PDA

View Full Version : Banner Resizing Problem


stevetank
08-15-2009, 08:55 AM
Hi folks,

I seem to have hit a slight banner problem.
My new banner looks ok on the screen resolution i have, but when i lower it the banner still stretches across the page and disappears off screen.

This is the code i have at the moment,

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<center>
<table border="0" width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/headbg.gif)">
<tr>

<td align="left" valign="top"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_left.gif" border="0" alt=""/></a></td>
<td align="right" valign="bottom"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_right.gif" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</center>

<!-- /logo -->
<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output

If anyone can help out thanks,

SteveT:)

--------------- Added 1250351047 at 1250351047 ---------------

Anyone got any help or code i could use.

Thanks.

vB Tree
08-15-2009, 03:04 PM
Can you provide a link so I can see what the problem is. Also, what do you want to happen when users make their window size smaller?

stevetank
08-15-2009, 03:47 PM
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

If you use a size of screen smaller than my display setting (1440x900) then the banner wont shrink to fit the forum, stays big, and if i go to higher screen size the banner do sent fit the length of the forum.
http://quarantine-101.com/

Thanks.
SteveT

vB Tree
08-15-2009, 07:19 PM
Okay, I know what you want to do now.

It might be better if you make a smaller logo that is centralised and then you can add a bar to either side that expands to make it look like your logo stretches across the forums. Alternatively, you could fix the width of your forums and then the logo would always fit.

stevetank
08-15-2009, 08:02 PM
Okay, I know what you want to do now.

It might be better if you make a smaller logo that is centralised and then you can add a bar to either side that expands to make it look like your logo stretches across the forums. Alternatively, you could fix the width of your forums and then the logo would always fit.

Could you explain how to achieve that please, either way is fine by me.
Thanks.

vB Tree
08-15-2009, 08:58 PM
To make your forums width fixed not fluid, go to:

AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > YOURSTYLE > All Style Options

Then find this:

"Main Table Width (pixels or percentage)"

Change the "100%" to any number say 800. You can then make your banner 800 pixels wide.

If you don't like this method, you can revert it back to 100% and I'll help you make a fluid banner.

stevetank
08-15-2009, 09:09 PM
To make your forums width fixed not fluid, go to:

AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > YOURSTYLE > All Style Options

Then find this:

"Main Table Width (pixels or percentage)"

Change the "100%" to any number say 800. You can then make your banner 800 pixels wide.

If you don't like this method, you can revert it back to 100% and I'll help you make a fluid banner.

Thanks bro,

I`ll give this option a try and let you know how i get on, I appreciate the help.

SteveT:)

--------------- Added 1250374477 at 1250374477 ---------------

It worked well,

But i think if you can help with the fluid version, it would be much better.

Thanks again.

SteveT

vB Tree
08-15-2009, 09:25 PM
Okay then, would you like your logo to be positioned to the left, centre or right?

stevetank
08-15-2009, 09:42 PM
Okay then, would you like your logo to be positioned to the left, centre or right?

Center please,

Thanks.

vB Tree
08-15-2009, 10:43 PM
You'll need to create a logo image and a image which can be repeated that works on both sides.

Then paste the urls here and I'll give you some code.

stevetank
08-15-2009, 10:57 PM
Hi,

I think this is what you mean, if not let me know.
Thanks.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/08/12.gif leftlogo

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/08/13.gif rightlogo

stevetank
08-17-2009, 07:02 PM
Bump:)

vB Tree
08-18-2009, 08:48 AM
That's not quite what I meant. You would need a minimum of two images.

http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/7399/logoexample.png (http://img195.imageshack.us/i/logoexample.png/)

img 1 could be multiple pictures if you wish. This is your logo, it will be centred on the screen.

img 2 is what is used to fill the extra space which is repeated to give the appearance of one image.

This will stretch and retract to fit with the width of your forums.

You would need to make a repeatable image.

stevetank
08-18-2009, 11:00 AM
Thanks bro,

I`ve sent you a pm.

Cheers,

vB Tree
08-18-2009, 11:49 AM
Try replacing your header code with this:

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="logofluid">&nbsp;</td>
<td align="center"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
<td class="logofluid">&nbsp;</td>

</tr>
</table>
<!-- /logo -->

<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output

$ad_location[ad_header_end]

And adding this to your additional css:

.logofluid { background: #000000 repeat-x; width: 50%; }

Not sure how it will look so may require some tweaking still.

Make sure you have the location of your logo in the title image section.

stevetank
08-18-2009, 12:28 PM
Thanks very much bro,

Looks to have worked great.

Again thanks for all your help and direction, Top man.

SteveT

vB Tree
08-18-2009, 10:26 PM
Two pages with just two people. We got there in the end though ;)

Glad to have helped.