View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - New Thread Button on post viewing
cabledr
11-18-2009, 10:00 PM
I find that members post more when there is a post new thread option after they have posted / when there reading thread so i have done the following with a little bit of help from Lynne (thanks)
Go to the Showthread template :
First find :
<a href="newreply.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}p={vb:raw LASTPOSTID}"
class="textcontrol" id="newreplylink_top"><vb:if condition="$show['closethread']"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase reply_to_thread}<vb:else />{vb:rawphrase closed_thread}</vb:if></a>
<img style="display:none" id="progress_newreplylink_top" src="images/misc/progress.gif" alt="" />
then after add :
<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a>
then find :
<a href="newreply.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}p={vb:raw LASTPOSTID}"
class="textcontrol" id="newreplylink_bottom"
><vb:if condition="$show['closethread']"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase reply_to_thread}<vb:else />{vb:rawphrase closed_thread}</vb:if></a>
Then after add :
  <span style="padding-left:140px">
<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_bottom"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a></span>
UPDATE
Make the new thread button bigger as requested :)
Go to > Showthread.css
At the very bottom add >
#newthreadlink_top, #newthreadlink_bottom {
background: {vb:stylevar control_content_background};
-moz-border-radius: {vb:stylevar control_content_radius};
-webkit-border-radius: {vb:stylevar control_content_radius};
-moz-box-shadow: 0 3px 8px #e1e1e1;
-webkit-box-shadow: 0 3px 8px #e1e1e1;
font: {vb:stylevar control_content_font};
color: {vb:stylevar control_content_color};
padding: {vb:stylevar control_content_padding};
display:inline-block;
clear:both;
}
#newthreadlink_top span, #newthreadlink_bottom span {
font-size:15px;
font-weight:bold;
display:inline;
}
#newthreadlink_top:hover, #newthreadlink_bottom:hover {
background: {vb:stylevar control_content_hover_background};
}
Screen shot attached (new one coming :))
steve1966
11-19-2009, 04:32 PM
Thanks will give it a try :)
erel34
11-19-2009, 05:33 PM
thanks
Kolbi
11-19-2009, 06:40 PM
The second code is not XHTML valid. ThereĀ“s an open span tag that is not closed.
cabledr
11-19-2009, 07:22 PM
sorry bit confused by your reply i only put that in to move it away from new reply and as far as i knew that was correct coding if you can improve it please let me know and i will change it
Kolbi
11-20-2009, 09:14 AM
sorry bit confused by your reply i only put that in to move it away from new reply and as far as i knew that was correct coding if you can improve it please let me know and i will change it
  <span style="padding-left:140px">
<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_bottom"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a></span>
mbc100
11-20-2009, 12:59 PM
It will be easy
cabledr
11-20-2009, 01:32 PM
  <span style="padding-left:140px">
<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_bottom"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a></span>
thanks i will change mod
Dr.osamA
11-22-2009, 02:41 AM
Thank you, man
I will try
but in the attached photo shows a small button
________
Ferrari 250 Tr 61 Spyder Fantuzzi (http://www.ferrari-wiki.com/wiki/Ferrari_250_TR_61_Spyder_Fantuzzi)
cabledr
11-22-2009, 07:50 AM
Yes it shows a small button at the moment im trying to find the correct way to make it show a big button but should just be a simple edit to change size
bluidkiti
11-22-2009, 10:51 AM
This is so very wonderful! One of the things I was looking for. Thank you!
I now have VB4 Beta 4 and just added this and it works great! :)
Dr.osamA
11-22-2009, 09:48 PM
Yes it shows a small button at the moment im trying to find the correct way to make it show a big button but should just be a simple edit to change size
but Fast, man
hhhhhhh:D
Weting for You
thnxxx man
________
Big Tits Round (http://www.++++tube.com/categories/280/round/videos/1)
cabledr
11-26-2009, 11:28 AM
New thread button now shows same size as requested just add the new bit of code to the bottom of showthread.css :)
taffy056
11-26-2009, 11:50 AM
New thread button now shows same size as requested just add the new bit of code to the bottom of showthread.css :)
Thanks that works fine :up: one thing though is slightly out of alignment with the 'Reply to Thread' button, is there a way to fix that ?
cabledr
11-26-2009, 11:57 AM
I will look at that now it can only be either coding or the .css i added
taffy056
11-26-2009, 12:01 PM
Thanks very much, it looks like this at the moment
cabledr
11-26-2009, 12:08 PM
At the moment only way i can get them in a sort of inline mode is one above the other what in my eyes dont look as nice
taffy056
11-26-2009, 12:18 PM
perhaps there is a way for the 'reply to thread' icon to be inline with what you have done?
I am happy with it in truth as is, people put so much effort into hacks that sometimes I feel that we are asking to much, so thanks for your efforts :)
cabledr
11-27-2009, 08:21 PM
i will not give up im just trying to finish a bsic thanks mod untill the real one is rereleashed and i have a shoutbox in the works but dont you worry we will sort something
cabledr
11-27-2009, 09:22 PM
i have a semi thanks button now working just needs a few final touches only issue is cant stop people from thanking there selfs :( and its all new coding not a modded mod
bluidkiti
12-05-2009, 11:10 AM
Hi cabledr, I sent you a pm.
ChopSuey
12-14-2009, 09:49 AM
Maybe change size in the the CSS file?
taffy056
12-22-2009, 10:17 AM
At the moment only way i can get them in a sort of inline mode is one above the other what in my eyes dont look as nice
Can you post up this way, as its a lot more out of line now that 4.0 gold has come out.
Thanks for sharing this :up:
bluidkiti
12-22-2009, 10:37 AM
I can get the top section to line up by doing this:
In SHOWTHREAD template:
After:
{vb:rawphrase reply_to_thread}
Add:
<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a>
I can't get the bottom one to work right yet. I also would like to put a space between the 2 buttons but putting between them doesn't seem to work.
taffy056
12-22-2009, 11:14 AM
I can get the top section to line up by doing this:
Okay that worked, the only thing is, I got two post a new thread on the top now lol , also perhaps if we can remove the bottom ciompletely for now it might good, do you know how to do that?
Thanks by the way :)
taffy056
12-22-2009, 11:16 AM
Sorry figured them both out, thanks for the tips
Cableguy69
12-22-2009, 02:12 PM
I can get the top section to line up by doing this:
In SHOWTHREAD template:
After:
{vb:rawphrase reply_to_thread}
Add:
<a href="newthread.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=newthread&f={vb:raw thread.forumid}" rel="nofollow" class="newcontent_textcontrol" id="newthreadlink_top"><span>+</span> {vb:rawphrase post_new_thread}</a>
I can't get the bottom one to work right yet. I also would like to put a space between the 2 buttons but putting between them doesn't seem to work.
A quick fix to get around that would be to make a small transparent image upload it to say images/misc and use <img src="images/misc/transparent_spacer.png> between the 2 buttons.
bluidkiti
12-24-2009, 07:37 AM
Sorry figured them both out, thanks for the tips
Did you get the bottom one so it is inline also? If so, how did you do this?
alpertunga688
01-07-2010, 12:18 AM
thanks
giorgino
08-23-2010, 07:39 AM
This mod conflict with Facebook button (I Like).
Can you update? :)
MikeDC
09-11-2010, 10:11 PM
If you select a post to quote, does the quote transfer to the new thread as well?
Tariq AlAli
09-12-2010, 09:41 AM
Greetingz
I can't find the code in vb 4.0.6 under SHOWTHREAD... any clue ?
cabledr
09-17-2010, 01:36 PM
Sorry been away for a bit snowed under with work i plan to get this all working with 4.7 this week
cabledr
09-22-2010, 09:17 PM
i have tested the above code on 4.7 and it still works but the button still isnt quiet inline so will be working on that ref facebook if you go in the coding you will see the face book bit you just need to move it over with some spaces im guessing can we have a screen shot ??
Also what part in showthread cant you find ?
final kaoss
09-29-2010, 11:20 PM
I would use this only if there was a xml file for it... having to re add this to 6 skins with every update is proving to be a real pain
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.