PDA

View Full Version : How to make drop down boxs w/links


Criminal-Minds
04-21-2009, 10:24 PM
Can some one point me in the right direction and or a tutorial on how to make drop down boxs (like quick links) on the navbar?

Any help would be great thanks!

Lynne
04-21-2009, 11:18 PM
search "navbar" in "articles" "titles only" and you get How To Add Drop Down Menus To Your Navbar (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=122523&highlight=navbar)

Criminal-Minds
04-25-2009, 04:22 PM
is there away to make the double navbar to use quick links? I've posted in the mod section been days no one answered.

here is the code

<!-- Navbar Links -->
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:1px">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Coming Soon</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Coming Soon</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Coming Soon</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Coming Soon</a></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / Navbar Links -->

Lynne
04-25-2009, 04:33 PM
There are modifications to create a second navbar. Your code should probably work also, but you didn't post an image of what the result is for your code.

Criminal-Minds
04-25-2009, 06:12 PM
Yea the code i pasted was the code from the double navbar mod. How would I go about to add drop down box?

Cause the link you pasted to me ask to find this

<if condition="$show['popups']">

But

In the double navbar code doesnt have that code in it

<!-- Navbar Links -->
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:1px">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Coming Soon</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Coming Soon</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Coming Soon</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://url.com">Coming Soon</a></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / Navbar Links -->

Lynne
04-25-2009, 06:37 PM
Just add the $show[popups] condition to the second navbar and follow all the instructions from the article you found.

Criminal-Minds
04-25-2009, 06:58 PM
ok one last questions BTW you been great help!

If i wanted to delete the navbar that came with the download of vB how would i also do this? Is this possible to remove? Cause the skin I have has all the same links in the header so I wanna build my own navbar and delete the one that came with the vB.

Lynne
04-25-2009, 07:07 PM
Sure you can remove it. The standard one is in the navbar template (assuming you aren't using a custom skin) and it's pretty well commented (<!-- nav buttons bar -->). Don't delete the pop-up stuff if you are going to use the pop-up contents it defines (<!-- NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->).

Criminal-Minds
04-25-2009, 07:12 PM
ok and last question I PROMISE LOL. If i wanted to add multiple drop down boxs do i just repeat hte process as in the article you posted?

Lynne
04-25-2009, 07:14 PM
Yes, *but*!!! Make sure each dropdown has a unique ID. That is very, very important!

Criminal-Minds
04-25-2009, 07:43 PM
what do u mean unique id?

Lynne
04-25-2009, 08:42 PM
Where it says id="something" in the code. That needs to be unique for every drop-down. The drop-down for search may not have the same id as the crop-down for User CP. They must be unique so that it works correctly.