View Full Version : Forum Display Enhancements - Separate Sticky and Normal Threads
lkn m3
09-05-2011, 10:56 PM
Thank you for this works great!!!
KissOfDeath
10-16-2011, 07:58 PM
Hi, when this mod is used in a sub forum it makes the inline mod options stop working
karel1985
10-19-2011, 05:03 PM
Hi, when this mod is used in a sub forum it makes the inline mod options stop working
Same here, i cant seem to use the option to select all threads...
KGodel
10-23-2011, 11:20 PM
Has anyone been able to isolate where the inline mod issue is?
AusPhotography
10-28-2011, 10:25 PM
Has anyone been able to isolate where the inline mod issue is?
Yes! See post above: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2185297&postcount=236
Freak0204
11-08-2011, 12:57 AM
Thanks for this!
skengman
11-15-2011, 03:53 PM
Works fine Cheers !
squidsk
12-02-2011, 03:54 PM
Yes! See post above: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2185297&postcount=236
Only problem with this solution is that it generates html that won't validate because you have a div as a direct descendant of a ul tag.
squidsk
12-07-2011, 04:31 PM
To fix the in-line mod selection problem and have valid xhtml you need to make three changes to your vbulletin-core.js file. No changes are actually required to the plugin itself.
The problem is that the JavaScript that's checking and un-checking the checkboxes from the inline mod menu does not check if there actually is a checkbox before trying to work with the checkbox.
I'll put the changes for those using both the compressed and uncompressed JavaScript.
Uncompressed javascript make the following changes in order otherwise the line numbers will not match up with what I have listed here:
On line 2761 change:
if (this.collection[i].checkbox.checked)to
if (this.collection[i].checkbox && this.collection[i].checkbox.checked)
On line 2889, nest the switch statement in an if statement as follows:
switch (action[1])
{
case "invert": {
this.checkbox.checked = !this.checkbox.checked;
}
break;
case "none": {
this.checkbox.checked = false;
}
break;
case "class":
{
this.checkbox.checked = YAHOO.util.Dom.hasClass(this.container, action[2]);
}
break;
case "flag":
{
if (typeof action[2] != undefined && !isNaN(action[2]))
{
this.checkbox.checked = this.checkbox.value & action[2];
}
else
{
this.checkbox.checked = true;
}
}
break;
default:
case "all": {
this.checkbox.checked = true;
}
break;
}
to
if(this.checkbox)
{
switch (action[1])
{
case "invert": {
this.checkbox.checked = !this.checkbox.checked;
}
break;
case "none": {
this.checkbox.checked = false;
}
break;
case "class":
{
this.checkbox.checked = YAHOO.util.Dom.hasClass(this.container, action[2]);
}
break;
case "flag":
{
if (typeof action[2] != undefined && !isNaN(action[2]))
{
this.checkbox.checked = this.checkbox.value & action[2];
}
else
{
this.checkbox.checked = true;
}
}
break;
default:
case "all": {
this.checkbox.checked = true;
}
break;
}
}
On line 2941 wrap the content of three lines of code in an if statement as follows:
var func = (this.checkbox.checked ? "addClass" : "removeClass");
YAHOO.util.Dom[func](this.container, "imod_highlight");
console.log("Set Inlinemod State for %s - %s", this.itemid, func);
to
if(this.checkbox)
{
var func = (this.checkbox.checked ? "addClass" : "removeClass");
YAHOO.util.Dom[func](this.container, "imod_highlight");
console.log("Set Inlinemod State for %s - %s", this.itemid, func);
}
If you're using the compressed javascript then you'll need to make the following equivalent adjustments in the order listed for the column numbers to point to the correct location in the file:
At column 32267 add:
this.collection[A].checkbox&&
At column 34118 add:
if(this.checkbox){
At column 34531 add a close swiggly bracket:
}
At column 34780 add:
if(this.checkbox){
At column 34964 add a close swiggly bracket:
}For the compressed changes, change 1 corresponds to the change 1 from the uncompressed, 2 & 3 correspond to change 2 from the uncompressed and 4 & 5 correspond to change 3 from the uncompressed javascript.
datoneer
12-10-2011, 09:45 PM
Great mod. Works on 4.1.8
Raioneru
01-04-2012, 10:35 PM
I installed it and it works perfectly, thank you!
Is there any way to just leave the "Normal Threads" tab in blank?
Luffy-9
01-05-2012, 09:11 AM
Is this will work with VB 4.1.9!!
It's mod good.
Installed into foro.mediotiempo.com (http://foro.mediotiempo.com)
Thanks for development.
squidsk
01-16-2012, 03:05 AM
I installed it and it works perfectly, thank you!
Is there any way to just leave the "Normal Threads" tab in blank?
Yes edit the appropriate template.
AusPhotography
02-10-2012, 01:34 AM
To fix the in-line mod selection problem and have valid xhtml you need to make three changes to your vbulletin-core.js file. No changes are actually required to the plugin itself.
<snip>
Overkill much! Try https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2185297&postcount=236 mucho easier.
Kym
squidsk
02-10-2012, 03:15 PM
Overkill much! Try https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2185297&postcount=236 mucho easier.
Kym
Before criticizing actually try to read the post and understand what it says. Your fix works, except that it generates invalid xhtml, specifically no element, the <div> in your fix, can be in a <ul> that is not within an <li>. So if you notice my fix specifically says to fix with valid xhtml do the following. It may not mean a lot to you to have your site displaying valid xhtml, but that isn't true for me and likely isn't true for many others.
DanHamilton
02-13-2012, 07:43 AM
Works great, Makes my board look a lot cleaner.
Thanks.
RapidRippeR
03-09-2012, 03:33 AM
Perfect :)
Nirjonadda
04-05-2012, 06:25 PM
Can't select multiple threads or select inverse the javascript isn't working
anyone else had the issue?
and how can i fix this...i try all browser but could not resolved the problem
squidsk
04-06-2012, 04:10 AM
Can't select multiple threads or select inverse the javascript isn't working
anyone else had the issue?
and how can i fix this...i try all browser but could not resolved the problem
There are two posts, #259 and #236 that address the issue in two different ways.
Nirjonadda
04-06-2012, 05:28 PM
There are two posts, #259 and #236 that address the issue in two different ways.
Added post #236 In VB4.1.10 forum, the 'Inline Mod' tool is not working for some sections/sub-sections, whereas for other section/sub-section that tool is working.
I can select/Deselect All threads & other actions in those sections.
Please sugest the posible cause & remedies.
skido
04-08-2012, 12:07 AM
Thank you :D
Chadi
05-24-2012, 08:47 PM
Mine is not working, custom template. Just curious how to fix it.
Thank you.
kamran_dotnet
05-25-2012, 08:37 AM
Mine is not working, custom template. Just curious how to fix it.
Thank you.
but you have no sticky thread in this photo to be separated!
kamran_dotnet
05-25-2012, 08:37 AM
anyone test "Separate Sticky and Normal Threads" in Vbulletin 4.2 ?
ProFifaLeagues
06-10-2012, 05:01 AM
anyone test "Separate Sticky and Normal Threads" in Vbulletin 4.2 ?
Work fine in 4.2 Kamran
qpurser
06-27-2012, 12:54 PM
Yep. Works in vBulletin 4.2.0 Patch Level 2.
The inline mod works also when implementing the changes posted in one of the previous pages (Post #236).
Love it
nukinfuts29
07-04-2012, 05:11 AM
This should be a default thing. Great mod, works perfect thank you
tonym
07-30-2012, 12:17 AM
Works great on custom template here Vb4.2
Thanks
DaNis
08-13-2012, 07:20 PM
The translation was translated into Turkish by SirtLan.
artcrimes
08-17-2012, 12:21 PM
Thanks Atakan KOC , How do remove seperate in the upper?
* ?stteki fazladan ?izgiyi nasıl kaldırabiliriz atakan bey? Sadece sabit konular ve normal konular arasında ?izgi olsun, ?stte fazladan bir ?izgi daha var.
Regards
elfenny
08-26-2012, 05:47 PM
Installed, thanks.
fookaa
09-04-2012, 04:42 PM
Thanks works perfectly on 4.2.0 custom theme :D
Question: Should the mod be called eperate ? not Seperate ? lol
JabirA
09-12-2012, 07:54 AM
Would be perfect if it was possible to collapse/expand the sticky threads. Is this easy to make?
Randhal007
09-16-2012, 03:45 PM
thanks a lot, and working on vb4.2
goldoff
09-16-2012, 06:26 PM
thanks a lot, and working on vb4.2
I have had to reverse and uninstall because while was active there have been lots of duplicate posts all over the forum.
Maybe a coincidence, but the problem has disappeared when I uninstalled...
Budabing
09-24-2012, 11:17 PM
installed on 4.2 working great. Thanks
Humor me
10-15-2012, 02:21 AM
does this work on 4.2?
squidsk
10-15-2012, 02:53 AM
does this work on 4.2?
Read the post above yours.
zombiemau5
12-21-2012, 04:26 PM
Installed, love it. Thanks!
ruger
12-22-2012, 08:37 AM
Working great on 4.2 Thanks!
JesterP
01-10-2013, 03:14 PM
Looking at this mod for one of my sites. Before I install, I would like to know how to have it leave a space in between the stickies and normal threads.
Does anyone know what the easiest way to accomplish this would be?
Thank you in advance!
Amaury
01-10-2013, 05:21 PM
Looking at this mod for one of my sites. Before I install, I would like to know how to have it leave a space in between the stickies and normal threads.
Does anyone know what the easiest way to accomplish this would be?
Thank you in advance!
It already does that.
JesterP
01-12-2013, 12:24 AM
It already does that.
I mean an actual gap to place an ad in. It look like it places a blockheader with writing in it, I mean an empty gap.
I'll try to hack it in.
hamids54
02-26-2013, 11:28 AM
I have vb4 now but I need to separate sticky and normal threads like vb5. it highlights sticky threads . for example:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/general/chit-chat?
is there a hack for it ?
squidsk
02-26-2013, 06:27 PM
I have vb4 now but I need to separate sticky and normal threads like vb5. it highlights sticky threads . for example:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/general/chit-chat?
is there a hack for it ?
Whether or not sticky threads are highlighted is determined by the style you're using. Change the stylevar that's associated with the background color of sticky threads and they'll have a different color. This hack just adds space, and labels between the sticky and non-sticky threads.
cjwinternet
04-09-2013, 08:50 AM
It works but it means you can't use the inline mod tool.
Uninstalled.
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/vbulletin-4/vbulletin-4-questions-problems-and-troubleshooting/341632-inline-mod-not-working?
mitch84
04-09-2013, 09:30 AM
It works but it means you can't use the inline mod tool.
Uninstalled.
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/vbulletin-4/vbulletin-4-questions-problems-and-troubleshooting/341632-inline-mod-not-working?
worf fine for me, perhaps you have confilct with another mod? bye
cjwinternet
04-09-2013, 01:42 PM
No, it's documented on vb.com to uninstall this plugin. I did, and others did, now we don't have this problem.
squidsk
04-09-2013, 02:10 PM
No, it's documented on vb.com to uninstall this plugin. I did, and others did, now we don't have this problem.
It works but it means you can't use the inline mod tool.
Uninstalled.
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum/vbulletin-4/vbulletin-4-questions-problems-and-troubleshooting/341632-inline-mod-not-working?
You can if you take the time to make one of the changes specified earlier in this thread to deal with the issue. One generates invalid xhtml markup (nothing serious though) while the other requires changing vbulletin-core.js to fix what's actually causing the problem.
You can track the incident report in the tracker @http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBIV-6156.
EDIT:
Invalid xhtml solution: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showp...&postcount=236
Change to vbulletin-core.js: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2275589&postcount=259
If using the vbulletin-core.js solution note that the line numbers may be wrong as the line numbers correspond to line number in vbulletin 4.10 and are definitely different in other versions. You could always apply the changes to the non-compressed version of the js and use any online js compression tool to compress the file after making the changes.
worf fine for me, perhaps you have confilct with another mod? bye
It is a known issue, but it doesn't require a lot to make the changes required to fix.
kapii
05-03-2013, 12:24 AM
There is a new mod out that should resolve any issues with separate sticky threads, and is pretty cool, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=297654
djbaxter
05-03-2013, 12:34 AM
There is a new mod out that should resolve any issues with separate sticky threads, and is pretty cool, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=297654
Agreed. That new mod is very nice indeed.
kapii
05-26-2013, 11:45 AM
Seems like the [ozzy47] Separate Sticky Threads keeps getting better, now he added the ability to set collapse stickies by forum as well as by usergroups, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=297654
LLent
05-26-2013, 11:53 AM
Seems like the [ozzy47] Separate Sticky Threads keeps getting better, now he added the ability to set collapse stickies by forum as well as by usergroups, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=297654
yea its awesome
pelican
06-03-2013, 07:23 AM
just a note.
if you are using vbulletin mobile, when browsing with the mobile app, for this mod instead of displaying the separator, it will display empty thread with the word (null).
i switch to use template edit with condition instead.
mykkal
02-27-2015, 10:49 PM
Hi, does this work with vb 4.2.3? I'm running php 5.5
eriktran84
06-04-2015, 01:40 PM
To fix the in-line mod selection problem and have valid xhtml you need to make three changes to your vbulletin-core.js file. No changes are actually required to the plugin itself.
The problem is that the JavaScript that's checking and un-checking the checkboxes from the inline mod menu does not check if there actually is a checkbox before trying to work with the checkbox.
I'll put the changes for those using both the compressed and uncompressed JavaScript.
Uncompressed javascript make the following changes in order otherwise the line numbers will not match up with what I have listed here:
On line 2761 change:
if (this.collection[i].checkbox.checked)to
if (this.collection[i].checkbox && this.collection[i].checkbox.checked)
On line 2889, nest the switch statement in an if statement as follows:
switch (action[1])
{
case "invert": {
this.checkbox.checked = !this.checkbox.checked;
}
break;
case "none": {
this.checkbox.checked = false;
}
break;
case "class":
{
this.checkbox.checked = YAHOO.util.Dom.hasClass(this.container, action[2]);
}
break;
case "flag":
{
if (typeof action[2] != undefined && !isNaN(action[2]))
{
this.checkbox.checked = this.checkbox.value & action[2];
}
else
{
this.checkbox.checked = true;
}
}
break;
default:
case "all": {
this.checkbox.checked = true;
}
break;
}
to
if(this.checkbox)
{
switch (action[1])
{
case "invert": {
this.checkbox.checked = !this.checkbox.checked;
}
break;
case "none": {
this.checkbox.checked = false;
}
break;
case "class":
{
this.checkbox.checked = YAHOO.util.Dom.hasClass(this.container, action[2]);
}
break;
case "flag":
{
if (typeof action[2] != undefined && !isNaN(action[2]))
{
this.checkbox.checked = this.checkbox.value & action[2];
}
else
{
this.checkbox.checked = true;
}
}
break;
default:
case "all": {
this.checkbox.checked = true;
}
break;
}
}
On line 2941 wrap the content of three lines of code in an if statement as follows:
var func = (this.checkbox.checked ? "addClass" : "removeClass");
YAHOO.util.Dom[func](this.container, "imod_highlight");
console.log("Set Inlinemod State for %s - %s", this.itemid, func);
to
if(this.checkbox)
{
var func = (this.checkbox.checked ? "addClass" : "removeClass");
YAHOO.util.Dom[func](this.container, "imod_highlight");
console.log("Set Inlinemod State for %s - %s", this.itemid, func);
}
If you're using the compressed javascript then you'll need to make the following equivalent adjustments in the order listed for the column numbers to point to the correct location in the file:
At column 32267 add:
this.collection[A].checkbox&&
At column 34118 add:
if(this.checkbox){
At column 34531 add a close swiggly bracket:
}
At column 34780 add:
if(this.checkbox){
At column 34964 add a close swiggly bracket:
}For the compressed changes, change 1 corresponds to the change 1 from the uncompressed, 2 & 3 correspond to change 2 from the uncompressed and 4 & 5 correspond to change 3 from the uncompressed javascript.
i am a little confused. which files do i need to make these changes in ?
the one
06-10-2015, 06:59 PM
Overkill much! Try https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2185297&postcount=236 mucho easier.
Kym
I dont seem to have these templates
Easy fix.
In both FORUMDISPLAY_Separate and FORUMDISPLAY_Separate2 template, replace <li and </li with <div and </div
I am running 4.2.1 can someone let me know where they are
Many thanks
akz645
08-05-2015, 08:10 PM
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=249677
OR
http://ozzmodz.com/showthread.php/22-OzzModz-Separate-Sticky-Threads-Collapsible
^
Both worked fine for me on vB 4.2.3
ozzy47
08-05-2015, 09:08 PM
Yes, mine works fine. :)
xyzmaria2001
04-29-2017, 04:37 PM
Seems to work just fine on vBulletin 4.2.4. Thanks!
MarkFL
04-29-2017, 04:42 PM
Seems to work just fine on vBulletin 4.2.4. Thanks!
Check your inline moderation of threads...that's where it failed for me. )
imported_polygrinder
03-24-2019, 01:25 PM
Is there any way to change the names of the categories that show up on the tabs. Want to change it from displaying the word "Sticky Threads" to something else.
JnGirard
05-20-2019, 05:43 AM
Is there any way to change the names of the categories that show up on the tabs. Want to change it from displaying the word "Sticky Threads" to something else.
In Admin Panel > Langs & Expressions > Search in expressions > Search for the work "Sticky"
Go under every expressions, click "modify button" and change as you wanted to.
KodakUK
04-22-2020, 04:50 PM
Hi Atakan KOC,
Is there any chance of updating the modification so that rather than have it saying sticky and normal threads, they are simply seperated with a simple black background?
similar to the "Title / Thread Starter" block. so it's less tacky.
https://i.imgur.com/LyA8wb7.png
oldfan
03-29-2023, 03:10 AM
Works 4.2.5.thanks
oldfan
03-29-2023, 03:10 AM
Works with 4.2.5. thanks
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.