky91
01-27-2010, 04:13 PM
Nice, but can't you create something similar to CYB-Donation bar? at the top under the navbar?
SemperFideles
01-27-2010, 04:32 PM
Nice, but can't you create something similar to CYB-Donation bar? at the top under the navbar?
Can't I do so? I suppose I could but this works for my use and I'm sharing what I implemented. The benefit of this implementation is that it requires no Template Modifications.
Cableguy69
01-27-2010, 07:25 PM
What a great little add on. I had to change the colour of my Thermometer background, to suit my forum.
// create the image
$image = ImageCreate($width, $height);
$bg = ImageColorAllocate($image,0, 0, 0 );
$fg = ImageColorAllocate($image,255,0,0);
$tx = ImageColorAllocate($image,255, 255, 255);
Which gives me.
http://www.hostmypics.org/pictures/b2ad4fd1ceb5842c2c7b84ec18c19383.png
lazydesis
01-29-2010, 10:23 AM
Everywhere Sidebar addon: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233871
thanks a bunch
I'm not a sophisticated programmer. I would love to be able to have the ability to have the value automatically updated but this is better than nothing and it's really not that hard to update.
Thanks for the mod, Rich. True, it?s not matching my forums style but life is imperfect. Even the light fifty isn?t a beauty and for sure not a lightweighted one but it?s pretty darn effective, so who cares ?
Does anyone have CYB?s old plugin ? Would love to see the code he was using in it. Guess it shouldn?t be to hard to rewrite this one for the 4.x series. Has anyone get in contact with CYB already ?
movslow
01-29-2010, 06:43 PM
Obvious easy mod for the forum block, but I can't get anything to load there.
It only shows where an image should be, w/nothing other than Support us underneath it.
I uploaded the thermometer.php to the forum root, and still nothing.
?
Please advise.
Thanks
:up:
/edit
I tried the 2nd code, and it shows a donate button, and the drop down box, but NO image.
??
durdan1
01-29-2010, 07:27 PM
Thanks for the mod, Rich. True, it?s not matching my forums style but life is imperfect. Even the light fifty isn?t a beauty and for sure not a lightweighted one but it?s pretty darn effective, so who cares ?
Does anyone have CYB?s old plugin ? Would love to see the code he was using in it. Guess it shouldn?t be to hard to rewrite this one for the 4.x series. Has anyone get in contact with CYB already ?
Here is the attached file for cybpals donate system version 4.8.2
If you get to work in 4.0 please give me a copy :)
SemperFideles
01-30-2010, 12:09 AM
Obvious easy mod for the forum block, but I can't get anything to load there.
It only shows where an image should be, w/nothing other than Support us underneath it.
I uploaded the thermometer.php to the forum root, and still nothing.
?
Please advise.
Thanks
:up:
/edit
I tried the 2nd code, and it shows a donate button, and the drop down box, but NO image.
??
Is thermometer.php loaded in your forum root?
Also, if you look at the page where I got the thermometer.php script it states the following:
This script requires access to a web server that supports PHP and that has the "GD" graphic library installed.
Your web server may not have the GD graphic library installed.
SemperFideles
01-30-2010, 12:13 AM
Thanks for the mod, Rich. True, it?s not matching my forums style but life is imperfect. Even the light fifty isn?t a beauty and for sure not a lightweighted one but it?s pretty darn effective, so who cares ?
Does anyone have CYB?s old plugin ? Would love to see the code he was using in it. Guess it shouldn?t be to hard to rewrite this one for the 4.x series. Has anyone get in contact with CYB already ?
You can always Modify the colors of the thermometer as others have done.
You know what's interesting? Donations are much higher than when I had the Cyb bar in the old plugin. I went to zero for almost a month when I had no donation status and then, Bingo, this thermometer started generating donations at a rate higher than when I had the Cyb plugin.
I've been working with websites for some 16 years now and I believe aesthetics are important but they aren't everything. I think there's a reason why many charities use the thermometer thing. I plan on keeping it in place. I'll probably figure out a way to modify somebody else's code just to make it autoupdate.
tobe12
01-30-2010, 01:37 AM
I installed it, but can see the Thermometer BLOCK anywhere on my forum
Ranger375
01-30-2010, 03:32 PM
nm, fixed
steven s
01-31-2010, 07:18 PM
Be cool to have this tied in with paid subscriptions.
movslow
02-01-2010, 01:05 PM
Is thermometer.php loaded in your forum root?
Also, if you look at the page where I got the thermometer.php script it states the following:
Your web server may not have the GD graphic library installed.
This could be the case, would it be possible for you to attach the image, so we don't have to rely on our web host?
Thanks.
movslow
02-09-2010, 06:15 PM
Hello?
Videx
02-09-2010, 11:28 PM
This could be the case, would it be possible for you to attach the image, so we don't have to rely on our web host?
Thanks.Hello? There is no image, it's drawn by the php script. You can check AdminCP>Maintenance>View PHP Info and you should have a GD section showing it as enabled. If you're on a shared server you may need to contect your host.
movslow
02-12-2010, 02:29 PM
Hello? There is no image, it's drawn by the php script. You can check AdminCP>Maintenance>View PHP Info and you should have a GD section showing it as enabled. If you're on a shared server you may need to contect your host.
Copied directly from my PHP info.
GD Support enabled
GD Version bundled (2.0.34 compatible)
FreeType Support enabled
FreeType Linkage with freetype
FreeType Version 2.1.7
GIF Read Support enabled
GIF Create Support enabled
JPG Support enabled
PNG Support enabled
WBMP Support enabled
XBM Support enabled
:confused:
movslow
02-12-2010, 04:42 PM
Direct link to my thermometer.php file.
Nothing.
http://movslow.com/forum/thermometer.php
:(
Videx
02-12-2010, 10:14 PM
Direct link to my thermometer.php file.
Nothing.
http://movslow.com/forum/thermometer.php
:(You're lucky. When I try to access my thermometer via direct link like that I get a page full of really scary error messages! Are you sure you're setting up the forum block properly? I see you have several blocks so I would assume you know how it's done. But really, even if the thermometer isn't working you should get a block with the text and links in it.
apaydin2148
02-13-2010, 02:26 PM
can you do something like this image?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/02/53.jpg
cicciotto
02-13-2010, 09:54 PM
as they did with version 4.0.1? :(
http://www.ipmart-forum.it/forum.php
SemperFideles
02-19-2010, 11:43 PM
I wonder if anyone else is experiencing an uptick in donations since implementing this. I used to rely upon the Cyb bar below my Navbar but my donations per month have actually gone up quite a bit with the thermometer.
Call it ugly or whatever you like but it works. I had some previous research and experience with Pay per click advertising and the upper left of the screen is always where PPC advertising was most effective. I think the location combined with the thermometer graphic is inspiring more donations.
icemann
02-20-2010, 11:26 AM
I'll see how it does. :cool:
sinistergaming
02-23-2010, 04:52 AM
will this work with vsa donations?
i really dig the thermometer but i need the functions in vsa donations.
for usergroups and stuff
SemperFideles
02-23-2010, 12:11 PM
will this work with vsa donations?
i really dig the thermometer but i need the functions in vsa donations.
for usergroups and stuff
I'm trying to figure out how to do it. I would love to be able to make it work for myself. I'm going to try to poke around and figure out how to do it.
Breakthru
02-26-2010, 01:55 AM
Would be amazing if could use this image...
113082
Reef Man
04-22-2010, 11:24 AM
Can this be configured as a widget? is it possible to change the thermometer picture?
aaronrand
05-11-2010, 05:56 PM
Obvious easy mod for the forum block, but I can't get anything to load there.
It only shows where an image should be, w/nothing other than Support us underneath it.
I uploaded the thermometer.php to the forum root, and still nothing.
?
Please advise.
Thanks
:up:
/edit
I tried the 2nd code, and it shows a donate button, and the drop down box, but NO image.
??
I have the exact same issue, and GD Support is enabled.
any idea where we went wrong?
Sorry dude but it looks like shit..
zipperty
06-01-2010, 10:14 AM
Great addon : You can even personalise the payment page with this little addon
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=241560
onehost
08-14-2010, 03:52 PM
couple issues.
I tried the first block to start...the goal image looked nothing like the one one your site, it was very overlarged for some reason...also it has a donate.php which you do not seem to mention in any of the above directions...
I tried the second block, the imagine appears much better, but with this one, I guess you are saying that I will be unable to raise the donation bar to show members progress? the graph meter also appears on the left side of the block, leaving the other side blank...I would like to place text on the right side, how can I do this?
SemperFideles
08-14-2010, 04:48 PM
couple issues.
I tried the first block to start...the goal image looked nothing like the one one your site, it was very overlarged for some reason...also it has a donate.php which you do not seem to mention in any of the above directions...
If it doesn't look like the one on my site it is because I have changed the variables, per the very detailed instructions below the code window.
Also, I do mention donate.php. This is listed as an addon for the Donation Manager. Take some time to clearly read the instructions.
I tried the second block, the imagine appears much better, but with this one, I guess you are saying that I will be unable to raise the donation bar to show members progress?
You can measure progress. Read the instructions. It is a manual process vice automatic.
the graph meter also appears on the left side of the block, leaving the other side blank...I would like to place text on the right side, how can I do this?
The donation meter is called within an img tag. Change align="left" to align="right" if you want to change the alignment.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.