View Full Version : Integration with vBulletin - Webprocafe.com - Latest posts in html site
saltedm8
06-27-2009, 10:00 PM
If you are running a static site with vbulletin, this will pull the last 15 post titles from vbulletin using javascript and display the linked titles on your normal html site or any other page you want it to.. here it is working http://webprocafe.com/latest.html
Please feel free to adjust the styles and play with it how you like, but the result will be a list of your latest titles posted
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Latest Posts</title>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
* { margin: 0; padding: 0; }
body { background-color: #E5DCC0; }
#list {
width:90%;
background-color:#E5DCC0;
padding:10px;
}
a { color:#524125;
font-weight:bold;
text-decoration: none; }
a:hover { color:#524125;
font-weight:bold;
text-decoration:underline; }
-->
</style>
</head>
<body>
<div id="list">
<script type="text/javascript" src="external.php?type=js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
for (var x in threads)
{
document.writeln("<a href=\"showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a><br />");
}
//-->
</script>
</div>
</body>
</html>
sebil
06-28-2009, 01:19 PM
this is nice..
can i add this code just under my domain.. not under forum..
i tried but itz not working
but when i added like forum/text.html /// itz working.. :)
Hello!
how and where adjust numbers of threads - i get 15 threads with names and 45 - named - undefined -
reg
macc
deadlySniper
06-28-2009, 03:35 PM
Nice, thanks.
Sweeks
06-28-2009, 04:16 PM
Installed mate, thanks :up:
________
VAPORIZER HEALTH (http://vaporizer.org)
deadlySniper
06-28-2009, 04:17 PM
Nice, thanks!
Sweeks
06-28-2009, 04:17 PM
Nice, thanks!
Double nice I guess :p
________
Lincoln Mkx History (http://www.ford-wiki.com/wiki/Lincoln_MKX)
saadessa
06-28-2009, 06:36 PM
Installed mate, thanks
saltedm8
06-28-2009, 11:03 PM
Hello!
how and where adjust numbers of threads - i get 15 threads with names and 45 - named - undefined -
reg
This is really pulling from external.php, it is listing all of what is on your rss feed unless you can shorten the list in external.php you cant shorten the list. sorry
this is nice..
can i add this code just under my domain.. not under forum..
i tried but itz not working
but when i added like forum/text.html /// itz working..
I am guessing your forum is within a folder on its own and your site is outside this folder, that means you will need to change the root from here
src="external.php?type=js">
to here
src="/forums/external.php?type=js">
forums needs to be the name of the folder that vbulletin is in
also, you need to change this
document.writeln("<a href=\"showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a><br />");
to something like this
document.writeln("<a href=\"forums\showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+" </a><br />");
I cant be sure that is the exact format because I dont know javascript that well, but it should be something like that, dont forget to replace forums with whatever the folders name is that vbulletin is in
saltedm8
07-06-2009, 11:42 AM
your welcome
genesisdnb
08-11-2009, 11:48 AM
Does this work on different domains?
saltedm8
08-12-2009, 10:33 PM
it would, but you need to change the address in the javascript to the address you require
genesisdnb
08-13-2009, 07:26 AM
I done that but it didnt work.... Basically my site is www.xboxer360.com/forum and we just merged forums with www.gameshare.co.uk so I tryed to install that code on GameShare but it doesnt display any information?
saltedm8
08-13-2009, 08:22 AM
because its javascript, you need to change the address to be javascript based.. i think this is it
change
document.writeln("<a href=\"showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a><br />");
to this
document.writeln("<a href=\"http:\/\/www.gameshare.co.uk\/showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a><br />");
you just need to change the url to whichever you want to use
if it dont work, i guess its not possible to do
genesisdnb
08-13-2009, 09:07 AM
got an error now saying 'threads' is undefined
saltedm8
08-13-2009, 02:22 PM
where is your rss feed located ?
genesisdnb
08-13-2009, 07:59 PM
I dont know if I have one?
saltedm8
08-13-2009, 08:18 PM
you will have, but the question is, is it switched on, if you find it, it will look like this http://webprocafe.com/external.php.. i have re-written the url for that, you will have to either activate your or find it... the javascript wont work without it and having an rss feed is a good thing..
genesisdnb
08-14-2009, 06:17 AM
ok well I fixed it, thanks :) but the url's are wrong... the urls point to http://www.xboxer360.com/showthread.php?t=1889 and not http://www.xboxer360.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1889
saltedm8
08-14-2009, 06:08 PM
try swapping it with this
document.writeln("<a href=\"http:\/\/www.xboxer360.com\/forum\/showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a><br />");
MagicThemeParks
09-26-2009, 03:48 PM
How can I have something like this with a URL of an RSS feed?
m2006
05-18-2010, 05:22 AM
Java scripts do not content support the search engin
Been Told
06-28-2010, 11:39 AM
What about permissions - could this show posts to users that they would normally not see?
Like for example, I have a moderators forum that regular members don't know of, can't see and can't access. Would regular members see posts from that forum?
Eplexx
11-29-2010, 04:21 PM
Doesn't work for me.
marshal_ramdev
11-29-2010, 04:54 PM
thanks will try it out ;)
fatdr
12-11-2010, 09:34 PM
nice working thanks
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.