Log in

View Full Version : Integration with vBulletin - Tweetboard Integartion (Forum + CMS)


rover.prince
01-13-2010, 10:00 PM
Hello Folks,

This is my 1st ever thread for the modification, so please do guide me if I have done anything wrong at any place.

Well I was searching for the tweetboard integration with our vbulletin 4. I tried to follow the guide (http://support.tweetboard.com/forums/51942/entries/42629) available on the tweetboard installation as well, but ended up with error on forum. So tried to figure out myself how to make it work on vb4. To make tweetboard working simply follow these step.

( I assume that you have tweetboard alpha invite.)

==>Forum<==

1. Go to you admin panel --> Styles & Templates --> Style Manager --> (select Your Style) --> Edit Templates --> Forum Display Templates --> Forumhome

2. In forumhome at the end there is </body> tag, simply place the below mentioned code above that tag and you are done.

<script src='http://tweetboard.com/yourtwitteraccount/tb.js' type='text/javascript'>
</script>

==>CMS<==
1. Go to you admin panel --> vBulletin CMS --> Widgets --> Create New Widget --> Widget Type (Static HTML) and Title "Tweetboard. --> Save

2. Now on main Widget screen you see a new widget named "Tweetboard" in last column against it click "Configure"

3. A pop up window appears, input this code in that window:

<script src="http://tweetboard.com/tb.js?v=1.0&user=youtwitterusername"type="text/javascript"></script>

and save.

4. Go to you admin panel --> vBulletin CMS --> Layout Manager --> Home --> Edit -->Widgets --> select "Tweetboard" and introduce as left column at last place.

5. Save and you are done.

See: Demo

(http://zodage.com)Thats it ! I hope it might help some others like me, who don't understand programming like me.

rover.prince
01-14-2010, 03:19 PM
I wish if someone could confirm me, did it work for their forums as well or not.

SpongeBob71
01-14-2010, 03:37 PM
It worked for me but the code should be as follows:

"<script src='http://tweetboard.com/yourtwitteraccount/tb.js' type='text/javascript'>
</script>"

not

<script src='http://tweetboard.com/yourtwitteraccount/tb.js' type='text/javascript'>
</script>> <-- extra ">" This is why it didn't work

There was an extra ">" at the end.

Hope this helps,

SpongeBob

rover.prince
01-14-2010, 04:34 PM
It worked for me but the code should be as follows:


"<script src='http://tweetboard.com/yourtwitteraccount/tb.js' type='text/javascript'>
</script>"


not

<script src='http://tweetboard.com/yourtwitteraccount/tb.js' type='text/javascript'>
</script>> <-- extra ">" This is why it didn't work



There was an extra ">" at the end.


Hope this helps,



SpongeBob

Code updated as per your guideline. Thanks for guiding. :)

VonDoom
01-14-2010, 04:39 PM
I have this on a cpl of my boards for several months now and love it. so do members.

rover.prince
01-14-2010, 04:41 PM
This is great effort by tweetboard, having live microblog on forum is like heaven. Most of the time it's quite appreciated by the users.

VonDoom
01-14-2010, 05:38 PM
now if we can just get them (tweetboard) to open registrations again.

rover.prince
01-15-2010, 03:09 PM
now if we can just get them (tweetboard) to open registrations again.

Well ! you can still get registered by requesting for their alpha invites.

Brandon Sheley
01-15-2010, 03:27 PM
don't forget to change this part youtwitterusername

halkum
01-15-2010, 11:19 PM
Confirmed on vb 4.01

rover.prince
01-16-2010, 12:41 PM
Confirmed on vb 4.01

Thanks for confirmation, boosts my moral a lot :)

GreigM
01-16-2010, 07:33 PM
Would love this but does not seem like tweetboard is activating any beta's?

Hornstar
01-16-2010, 08:34 PM
yeah I requested one months ago. Still nothing.

lazyseller
01-16-2010, 10:57 PM
Doesnt this create a empty widget? for the cms

VonDoom
01-17-2010, 01:05 AM
Yeah I have it on a cpl forums but cant get any new beta Invites ATM have been waiting for a cpl months my self.

rover.prince
01-17-2010, 03:32 AM
Yeah I have it on a cpl forums but cant get any new beta Invites ATM have been waiting for a cpl months my self.

Well I requested for their alpha invite and got reply just after 10 minutes, I think my luck. :D

dejanl
01-19-2010, 07:41 AM
chek my tweetboard working (http://www.webmasters-community.com) dont need to register or to vaiting for approve

GreigM
01-19-2010, 07:52 AM
so you don't need to wait for them to accept your request?

dejanl
01-19-2010, 08:06 AM
yes you do, but you can use tweetboard till thay approve you :)

c.c.
01-19-2010, 12:47 PM
yes you do, but you can use tweetboard till thay approve you :)

Is it fully functional without their approval? I'm confused? Once the point of approval if the app works without one?

Big-Pete
01-19-2010, 01:02 PM
Thanks, This is great, I've used it on one of my sites, but my main site has vbseo installed and tweetboard is built into vbseo now..

rover.prince
01-19-2010, 01:18 PM
I liked this micro forum concept on a full forum. At least we can segregate large post from mirco posts.

c.c.
01-19-2010, 02:53 PM
chek my tweetboard working (http://www.webmasters-community.com) dont need to register or to vaiting for approve

how'd you do that?

Brandon Sheley
01-19-2010, 03:04 PM
ps.. you don't need this mod, the install instructions are on tweetboard.com as well :rolleyes:

movslow
01-19-2010, 05:40 PM
Could someone clarify exactly what's going on.

We don't need approval to use this? Then what does their "approval" do?

Also, what get's "tweeted" to the board?

I'm an automotive site, it would be nice to bring in automotive related discussion, possible?

:confused:

Ripper
01-21-2010, 01:05 AM
I've been waiting 3 weeks, and still nothing? :mad::(:)

movslow
01-21-2010, 02:40 PM
Hello?

x626xblack
01-21-2010, 03:06 PM
Been two weeks here and still nothing? Can someone please explain the answer to the previous question?

movslow
01-21-2010, 04:36 PM
I signed up w/o an account to test it..it loads on the our side, but won't do anything b/c we don't have an account with them. So I put my invite in..have to see :(

movslow
01-21-2010, 05:07 PM
Guy just posted it took him about a week.

dangerin
01-22-2010, 01:33 PM
it can be used also for facebook?

rover.prince
01-22-2010, 03:23 PM
actually tweetboard is still giving alpha invite, well people, let me clear one thing, if you don't get the invite and your request is not approved, your tweets can not be triggered from your a/c. As tweet button would show, but as you don't have a/c at backend, so in the end micro forum will not be in working condition.

TheSupportForum
01-23-2010, 12:28 PM
I WOULD INSTALLED STILL IF IT WAS AS A PRODUCT

i can do this for you with the nessesary details you have provided for users

the product will allow users to put their tweetboard details in admincp instaead of the manual template changes

contact me via PM if your interested as long as i am put as the Co-Author

Alfa1
01-23-2010, 04:35 PM
I WOULD INSTALLED STILL IF IT WAS AS A PRODUCT

i can do this for you with the nessesary details you have provided for users

the product will allow users to put their tweetboard details in admincp instaead of the manual template changes

contact me via PM if your interested as long as i am put as the Co-Author
A product would be interesting.

balkanboy
01-26-2010, 09:16 AM
i decided to not use this it seems to make my vbulletin page kinda lag when u scroll up and down contacted the tweetboard support saying there working on a fix.... still the same waiting for that to get fixed...

x626xblack
01-29-2010, 11:44 AM
Question: Is this just something I have seen or does everyone else experience it also.

Now keep in mind I only have 10 twitter followers.

How events transpire:
log in to my site and look at the who is on. 2 users and 2 guests (Spiders)

Tweet with tweet board.

wait 3 minutes

look at who is on 2 users and 32 guests WTF????

This happens every time I tweet, not one of those guests has registered. If I had 300-400 followers I may understand but I have 10, so how am i getting 30 visitors from tweetboard?

movslow
01-29-2010, 06:02 PM
Been a week and still waiting on my invite :(

TheSupportForum
01-29-2010, 06:05 PM
if you buy vbseo you get an invite straight away like me

movslow
01-29-2010, 06:11 PM
if you buy vbseo you get an invite straight away like me

I've bought enough w/VB.

They said 1-14 days on invites.

It's been 7 days exactly so far.

I'm sure it will come, prolly alot of people asking.

talonguy
02-03-2010, 06:53 AM
if you need an alpha invite for tweetboard do this

go here

http://tweetboard.com/alpha/invites/

use invite code: DRUPALINVITES01

let me know if this works.

dangerin
02-03-2010, 07:14 AM
really nice.
but i've a question :
how can i do not appear the widget on home page and only the tweet button at left of page how i see in a loto of sites?
thanks

are there any limitations with alpha version?
I'm trying to find new users for thi site and this can be a good way . .

x626xblack
02-03-2010, 05:22 PM
Why do we need a blank widget on the CMS? With the tweetboard already on the left hand side.

RK1gaming
02-03-2010, 05:36 PM
I WOULD INSTALLED STILL IF IT WAS AS A PRODUCT

i can do this for you with the nessesary details you have provided for users

the product will allow users to put their tweetboard details in admincp instaead of the manual template changes

contact me via PM if your interested as long as i am put as the Co-Author

Yes a product would be great ....

dangerin
02-04-2010, 05:55 AM
Why do we need a blank widget on the CMS? With the tweetboard already on the left hand side.

it's teh same question that i've done..
i hope someone cna help us to leave that blank widget that is really not nice

GreigM
02-04-2010, 12:08 PM
I have added it to our forums, adding the template code in forumhome, forumdisplay and showthread templates, is there no way to add it to CMS without the blank widget?

dejanl
02-05-2010, 09:00 PM
i get aprove after 2 days

http://webmasters-community.com

jaffaman
02-06-2010, 02:10 PM
I have added it to our forums, adding the template code in forumhome, forumdisplay and showthread templates, is there no way to add it to CMS without the blank widget?
Ok i have not got this running yet as awaiting for my tweetboard to go live but i have it showing on a test site without using the blank widget.

I donkt know if this is the right thing to do as i am not a coder but what i done is edit the template called vbcms_page.
Just above </body>
Iput in this code <script src="http://tweetboard.com/tb.js?v=1.0&user=youtwitterusername"type="text/javascript"></script>

It looks like it should work but as i said i am no coder and this might be the wrong thing to do so only do it at your own risk.

oddmud
02-06-2010, 02:29 PM
i want a tweetboard invite. :(

jaffaman
02-06-2010, 02:30 PM
Just go to http://tweetboard.com and click on the request a free alpha invite :)

M@tt
02-08-2010, 10:48 AM
The advice above with the invite code worked a treat as did the guide from this Mod.
Thanks, so glad I have this installed now!

Surely there must be a way to get rid of the empty widget in order for this come up though?

movslow
02-08-2010, 01:38 PM
I resubmitted, 6 days and counting.

movslow
02-08-2010, 04:32 PM
I resubmitted, 6 days and counting.

I'm an idiot, I didn't realized it was approved over a week ago.

Check your mentions

:up:

M@tt
02-10-2010, 06:08 AM
I have added it to our forums, adding the template code in forumhome, forumdisplay and showthread templates, is there no way to add it to CMS without the blank widget?

Figured out how to get around this one. Rather then creating a whole new widget for the 2nd bit of code, simply add the code to the end of an existing html widget that you have. Works a treat! Doesn't matter where the widget on the page either.

M@tt
02-10-2010, 06:09 AM
if you need an alpha invite for tweetboard do this

go here

http://tweetboard.com/alpha/invites/

use invite code: DRUPALINVITES01

let me know if this works.

Worked a charm mate! Got approved straight away on the spot. None of this waiting crap :D

dangerin
02-10-2010, 03:12 PM
Figured out how to get around this one. Rather then creating a whole new widget for the 2nd bit of code, simply add the code to the end of an existing html widget that you have. Works a treat! Doesn't matter where the widget on the page either.

great suggest finally i've the mod without the white widget .
thanks

jaffaman
02-14-2010, 07:56 AM
if you need an alpha invite for tweetboard do this

go here

http://tweetboard.com/alpha/invites/

use invite code: DRUPALINVITES01

let me know if this works.
Cheers m8 i got feed up with waiting to be approved so i used 1 of your invites and it worked stright away no waiting :)

dangerin
02-14-2010, 08:04 AM
Someone has seen that in his site with tweetboard someusers can not access more at site because it stay blocked for a long time and not appear the home page?
When i leave tweetboard all can access correctly..
What can be? in my pc there is not this problme but more users has indicated me this thing and i must remove the code from the pages.
There is a solution ?

woffie
02-14-2010, 01:36 PM
This is built into vbseo. I am still waiting on my tweetboard invite. It has been weeks.

M@tt
02-21-2010, 12:03 PM
Just wondering if anyone else is experiencing their Tweet Board not working right now? I've been checking a few and most people have theirs working fine. Mine is viewable though my tweets aren't showing all of a sudden. No changes had been made to my board and I've just noticed that the contributor to this thread's Tweet Board isn't working in his demo anymore either which seems to be the same issue as mine.

Anyone got any thoughts? See the link in my signature to see what I mean.

Thank you

drummaster
02-21-2010, 07:46 PM
I'm an idiot, I didn't realized it was approved over a week ago.

Check your mentions

:up:

Thanks very much put the code in approved right away

x626xblack
02-25-2010, 06:53 PM
Ok if ANY one needs a tweetboard invite do this.

http://tweetboard.com/alpha/invites/TECHCRUNCH092009/

Someone helped me so i will help you.....

PI Guy
03-03-2010, 08:38 AM
Brilliant Installed in minutes. :)

gkaradagan
03-04-2010, 03:41 PM
i will try that thanks

Bouncer222
03-07-2010, 03:17 AM
I have the suite version, but I have disabled the vbulletin CMPS, and instead use vbadvanced.

How can I make this work with vbadvanced maybe or just without cmps?
Thanks.

KiLLWiT
03-15-2010, 05:27 AM
If you post the code in your footer template it'll show up on every page. Works like a charm. Thanks!

Jabong82
03-17-2010, 12:44 PM
Yes this code works excellent!

Um FYI though for those waiting for an alpha invite I didn't receive notification that I had been approved.

The way I found out was basically I installed this mod on my board and started toying with it but then realized it was actually working. So just double check if you are still waiting because I didn't get tweeted or nothin.

Ceri May
03-17-2010, 10:21 PM
:up:Hey Guys,

I just stumbled upon this thread by pure luck and can see some of you are having trouble getting tweetboard invites. For those of you who don't know me I am the lead support agent for @140ware (Makers of Tweetboard).

If any of you are still having problem please feel free to open a ticket for my attention at http://support.tweetboard.com/ normal invite process can take 1-14days to be accepted but as x626xblack said on the 25 Feb there are also some invite codes that you can get from Techcrunch and vBSEO (If your a customer) who also have an easy intergration option in their control pannel. Using an invite code means you get approved instantly without the need for a wait, I guess you can say that will speed things up for you.

If you also run a blog or CMS (other than the suite) we have a number of knowlege base articles at http://support.tweetboard.com/forums/51942-knowledge-base/entries will information on how to install on systems like Wordpress, Drupal and Joomla for example.

Hope this helps.

Thanks

Ceri
- Tweetboard Support

anilbhat
03-18-2010, 07:08 AM
Does it support vb 4.0.2 as well ?

Netaudio
03-19-2010, 11:07 PM
Ok if ANY one needs a tweetboard invite do this.

http://tweetboard.com/alpha/invites/TECHCRUNCH092009/

Someone helped me so i will help you.....

Perfect! Now its runnig....

sdfaheem
03-22-2010, 12:48 PM
I dont have CMS installed, just the forum.
I cannot create any widgets, what do i do now?

woffie
03-22-2010, 12:48 PM
Works great! Thanks!

woffie
03-22-2010, 12:55 PM
The CMS widget does not seem to work.

Jabong82
03-22-2010, 09:13 PM
I dont have CMS installed, just the forum.
I cannot create any widgets, what do i do now?

You don't need a CMS widget to make this work on Forums. Just take the line of code and place it in your FORUMHOME, FORUMDISPLAY template or any other template you want it to show up in.

Jabong82
03-22-2010, 09:13 PM
The CMS widget does not seem to work.

Just take the line of code and add it at the end to an existing widget.

justasiam
03-24-2010, 01:13 PM
I installed this mod, then went to http://tweetboard.com/alpha/#tb to request a free alpha invite.

When do I get approved?

As it is now, when I go to my site and click the "Tweet" button, it slides to the side and gives me an error that says:

---------------------
The Tweetboard account not found
Please check tweetboard.com to create an account.
---------------------

Ideas?

justasiam
03-29-2010, 03:43 AM
Is there any support for this mod at all? How do I get approved for tweetboard? I applied, but NOTHING.

War.Frog
03-31-2010, 05:12 PM
Is there any support for this mod at all? How do I get approved for tweetboard? I applied, but NOTHING.

If it has been 14 days or longer, submit a ticket on their support board and they'll add you very quickly (within a few hours).

justasiam
03-31-2010, 05:41 PM
Thank you, I will do just that.

x626xblack
04-01-2010, 04:51 PM
Perfect! Now its runnig....

Your welcome. A few know the value of reading all the pages in a Mod thread.. Some gems can be found...


For those who missed it:

Ok if ANY one needs a tweetboard invite do this.


http://tweetboard.com/alpha/invites/TECHCRUNCH092009/

Someone helped me so i will help you.....

x626xblack
04-01-2010, 04:55 PM
Figured out how to get around this one. Rather then creating a whole new widget for the 2nd bit of code, simply add the code to the end of an existing html widget that you have. Works a treat! Doesn't matter where the widget on the page either.


Thanks M@tt!

Sean James
05-04-2010, 12:51 PM
Would love to see this as a plugin, i dont use my vbseo license anymore

sKippah
05-07-2010, 04:12 PM
Installed. How can i change the color and how to get this also working in cms (not as a widget), same as on forumhome??

TheBish
05-08-2010, 06:00 PM
Simple and effective!

sKippah
05-13-2010, 12:53 PM
Well done it now, as written, for the cms. I have now the tweet but also an empty widget. isnt it possible to get just the tab without the widget?! Thx

Brandon Sheley
05-13-2010, 01:19 PM
Would love to see this as a plugin, i dont use my vbseo license anymore
just add the code in the footer of your template, it doesn't need to be a plugin and you don't need vbseo :)
Installed. How can i change the color and how to get this also working in cms (not as a widget), same as on forumhome??
you should be able to custmize the tweetboard by clicking the settings icon.
Well done it now, as written, for the cms. I have now the tweet but also an empty widget. isnt it possible to get just the tab without the widget?! Thx

add the code in the footer, you don't need it as a widget if you don't want to :)

sKippah
05-17-2010, 11:23 AM
Thanks for the help ;)

cindy helmond
05-25-2010, 07:43 PM
to bad waiting for an week , get this message if i register again :

Tweetboard account for this website is already registered

freexav
06-07-2010, 12:36 PM
the tweetboard integration disappears when I leave CMS or Forum homepage...
any ideas how to restore it to every pages?

freexav
06-07-2010, 04:10 PM
when people write a new tweet, there is no reference about my vbulletin website.
How could I fix this?

Best,
Xavier

Dragonsys
06-16-2010, 04:26 PM
It does not work for me when I add the code to my footer. it works in forumhome just fine, but not in the footer or the header.

Edit: I just had to use the full script from tweetboard.com just to get the little tweets tab to even show up. However, nothing happens when you click on it.

sticky
06-21-2010, 12:18 PM
Finally got an invite so I'm using this but isn't there a better way to get this on the CMS than using a widget? The widget shows up as tweetboard at the very bottom so it just doesn't look clean.

Can't a template edit simply be used like on the forum home?

sticky
06-21-2010, 12:24 PM
Ok, this code in the footer template will make it so tweetboard works everywhere, pretty nifty: <script src='http://tweetboard.com/yourtwitteraccount/tb.js' type='text/javascript'>
</script>

dan94adibi
08-18-2010, 11:14 PM
thanx for this

RichieBoy67
05-03-2013, 01:25 AM
Should remove this, tweetboard hasn't been online for awhile..

GamerPerfection
05-04-2013, 05:38 AM
Should remove this, tweetboard hasn't been online for awhile..

Then just report the thread instead of bumping it back up after 2.5 years!

RichieBoy67
05-06-2013, 05:10 PM
I did not report it in case I am wrong or in case there is an alternative. I figured I would mention it and see what others say.

Who cares how old it is.. People still come across old threads through searches all the time.

Also, when you are a moderator you can tell me what to do regarding how I post..

Spangle
05-11-2013, 06:13 PM
Should remove this, tweetboard hasn't been online for awhile..

I'm actually glad you posted this, I'm looking for a MOD to feed our twitter posts to the board, if I hadn't of read this, I would have been on a wild goose chase