Log in

View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - Homepage Button In Postbit


txsbmw
01-10-2010, 10:00 PM
This will add a Homepage Icon to your postbit next to the Yahoo, MSN, etc... Icons for your members website (if they have one).

UPDATE: Added alt tag to img code. When you hover over the image it will now say "Go to _______'s homepage

INSTRUCTIONS:

Upload Attached image to your images/misc folder then make the following changes to the postbit template:

In postbit, find:
{vb:raw post.icqicon} {vb:raw post.aimicon} {vb:raw post.msnicon} {vb:raw post.yahooicon} {vb:raw post.skypeicon}


ADD UNDER:
<!-- Homepage Start-->
<vb:if condition="$show['homepage']">
<a href="{vb:raw post.homepage}" target="_blank" dir="ltr"><img src="images/misc/userhome.png" alt="Go to {vb:raw post.username}'s homepage" border="0" /></a>
</vb:if>
<!-- Homepage End-->

silverfox_uw
01-12-2010, 01:50 PM
thanks, can this be altered so that when you hover over it, it says, "go to...........'s homepage"

txsbmw
01-13-2010, 03:13 PM
You would have to use the alt tag within the img code. Try replace the <img> part of the code with:
<img src="images/misc/userhome.png" alt="Go to {vb:raw post.username}'s homepage" border="0" />

Let me know if that works or not. I haven't tried it myself.

txsbmw
01-13-2010, 03:16 PM
Actually I just tried it and it does work!!

Robru
01-13-2010, 03:45 PM
Don't forget include this https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=109746&stc=1&d=1263237895 image in your /images/misc folder ! :)

Brandon Sheley
01-13-2010, 04:40 PM
so it'll add X amount of home page links on the threads?
can you post a live demo so I can better understand the mod

thx for sharing :)

TheLastSuperman
01-13-2010, 04:55 PM
so it'll add X amount of home page links on the threads?
can you post a live demo so I can better understand the mod

thx for sharing :)

Brandon... having a "Mike Moment" are we? :p

It simply adds a new icon to the postbit.. you see their icons for msn/yahoo etc so now there's a little house with a mouseover effect and they specify their home page by default via the usercp or when registering so your set ;).

Mike

VonDoom
01-13-2010, 05:08 PM
Very Cool, I actually misunderstood its function myself. thought it just took you to forum home. lol i was kind of scratching my head at the purpose of that. Good stuff Tagged

txsbmw
01-13-2010, 06:54 PM
LOL ok I added a little more to what this is used for :)

Dr.osamA
01-14-2010, 10:52 AM
instaled

working well

thanx
________
DIGITAL VAPORIZERS (http://digitalvaporizers.info)

RedHacker
01-14-2010, 07:58 PM
Installed but not show anything and also upload image....

txsbmw
01-15-2010, 06:33 PM
Is your homepage filled out in your profile? If that field is left blank it will not show.

nextslit
01-28-2010, 02:34 AM
Installed but not show anything and also upload image....

In postbit_legacy find :

{vb:raw post.icqicon} {vb:raw post.aimicon} {vb:raw post.msnicon} {vb:raw post.yahooicon} {vb:raw post.skypeicon}

Add below :
<!-- Homepage Start-->
<vb:if condition="$show['homepage']">
<a href="{vb:raw post.homepage}" target="_blank" dir="ltr"><img src="images/misc/userhome.png" alt="Go to {vb:raw post.username}'s homepage" border="0" /></a>
</vb:if>
<!-- Homepage End-->

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/01/18.jpg

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/01/18.jpg


Thanks for sharing txsbmw :)

RedHacker
01-28-2010, 05:26 AM
In postbit_legacy find :

{vb:raw post.icqicon} {vb:raw post.aimicon} {vb:raw post.msnicon} {vb:raw post.yahooicon} {vb:raw post.skypeicon}

Add below :
<!-- Homepage Start-->
<vb:if condition="$show['homepage']">
<a href="{vb:raw post.homepage}" target="_blank" dir="ltr"><img src="images/misc/userhome.png" alt="Go to {vb:raw post.username}'s homepage" border="0" /></a>
</vb:if>
<!-- Homepage End-->

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=111272&stc=1&d=1264653206

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=111273&stc=1&d=1264653396


Thanks for sharing txsbmw :)

I will try and the postbit_legacy and again cant show...

goran424
03-30-2010, 04:50 AM
Is it possible to have it restricted only to certain groups?

Reason: I don't want newbies members on my site pimping their forums which are rival to mine. I would like to see only staff and higher ranked user groups offered this option.

goran424
04-16-2010, 09:46 AM
Is it possible to have it restricted only to certain groups?

Reason: I don't want newbies members on my site pimping their forums which are rival to mine. I would like to see only staff and higher ranked user groups offered this option.

Guess not.....

txsbmw
04-28-2010, 05:36 PM
Is it possible to have it restricted only to certain groups?

Reason: I don't want newbies members on my site pimping their forums which are rival to mine. I would like to see only staff and higher ranked user groups offered this option.

You might be able to use template conditionals. This will not stop them from filling out their homepage or it showing on their profile.