View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - UKBL ~ FaceBook profile link in Postbit ~ Clickable !!
TheLastSuperman
01-17-2010, 10:00 PM
This is a super simple template edit that will allow your members to share their Facebook Profile with others ;).
You simply create a new user profile field and make one template edit and then your members do the rest and your all set!
Full Credit for this mod goes to UKBL (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/member.php?u=271420), requested by taffy056 for use with vBulletin 4.0 Series here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1929367
And via PM to me :p
I did not realize UKBL had stated "Re-Usable" Code or I would have released this sooner However again I must make it clear that full credit goes to UKBL and per his thread the idea was presented to him by DobieGillis.
You can add your own links to postbit by following this same method just redoing the code snippets a bit so in essence you can have Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, LinkedIn and many more just by playing with the code a bit :D.
Screenshots are in UKBL's original thread and I just tested and verified this to be working on a 4.0.1 forum however it should be perfectly usable on any 4.0.x series. Please refer to the Install.txt file in the .zip for instructions on how to add this to your forum :D and Enjoy!
Sincerely,
TheLastSuperman
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2014/06/21.png
TheLastSuperman
01-18-2010, 03:05 PM
Quick tips!
1. How 2 Guide - Template Conditionals
A Conditional If Statement simply put will show something to a user based on IF this or IF that SHOW them THIS. Very simple to follow once you initially grasp it so don't let it trick or fool you ;)
Here's an Example:
<vb:if condition="$show['member']">
This conditional seen above starting with vb:if will only show the code in between the beginning and the end vb:if it is ended by the slash seen below /
</vb:if>
Now if you test this in 4.0 you will only see this code when logged in as a member ;). How do I put this code somewhere and utilize it like UKBL first mentioned? Well you can edit your forums templates... vBulletin uses a .php file with code in it, a template with the code in it that corresponds to the php file and css in your style vars area to show you every single page in your vBulletin so basically all three (and some other minor things no need to confuse you early on eh?) make the page display and you the forums owner can make it do your bidding!!
You can edit your styles templates by going to AdminCP > Style & Templates > Style Manager
Now I would create a Child Style to test with so you don't mess up your Live sites style...
AdminCP > Style & Templates > Style Manager > Select the style and to the right click the drop down and select "Add Child Style" and leave it all alone except change "Allow User Selection" to NO this way you can tinker with it behind the scenes ;).
Then You'll see the new style and click the drop down on the right and choose "Edit Templates" now go down and double click "Header" then at the very top type in TESTING 123 hit save & reload then select the style since you can as an admin and in that style at the very top you'll now see TESTING123 in plain old text :D.
You just edited your first template... now yes your right... you can do that but with all sorts of codes just be careful as some can make the style go :p on you so it will require a slight learning curve... and conditionals?
<vb:if condition="$show['guest']">
TESTING 123
</vb:if>
Put that in the Header Template instead...
Now refresh your page (your still logged in as an admin) and now it's gone, it is only showing to visitors or Guests of the forum i.e. non-logged in users :D.
Edit: Look what I just found :D https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=231525 and special Thanks to BBR-APBT for taking the time to post it up ;)
2. How 2 Guide - Use Facebook ID# OR Name
Revised Code by Steve to show using Facebook ID number and "Vanity" profile name i.e. if you have already selected your custom Facebook URL i.e. mine is no longer a number it is thelastsuperman :D.
I got it to work using your code, and also tweaked it using code in the link you gave to the 3.8 version.
If you want an update, here's what I'm using:
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,11,12)">
<vb:if condition="$post['field6']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/home.php/#/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field6}&ref=profile">
<img src="images/misc/facebook.png" alt="My Facebook" style="border-style: none" target="_blank"/></a>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,11,12)">
<vb:if condition="$post['field7']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#/{vb:raw post.field7}?ref=profile">
<img src="images/misc/facebook.png" alt="My Facebook" style="border-style: none" target="_blank"/></a>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
The second set, with field 7 in it, uses the vanity name instead of the user id.
Thanks again for this mod!!
-Steve
*Full Credit to UKBL so from here on out I need to see THANKS UKBL in your posts if you enjoy it :D
abqtj
01-18-2010, 05:02 PM
Installed and still tweaking it to get it to work...should be good, though!
TheLastSuperman
01-18-2010, 05:31 PM
Installed and still tweaking it to get it to work...should be good, though!
I tested just before I put up the mod on here so it should work fine "Out of the box" otherwise post and we'll get you sorted ;).
Mike
TimberFloorAu
01-18-2010, 05:47 PM
Cheers Mike.
How is Gerry havent seen him in ages?
Fusion2
01-18-2010, 05:49 PM
I like the idea, but could you be a little more explainable in your text file for us beginners!
It says add template conditional. Umm where do i add this?
Also How do I add the box around the section, as seen in the original posts on the profile page. Mine just shows all the text scrunched together with no enclosed box.
abqtj
01-18-2010, 06:02 PM
I tested just before I put up the mod on here so it should work fine "Out of the box" otherwise post and we'll get you sorted ;).
Mike
THanks,
I think I got it.
I edited the postbit_legacy, not postbit. Went back and edited postbit and it shows up fine.
I do not know what the difference is in those two spots, I suppose.
kersti
01-18-2010, 06:11 PM
I'm also asking how do I add the conditional??? Could someone please explain it to us noobs?
kersti
01-18-2010, 06:56 PM
I went back to the 3.8 version to work out how to do this.
TheLastSuperman
01-18-2010, 07:17 PM
Cheers Mike.
How is Gerry havent seen him in ages?
I hope he is doing very well I have not heard from him but do know something came up in real life and I would like to wait for him to come back and let everyone know. I only released this because a few requested and UKBL makred it as re-usable code but I don't care about installs only helping when I have spare time to however when he returns I get to bug Paul M to change the threads owner to UKBL lol :p
I like the idea, but could you be a little more explainable in your text file for us beginners!
It says add template conditional. Umm where do i add this?
Also How do I add the box around the section, as seen in the original posts on the profile page. Mine just shows all the text scrunched together with no enclosed box.
See Post #2 and post again if anymore questions :D
THanks,
I think I got it.
I edited the postbit_legacy, not postbit. Went back and edited postbit and it shows up fine.
I do not know what the difference is in those two spots, I suppose.
You can specify in your AdminCP > Settings > Options > Style & Language Options > Now scroll down and look for:
Use Legacy (Vertical) Postbit Template
If you prefer the old-style postbit, using two vertical columns rather than the new horizontal layout, you can switch back to using that template with this switch.
Please note that if you enable this option and wish to customize the template, you should edit the 'postbit_legacy' template rather than the 'postbit'.
I'm also asking how do I add the conditional??? Could someone please explain it to us noobs?
Please see post #2 ;)
Anything else feel free to post :D
Sincerely,
Mike
taffy056
01-18-2010, 10:45 PM
cheers mate very much appreciate you porting this for me, and others now , it works fine for me :)
TheLastSuperman
01-18-2010, 11:35 PM
cheers mate very much appreciate you porting this for me, and others now , it works fine for me :)
No problem taffy056 ;)
Mike
abqtj
01-19-2010, 01:31 AM
Thanks UKBL for the original mod!
Rob F
01-24-2010, 03:33 AM
Have installed this and working lovely (after a little tweaking to fit my forum layout).
Is there any way to have the facebook icon show up when viewing the who's online listing like you can with the msn/icq/etc icons?
TheLastSuperman
01-25-2010, 07:28 AM
Have installed this and working lovely (after a little tweaking to fit my forum layout).
Is there any way to have the facebook icon show up when viewing the who's online listing like you can with the msn/icq/etc icons?
Great idea, give me a bit I'm terribly busy atm (note the 4:27am my time that this is posted :p) and you have one other member with a signature generator mod in front of you that was asked as a favor so when I have free time first comes first served but bare with me and I'll whip something up and again, great idea :D.
Mike
Thanks Mike .
Installed and Working fine.
TheLastSuperman
01-26-2010, 12:22 AM
Thanks Mike .
Installed and Working fine.
I appreciate the sentiment I truly do but all credit goes to UKBL i.e. Gerry ;)
Rob F
01-26-2010, 11:05 AM
Great idea, give me a bit I'm terribly busy atm (note the 4:27am my time that this is posted :p) and you have one other member with a signature generator mod in front of you that was asked as a favor so when I have free time first comes first served but bare with me and I'll whip something up and again, great idea :D.
By all means, take your time. I'm in no panic about it, just thought it might enhance the mod that little bit further ;)
Look forward to an update :)
cloferba
01-30-2010, 11:59 AM
how can add this information to a tab on user profile?
it will be great to add this widget:
http://www.facebook.com/facebook-widgets/profilebadges.php
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/01/10.jpg
to the posbit legacy..or a tab on user profile...
only show it writing the facebook user id..
worried
04-03-2010, 09:44 AM
Thanks!
I couldn't get facebook to open in a new window until I move the target_blank here:
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/home.php/#/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field99}&ref=profile" target="_blank">
SLY LS1
04-03-2010, 11:40 AM
Thanks!
I couldn't get facebook to open in a new window until I move the target_blank here:
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/home.php/#/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field99}&ref=profile" target="_blank">
Yes that is correct,
This is a very simple mod but has been made very hard by the way the instruction have been written, they need to be writtin in the standard mod form.
Heres some more if anyone wants them, Facebook - Twitter - Youtube - My Space - Car Domain
Just add a new profile field as per this mod for each one, then change the profile fields XX below to match, save the images at the bottom of this post to your forum/images/misc folder - anyone who has done the mod above will get the drift
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 2,5,6,7,10)">
<vb:if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/home.php/#/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.fieldXX}&ref=profile" target="_blank"/>
<img src="images/misc/facebook.png" alt="My Facebook" style="border-style: none" ></a>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 2,5,6,7,10)">
<vb:if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://twitter.com/{vb:raw post.fieldXX}" target="_blank"/>
<img src="images/misc/twitter.png" alt="My Twitter" style="border-style: none" ></a>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 2,5,6,7,10)">
<vb:if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/{vb:raw post.fieldXX}" target="_blank"/>
<img src="images/misc/youtube.gif" alt="My Youtube" style="border-style: none" ></a>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 2,5,6,7,10)">
<vb:if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.myspace.com/{vb:raw post.fieldXX}" target="_blank"/>
<img src="images/misc/myspace.gif" alt="My Space" style="border-style: none" ></a>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<vb:if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 2,5,6,7,10)">
<vb:if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.cardomain.com/ride/{vb:raw post.fieldXX}" target="_blank"/>
<img src="images/misc/cardomain.gif" alt="My Car Domain" style="border-style: none" ></a>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
http://www.lsxshootout.com.au/forum/images/misc/facebook.png
http://www.lsxshootout.com.au/forum/images/misc/twitter.png
http://www.lsxshootout.com.au/forum/images/misc/youtube.gif
http://www.toughstreetcars.com/forum/images/misc/im_myspace.gif
http://www.toughstreetcars.com/forum/images/misc/im_cardomain.gif
ARPRDcom
04-16-2010, 08:31 PM
I added works great ... I had to do some tweaking though to meet the style I wanted.. I added Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, FriendFeed, and ArticleProductions (my own site has user profiles).
James
taffy056
10-02-2010, 10:07 AM
This is still working great thanks ;)
But got a question about the code abqtj posted that is in post 2, I would like to force my users to place their facebook id, so that means that if they supply it in one field they don't need it in the other, but the fields don't appear to work in that way, is there some way to do this ?
Thanks
TheLastSuperman
10-07-2010, 02:55 AM
This is still working great thanks ;)
But got a question about the code abqtj posted that is in post 2, I would like to force my users to place their facebook id, so that means that if they supply it in one field they don't need it in the other, but the fields don't appear to work in that way, is there some way to do this ?
Thanks
That is an example of both versions he came up with ;)
So use the top or bottom half only, the bottom will display the vanity name if you wish.
Jaske
01-16-2011, 05:31 PM
I installed this mod and it does work, but it isn't inline with the yahoo and aol icons...
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2011/01/26.jpg
any idea on how to fix it? thanks.
*EDIT-nevermind I placed the code after the </div> and that was messing it up...it's fixed now. thanks.
hiker
01-17-2011, 04:14 PM
Great Mod, but I'm having alignment problems as well.
One profile it shows up exactly where I want it (Sombeech)
but on another (and there have been a few others) it shows up right next to the avatar.
The one difference is the "BigShot" badge under the avatar. How can I make the fb image appear under all of that, and next to where the others would be, say Yahoo IM?
I've got a shot of my settings, and the edit to my postbit_legacy template. I'd love to get this fixed.
Thanks.
TheLastSuperman
01-17-2011, 04:23 PM
Great Mod, but I'm having alignment problems as well.
One profile it shows up exactly where I want it (Sombeech)
but on another (and there have been a few others) it shows up right next to the avatar.
The one difference is the "BigShot" badge under the avatar. How can I make the fb image appear under all of that, and next to where the others would be, say Yahoo IM?
I've got a shot of my settings, and the edit to my postbit_legacy template. I'd love to get this fixed.
Thanks.
Take all the highlighted code from that last attachment, everything except the last </vb:if> and paste it above that </div> and right after the skypeicon} add one little space and paste, that should sort it ;).
hiker
01-17-2011, 04:34 PM
Take all the highlighted code from that last attachment, everything except the last </vb:if> and paste it above that </div> and right after the skypeicon} add one little space and paste, that should sort it ;).
YES!
Awesome, thanks. That did it. :cool::cool::cool:
PiroX
03-06-2011, 12:23 PM
i modified it a bit so that you also can enter your facebook username
<vb:if condition="$post['field27']">
<vb:if condition="is_numeric($post['field27'])">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field27}" target="_blank">
<vb:else />
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/{vb:raw post.field27}" target="_blank">
</vb:if>
<img width="18" height="17" alt="Fb" title="Facebook profile" border="0" src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/misc/facebook.png" /></a>
</vb:if>
it works now with "Username" like www.facebook/test
zeus_r6
03-07-2011, 01:06 AM
i modified it a bit so that you also can enter your facebook username
<vb:if condition="$post['field27']">
<vb:if condition="is_numeric($post['field27'])">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id={vb:raw post.field27}" target="_blank">
<vb:else />
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/{vb:raw post.field27}" target="_blank">
</vb:if>
<img width="18" height="17" alt="Fb" title="Facebook profile" border="0" src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/misc/facebook.png" /></a>
</vb:if>
it works now with "Username" like www.facebook/test
A big high five for that addition!
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.