PDA

View Full Version : Single-line breadcrumb & relocate


TAFJonathan
07-06-2009, 09:03 PM
There have been several threads along these lines -- none answered satisfactorily.

How can I modify my breadcrumb so it is single-line, like the one on vBulletin.org?

Then, I'd like to relocate it to below the navbar and above the forum menu.

Thanks in advance.

--------------- Added 1246991420 at 1246991420 ---------------

Surely someone here knows how to do this, since this is the way it's done on vB.org! :D

There have been several threads along these lines -- none answered satisfactorily.

How can I modify my breadcrumb so it is single-line, like the one on vBulletin.org?

Then, I'd like to relocate it to below the navbar and above the forum menu.

Thanks in advance.

napy8gen
07-09-2009, 02:34 AM
this is the code.I never released it anywhere. I edited this and used this twice in my custom work for customers.

please noted that this is only a single breadcrumb in one line, nothing else. there is no login or navbar menu so whatever.

the link display control by a css class named tmod2.


Style manager> style name> edit templates> navbar and breadcrumb> navbar

<!-- breadcrumb -->
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td width="100%">
<if condition="is_array($navbits)">
<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr valign="bottom">
<td width="100%"><span class="tmod2"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a> $navbits[breadcrumb] > <strong>$navbits[lastelement]</strong></span></td>
</tr>

</table>
<else />
<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1"><span class="tmod2">Home</span></a>&nbsp;<span class="tmod2">></span>&nbsp;<span class="tmod2">$vboptions[bbtitle]</span></div>
</if>
</td>

</tr>
</table>

<!-- / breadcrumb -->

then put the class in style manager> style name> main css> additional css definition>

.tmod2 {color: #a39f99;font: bold 11px arial,verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif;}
.tmod2 a:link, .tmod2_alink{color: #a39f99;text-decoration: none;}
.tmod2 a:visited, .tmod2_avisited{color: #a39f99;text-decoration: none;}
.tmod2 a:hover, .tmod2 a:active, .tmod2_ahover{color: #FFFFFF;text-decoration: underline;}



change the color value to your needs

TAFJonathan
07-15-2009, 08:37 PM
Thanks - this is excellent.

Is there some <if> code I can surround it with to keep it from displaying on the forumhome page?

Lynne
07-15-2009, 08:47 PM
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'index'">
code not to display on index page
</if>

TAFJonathan
07-15-2009, 08:50 PM
Beautiful. Thank you, Lynne.

Additionally, if you have a look at AviationForum.org (http://www.aviationforum.org), is it possible for me to reduce the number of line breaks between the bottom of the navbar and the top of the forums? I don't believe I added any to the original templates.

Lynne
07-15-2009, 09:34 PM
If you look in your page source in that area, you do have some breaks (<br />) in there. You can find the template and remove them if you want.

To find the template to modify, do this - vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code. Sometimes the template is the one mentioned at the very top of the page source.

sebaot
07-15-2009, 10:17 PM
Thanks - this is excellent.

Is there some <if> code I can surround it with to keep it from displaying on the forumhome page?

The way I've done it in my navbar template is:


<if condition="is_array($navbits)">
... generate breadcrumb table ...
</if>


That keeps it from displaying unless you've navigated a level down into the site.