Log in

View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Add "Post Excerpt" to search results


RustedBucket
01-07-2010, 10:00 PM
This mod is will add a post excerpt to the search results when searching for posts (like it was in VB 3.x).

What do I need to do?
There are two parts to this mod.


First step adds the post excerpt to the search_results_postbit template. This will make the excerpt display if you're using the Find All Threads by "User" In User Profile (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=231325).
Requires 1 template edit.

Second step modifies the Advanced Search to add a check box to select whether or not to show the excerpt when using global search.
Requires 2 template edits


Installation

PART 1
AdminCP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> *YOUR STYLE* - I used the Default Style -> Search Templates -> SEARCH _RESULTS_POSTBIT

FIND:

<vb:if condition="$show['inlinemod']">
<!-- fourth block -->
<label class="threadimod td">
<input type="checkbox" id="post_imod_checkbox_{vb:raw post.postid}" name="imodcheck[{vb:raw post.postid}]" />
</label>
</vb:if>


ADD BELOW:

<div style="clear:both; border:1px dashed #c4c4c4; padding:10px; margin:10px 5px 5px 5px; background-color:#fefdf2;">
{vb:raw post.pagetext}
</div>


SAVE

* Yes I hardcoded the styling, the assumption being this will get added back to the core.
** If you don't care about having the excerpt show when using the global advanced search you can stop here. Otherwise continue..

PART 2
AdminCP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> *YOUR STYLE* - I used the Default Style -> Search Templates -> SEARCH_COMMON

FIND:

<vb:if condition="$show['nocache']">
<div class="blockrow">
<label for="cb_nocache">
<input type="checkbox" name="nocache" value="1" id="cb_nocache" {vb:raw nocachechecked}/>&nbsp;{vb:rawphrase do_not_use_cached_results}
</label>
</div>
</vb:if>


ADD ABOVE

<vb:if condition="!$show['searchthread']">
<div class="blockrow">
<label for="cb_postexcerpt">Show post excerpt &nbsp;
<input type="checkbox" name="showposts" value="1" id="cb_postexcerpt" {vb:raw showpostschecked} />
</label>
</div>
</vb:if>

SAVE

AdminCP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> *YOUR STYLE* - I used the Default Style -> Search Templates -> SEARCH_INPUT_POST

FIND:

<vb:if condition="$show['nocache']">
<div class="blockrow">
<label for="cb_nocache">
<input type="checkbox" name="nocache" value="1" id="cb_nocache" {vb:raw nocachechecked}/>{vb:rawphrase do_not_use_cached_results}
</label>
</div>
</vb:if>


ADD ABOVE


<vb:if condition="!$show['searchthread']">
<div class="blockrow">
<label for="cb_postexcerpt">Show post excerpt &nbsp;
<input type="checkbox" name="showposts" value="1" id="cb_postexcerpt" {vb:raw showpostschecked} />
</label>
</div>
</vb:if>

SAVE

And that is it - Job Done !

Please click "Installed" and rate this Thread.

Thank You.

RustedBucket
01-08-2010, 02:07 PM
Reserved

baghdad4ever
02-26-2010, 12:04 PM
thank you verymuch

baghdad4ever
02-27-2010, 10:31 AM
it is working with 4.0.2 pl1

http://www.baghdad4ever.net/dros/vbulletin4/search6.JPG

Addams
03-29-2010, 10:00 AM
Aw, thanks! This is really useful ^^

How can I made it checked by default? :) Thanks!

Sorry for my english.

sKippah
03-31-2010, 06:45 PM
Absolutly nice. Tagged ;)

Is there a way to get this also for 2 languages? I am running a german/english board, and it would be nice if the sentence "Show post excerpt" changes, when someone is changing the board language. Thanks a lot

Muniesa
05-11-2010, 10:33 AM
Thanks for the mod. Not as streamline as in vb3, but for a user mod it's great work!

For those interested in making the search tick the box by default, just insert

checked="checked"


anywhere in the input type tag in steps 2 & 3.

E.g. I wrote had it as:


<input type="checkbox" name="showposts" checked="checked"
value="1" id="cb_postexcerpt" {vb:raw showpostschecked} />

Welshy2008
06-11-2010, 11:51 AM
Installed and working well on vB4.0.3 PL1 - Thank You.

Welshy2008
08-17-2010, 12:09 PM
Is this confirmed as woring on vB4.0.5 and 4.0.6, Please?

Welshy2008
09-24-2010, 07:44 AM
Didn't work on my 4.0.6. :(

By The way, in vB4.0.6 the following codes are replaced with the code shown underneath...


OP's original code in: (SEARCH _RESULTS_POSTBIT)

<vb:if condition="$show['inlinemod']">
<!-- fourth block -->
<label class="threadimod td">
<input type="checkbox" id="post_imod_checkbox_{vb:raw post.postid}" name="imodcheck[{vb:raw post.postid}]" />
</label>
</vb:if>

In 4.0.6 it's replaced with:

<vb:if condition="$show['inlinemod']">
<span class="nodecontrols">
<input type="checkbox" id="post_imod_checkbox_{vb:raw post.postid}" name="imodcheck[{vb:raw post.postid}]" />
</span>
</label>
</vb:if>


OP's Original code in: (SEARCH_COMMON)

<vb:if condition="$show['nocache']">
<div class="blockrow">
<label for="cb_nocache">
<input type="checkbox" name="nocache" value="1" id="cb_nocache" {vb:raw nocachechecked}/>&nbsp;{vb:rawphrase do_not_use_cached_results}
</label>
</div>
</vb:if>

In 4.0.6 it's replaced with:

<vb:if condition="$show['nocache']">
<div class="blockrow">
<label for="cb_nocache" class="rightcol">
<input type="checkbox" name="nocache" value="1" id="cb_nocache" tabindex="1" {vb:raw nocachechecked}/>&nbsp;{vb:rawphrase do_not_use_cached_results}
</label>
</div>
</vb:if>



OP's original code in: (SEARCH_INPUT_POST)


<vb:if condition="$show['nocache']">
<div class="blockrow">
<label for="cb_nocache">
<input type="checkbox" name="nocache" value="1" id="cb_nocache" {vb:raw nocachechecked}/>{vb:rawphrase do_not_use_cached_results}
</label>
</div>
</vb:if>

In 4.0.6 it's replaced with:

<vb:if condition="$show['nocache']">
<div class="blockrow">
<label for="cb_nocache" class="rightcol">
<input type="checkbox" name="nocache" value="1" id="cb_nocache" tabindex="1" {vb:raw nocachechecked}/> {vb:rawphrase do_not_use_cached_results}
</label>
</div>
</vb:if>

Welshy2008
01-24-2011, 12:37 AM
Not working on 4.0.7

Please update.