PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Left side column on forum home and forum display


Seven Skins
12-12-2009, 10:00 PM
Left side column on forum home and forum display

As the title says this mod simply puts a column on forumhome and forumdisplay pages.

Installation:
Download the attached XML file.
Import the product.
Edit navbar and footer templates. (See below)


Find in navbar template:
<div class="body_wrapper">

Add below:
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_start}





Add the code below to the first line of footer template:
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}



Footer template after adding the code:
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}

<vb:if condition="!empty($ad_location['ad_footer_start']) or !empty($ad_location['global_above_footer'])">
<div style="clear: {vb:stylevar left}">
{vb:raw ad_location.ad_footer_start}
{vb:raw ad_location.global_above_footer}
</div>
</vb:if>

......



Once you have installed the modification edit "SevenSkins - Templates > ss_leftcolumn_contents to put your advert or contents in the side column.


Finally don't forget to click install.


Thanks to Lynne for additional css plugin code which I used in this modification.


PS. Do not use my side column mods together use only one.

================================================== ==

If you want to enable or disable this hack on different pages of the forum ..
Edit the ss_leftcolumn_start and ss_leftcolumn_end templates:

Find:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay'">


Edit it to ... for home page:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index'">

Edit it to ... for homepage, forumdisplay and showthread:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'">


================================================== ==


Updates:
15 Jan 10: Updated
- Save the code from "ss_leftcolumn_contents" template. (Code for ads, etc)
- Revert template belonging to this product.
- Then import the product over writting the existing installation.
- Put your ad code in the "ss_leftcolumn_contents" template.


15 Jan 10: Updated for vBulletin 4.0.1
2 templates has been changed.
- Save the code from "ss_leftcolumn_contents" template. (Code for ads, etc)
- Revert template belonging to this product.
- Then import the product over writting the existing installation.
- Put your ad code in the "ss_leftcolumn_contents" template.


22 Dec 09: Working with vBulletin 4.0.0 (Gold)


.

RamisK
12-13-2009, 03:24 PM
very usefull. thanks

g00gl3r
12-13-2009, 04:53 PM
Reserved. I need this. :)

Thanks. :D

tafreeh
12-13-2009, 06:27 PM
this feature is now default by Vb, unless you have got something extra in it... do you ?

HMBeaty
12-13-2009, 06:38 PM
this feature is now default by Vb, unless you have got something extra in it... do you ?

IMO, it looks better than the default and the default one is too wide for some people (as stated in the other thread)

bluidkiti
12-13-2009, 07:12 PM
I definitely like this better than the default one! And it doesn't bounce when you go to the index page. :-)

HMBeaty
12-13-2009, 07:15 PM
How would you do this if you just want it to show on FORUMHOME page?

I definitely like this better than the default one!

You COULD edit the XML file and change:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay'">
to
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index'">
and re-import

bluidkiti
12-13-2009, 07:39 PM
When I add a third section the white background for doc_background shrinks. Noted in images below:

107502

107503

I would really love to be able to add more sections to the column.

bluidkiti
12-13-2009, 07:44 PM
Fixed it! :-)

Alecsmith
12-14-2009, 06:01 AM
Install working fine :)

Thanks

Alecsmith
12-14-2009, 05:35 PM
I am finding
<div class="body_wrapper">

Code in VB4 5 Beta and both side column are not align check home page link.

http://www.earningpalace.com/forum

badawidollah
12-15-2009, 12:14 AM
i dont see install button

saviola8x
12-15-2009, 06:56 AM
how to show Left side column on showthread ?

Seven Skins
12-15-2009, 03:10 PM
I am finding
<div class="body_wrapper">

Code in VB4 5 Beta and both side column are not align check home page link.

http://www.earningpalace.com/forum

1 - This is not for Beta 5 it is for RC2.

2 - you cannot use both side coulmns togather (I am working on column on both sides.)

3 - you may edit the css template for rightcolumn and move the column up/down.

Seven Skins
12-15-2009, 03:12 PM
how to show Left side column on showthread ?

edit ss_leftcolumn_end and ss_leftcolumn_start templates
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'">


.

hendri
12-22-2009, 11:34 PM
i like it ! thanks !

thangbinh
12-25-2009, 12:07 AM
thanks, very cool

suryoyena
12-28-2009, 12:33 AM
Good thing - thanks. I think I will use it.

Is it possible to use the widgets in the column?

Like recent forum comments, blog comments, etc..

Would be nice.

merry xmas,
chris

jnrdavo
12-28-2009, 02:46 AM
great product, but how do I move the column first head down so it is level with the first forum (ie, mine is called 'forum rules')...

At the moment, the left column head is level with teh forum text, not the forum headers.

jnrdavo
12-28-2009, 02:54 AM
one more question.

My ads (in swf format) and coming out squashed...

They are 160px x 620px (approx), what tempate(?) would I adjust to get them to display correctly? Can the border also be removed?

Many thanks.

crashys
12-28-2009, 11:08 AM
Hi there, first of, great work with the mod! Really usefull :)
Just one question, is it possible to make the 'What's Going On?' column so that it looks like in this (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=230620) mod? It would be just perfect If it were possible to get it filling the bottom of the forums. Thanks in advance for your time and work, really great job.

Seven Skins
12-28-2009, 02:24 PM
Hmm, After editing forumhome template .. this will work only on forumhome not other pages.

.

crashys
12-28-2009, 05:28 PM
Hmm, After editing forumhome template .. this will work only on forumhome not other pages.

.

That's precisely what I wanted. Can you guide me how to do it?

Here (http://www.vermelhices.com/forum/forum.php) is my forum link.

Thanks

Verionia
12-29-2009, 03:32 AM
so this works with vbulletin suite gold?

Seven Skins
12-29-2009, 12:29 PM
That's precisely what I wanted. Can you guide me how to do it?

Here (http://www.vermelhices.com/forum/forum.php) is my forum link.

Thanks

I will try it out and let you know later.

so this works with vbulletin suite gold?

Yes it does.

crashys
12-29-2009, 07:29 PM
I will try it out and let you know later.:up:

Alecsmith
01-02-2010, 12:21 PM
How to reduce space and make it small it like twine banners my forum link in my siggy space.

Doctor Death
01-08-2010, 01:35 AM
I have a series of member photographs, very small... 99 pixels wide.

I would like to know if I could display my members photos on the left panel two-by-twos using this product.

all of the images are 99 x 84 pixels wide, so I imagine using some form of html table.

what would you recommend and do you think this would be an appropriate product to do this with or is there something native in Vbulletin that would be better?

(I only want them displayed on the main CMS landing page)

Thanks!

Seven Skins
01-08-2010, 09:48 AM
For cms page you can make a html widget with a table to put your images.

Doctor Death
01-08-2010, 10:58 AM
For cms page you can make a html widget with a table to put your images.

Thats a great idea... I am trying to have pictures with their names below them, two across.

can you give me a sample of what that HTML code would look like?

Thank you again.

greenchicken
01-08-2010, 03:27 PM
I have 2 skins... 1 adfree and one regular... how do I remove this from only the ad free style?

Seven Skins
01-08-2010, 08:25 PM
revert the template edits you done to the ads free style.

Seven Skins
01-08-2010, 08:34 PM
Thats a great idea... I am trying to have pictures with their names below them, two across.

can you give me a sample of what that HTML code would look like?

Thank you again.

If you are going to add members photo's manually you can make a widget with "Static HTML" and use something similar to this code below.

<table cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td>Image 1</td>
<td>Image 2</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Image 3</td>
<td>Image 4</td>
</tr>
</table>


But if you to add the images automatically then you will have to make a PHP Direct Execution widget.


.

openmind
01-20-2010, 08:57 AM
Installed. Wished I'd found this sooner and I would have got two hours of my life back ;)

Alecsmith
03-09-2010, 08:58 AM
installed again work great on Vb 4.0.2 PL 1

BRotondi
03-14-2010, 09:25 PM
this feature is now default by VbYes for the CMS, but also for the forum.php?

Is there a simple way to enable/disable the column? I want the users give the possibility to click it away or get it back.

Thanks for the Add!
Bruno

nirvana43
03-16-2010, 11:08 AM
Its not displaying correct style on vBulletin 4.0.2 :(
Can you please help?

Seven Skins
03-16-2010, 08:17 PM
What seems to be the issue?

Welshy2008
03-17-2010, 01:33 PM
Great,

Thank You.

I too would like this to be inline with my Main Forum ** Please see a 'before' and 'after' screenshot of how I would like it.:)

I would also like the "What's going on box" to be 100% width of the forum too.


Would you be kind enough as to tell me how I would do this please?

As soon as I am able to do Both of the above, I will Rate and Nominate. :p


Many Thanks.

BRotondi
03-17-2010, 02:21 PM
Use FireBug to get into the Html-Code and test margins etc.

Seven Skins
03-19-2010, 09:28 PM
Great,

Thank You.

I too would like this to be inline with my Main Forum ** Please see a 'before' and 'after' screenshot of how I would like it.:)

I would also like the "What's going on box" to be 100% width of the forum too.


Would you be kind enough as to tell me how I would do this please?

As soon as I am able to do Both of the above, I will Rate and Nominate. :p


Many Thanks.


If you align this with forum categories at home page what would you do about the empty space on top of the bar and forumdisply.php pages.

.

Welshy2008
03-20-2010, 10:35 AM
Thank you for your reply, I hope you don't mind, but, I have just PM'd you.

Best Wishes,

Welshy2008.

tarzan22
03-30-2010, 05:38 PM
Please, when I put the user moves online with Internet Explorer being so


http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/4355/ss2hn.png

Knows that it can be?

regards

badawidollah
04-03-2010, 04:44 AM
installed for VB402

thanks

Dirt Bike Addict
05-11-2010, 01:20 AM
Thanks Seven Skins for the mod. I've looking for something like this for days.

My problem:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/05/47.jpg


How do I get it to drop down below the chatbox? So that the chatbox is full screen and the side bar is even with the other 2.

This is the chatbox https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=235271

Thanks,
James

BRotondi
05-11-2010, 08:30 AM
Oups... this is a very user specific solution. Use FireBug to get into html and css, then customise both of the adds. But you will need some time and coding skill...

Edit: Perhaps it's also enough to add one more <div> Depends on how these adds work...

p@ndu
05-11-2010, 03:44 PM
thanks a lot very nice mod

but a small thing i want more than 2 blocks there.......

Rafa-el
05-16-2010, 02:31 AM
Bug. Don't works in vB 4.0.3 PL1.... Anyone can confirm?

Gipskopf
05-23-2010, 07:54 AM
I was looking for this solution since a while now. Thanks for the add on.
But is there a way to make it visible for non members only?

Thanks again
ED

Dirt Bike Addict
06-09-2010, 02:22 PM
Edit: Perhaps it's also enough to add one more <div> Depends on how these adds work...

That worked:up: Thanks

p@ndu
08-08-2010, 12:59 AM
hello i installed this mod

but i need a small help that i only need left column in FORUMHOME but im even geting this in FORUMDISPLAY

now plz help me to get this only in FORUMHOME

Thanks In Advance
IndianHacker

p@ndu
08-13-2010, 01:13 PM
plz any1 help....

Seven Skins
08-13-2010, 08:31 PM
^^ Read the instructions on how to do that.

p@ndu
08-16-2010, 02:39 PM
fixed....thanks bro...

Welshy2008
08-17-2010, 11:47 AM
Is this working on vBs 4.0.5 and 4.0.6 please?

Dirt Bike Addict
10-15-2010, 05:31 PM
Is this working on vBs 4.0.5 and 4.0.6 please?

:up: It's working on 4.0.7

Dirt Bike Addict
10-15-2010, 05:32 PM
Is there any way to make the "What's Going On" box full width?

the dave
09-05-2011, 01:35 AM
I tried to add this to replicate an older side column on my forum, did as you tell us for setup/install and it ended up on the bottom right of my page?(weird) im on 4.1.5, the guy i ran my site with was the VB expert and im on my own now so im trying to stay simple but im frickin lost right now!

Seven Skins
09-07-2011, 06:35 PM
You have to add these to the correct place in the templates:

{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_start}
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}

John Lester
09-13-2011, 07:00 PM
the_dave is correct, with vB 4.1.5 following the instructions results in a nice white space along the left, but the content boxes are in the bottom right corner under the whois box. I would also love to be able to leave the whois online box at 100% (have the column end before the whois online box) if at all possible.

I'm too much of a novice to figure out what change affected this since the mods last update

victorvu
10-08-2011, 09:14 PM
Hi:

Thank you for the mods. I installed both left and right columns; however, the format is little off for me. I am not sure when using both columns, they give me the issue.

The first pix is for when not loging in the forum when using both left and right columns, as shown below. This is at the top forum level.

133599

The second pix is for the same but one level down from top forum level, as shown below.



The thrird pix is for after logging in, as shown below.

133600

Any suggestions to fix the issue?


I have one more suggestion that can the columns locate side by side, next to each other? I think we need that option to place it side by side, regardless left or right.

Thanks again for the mods. Installed, voted and nominated.
:up:

lem
12-29-2011, 08:21 AM
I've added the code in the places that the instructions stated, but my board is messed up: http://eatsrice.com/forums/forum.php

The footer is not clearing. Any ideas?

Seven Skins
12-29-2011, 10:16 PM
You have a mssing </div> tag in your style somewhere, check footer template to start with.

Jdm Ej1 Coupe
12-30-2011, 06:07 PM
I am wondering how I can add a random picture per day to be displayed on the column

CappingTheGame
01-02-2012, 12:53 AM
Great work with this, greatly appreciated.

Quickly, and I'm sure its something simple, but what am I doing wrong here? Left side bar is showing up all the way at bottom of page and on the right side. Any guidance is appreciated.

Thanks again.

CappingTheGame
01-04-2012, 01:40 AM
Any help?

Seven Skins
01-04-2012, 09:29 AM
You have to add these to the correct place in the templates:

{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_start}
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}

If you have a custom style then you will have to find out where to add them.

zyiad
01-04-2012, 11:35 AM
thanks

CappingTheGame
01-04-2012, 03:25 PM
Hmm, thanks.

Reviewed a few times and they seem to be in the correct positions -- but obviously not.

CappingTheGame
01-04-2012, 04:28 PM
Anybody that can help with the above issue, it would be appreciated. Thought I had them in the right places but still getting the above dislocation (bottom right of forum). Added them to my custom template in Navbar and Footer as prescribed above.

Johan Hiemstra
02-05-2012, 06:18 PM
Thanks for the mod.

I need to display different contents in the side column, based on the forumid, but it seems the forumid is not known in ss_leftcolumn_contents. Is there a way I can parse/retrieve the forumid so I can add conditionals in the contents template?

EDIT: nvm, registered foruminfo[forumid] in contents template with a custom plugin at hook forum_display_start

SugarChick
02-12-2012, 02:18 AM
As far as CappingThe Game and others that had issues with 4.1.x and it showing up at the bottom footer...

I got it to work by going into the footer template and instead of doing this:

{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}
{vb:raw ad_location.ad_footer_start}
{vb:raw ad_location.global_above_footer}
</div>

Find in footer template (top of footer template):
HTML Code:

{vb:raw ad_location.ad_footer_start}

Add above:
HTML Code:

{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}



I did this...

Find in footer template (top of footer template):
HTML Code:

{vb:raw ad_location.ad_footer_start}
{vb:raw ad_location.global_above_footer}
</div>

Add AFTER IT
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}

AKA moved the SS code BELOW the DIV instead of above the ad code as per the instructions.

This made it then show up just fine.

So that sectin of code looks like this:

<vb:if condition="!empty($ad_location['ad_footer_start']) or !empty($ad_location['global_above_footer'])">
<div style="clear: {vb:stylevar left}">
{vb:raw ad_location.ad_footer_start}
{vb:raw ad_location.global_above_footer}
</div>
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}

Taurus1
04-29-2012, 03:39 AM
I am getting these database errors. Can you please help me. Thanks.

Database error in vBulletin : mysql_connect() [<a href='function.mysql-connect'>function.mysql-connect</a>]: Too many connections /home/thebull/public_html/forums/includes/class_core.php on line 317 MySQL Error : Error Number : Request Date : Saturday, April 28th 2012 @ 11:08:15 PM Error Date : Saturday, April 28th 2012 @ 11:08:15 PM Script : http://creativx.net/forums/css.php?styleid=145&langid=1&d=1335594073&sheet=ss_leftcolumn_css.css Referrer : http://creativx.net/windows-7-themes-light-thebull/ IP Address : 201.47.220.169 Username : Classname : vB_Database MySQL Version :

Taurus1
04-29-2012, 03:50 AM
I also have an issue that on certain forum skins my adsense adds I have in this left column just don't show at all. On some skins it works, others not. Someone knows why this will be?

Thanks.

Seven Skins
04-29-2012, 10:34 AM
For ads not showing see if the skins has all the hooks.

for DB error "Too many connections ..." this is webhost error and has nothing to do with this hack.

Taurus1
04-29-2012, 11:02 AM
For ads not showing see if the skins has all the hooks.

for DB error "Too many connections ..." this is webhost error and has nothing to do with this hack.

Thank you. Can you please tell me what hooks to look for, and where?

Taurus1
05-01-2012, 05:25 AM
I really don't get it. The hooks are in the Navbar and Footer templates for all skins, and the contents are in the templates, yet in some skins the adds just wont show.

Seven Skins
05-01-2012, 06:52 AM
There are more then 130 hook in the templates (vBulletin 4.1.12) ... compare your custom templates with the default templates. Look for vb:raw template_hook when searching for hook location.

OakleyBoss
05-09-2012, 04:07 AM
Can you please tell me how to change the color of the text of the title? I saw it refers to ss_column_head and I found that inside of the ss_leftcolumn_css.css but when I look at it, it says it refers to forumhead_color which in my case is white. For some reason it is showing up as dark blue and it is very hard to see. I'm not sure if its relevant but for my title I am using html to link to my register page.

Seven Skins
05-09-2012, 09:33 AM
You can change this text:

color:{vb:stylevar forumhead_color};


To

color: #ffffff;
.

cloferba
05-11-2012, 07:29 PM
The right column version doesn´t work on vbulletin 4.1.12

booble
05-20-2012, 10:14 AM
The right column version doesn?t work on vbulletin 4.1.12
and the left work?:confused:

Taurus1
06-09-2012, 04:19 AM
I cannot get this to work on skins I installed after upgrading to 4.2.0

It just throws it at the bottom. I did the template edits in the navbar and footer.

It does work on my skins installed prior to the upgrade. Anyone else experience this perhaps?

Jonathan81
08-04-2012, 02:50 PM
Has anyone managed to get this to work in 4.2?

I'm not even getting close (see attached).

J

Jonathan81
08-04-2012, 03:20 PM
OK, managed to get it working. In the footer template, {vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end} should be added after </vb:if>

Like this:

{vb:raw ad_location.ad_footer_start}
{vb:raw ad_location.global_above_footer}
</div>
</vb:if>
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}

Great mod, exactly what I was looking for.

Jonathan81
08-04-2012, 04:32 PM
Good thing - thanks. I think I will use it.

Is it possible to use the widgets in the column?

Like recent forum comments, blog comments, etc..

Would be nice.

merry xmas,
chris

Is this possible?

Seven Skins
08-05-2012, 09:06 PM
No it is not, you will have to write your own code.

jnrdavo
10-01-2012, 08:45 PM
got it working...

Any way to get it to be in line with the members photos/other forum blocks?

http://www.ozbmw.com

Would like to change all my forums to use left side, from the current right side.

fxdigi-cash
02-01-2013, 01:58 PM
Hi, Thanks for the nice mod. I could manage doing it in few minutes.

For some reason I had to change where {vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end} has to be placed to just above <div class="below_body"> instead and worked well on vb4.2

also, I believe you know that whatever you want to add or remove on that block will be from this variable on the code; ss_leftcolumn_contents

Thanks again for the good work,
Cheers,

fxdigi-cash
05-27-2013, 06:59 PM
BTY, is it possible to disable this mod at some forum say forum 12 if this condition is used:

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'forumdisplay'">

volkis
10-02-2014, 01:52 PM
2014 Still Amazing (: Many Thanks

satriamuda99
10-05-2014, 06:59 AM
This does not work in vb 4.2.2 please help :(:(

Seven Skins
10-05-2014, 10:39 AM
Yes it does work with 4.2.2 live demo .. http://www.sevenskins.com/forum/forum.php?styleid=43

You need to edit templates and add {vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_start} and {vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end} at the correct place.

Calahan
10-14-2014, 12:40 PM
Works good with vB420

Is it possible to show this column just to unregistered users?

Seven Skins
10-14-2014, 01:37 PM
you can do this to header and footer code edits.

<vb:if condition="$show['guest']">
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_start}
</vb:if>


<vb:if condition="$show['guest']">
{vb:raw ss_leftcolumn_end}
</vb:if>

Calahan
10-16-2014, 12:53 PM
First off all thanks for your help and your Mod
It works fine but I found a small problem
If I visit my forum in Chrome with AdblockPlus activated I can't login to the board
I can enter my username and the password but the password is shown an I can't push the Log in Button
Any idea?

Seven Skins
10-16-2014, 04:32 PM
This hack does not use any JavaScript, therefore this hack is not causing any issue with any other scripts.

Adblockplus may be causing the problem.

mangmel
01-21-2016, 06:12 AM
marked as installed!