Log in

View Full Version : vBulletin threads to WordPress Module?


KipLarson
06-19-2009, 02:12 AM
The perfect example of what I'm looking to do can be found here:

http://wrxfanatics.com/blog/

On the right hand corner of the site it says - Recent from Forum

How can I do that? I desperately need it ASAP.

I will give you a huge high five if you help me.

fattony69
06-20-2009, 02:04 AM
Hey Chris,

You can use the RSS feed aka external.php file and if you want to make it for a certain area, you can do so. You know my contact info to contact me.

Yours,

Tony.

KipLarson
06-21-2009, 05:25 AM
Hey, hit me up via email. I sent you a direct message via twitter.

fmckinnon
06-22-2009, 06:41 PM
Hey, yeah - we do the same thing, using our RSS file, on the homepage (center column) at http://www.theworshipcommunity.com ... feel free to reply if you'd like me to post the code we put into the wordpress template.

KipLarson
06-23-2009, 12:26 AM
I would love to see how you're doing it. Please post the code.

Thanks

fmckinnon
06-23-2009, 07:29 PM
Sure thing - this is in the bottom center column of http://www.theworshipcommunity.com homepage (in wordpress).

In our wordpress theme, we added this code:
<h2>Join in the Discussions ...</h2>

<?php
require_once (ABSPATH . WPINC . '/rss-functions.php');
// here's where to insert the feed address
$rss = @fetch_rss('http://www.theworshipcommunity.com/forums/external.php?type=RSS2');
if ( isset($rss->items) && 0 != count($rss->items) ) {
?>
<ul style="margin-left: 15px;">
<?php
// here's (5) where to set the number of headlines
$rss->items = array_slice($rss->items, 0, 14);
foreach ($rss->items as $item ) {
?>
<li style="margin-bottom: 10px'">
<a href='<?php echo wp_filter_kses($item['link']); ?>'>
<strong><?php echo wp_specialchars($item['title']); ?></strong>
</a><br />
<?php echo wp_specialchars($item['description']); ?>
</li>
<?php } ?>
</ul>
<?php } ?>

<p>
More in <a href="http://www.theworshipcommunity.com/forums/">the forums</a>.
</p>

KipLarson
06-25-2009, 05:16 AM
Hey... for some reason this code doesn't work.

I altered it to fit my specific forum from what I saw needed to be replaced but it just shows:

Join the discussions...

More in the forums

And it appears no forum threads are pulled. Any ideas? Some setting I'm missing or something else?

fmckinnon
06-25-2009, 10:14 AM
hey post your code here, I'll take a look

KipLarson
06-25-2009, 11:45 PM
Here's the full code to my subscribe-wide.php template

From the prime press theme (http://www.techtrot.com/primepress/)

<div id="sidebar-wide" class="sidebar">
<ul class="xoxo sidebar-items">
<?php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar("Sidebar Wide") ) : ?><!--#sidebar-wide widgets start-->

<li id="pp-recent-posts" class="widget">
<h2 class="widgettitle"><?php _e('Recent Posts'); ?></h2>
<ul>
<?php wp_get_archives('type=postbypost&limit=10'); ?>
</ul>
</li>

<?php /*
<h2>Join in the Discussions ...</h2>

<?php
require_once (ABSPATH . WPINC . '/rss-functions.php');
// here's where to insert the feed address
$rss = @fetch_rss('http://www.netbookreviews.com/forum/external.php?type=RSS2');
if ( isset($rss->items) && 0 != count($rss->items) ) {
?>
<ul style="margin-left: 15px;">
<?php
// here's (5) where to set the number of headlines
$rss->items = array_slice($rss->items, 0, 14);
foreach ($rss->items as $item ) {
?>
<li style="margin-bottom: 10px'">
<a href='<?php echo wp_filter_kses($item['link']); ?>'>
<strong><?php echo wp_specialchars($item['title']); ?></strong>
</a><br />
<?php echo wp_specialchars($item['description']); ?>
</li>
<?php } ?>
</ul>
<?php } ?>

<p>
More in <a href="http://www.netbookreviews.com/forum/">the forums</a>.
</p>

*/ ?>

<?php endif; ?><!--#sidebar-wide widgets end-->
</ul>

</div><!--#sidebar-wide-->

As you can tell I currently have it all commented out of the theme while I wait to try and figure things out.

KipLarson
07-11-2009, 06:59 AM
Anyone else care to help? I'm in the position now where I'm leaning towards just paying someone to fix this for me...

KipLarson
07-14-2009, 12:16 AM
Ok, contact me via PM and I will pay you to show me why the above code is not working on my site and to provide a fix.

Brandon Sheley
07-14-2009, 12:22 AM
you need to post in the paid request forums if you are wanting to pay for help ;)
Just use the rss widget and plug your feed into it, that's what I've done on two of my blogs

fattony69
07-14-2009, 02:51 AM
you need to post in the paid request forums if you are wanting to pay for help ;)
Just use the rss widget and plug your feed into it, that's what I've done on two of my blogs

I told him that. It didn't work. Then again, I didn't do it myself. :p

KipLarson
08-11-2009, 06:26 AM
you need to post in the paid request forums if you are wanting to pay for help ;)
Just use the rss widget and plug your feed into it, that's what I've done on two of my blogs

Ok, but so why is the RSS feed then saying there is an error.

Any ideas at all as to why when I use the forum RSS feed it doesn't display on the blog?