PDA

View Full Version : Adding user options in usercp for mod's [Not in the manual]


almannai
01-17-2010, 10:00 PM
Hi,

This article is a part of "Not in the manual" series of articles that I hope will wrtie from time to time.

Ok .. So if you have been programing in Vb3.x you are used to adding changes in the user cp by adding more options to one of the Login, Messaging, Thread View, Date/Time or the "Other" Section of the $customfields array.

For example adding a textbox option to the "other" section in the usercp was as simple as adding the following plugin to the "profile_complete" hook


//build our customfield
$profilefieldname = 'my_profilefieldname';
$profilefield['description'] = 'This is a description of my_profilefieldname';
$profilefield['size'] = 5;
$profilefield['maxlength'] = 5;
eval('$tempcustom = "' . fetch_template('userfield_textbox') . '";');

//add our customfield
$customfields['other'] .= $tempcustom;




To explain the above code: First we are setting our profilefield variable like name, textbox size, description etc. We write the system 'userfield_textbox' in our variable tempcustom. Then we add that variable to the other section of the customfields array.

Well that is a straightforward coding and maybe that is because we are used to it. In vb4 it is little bit more extra coding. First off all the customfields array is not there, so we have to insert our changes by replacing the "other" section of the "modifyoptions" template with the "other"section plus our custom code. Plus some other minor changes and here is same code but for vb4


//build our customfield
$profilefieldname = 'my_profilefieldname';
$profilefield['description'] = 'This is a description of my_profilefieldname';
$profilefield['profilefieldid']=$profilefieldname;
$profilefield['currentvalue'] = $vbulletin->userinfo['my_profilefieldname'];
$profilefield['maxlength'] = 5;
$templater = vB_Template::create('userfield_textbox');
$templater->register('profilefieldname', $profilefieldname);
$templater->register('profilefield', $profilefield);
$tempcustom=$templater->render();

//add our customfield
$tempcustom = "\n" .' '.$tempcustom.' ';
$other_search = '\' ' . '. $customfields['.'\''.'other'.'\''.'] . \'';
$other_replace = '\' ' . '. $customfields['.'\''.'other'.'\''.'] . \''.$tempcustom;
$vbulletin->templatecache['modifyoptions'] = str_replace($other_search, $other_replace, $vbulletin->templatecache['modifyoptions']);



The first part of the code is setting our profilefield variables then saving the 'userfield_textbox' template to our $tempcustom using vb4 way. That is by using
vB_Template class and registering 'profilefieldname' and 'profilefield' then rendering it.

The second part we search for $customfields['other'] and replace by $customfields['other'] itself plus the $tempcustom. Don't get confused by the too many commas in the code I made it like this to make it easier [I think] to read. Actualy here how the other section part looks in the 'modifyoptions' template ' . $customfields['other'] . '

In case you want to add Dropdownlist see the following example


$profilefieldname = 'my_profilefieldname';
$profilefield['title'] = $vbphrase['my_profilefield_title'];
$profilefield['description'] = $vbphrase['my_profilefield_description'];
$profilefield['profilefieldid']=$profilefieldname;
$profilefield['currentvalue'] = $vbulletin->userinfo['my_profilefieldname'];

$selectbits = '';
$options = array(
'option1' => $vbphrase['option_1'],
'option2' => $vbphrase['option_2'],
);

$templater = vB_Template::create('userfield_select_option');
foreach($options AS $key=>$val) {
$selected = $vbulletin->userinfo['my_profilefieldname'] == $key ? 'selected="selected"' : '';
$templater->register('selected', $selected);
$templater->register('key', $key);
$templater->register('val', $val);
$selectbits.=$templater->render();
}

$templater = vB_Template::create('userfield_select');
$templater->register('profilefieldname', $profilefieldname);
$templater->register('profilefield', $profilefield);
$templater->register('selectbits', $selectbits);
$tempcustom.=$templater->render();




I will not go farther to explain this code cause I'm sure you will figure it out. Just small hint though; in this code we used $vbphrase to save our title and description as this is the proper way of doing it if you want to make more professional way of building mod's.

Happy coding:)

MARCO1
01-18-2010, 10:34 PM
Very Nice, Thanks.

almannai
01-19-2010, 08:31 AM
Very Nice, Thanks.



Nice seeing you here MARCO1

MARCO1
01-20-2010, 05:34 PM
Nice seeing you here MARCO1

That's my home my friend ;)

almannai
01-22-2010, 04:50 PM
That's my home my friend ;)

I know...:)

What do you think about my new mod that is the everywhere sidebar?

MARCO1
01-22-2010, 05:26 PM
I know...:)

What do you think about my new mod that is the everywhere sidebar?

Check this : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1963617&postcount=4

almannai
01-23-2010, 06:14 AM
Check this : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=1963617&postcount=4

Thank you for your continuous support

ARP
04-14-2010, 08:15 PM
Hello, Can you make a simple Mod of this plugins to add the options ? I can't get this working :D
Maybe I doing something wrong

almannai
04-15-2010, 06:55 AM
Hello, Can you make a simple Mod of this plugins to add the options ? I can't get this working :D
Maybe I doing something wrong

I've used same techniques in one of my mods

check it out here
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=232639

ARP
04-16-2010, 11:25 PM
Check your PM's