PDA

View Full Version : Board Optimization - Tabs Like vBulletin.org With Search


ChopSuey
10-24-2009, 10:00 PM
Okay heres how to do it
----------------------------
AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Your Style > header
Find
<!-- /logo -->
Now add below:
<!-- tabs -->
<table align="right" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td width="100%" align="right">
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=X" class="tab"><b>Tab 1</b></a>
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=X" class="tab"><b>Tab 2</b></a>
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=X" class="tab"><b>Tab 3</b></a>
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=X" class="tab"><b>Tab 4</b></a>
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=X" class="tab"><b>Tab 5</b></a>
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=X" class="tab"><b>Tab 6</b></a>
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/" class="tab"><b>Forum</b></a>
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/" class="tab"><b>Home</b></a></td></tr ></table>
<!-- /tabs -->
Replace the X's with the forum ID. You might want to edit the settings first. The last tab will display on the left while the first tab will display on the right. So it goes from left to right order.
After you are done go to AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Your Style > Main CSS
Now add this to your Additional CSS
td.tab a:link,td.tab a:visited,td.tab a:active,a.tab,
td.tab2 a:link,td.tab2 a:visited,td.tab2 a:active,a.tab2,a:link.tab2,a:active.tab2,a:visite d.tab2{
background:transparent url(http://www.imagelink.com/image.gif) top right no-repeat;
font:10pt tahoma,sans-serif;
width:76px;
height:20px;
text-align:center;
padding:2px 0 0;
margin:0 1px;
text-decoration:none;
float:right;
position:relative;
top:3px
}
td.tab a:hover,img.tab a:hover,.tab a:hover,a:hover.tab,
td.tab2 a:link,td.tab2 a:visited,td.tab2 a:active,a.tab2,a:link.tab2,a:active.tab2,a:visite d.tab2{
background:transparent url(http://www.imagelink.com/image.gif) bottom right no-repeat
}

You can choose your own images, just use a direct image link and fill it in.
OH yeah, you can edit the CSS to anything you like i just put mine like that to match my skin.
-----------------------------------------
Okay if have chosen your tabs for the forum you want to display. Then go to
AdminCP > Forums & Moderators > Forum Manager > Your Fourm > Edit Forum
Scroll down to Posting Options, you will see Forum is Active (Will not appear if set to no, but remains accessible if the forum's URL is known)
You need to set it to NO. Then you are good to go :)
-----------------------------------------
To make more than one category appear in a forum just make a new one with no parent forum. Now pick any category and set its parent forum to the new forum you just made. Now we got two Categories displaying. Make sure the X is the new forum you juse made or else it will not work. For the second category, make its parent forum the new forum you just made. Then once the tab is set to the new forum you have tabs like vb.org ;)
I mean here is what i mean https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=164
Have two categories with their parent forum as a category too. So you would set the X to 164 to show styles and graphics.
To make tabs only show to certain usergroups using IF condition it would look like this
<if condition="is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 6,5,7)">
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=X" class="tab"><b>Staff Area</b></a></if>
Use the USERGROUP ID's
------------------------------------------
Here is the search option like vbulletin.org
just place it below the $ad_location[ad_header_end]
And you will be fine but you have to set the options first.
<br>
<td align="center"><if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<!-- header quick search form -->
<form action="search.php?do=process" method="post" <align="right">
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="quicksearch" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="childforums" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="exactname" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />
<div>
<div align="right">
<input type="text" name="query" size="18" style="font-size: 8pt;" />
<select name="forumchoice[]">
<option value="-1" selected="selected">All Forums</option>
<option value="1">Forum 1</option>
<option value="2">Forum 2</option>
<option value="3">Forum 3</option>
<option value="4">Forum 4</option>
<option value="5">Forum 5</option>
</select>
<select name="titleonly">
<option value="0" selected="selected">All Posts</option>
<option value="1" >Titles Only</option>
</select><input name="search" value="Search" type="submit" class="button" /><a href="search.php" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow" id="navbar_search1" class=""><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/menu_open.gif" alt="" title="Advanced Search" border="0" /></a>
<script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_search1",1); </script>
</div>
</form>
<!-- <br />
<form action="tags.php" method="get">
<span id="tag_wrapper"><input type="text" id="tag_input" name="tag" size="25" style="font-size: 8pt" value="enter tag, and hit enter" onFocus="this.value=''" onBlur="this.value='enter tag, and hit enter'"/></span>
</form> -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="navbar_search1_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead" align="left">Search Options</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option" align="left"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=finduser&amp;u=$bbuserinfo[userid]" rel="nofollow">My Posts</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option" align="left"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&amp;showposts=0&amp;starteronly=1&amp;exactname=1&amp;s earchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]" rel="nofollow">My Threads</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option" align="left"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" rel="nofollow">New Posts</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option" align="left"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" rel="nofollow">Today's Posts</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option" align="left"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&amp;replyless=1&amp;replylimit=0&amp;exclude=30&amp;noc ache=1" rel="nofollow">Unanswered Threads</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option" align="left"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">Advanced Search</a></td></tr>
</table>
</div></td>
<!-- / header quick search form -->
</if>

That is quite easy just look here <option value="-1" selected="selected">All Forums</option>
<option value="1">Forum 1</option>
<option value="2">Forum 2</option>
<option value="3">Forum 3</option>
<option value="4">Forum 4</option>
<option value="5">Forum 5</option>
</select>
Then edit the option value to the forum category ID of whichever forum that you decide to put in there.
------------------------------
If this was already posted, then im sorry. Just thought i'd post what i did to have tabs like here. :D Enjoy.
If you cannot understand some stuff of what i said, its because i haven't slept for 2 and a half days. :erm:
Mark as installed
See attachments also.
---------------------------------------------
DEMO: http://home.gamingcube.org

ChopSuey
10-25-2009, 02:30 PM
---------Reserved--------

TheLastSuperman
10-25-2009, 03:03 PM
Clean up the extra code in the screenshot and I bet you get more installs, it makes me not want to use it when you can't get it right on a board w/o showing = & ] 's in the same horizontal space as your menu ;).

ChopSuey
10-25-2009, 03:13 PM
Updated the attachment. -_-

itsheinz
10-25-2009, 04:02 PM
very nice il check on this :)

GSeybold
10-25-2009, 04:04 PM
Hello Potentially great mod. Thank you !

One problem. After installing in additional CSS the tabs go vertical? Not sure why.

ChopSuey
10-25-2009, 04:12 PM
What browser are you using? FF?

tafreeh
10-26-2009, 03:50 AM
Tabs doesnt show when you are viewing a thread.. and why is that ?

ChopSuey
10-26-2009, 03:56 AM
Can i have the link to the forum you are using them on? Cause i cant help if i cannot see them in action.

exposed
10-26-2009, 06:30 PM
Please help, im new to this and im not sure what im doing wrong.
Im not getting the search bar or tabs.
www.thecrowsview.com

kjsmith84
10-26-2009, 08:10 PM
can this be done with a vba module?

tafreeh
10-27-2009, 12:36 AM
Can i have the link to the forum you are using them on? Cause i cant help if i cannot see them in action.

i assume you are using same hack here http://forum.gamingcube.org/
this is the one i tried...

ChopSuey
10-27-2009, 01:13 AM
i assume you are using same hack here http://forum.gamingcube.org/
this is the one i tried...
Nope its completely different. Im using Forum Home Tabs by bobster or whoever.

can this be done with a vba module?
Im not sure, but you can try ;)

Please help, im new to this and im not sure what im doing wrong.
Im not getting the search bar or tabs.
www.thecrowsview.com

You're probably doing something wrong here. Have you added them to your header?

tafreeh
10-28-2009, 11:52 PM
Can you please show me any live demo ?
thanks

freewilley
10-29-2009, 06:57 PM
I have seen the skin release somewhere but here its name is vbhybrid if I am not wrong and thanks for the mod I will test it on my forums :)

ChopSuey
10-30-2009, 12:16 PM
Yes, and thanks for clicking install >.<

ChopSuey
10-30-2009, 01:39 PM
Live demo added to first post

x626xblack
10-30-2009, 03:09 PM
Live Demo Error
Warning: require_once([path]/includes/functions.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/includes/init.php on line 166

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/gamincen/public_html/forum/includes/functions.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/gamincen/public_html/forum/includes/init.php on line 166

ChopSuey
10-30-2009, 03:18 PM
Its fixed lol.

RedHacker
11-02-2009, 07:27 AM
What's this...?

http://www.imagelink.com/image.gif

ChopSuey
11-02-2009, 08:56 AM
You get the image link of the image you want displayed within the tabs

RedHacker
11-02-2009, 10:20 AM
I put only search and put down from $navbar but i have 3 styles extreme and no show property and destroy the style....

Help....

ChopSuey
11-02-2009, 11:03 AM
Its supposed to go after
$ad_location[ad_header_end]

RedHacker
11-02-2009, 11:44 AM
I like better down from $navbar but i will try in $ad_location[ad_header_end] and stay the problem....

ChopSuey
11-02-2009, 11:50 AM
Okay then, post your results after.

RedHacker
11-02-2009, 12:04 PM
These styles have problem... :(

ChopSuey
11-02-2009, 12:09 PM
It works fine on my forum, your doing something wrong. Can i edit it for you?

RedHacker
11-02-2009, 12:12 PM
Look it good but etg i put Black Ice,eXtremeX Styles these are the problem.. In the others Styles work perfect....

ChopSuey
11-02-2009, 12:14 PM
No idea what the problem is dude, you need to provide more details.

RedHacker
11-02-2009, 12:23 PM
OK Look the screenshot....

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/8939/92997452.jpg

ChopSuey
11-02-2009, 12:29 PM
OH lol, i can do it for you. Send me a PM.

RedHacker
11-03-2009, 07:12 AM
Can help me anyone....?

ChopSuey
11-03-2009, 07:27 AM
Post your header template here...........I will try on a cheap skin im using.. :p

ChopSuey
11-03-2009, 08:15 AM
Please add your forum url to the links so the images can show up.

Alucard^
11-04-2009, 02:08 AM
Here another example, if you want: http://www.nv-arg.com.ar/foro i have to some modifications but well.. the point is that working...

Thx for the modification, installed ofcourse... is rly simple and beautiful.

ChopSuey
11-04-2009, 04:11 AM
Thanks glad you like it, but i don't see search or the tabs?

RedHacker
11-04-2009, 04:56 AM
<table align="right" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>

It is simple ChopSuey.. It is put in the begin.....

ChopSuey
11-05-2009, 01:47 PM
Put it before the tabs? Or the search?

RedHacker
11-05-2009, 08:21 PM
The Search...

ChopSuey
11-06-2009, 12:31 AM
OKay great thank you ;)

RedHacker
11-11-2009, 10:40 AM
I think destroy display member profile....

ChopSuey
11-11-2009, 02:04 PM
This has nothing to do with the member profile. Its just in the header.
Got a screenshot?

x626xblack
11-12-2009, 04:44 PM
It does not work well if you have Scrolling Marquee on top of your forums. It puts the tab names in the scrolling marquee and they are not clickable.

giabao88
12-03-2009, 04:44 PM
tab could not change its style to tab2 when it is selected like vbulletin.org, isn't it?

For example, when you select Mods on Vbulletin.org, the background of it changed to let u know where you are. I tried everyway with css but no luck.

ChopSuey
12-04-2009, 09:48 AM
Probably the mouse over effect thing. Sorry i dont know how to do that. x

bluej
12-08-2009, 11:28 PM
Hello Potentially great mod. Thank you !

One problem. After installing in additional CSS the tabs go vertical? Not sure why.

in firefox the tabs display horizontally but in IE8 they are vertical on the right :confused:

any fix for this?

ChopSuey
12-09-2009, 01:10 AM
in firefox the tabs display horizontally but in IE8 they are vertical on the right :confused:

any fix for this?

Im sorry i dont know how to work with browsers.. I'll see what i can do.

bluej
12-09-2009, 06:42 AM
Im sorry i dont know how to work with browsers.. I'll see what i can do.

thanks for your quick reply...i have decided to use another mod and it seems to work fine in both browsers...

thanks for you hard work :)

ChopSuey
12-15-2009, 06:24 AM
Great, glad you got a problem solved.

COL NIL SATIS
12-16-2009, 02:10 PM
i also have ie8 at my tabs have gone vertical..GAHHHHHHHHHHHH

ChopSuey
12-16-2009, 10:14 PM
If you read past posts i cannot support browsers, but after i get out of school i'll get time to work with stuff like this.

COL NIL SATIS
12-17-2009, 06:38 PM
ok mate..cool

ChopSuey
12-18-2009, 10:25 AM
If you have a solution feel free to post it up i'll edit the first post.

biggeorge
12-29-2009, 05:46 PM
Took a little work with my style but this is perfect! Thank you.

Log on
12-31-2009, 05:42 AM
Great thank u

ChopSuey
01-24-2010, 10:50 AM
Glad you like it :)

RedHacker
03-05-2010, 09:23 AM
Any Release for Search only for vBulletin 4....?

ChopSuey
03-06-2010, 04:53 AM
Hi red, i'll take a look at the code tonight and see what i can do. But there is already search in the navbar with the default vB4.

RedHacker
03-06-2010, 12:45 PM
Yes but not same... ;)

kjsmith84
04-15-2010, 08:50 PM
Im sorry i dont know how to work with browsers.. I'll see what i can do.

any fix for this yet - mine are vertical

kjsmith84
05-06-2010, 06:35 PM
if I want to do just the search can that be done?

ChopSuey
05-07-2010, 07:15 AM
any fix for this yet - mine are vertical
Not yet sorry, i will get into this when i have time
Yes but not same... ;)
I know that, when i get time i will look into it.
if I want to do just the search can that be done?
Yeah, go ahead it can be done.

ChopSuey
06-11-2010, 09:27 AM
vB4 release for this by Saturday hopefully.

maxie
08-15-2010, 10:40 AM
how to insert forum home above forum category ? insted to put above navbar ?

bkm_mahdi
11-18-2010, 01:42 PM
ie has problem...

shzad1
03-01-2011, 02:58 PM
Great Work BRO
installed!

Sworm
05-12-2011, 12:23 PM
ie has problem...

Have you solved with ie? I would to install this...

JimxJNM
11-12-2011, 05:32 AM
would there be a chance of doing this on vB 4?

blind-eddie
04-01-2014, 02:07 PM
Anyone know how to fix browser issues with this template modification?
See screen shots.
Link in sig.

IE11, it looks great.
http://northamericancarclub.com/imagehosting/1533ad4665282a.png

FF, its lower.

http://northamericancarclub.com/imagehosting/1533ad46762a5f.png

I only changed/added the border style, removing it has no effect.

border-style:solid solid none solid;
border-width:1px;

blind-eddie
04-02-2014, 01:38 PM
Never mind, I got it.
I used something else.

Mecho
04-14-2014, 07:30 AM
Any v4 version of this mod ?

couldnt find anything

blind-eddie
04-14-2014, 03:20 PM
Any v4 version of this mod ?

couldnt find anything

Search above, Search for, tabs, 4.x Mods, Title Only

Search above, Search for, search, 4.x Mods, Title Only

There are a few options that could be useful.

If you want just the tabs above the navbar, I can give you that.

Add the following to the top of your header template' edit with your info.

<!-- tabs -->
<br />
<div id="headertabs">
<ul>
<li><a href="forumdisplay.php?f=8"><b>Classifieds</b></a></li>
<li><a href="profile.php?do=invitation"><b>Invite</b></a></li>
<li><a href="group.php?do=grouplist"><b>Groups</b></a></li>
<li><a href="articles.php"><b>Bookie</b></a></li>
<li><a href="arcade.php"><b>Arcade</b></a></li>
<li><a href="forum.php"><b>Forum</b></a></li>
<li><a href="index.php"><b>Home</b></a></li>

</ul>
</div>
<br />
<!-- /tabs -->

================================================== ==

Add the following to your additional.css template, edit it to match your style.

#headertabs ul {
list-style: none;
background:#333333;
padding: 0;
margin: 0;
margin-right: 25px;
}

#headertabs li {
float: right;
background:#333333;
border: 1px solid;
border-bottom-width: 0;
margin: 0 0 0 5px;


}

#headertabs a {
display: block;
padding: 0 1em;
}

#headertabs #selected {
position: relative;
top: 1px;
background: white;
}

http://blind-eddie.com/forum/imagehosting/1534c097436401.png

http://blind-eddie.com/forum/imagehosting/1534c0a6a2e968.png

karabaja3
10-19-2014, 06:09 PM
blind-eddie, could you please show how to add round corners like here on vb.org?

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2014/10/12.jpg

RELAX13
10-29-2014, 12:05 PM
Good Id :D