PDA

View Full Version : Add-On Releases - Google Search In Navbar


SuperTaz
09-04-2009, 10:00 PM
/*================================================= =====================*\
|| ################################################## ################## ||
|| # Google Search In Navbar
|| # Version 1.00
|| # Author: Warden
|| # This mod may only be used from vbulletin.org
|| # DO NOT display this mod on any other modification site without my permission
|| # You can alter this code and re-display it here on vbulletin.org
|| ################################################## ################## ||
\*================================================ ======================*/

Description: This mod adds the Google Search to your navbar.

Install: Less than 1 minute.

Instructions:

1. Go to www.google.com/adsense and click on Adsense For Search and create a Search for your site. All you will need is your PUB ID and your site URL.

2. Find:


<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions</strong></div>

Directly below that add:


<!-- Google Search ------------------>
<td class="alt2">
<DIV ALIGN=RIGHT>
<form action="[B]YOUR SITE HERE" id="cse-search-box">
<div>
<input type="hidden" name="cx" value="partner-pub-PUB ID HERE:afpnnc-ej87" />
<input type="hidden" name="cof" value="FORID:10" />
<input type="hidden" name="ie" value="UTF-8" />
<input type="text" name="q" size="50" />
<input type="submit" name="sa" value="Search" />
</div>
</form>

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/coop/cse/brand?form=cse-search-box&amp;lang=en"></script>
</DIV>
</td>
<!-- Google Search ------------------>


Now paste this code on a page where you would like your results to appear:



<div id="cse-search-results"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
var googleSearchIframeName = "cse-search-results";
var googleSearchFormName = "cse-search-box";
var googleSearchFrameWidth = 800;
var googleSearchDomain = "www.google.com";
var googleSearchPath = "/cse";
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/afsonline/show_afs_search.js"></script>


Enter your site URL where it says "YOUR SITE HERE" (blue code).
Enter your PUB ID where it says "PUB ID HERE" in the code (red code).

Click Save and all Done. Refresh.

If you want support, click INSTALL!

Faizan
09-05-2009, 10:33 AM
nice

macc
09-05-2009, 12:14 PM
Just look on demo but works not ... write some and click on seach ... nothing hapend- get your homepage again

reg

macc

SuperTaz
09-05-2009, 07:10 PM
Just look on demo but works not ... write some and click on seach ... nothing hapend- get your homepage again

reg

macc

Thanks for letting me know. I will fix it when I get home later.

sphinx
09-06-2009, 08:20 AM
same here too changed everything as above

iheartvb
09-06-2009, 04:23 PM
this looks like a good mod. does anybody know if it works??

sphinx
09-06-2009, 04:30 PM
as above m8 only goes back to main page when search entered,still waiting for reply and solution

LilPimp
09-06-2009, 05:16 PM
when they use the google search to search on ur forum only? do you get paid?

SuperTaz
09-07-2009, 12:52 AM
Updated. Sorry guys. Had a lot of stuff to do.

sphinx
09-07-2009, 07:55 AM
no problem and thanks

s-p0k
09-07-2009, 07:56 AM
no problem and thanks

same here....ty

joyboy2001
10-11-2009, 10:51 PM
great ... it works ... but how do I get this to come up on all pages, not just forumhome ?

SuperTaz
10-11-2009, 11:53 PM
Put this code on any page you want:


<div id="cse-search-results"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
var googleSearchIframeName = "cse-search-results";
var googleSearchFormName = "cse-search-box";
var googleSearchFrameWidth = 800;
var googleSearchDomain = "www.google.com";
var googleSearchPath = "/cse";
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/afsonline/show_afs_search.js"></script>

Brandon Sheley
10-11-2009, 11:59 PM
when they use the google search to search on ur forum only? do you get paid?

You'll have to use the search code google gives you in your adsense control panel ;)

joyboy2001
10-12-2009, 12:48 AM
Put this code on any page you want:


<div id="cse-search-results"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
var googleSearchIframeName = "cse-search-results";
var googleSearchFormName = "cse-search-box";
var googleSearchFrameWidth = 800;
var googleSearchDomain = "www.google.com";
var googleSearchPath = "/cse";
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/afsonline/show_afs_search.js"></script>


Thanks, but I think this is not the answer I was looking for ...
I get the results on the results page alright ... My question was, since navbar appears on all pages, and the code has been changed in the navbar template, how come the search box comes up only on forumhome and not on any other pages where the navbar appears ?

joyboy2001
10-12-2009, 12:49 AM
when they use the google search to search on ur forum only? do you get paid?

you get paid when someone clicks on the ads in the results page ...

Log on
10-12-2009, 07:16 AM
thank u

joyboy2001
10-12-2009, 07:12 PM
Thanks, but I think this is not the answer I was looking for ...
I get the results on the results page alright ... My question was, since navbar appears on all pages, and the code has been changed in the navbar template, how come the search box comes up only on forumhome and not on any other pages where the navbar appears ?

correction, this does not appear on forumhome but only on forum index (http://example.com/forum/index.php) ... How do I get this to come up on all pages where navbar appears ?

SuperTaz
10-15-2009, 03:54 AM
What other pages do you want it to show on?

realdx
10-15-2009, 12:11 PM
nice, does this open results in a new page/tab? thanks!!

SuperTaz
10-16-2009, 05:09 AM
nice, does this open results in a new page/tab? thanks!!

Yes. Place this code in any page you want the results to show in:


<div id="cse-search-results"></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
var googleSearchIframeName = "cse-search-results";
var googleSearchFormName = "cse-search-box";
var googleSearchFrameWidth = 800;
var googleSearchDomain = "www.google.com";
var googleSearchPath = "/cse";
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/afsonline/show_afs

Alucard^
10-24-2009, 03:22 AM
Is possible to have that google search without having adsense account?

SuperTaz
10-24-2009, 03:37 AM
Is possible to have that google search without having adsense account?

No. You need to have your own PUB ID.

Log on
10-24-2009, 07:26 AM
Great

thank u

Pvtiste
11-02-2009, 11:37 PM
Hello,

Thanks for sharing !
I have a little problem, when I put ? ? it doesn't works :(

multiplex
11-02-2009, 11:55 PM
Is possible to have that google search without having adsense account?

yes it is. this is what i use and works like a charm

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=213169

SuperTaz
11-03-2009, 12:52 AM
Hello,

Thanks for sharing !
I have a little problem, when I put ? ? it doesn't works :(

It does not recognize those symbols. you will have to use the english version.

Log on
11-05-2009, 05:53 AM
very nice

SuperTaz
11-08-2009, 11:04 PM
Thank you. If you want support, click install.

Jeweetog
11-19-2009, 11:40 AM
Hi,

Where did you (warden-b-) posted the search results in your forum?

I want it on the forum home page, but without the forums visible, just the nav bar and the users info.

SuperTaz
11-21-2009, 06:28 AM
Hi,

Where did you (warden-b-) posted the search results in your forum?

I want it on the forum home page, but without the forums visible, just the nav bar and the users info.

I created a separate html page for admins and registered users on my site.

If you want it on a separate page, you will have to create another page and input the code into the new page.

Jeweetog
11-21-2009, 09:23 AM
I created a separate html page for admins and registered users on my site.

If you want it on a separate page, you will have to create another page and input the code into the new page.


Can i have those pages too please?

SuperTaz
11-21-2009, 07:19 PM
Can i have those pages too please?

Sorry, I can not give out the pages I made for my site.

I see two options for you:

a. Make a separate html page
b. Make a .php file
c. or both

GTX2
11-21-2009, 09:17 PM
Thanks, but I think this is not the answer I was looking for ...
I get the results on the results page alright ... My question was, since navbar appears on all pages, and the code has been changed in the navbar template, how come the search box comes up only on forumhome and not on any other pages where the navbar appears ?

100% working, created a custom template page to display search results...
but....

Same question here, i have the search box on forum home only, can't understand why the search box doesn't show on every forum page.....
any tip?

Thanks

GTX2
11-21-2009, 09:23 PM
Found the solution for my last question: just add the code after the </if> below and just before the next </td>

;)


I have another question for you, maybe dumb one:

My partner ID for search is something like: partner-pub-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
When checking the code, i see there something after: partner-pub-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX:afpnnc-ej87..
what means the red color code? Should i use the one provided in my adsense account? or yours ":afpnnc-ej87" ?

GTX2
11-21-2009, 09:38 PM
Hello,

Thanks for sharing !
I have a little problem, when I put ? ? it doesn't works :(


Try this:

Instead of:
<input type="hidden" name="ie" value="UTF-8" />

use:
<input type="hidden" name="ie" value="ISO-8859-1" />



This should solve problem :)

Jeweetog
11-22-2009, 09:14 AM
Sorry, I can not give out the pages I made for my site.

I see two options for you:

a. Make a separate html page
b. Make a .php file
c. or both


I made a custom forum home page, the only thing i removed from visibility are the forums. How can i implement that? Where do i put the file and make the file visible to the forum's internal functions and stuff?