View Full Version : how to do this?
Hex_legend
12-03-2009, 02:40 PM
I have seen this done on a few vbulletin sites and I know it will take a lot of modding, but I would like some advice on how to do this.
I own a modelling agency and I'd like the registration page to show up with:
Models | Photographers | Hair Stylists
When they choose one of the options, each option takes them to a different registration page, with different questions. As its pointless having questions for a model for a hair stylist.
So the pages would be like:
modelregistration.php
photoregistration.php
hairregistration.php
All of which would register the user as normal, but put them into that particular usergroup
Lynne
12-03-2009, 02:51 PM
You'd probably have to copy the registration page (or just have registration.php?type=model or type=photo or type=hair) and modify each to suite your needs.
Hex_legend
12-03-2009, 03:05 PM
so the registration page is ok to be copied? it will still work ok?
What about having the fields show up? As I use the ACP profile field manager to show them on registration.
how do you do ?type=model etc
Lynne
12-03-2009, 03:10 PM
so the registration page is ok to be copied? it will still work ok?
What about having the fields show up? As I use the ACP profile field manager to show them on registration.
how do you do ?type=model etc
I would guess you could copy the registration page - I don't see why not. You'd have to change some things that refer to that specific page (THIS_SCRIPT comes right to mind).
As for type=model etc... you would just create a new variable that gets passed to the page, just as t=xxx or p=xxx gets passed. And then in the registration page, you would have an if area that is kinda like this (of course, run the variables through the cleaner):
if ($type == 'model')
{
do this stuff
} else if ($type == 'photo')
{
do this stuff
} else if ($type == 'hair')
{
do this stuff
}
Hex_legend
12-03-2009, 03:17 PM
So to get this straight. the variable that I need to create is done in the registration page?
Lynne
12-03-2009, 03:41 PM
Well, that is probably how I would go about it, yes. I'd just use the same registration page but add in that new variable which would do different things based on what is passed.
I'm just taking a stab at this and saying how I would do it. I'm sure there are several different ways to go about it, but to me, the easiest would be to create that new variable and use the same registration page instead of having to coy the page and worry about what is changed every time you install a new version.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.